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NEW THIS YEAR
The items highlighted in bright blue 

throughout this guide are a quick overview 
of the changes to this year’s regulations.  

• The lower boundary on Barren River 
for walleye and smallmouth bass spe-
cial regulations is now the mouth of 
Barren River.

Commonwealth of Kentucky
Andy Beshear, Governor

FISH AND WILDLIFE COMMISSION
(January 2024)

1st District: Dr. Robin Floyd, Murray
2nd District: vacant
3rd District: vacant 
4th District: Greg Cecil, Munfordville
5th District: Josh Lillard, Hebron
6th District: Jerry Ferrell, Richmond
7th District: Paul Horn, Prestonsburg
8th District: vacant
9th District: Dr. Karl Clinard, Somerset

Fish, wildlife and boating regulations are 
recommended by the Commission (board) and 
approved by the Kentucky legislature. Com-
mission members are experienced and active 
anglers and hunters, who serve 4-year terms 
after being publicly nominated by peers in their 
geographic districts, appointed by the Governor, 
and confirmed by the Kentucky Senate.

Learn more or contact your district Com-
mission member at fw.ky.gov/More/Pages/Com-
mission.aspx

KENTUCKY DEPARTMENT OF
FISH AND WILDLIFE RESOURCES
Commissioner: Rich Storm
Deputy Commissioner: Brian Clark
Deputy Commissioner: Gabe Jenkins 
Wildlife Director: Ben Robinson
Fisheries Director: Dave Dreves
Law Enforcement Director: Col. Jeremy McQueary
Information & Education Director: Kevin Kelly
Administrative Services Director: Lisa Cox
Engineering, Infrastructure and  
 Technology Director: Kevin Rexroat (acting)
Marketing Director: Brian V. Blank

FISHING AND BOATING GUIDE
Editor: Lee McClellan
Art/Design Director: Adrienne Yancy
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Kentucky Fish and Wildlife is funded 
through the sale of hunting and fishing 

licenses, boat registration fees and related 
grants. The Department conserves, protects 

and enhances all fish and wildlife species, 
their habitats, public wildlife areas and 

waterways for the benefit of those resources 
and for public enjoyment. 

Have a suggestion or question?
Kentucky Fish and Wildlife welcomes your 

questions or input. 

• Yatesville Lake (Lawrence County): 
Blue and Channel Catfish: 15-fish 
daily limit in aggregate, only one fish 
may be longer than 25 inches. Anglers 
using non-traditional fishing methods 
(hand grabbing) will now have a 5-fish 
daily limit on blue and channel catfish 
in aggregate and only one fish may be 
longer than 25 inches.

http://fw.ky.gov/More/Pages/Commission.aspx

http://fw.ky.gov/More/Pages/Commission.aspx

mailto:Info.Center%40ky.gov?subject=
http://fw.ky.gov
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ABOUT THIS GUIDE
This is a SUMMARY of the laws regarding fishing and boating. 
This guide is intended solely for informational use. It is not a 
reprint of any referenced statute or regulation in its entirety and 
should not be used as such. Questions about the information con-
tained in this guide should be directed to the Kentucky Department 
of Fish and Wildlife Resources BEFORE engaging in the activities 
referenced. Actual wording of any Kentucky Revised Statute (KRS) 
or Kentucky Administrative Regulation (KAR) can be viewed at 
legislature.ky.gov.

OTHER GUIDES AVAILABLE
Kentucky Fish and Wildlife also produces regulation guides for 
spring and fall hunting and trapping. Call 1-800-858-1549 week-
days, look for a copy of these regulation guides where hunting 
licenses are sold, or log on to fw.ky.gov.

2 LICENSES & PERMITS

5 FISHING REGULATIONS

17 GENERAL INFORMATION

24 TROUT WATERS

27 TROPHY FISH

30 BOATING

http://legislature.ky.gov
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S LICENSES & PERMITS

*Peabody, LBL and Otter Creek permits, elk drawing application, elk quota hunt permit, out-of-zone elk permit, bear permit, federal duck stamp 
and trapping license not included. An additional deer permit is not included with a Sportsman’s License.
Kentucky’s license year begins March 1 and continues through the last day of February. New licenses are required annually, except for the 3-year 
fishing license. A 1-day or 7-day hunting or fishing license is valid only for the period shown on license. Resident and nonresident youths under 
the age of 12 are not required to purchase licenses or permits (except the elk drawing application).

LICENSE / PERMIT Resident fee Nonresident fee

L
IC

E
N

S
E

S

Annual Fishing $23 $55
Joint Married Couple Annual Fishing $42 Not available
1-Day Fishing $7 $15
3-Year Fishing (available online at fw.ky.gov only) $55 Not available
Nonresident 7-Day Fishing Not available $35
Trout Permit $10
Annual Hunting $27 $150
1-Day Hunting (not valid for deer, elk, turkey or bear) $7 $25
7-Day Hunting (not valid for deer, elk, turkey or bear) Not available $65
Annual Youth Hunting (ages 12-15 only) $6 $10
Shooting Area License  (available online at fw.ky.gov only) $5
Annual Trapping $20 $130
Annual Landowner/Tenant Trapping $10 Not available
Annual Youth Trapping (ages 12-15) $5 Not available

C
O

M
B

O
S

Annual Combination Hunting/Fishing $42 Not available
Senior/Disabled Sportsman’s License*  (Includes same license and permits as Resident 
Sportsman’s License. For residents age 65 and older.) $12 Not available

Sportsman’s License* (Includes combination hunting/fishing license, statewide deer 
permit, spring and fall turkey permits, state migratory game bird-waterfowl permit and 
trout permit.)

