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Reporting a Boating Accident 
As the operator of a vessel, you are required by law to file a formal, written report of your 

boating accident with the Kentucky Department of Fish & Wildlife under certain 

circumstances. 

 

When a Report is Required 
A formal, written report must be filed with the Kentucky Department of Fish & Wildlife 

when there is: 

• Damage over $500 by or to the vessel or its equipment; 

• Injury (requiring medical help beyond first aid) or loss of life; and/or 

• Disappearance of any person on board a vessel. 

 

Failure to report boating accidents as specified above shall be in violation of KRS 235.250. 

When a person dies or disappears as a result of an occurrence that involves a vessel or its 

equipment, the operator is required by law to notify the Kentucky Department of Fish & 

Wildlife Resources or the most immediately available Department Conservation Officer 

without delay and by the quickest means possible. 

 

Time Frame for Reporting 
Reports must be filed within the following time frames from the boating accident: 

• 48 hours if there is loss of life within 24 hours of the accident; 

• 48 hours if a person involved is injured and cannot perform usual activities; 

• 48 hours if a person disappears; 

• 10 days if an earlier report is not required but becomes necessary; and/or 

• 10 days if the boat or property damage is in excess of $500 or total boat loss. 

 

How to Report an Accident 
You may submit the completed forms in person or send them to: 

Law Enforcement Division — Boating Accident 

The Kentucky Department of Fish & Wildlife Resources 

#1 Sportsman Lane 

Frankfort, Ky. 40601 

 

The boat operator or owner usually completes the form unless she/he is physically unable 

to do so. Call the Law Enforcement Division at the Kentucky Department of Fish & Wildlife 

Resources if you have difficulty completing an accident report form (Central Office in Frankfort, 

800-858-1549). 

 

To report an accident that has just occurred, please contact the Kentucky Department of 

Fish & Wildlife Resources Dispatch office at (800)25-ALERT.   
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Why Report an Accident 
Reporting boating accidents is required by law in the specific situations mentioned (see 

"When a Report is Required"). The information you submit is used to determine safer 

boating practices which are then shared with the boating public, boat manufacturers and 

equipment manufacturers. The details you provide may prevent another boater from 

having a similar accident. Thank you for your cooperation with the law and in helping 

others. 

 

Duty to Stop and Render Assistance 
It is the duty of every operator involved in a collision to stop and offer assistance. 

KRS 235.250  

 

 

 

 
Mb 08/15/2012 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