$95 Not available

Youth (ages 12-15) Sportsman’s License* (Includes youth hunting license,  
youth deer permit and 2 youth turkey permits.) $30 Not available

Senior Lifetime Sportsman’s License* (Must maintain Kentucky residency; includes 
all senior sportsman’s licenses and permits. For residents age 65 and older.) $180 Not available

D
E

E
R Statewide Deer Permit (four deer) $35 $185

Youth (ages 12-15) Deer Permit (four deer) $10 $15
Additional Deer Permit (two deer) $15

B
IR

D
S

Spring Turkey Permit (statewide) (two turkeys) $30 $85
Youth (ages 12-15) Turkey Permit (one turkey, spring or fall) $10 $15
Fall Turkey Permit (statewide)(two turkeys) $30 $85
Kentucky Migratory Bird/Waterfowl Permit $15
Federal Duck Stamp (available at post offices and online at www.duckstamp.com) $25
Pheasant Quota Hunt Permit (if drawn) $25
Sandhill Crane Permit (quota hunt, apply in Sept. at fw.ky.gov) $3 $3

E
L

K

Elk Drawing Application (deadline April 30) $10
Youth Elk Drawing Application (ages 15 and under) $10
Quota Bull Elk Firearm Permit (if drawn) $100 $550
Quota Cow Elk Firearm Permit (if drawn) $60 $400
Quota (either sex) Archery/Crossbow Permit (if drawn) $100 $550
Quota Youth (ages 12-15) Elk Permit (if drawn; youth drawn for other permits pay full cost) $30 $200
Out-of-Zone Elk Permit $30 $400

B
E

A
R

Bear Permit $30 $250
Youth Bear Permit (ages 12-15) $10 $100
Bear Chase Permit $30 $50
Youth Bear Chase Permit (ages 12-15) $10 $15
Combination Bear Permit (includes Bear Permit and Bear Chase Permit) $50 Not available

A
R

E
A

S

Ballard WMA 1-Day Waterfowl Permit $15
Peabody WMA User Permit $15
Land Between The Lakes (LBL) Hunter Use Permit  
(other LBL permits available online at www.landbetweenthelakes.us) $25

Otter Creek ORA Admission Fees (per person)
(available online at fw.ky.gov)

Daily: $3, annual: $30,  
children under 12: free.

Otter Creek ORA Special Activity Fees (per person, for use of horse trails, mountain 
bike trails and shooting range) (available online at fw.ky.gov) Daily: $7, annual: $70

O
T

H
E

R Bobcat Permit (required for hunters) Free
Temporary Hunter Education Exemption Permit (Hunter Apprentice Opportunity; 
available online at fw.ky.gov only) Free

Habitat Improvement and Public Access Donation (voluntary; available at fw.ky.gov only) Any amount

https://app.fw.ky.gov/Solar/
https://app.fw.ky.gov/Solar/
http://www.duckstamp.com
https://app.fw.ky.gov/solar/
http://www.landbetweenthelakes.us
https://app.fw.ky.gov/Solar/
https://app.fw.ky.gov/Solar/
https://fw.ky.gov/Hunt/Pages/One-Year-Hunter-Education-Exemption-Permit.aspx
https://app.fw.ky.gov/Solar/


3

L
IC

E
N

S
E

S
 &

 P
E

R
M

IT
S

LICENSES & PERMITS

When buying a license or permit 
the angler’s date of birth and Social Se-
curity number must be provided.

If you have licensing questions, call 
Kentucky Fish and Wildlife at 1-800-
858-1549, weekdays from 8 a.m. to 4:30 
p.m. (Eastern time).

ONLINE
All Kentucky hunting and fishing 

licenses and permits can be purchased 
through the secured Kentucky Fish and 
Wildlife website at fw.ky.gov.  

Anglers purchasing licenses or per-
mits online must pay with a Visa, Mas-
tercard, American Express or Discover 
card, or a Kentucky Fish and Wildlife 
gift certificate. Gift certificates are sold 
online only at fw.ky.gov.

Anglers who buy licenses or permits 
online will not be mailed a paper license 
or permit but will receive an authoriza-
tion number. The authorization number 
or a computer printout of the license or 
permit and a picture ID must be carried 
in the field while fishing.

IN PERSON
Licenses and permits can be pur-

chased at various locations throughout 
the state. A list of license agents can be 
viewed online at fw.ky.gov. 

BY PHONE 
Licenses and permits are not cur-

rently available by phone. Please go on-
line to the Kentucky Fish and Wildlife 
website at fw.ky.gov for updates.

HOW TO BUY LICENSES and PERMITS

License expiration
Annual license/permit authorization 
numbers are valid from the date of 
purchase through the last day in 
February. New licenses are required 
annually March 1. A temporary 
fishing license is valid for the period 
shown on the license. KRS 150.175

WHO NEEDS A LICENSE?
(KRS 150.010, 150.170) 

All persons must fill out and carry 
the proper license and permit to fish 
any Kentucky waters except the follow-
ing (for permit requirements see “Trout 
Permit” on this page):
• The bona fide resident owners of 

farmlands, their spouses and depen-
dent children may fish on their farm-
lands without a license. Tenants, their 
spouses and dependent children may 
fish without a license on farmlands 
where they live and work.

• Resident servicemen on furlough for 
more than three days may fish state-
wide without a license, but must carry 
proper identification and papers show-
ing furlough status.

• Residents and nonresidents ages 15 
and younger.

• Persons fishing on the first Saturday 
and Sunday in June ( June 1-2, 2024) 

during Free Fishing Days are not re-
quired to have a license or permit. All 
other fishing regulations still apply.

• Persons fishing within the boundaries 
of Mammoth Cave National Park.

A resident is anyone who has es-
tablished permanent and legal residence 
in Kentucky and resided here at least 30 
days immediately prior to applying for 
a license. Full-time students enrolled in 
a Kentucky educational institution for 
at least a six-month term and service 
personnel on permanent assignment in 
Kentucky are also classified as residents. 

All others are considered non-resi-
dents for licensing purposes. 

TROUT PERMIT (301 KAR 1:201)
Unless license exempt, anglers 

who intend to keep trout must have 
a trout permit ($10). A trout permit 
is included with the resident senior/
disabled sportsman’s license and resident 

Scan to 
purchase 
licenses and 
permits.

sportsman’s license. All licensed anglers 
fishing the portion of the Cumberland 
River from Wolf Creek Dam to the 
Tennessee state line, its tributaries up to 
the first riffle and all of Hatchery Creek 
are required to possess a trout permit.  
(See the Trout section in this guide for 
details and for a complete list of waters 
where trout are present.)

RESIDENT SPORTSMAN’S 
LICENSE (SAVE $67!)

Available to Kentucky residents 
only, the Sportsman’s License includes 
a combination hunting and fishing li-
cense, spring turkey permit, fall turkey 
permit, statewide deer permit, state wa-
terfowl permit (which also covers dove 
and other migratory bird hunting) and 
trout permit. Peabody and LBL permits, 
trapping license, an elk drawing applica-
tion, elk quota hunt permit (if drawn), 
out-of-zone elk permit, bear permit and 
bonus deer permits must be purchased 
separately. A federal duck stamp (avail-
able at post offices) is required for water-
fowl hunting.

PAY LAKES (KRS 150.660)
A person fishing in a pay lake li-

censed by the Kentucky Department of 
Fish and Wildlife Resources needs ei-
ther a Kentucky fishing license or a free 
permit issued by the operator. 

https://app.fw.ky.gov/Solar/
https://app.fw.ky.gov/myprofile/
https://app.fw.ky.gov/myprofile/
http://fw.ky.gov
https://app.fw.ky.gov/Solar/
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Persons who need a replacement li-
cense or permit have three options: 
1. Print a free replacement online at 

fw.ky.gov. Access “My Profile,” then 
click “view/print license.” 

2. Purchase the same type of license 
or permit from any license vendor, 

ask them for a license refund form 
(or print one at fw.ky.gov), fill it out 
and send it to: KDFWR Licensing, 
#1 Sportsman’s Lane, Frankfort, KY 
40601. You will receive a refund mi-
nus a $5 handling fee.  

3. Send $5, your name, address, date of 
birth and Social Security number, and 

which license(s) or permits you lost 
to: KDFWR Licensing, #1 Sports-
man’s Lane, Frankfort, KY 40601. The 
department will replace the license/
permit once verification of original 
purchase occurs. Replacement may 
take up to 3 weeks.

FISHING REGULATIONS

QQ: How long is disability 
authorization valid?

AA: Authorization is valid for 
three years (check expiration date). 
Customers must renew the authori-
zation when it expires. Those with 
disability authorization through 
Veterans Affairs, U.S. Railroad 
Retirement Board or U.S. Office 
of Personnel Management may 
call 1-800-310-1873 to update 
authorization.  

Kentucky resident seniors (ages 
65 and older) and Kentucky residents 
with qualified disabilities may pur-
chase discounted “sportsman’s” type 
licenses which include: annual fishing 
and hunting licenses, permits for deer, 
turkey, migratory bird/waterfowl and 
trout and additional deer permits. Dis-
abled persons must first receive a dis-
ability license authorization (good for 
three years) from Kentucky Fish and 
Wildlife to buy the disability license. 
Disability eligibility includes:
• Kentucky residents certified totally 

and permanently disabled by the 
federal Social Security Administra-
tion, a state workers’ compensa-
tion board, the Kentucky Teachers’ 
Retirement System or the U.S. 
Railroad Retirement Board.

• Kentucky resident employees of the 
U.S. Office of Personnel Manage-
ment declared totally and perma-
nently disabled by a recognized 
authority.

• Kentucky resident veterans at least 
50 percent disabled as the result of 
a service-connected disability. 

Persons with disabilities listed 
above must first obtain disability 
authorization from Kentucky Fish and 
Wildlife.

You must produce proof of 
disability through one of the 
following agencies to obtain a 
disability authorization:

If your disability is through the –
• Federal Social Security Adminis-

tration: Any documentation from 
Social Security certifying you are 
disabled and receiving benefits is 
acceptable. Forms should not be 
more than 6 months old. A Benefit 

Verification Letter is preferred. To get 
a Benefit Verification Letter, contact 
your local Social Security office, 
call 1-800-772-1213 or go online to 
www.socialsecurity.gov/myaccount. All 
benefit letters, whether created online 
or obtained from a local office, must 
indicate disability qualification and in-
clude name, address, date of birth, last 
4 digits of your social security number 
and benefit amount. New applicants 
are required to contact Kentucky Fish 
and Wildlife at 1-800-858-1549 dur-
ing normal business hours to process 
an application.

• Veterans Affairs: Contact your local 
VA office and request a letter that 
verifies you are at least 50 percent 
disabled as a result of a service-con-
nected disability. The letter should also 
have your current address and your 
Social Security number.

• State Workers’ Compensation 
Board: Request an application from 
Kentucky Fish and Wildlife and send 
the completed form to the state Work-
ers’ Compensation Board.

• U.S. Railroad Retirement Board: 
Contact the Board and request a let-
ter stating you are permanently and 
totally disabled and show current 
address.

• Kentucky Teachers’ Retirement 
System: Contact the Teachers’ Re-
tirement System and request written 
documentation stating you are on 
disability retirement and show a 
current address.

• U.S. Office of Personnel Manage-
ment: Contact the federal Office of 
Personnel Management and obtain 
certification of employment, obtain 
certification of being 100 percent 
disabled from a recognized author-
ity, and show a current address.

To send disability paperwork to 
Kentucky Fish and Wildlife:
• Use the “MyProfile” link at fw.ky.gov.
• By mail: KDFWR Disability License, 

#1 Sportsman’s Lane,  
Frankfort, KY 40601

• By fax: (502) 564-9845

Disability authorization cards are 
no longer issued. To print copies of 
authorization or licenses, access your 
“MyProfile” account at fw.ky.gov. Af-
ter receiving disability authorization, 
the license system will automatically 
allow purchase of a Disabled Sports-
man’s License. 

Disability authorization is not 
a license. Proof of authorization 
(or authorization number) must be 
presented to license sellers at the time 
of purchase. License vendors cannot 
sell a disability license using expired 
authorization. The Senior or Disabled 
Sportsman’s License is valid through 
the end of February each year.

RESIDENT SENIOR OR DISABLED SPORTSMAN’S LICENSES

http://www.socialsecurity.gov/myaccount
https://app.fw.ky.gov/myprofile/
https://app.fw.ky.gov/myprofile/
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FISH SPECIES Daily Limit Possession Limit Minimum Size Limit

BLACK
 BASS

Largemouth Bass 6* 12* 12”
Smallmouth Bass 6* 12* 12”

Kentucky (Spotted) Bass 6* 12* none
Coosa Bass 6* 12* none

Rock Bass 15 30 none
Redear Sunfish 20 40 none

Walleye, Sauger, and their Hybrids 6* 12* 14” 
Muskellunge 1 2 30”

Chain Pickerel 5 10 none
White & Hybrid Striped Bass 15** 30** none**

Striped Bass 5 10 15”
Yellow Bass none none none

Crappie (Black & White) 20* 40* none
Paddlefish 2 4 none

Rainbow Trout 8 16 none
Brown Trout 1 2 16”

Cutthroat Trout 1 2 20”
Brook Trout Catch and release only***

Lake Sturgeon Catch and release only
Alligator Gar Catch and release only

TROPHY 
CATFISH

Channel Catfish 28˝ and above 1 2 28”
Blue & Flathead Catfish 35˝ and above 1 each 2 each 35”
Channel Catfish below 28˝ none none none

Blue & Flathead Catfish below 35˝ none none none

Some waterbodies have different size and daily limits, so please refer to the “Special Fishing Regulations” section on page 6 
for more details. All fish not meeting size limit requirements must be released immediately. There are no size or daily limits for 
rough fish, unless statewide or special regulations apply.
For daily limit and fishing license purposes, one fishing day equals one calendar day. Except for trout, anglers may cull fish of a par-
ticular species until reaching the daily limit. Any additional fish caught in excess of the daily limit must be released immediately.

STATEWIDE REGULATIONS

* Singly or combined; a total of these species   ** No more than 5 fish in the daily limit may be more than 15 inches long.
*** Except for the Cumberland River downstream of Wolf Creek Dam and the upper section of Hatchery Creek, see Special 
Regulations section for details.

QQ: How is a daily limit 
different than a possession limit? 

AA: The daily limit is the number 
of a particular sport fish species 
you may keep in one day’s fishing. 
A possession limit is two times the 
daily limit for all fish species with 
a daily limit, excluding previously 
processed fish. 

STATEWIDE SIZE and  
DAILY LIMITS (301 KAR 1:060, 
1:201; KRS 150.010)

Fishing season is open year-round 
in Kentucky, except on waterfowl refug-
es and as otherwise noted in this guide. 
Statewide size and daily limits apply to 
all Kentucky waters, public and private, 
except some waters have dif-
ferent limits (see 
“Special Fishing 
Regulations”). 

Squeezed tail

length

MEASURING FISH (301 KAR 1:201)  
Measure all fish from the tip of the 

lower jaw (closed) to the tip of the tail 
with fish laid flat on rule with tail lobes 
squeezed together. Fish not of legal size  
must be returned immediately to the 

waters from which they were taken in 
the best possible physical condition.

FISHING REGULATIONS
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(301 KAR 1:080, 1:180, 1:201, 2:222 
4:100, KRS 150.010, 150.025)

 
SPECIAL REGULATION WATERS 
LISTED ALPHABETICALLY

The public waters listed below have 
different size and/or daily limits than 
statewide regulations allow. Statewide 
size and daily limits apply unless other-
wise mentioned below. Special boating 

regulations are listed in the Boating sec-
tion of this guide.

Some privately owned waters may 
have special size and daily limits as post-
ed by signs. 

FINs LAKES:
Lakes in the Fishing In Neighbor-

hoods (FINs) program have uniform 
regulations for size and daily limits:

• Rainbow Trout: 5-fish daily limit. 
Trout stamp required if you intend to 
keep trout.

• Catfish: 4-fish daily limit.
• Sunfish: 15-fish daily limit.
• Largemouth Bass: 15-inch minimum 

size limit, 1-fish daily limit.
• Possession or use of live shad for bait 

is prohibited.

FINs LAKES COUNTY
# OF TROUT STOCKED # OF CATFISH STOCKED

Feb. March Oct. Nov. March Apr. May June
Anderson County Community Park Lake Anderson 500 500 500 200 200 200 200
Camp Ernst Lake Boone 1,500 1,500 1,500 1,250 1,250 1,250 1,250
Millennium Park Pond Boyle 500 500 500 400 400 400 400
Alexandria Community Park Lake Campbell 1,500 1,500 1,500 1,400 1,400 1,400 1,400
Robert J. Barth Lake Campbell 750 750 750 700 700 700 700
Southgate Lake Campbell 500 500 500 400 400
Panther Creek Park Lake Daviess 750 750 750 800 800 800 800
Waymond Morris Park Lake Daviess 1,500 1,500 1,000 1,000 1,000 1,000
Yellow Creek Park Lake Daviess 750 750 750 600 600 600 600
Jacobson Park Lake Fayette 3,000 3,000 3,000 2,300 2,300 2,300 2,300
Kentucky Horse Park Rolex Lake Fayette 1,500 1,500 1,100 1,100
Flemingsburg Old Reservoir Fleming 1,500 1,500 1,100 1,100
Lower Sportsman's Lake Franklin 500 500 500 600 600 600 600
Upper Sportsman's Lake Franklin 1,500 1,500 1,500 1,200 1,200 1,200 1,200
Lake Pollywog Grant 750 750 750 700 700
Leary Lake Grant 1,500 1,500 1,500 900 900
Kess Creek Park Lake Graves 500 500 500 400 400 400 400
James D. Beville Park Lake Grayson 750 750 750 600 600 600 600
Kingdom Come State Park Lake Harlan 500 500 500 500 500
Rotary Park Lake Hickman 500 500 500 200 200 200 200
Madisonville City Park Lake South Hopkins 1,500 1,500 1,500 1,250 1,250
Cherokee Park Lake Jefferson 750 750 750 800 800
Fisherman's Park Lake #3 Jefferson 500 500 500 400 400
Fisherman's Park Lake #4 Jefferson 500 500 500 400 400
Tom Wallace Park Lake Jefferson 1,500 1,500 1,500 1,000 1,000 1,000 1,000
Waverly Park Lake Jefferson 1,500 1,500 1,500 900 900 900 900
William F. Miles Angler Lake Jefferson 750 750 750 700 700 700 700
William F. Miles Green Heron Lake Jefferson 500 500 500 200 200 200 200
Lake Mingo Jessamine 500 500 500 500 500 500 500
Southland Church Lake Jessamine 500 500 500 500 500 500 500
Middleton Mills Long Pond Kenton 500 500 500 300 300 300 300
Middleton Mills Shelterhouse Pond Kenton 500 500 500 300 300 300 300
Prisoners Lake Kenton 750 750 750 800 800
Brickyard Pond Knox 1,500 1,500 2,000 2,000 2,000 2,000
Logan Hubble Park Lake Lincoln 1,500 1,500 1,500 1,800 1,800
Whitehall Park Lake Madison 1,500 1,500 1,500 1,200 1,200 1,200 1,200
Mike Miller Park Lake Marshall 750 750 750 800 800
Maysville-Mason County Rec. Park Lake Mason 1,500 1,500 1,150 1,150
Lake Montgomery McCracken 1,500 1,500 1,500 1,100 1,100 1,100 1,100
Carlson Lake (Ft. Knox) Meade 1,400 1,400
Easy Walker Park Pond Montgomery 500 500 500 400 400 400 400
Bloomfield Park Lake Nelson 500 500 500 500 500
Lusby Lake Scott 500 500 500 500 500 500 500
Scott County Park Lake Scott 500 500 500 500 500 500 500
Jesse W. Thornton Lake  
(formerly Three Springs Lake) Warren 1,500 1,500 1,500 1,450 1,450 1,450 1,450
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BARK CAMP CREEK 
Whitley County

All trout caught from October 1 
through March 31 must be immediately 
released and only artificial baits shall be 
used during this period.

BARKLEY, KENTUCKY LAKES 
(and their connecting canal)
• Crappie: 10-inch minimum size limit. 
• Largemouth and Smallmouth Bass: 

15-inch minimum size limit.

BARKLEY TAILWATER – See Cum-
berland River

BARREN RIVER and all tributaries 
including Barren River Lake 
• Walleye: 2-fish daily limit; 18- to 26-
inch protective slot limit. All walleye 
caught from 18 to 26 inches long must 
be immediately released.

LAKES WITH 12-INCH MINIMUM 
SIZE LIMITS ON CATFISH

COUNTY

AJ Jolly Lake Campbell
Audubon State Park Lake Henderson
Ballard County WMA Gravel Pit Pond Ballard
Beaver Lake Anderson
Benjy Kinman Lake Henry
Bert T. Combs Lake Clay
Beulah Lake Jackson
Big Bone Lick State Park Lake Boone
Blackberry Creek Park Pond Pike
Boltz Lake Grant
Briggs Lake Logan
Bullock Pen Lake Grant
Cannon Creek Lake Bell
Carnico Lake Nicholas
Carpenter Lake Daviess
Carter Caves (Smoky Valley Lake) Carter
Cedar Creek Lake Lincoln
Central Kentucky WMA Lake Madison
Chenoa Lake Bell
Clear Creek Lake Bath
Corinth Lake Grant
Cranks Creek Lake Harlan
Doe Run Lake Kenton
Eagle Lake Rowan
Elk Horn Park Pond Floyd
Elmer Davis Lake Owen
Fagan Branch Lake Marion
Fishpond Lake Letcher
Fleming County WMA Lake Fleming
Flemingsburg New City Reservoir Fleming
Fort Knox Crystal Lake Hardin
Fort Knox Lower Douglas Lake Hardin
Fort Knox Sanders Lake Hardin
Fort Knox Upper Douglas Lake Hardin
General Butler State Park Lake Carroll
Golden Pond (Land Between The Lakes) Marshall
Grants Branch Lake Pike
Greenbo Lake Greenup
Guist Creek Lake Shelby
Higginson and Henry WMA lakes Union
Highsplint Lake Harlan
Jenkins City Reservoir Letcher
Jericho Lake Henry
KY River WMA Prather and 6-acre ponds Henry
Kincaid Lake Pendleton
Kingfisher lakes (new and old) Daviess
Kleber WMA Lake Franklin

12-INCH CATFISH LAKES (continued) COUNTY

Lake Beshear Caldwell
Lake Chumley Lincoln
Lake George Crittenden
Lake Linville Rockcastle
Lake Luzerne Muhlenberg
Lake Malone Muhlenberg
Lake Reba Madison
Laurel Creek Reservoir McCreary
Liberty City Reservoir Casey
Lincoln Homestead Lake Washington
Long Run Park Lake Jefferson
Lower Thomas Lake Owen
Marion County Lake Marion
Martin County Lake (Milo) Martin
Martin County Reservoir Martin
Martins Fork Lake Harlan
McDougal Lake LaRue
McNeely Lake Jefferson
Metcalfe County Park Lake Metcalfe
Mill Creek Lake Monroe
Mill Creek Lake Powell
New Haven Optimist Club Lake Nelson
Olive Hill Lake Carter
Panbowl Lake Breathitt

Peabody WMA lakes
Muhlenberg, 

Hopkins, 
Ohio

Pennyrile Lake Christian
Pikeville City Lake Pike
Rebel Trace Lake Menifee
Reformatory Lake Oldham
Shanty Hollow Lake Warren
Shelby Lake Shelby
Spurlington Lake Taylor
Sympson Lake Nelson
Taylorsville WMA ponds Spencer
Thurman Hutchins Park Lake Jefferson
Vastwood Park Lake Hancock
Washburn Lake Ohio
Watterson Park Lake Jefferson
West Fork Drakes Creek Lake Simpson
West Kentucky WMA lakes McCracken
Wilburn Park Lake Oldham
Wilgreen Lake Madison
Willisburg Lake Washington
Willisburg Park Pond Washington
Wood Creek Lake Laurel
Yellowbank WMA ponds Breckinridge

• Smallmouth Bass: 15-inch minimum 
size limit.

BARREN RIVER LAKE
The boundaries of Barren Riv-

er Lake are from the dam upstream to 
the KY 100 bridge, Long Creek to the 
KY 100 bridge, Beaver Creek to the KY 
1297 bridge, Skaggs Creek to the Mat-
thews Mill Road bridge and Peter Creek 
to the Peter Creek Road bridge.

CATFISH MINIMUM SIZE LIMIT
There is a 12-inch minimum size limit on catfish on the following lakes; please see the table below.
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• Largemouth Bass: 12- to 15-inch pro-

tective slot limit. All largemouth bass 
caught between 12 and 15 inches in 
length must be immediately released.

BRIGGS LAKE
Logan County

Possession or use of live shad for 
bait is prohibited.

BUCKHORN LAKE
• Largemouth and Smallmouth Bass: 

15-inch minimum size limit. 
• Muskellunge: 40-inch minimum size 

limit.
• Crappie: 9-inch minimum size limit.

CANE CREEK
Laurel County

All trout caught from October 1 
through March 31 must be immediately 
released and only artificial baits shall be 
used during this period.

CARNICO LAKE
Nicholas County
• Largemouth Bass: 15-inch minimum 

size limit.
• Bluegill and other sunfish: 15-fish 

daily limit.

CARR CREEK LAKE
• Crappie: 9-inch minimum size limit.
• Largemouth and Smallmouth Bass: 

15-inch minimum size limit.
• Blue and Channel Catfish: 15-fish 

aggregate daily limit, only 1 fish may 
be longer than 25 inches.

CARTER CAVES STATE PARK 
LAKE (also called Smoky Valley 
Lake)

Fishing during daylight hours only. 
Possession or use of live shad for 

bait is prohibited. 
• Largemouth Bass: 12- to 15-inch pro-

tective slot limit. All largemouth bass 
caught between 12 and 15 inches in 
length must be immediately released.

CASEY CREEK 
Trigg County

All trout caught from October 1 
through March 31 must be immediately 
released and only artificial baits shall be 
used during this period.

CAVE RUN LAKE
Gigging and snagging prohibited 

in lake and all tributaries up to the first 
riffle or upper boundary as listed below. 
Lake upper boundaries: Scott’s Creek to 
the KY 801 culvert; Beaver Creek to the 
KY 1274 culvert; North Fork Creek to 
the confluence of Craney Creek; Ramey 
Creek to include pool of water north 
of KY 801; Licking River to KY 722 
bridge.
• Largemouth Bass: 12- to 15-inch 

protective slot limit. All large-
mouth bass caught between 12 and 
15 inches in length must be released 
immediately. 

• Smallmouth Bass: 18-inch minimum 
size limit.

• Muskellunge: 40-inch minimum size 
limit.

CEDAR CREEK LAKE
Lincoln County
• Largemouth Bass: 20-inch minimum 

size limit, 1-fish daily limit.

CHIMNEY TOP CREEK
Wolfe County

Only artificial baits may be used.

CLEAR CREEK 
Bell County

All trout caught from October 1 
through March 31 must be immediately 
released and only artificial baits shall be 
used during this period.

 
CLEAR FORK 
Logan and Warren counties

Catch and release for all sport fish. 

CORINTH LAKE
Grant County

Possession or use of live shad for 
bait is prohibited. 
• Largemouth Bass: 12- to 15-inch pro-

tective slot limit. All largemouth bass 
caught between 12 and 15 inches in 
length must be immediately released.

CUMBERLAND GAP NATIONAL 
HISTORICAL PARK
(301 KAR 1:035)

Special fishing regulations are in 
effect on Cumberland Gap Nation-
al Historical Park. For complete fishing 
information on this area contact: Cum-
berland Gap National Historical Park, 
P.O. Box 1848, Middlesboro, KY 40965, 
phone (606) 248-2817. 

• Blue and Channel Catfish: 15-fish 
aggregate daily limit, only 1 fish may 
be longer than 25 inches.

• Crappie: 10-inch minimum size limit.
• Largemouth and Smallmouth Bass: 

15-inch minimum size limit.
• Walleye: 2-fish daily limit; 18- to 26-

inch protective slot limit. All wall-
eye caught from 18 to 26 inches long 
must be immediately released.

BEAVER CREEK from the KY 90 
bridge upstream to the KY 200 bridge
Wayne County

All trout caught from October 1 
through March 31 must be immediately 
released and only artificial baits shall be 
used during this period. 

BEAVER LAKE 
Anderson County

Possession or use of live shad for 
bait is prohibited. 
• Largemouth Bass: 12- to 15-inch pro-

tective slot limit. All largemouth bass 
caught between 12 and 15 inches in 
length must be immediately released.

BEECH FORK RESERVOIR 
Powell County
• Bluegill: 15-fish daily limit.
• Largemouth Bass: 15-inch minimum 

size limit. 

BERT COMBS LAKE 
Clay County

Possession or use of live shad for 
bait is prohibited.
• Largemouth Bass: 12- to 15-inch pro-

tective slot limit. All largemouth bass 
caught between 12 and 15 inches in 
length must be immediately released.

BEULAH LAKE
Jackson County
• Largemouth Bass: 12- to 15-inch pro-

tective slot limit. All largemouth bass 
caught between 12 and 15 inches in 
length must be immediately released.

BIG BONE CREEK
Boone County

All trout caught from October 1 
through March 31 must be immediately 
released and only artificial baits shall be 
used during this period.

BOLTZ LAKE
Grant County

Possession or use of  live shad for 



9

F
IS

H
IN

G
 R

E
G

U
L

A
T

IO
N

S
CUMBERLAND RIVER upstream 
from Cumberland Falls and all 
tributaries:
• Walleye: 2-fish daily limit; 18- to 26-

inch protective slot limit. All wall-
eye caught from 18 to 26 inches long 
must be immediately released.

• Smallmouth Bass: 15-inch minimum 
size limit.

CUMBERLAND RIVER from Wolf 
Creek Dam to the Tennessee state line

All licensed anglers must possess 
a trout permit on this portion of Cum-
berland River. This includes Hatchery 
Creek and all tributaries up to the first 
riffle.

Anglers may not attract or chum 
trout with bait, corn or other attractants 
designed to draw numbers of trout to a 
specific area. This includes all tributar-
ies up to the first riffle and in Hatch-
ery Creek. For additional regulations on 
Hatchery Creek, refer to the Hatchery 
Creek section on page 10.
• Brown Trout or Cutthroat Trout: 20-

inch minimum size limit, 1-fish dai-
ly limit, also applies to all tributary 
streams, except Hatchery Creek. 

• Rainbow Trout: 15- to 20-inch pro-
tective slot limit. All trout caught be-
tween 15 and 20 inches in length 
must be immediately released. Five 
fish daily limit, only one rainbow 
trout may be longer than 20 inches. 
Also applies to all tributary streams, 
except Hatchery Creek. 

• Brook Trout: 1-fish daily limit with a 
15-inch minimum size limit. Also ap-
plies to all tributary streams, except 
Hatchery Creek. 

• Lake Sturgeon: Catch and release only. 

CUMBERLAND RIVER from Lake 
Barkley Dam downstream to conflu-
ence with Ohio River 

Gigging and snagging regulations 
along with special regulations for the 
Cumberland River below Lake Barkley 
can be found on page 14. Fishing pro-
hibited at the mouth of the lock cham-
ber at Barkley Dam as designated by 
signs.

DALE HOLLOW LAKE 
• Crappie: 10-inch minimum size limit, 

15-fish daily limit.
• Black Bass: includes largemouth, 

smallmouth and Kentucky (spot-
ted) bass – 5 fish daily limit on black 

bass singly or combined, only two of 
which may be smallmouth bass.

• Largemouth Bass: 15-inch minimum 
size limit.

• Smallmouth Bass: 16- to 21-inch 
protective slot limit. One fish over 21 
inches and one fish under 16 inches 
may be kept daily.

• Sauger: 10-fish daily limit.
• Rainbow and Brown Trout: 7-fish 

aggregate daily limit.
• Walleye: 16-inch minimum size limit, 

5-fish daily limit.

DEWEY LAKE 
• Largemouth and Smallmouth Bass: 

15-inch minimum size limit. 
• Blue and Channel Catfish: 15-fish 

aggregate daily limit, only 1 fish may 
be longer than 25 inches.  

• Muskellunge: 40-inch minimum size 
limit.

DIX RIVER from Herrington Lake 
Dam downstream for two miles
Only artificial baits shall be used.

DOE RUN LAKE
Kenton County

Possession or use of live shad for 
bait is prohibited.
• Largemouth Bass: 15-inch minimum 

size limit.
• Channel Catfish: Four fish daily limit.

DOG FORK 
Wolfe County

Only artificial baits with a single 
hook shall be used. Brook trout must be 
immediately released.

EAST FORK INDIAN CREEK
Menifee County

All trout caught from October 1 
through March 31 must be immediately 
released and only artificial baits shall be 
used during this period.

ELKHORN CREEK in Franklin 
County from confluence of North 
and South forks downstream to 
Kentucky River
• Largemouth and Smallmouth Bass: 

12- to 15-inch protective slot lim-
it. Largemouth and smallmouth bass 
caught between 12 and 15 inches in 
length must be immediately released. 
• For regulatory purposes, the bound-
ary of Elkhorn Creek is a permanent 
marker just below the first shoal up-

stream from its confluence with the 
Kentucky River.

 
ELK SPRING CREEK
Wayne County

All trout caught from October 1 
through March 31 must be immediately 
released and only artificial baits shall be 
used during this period. 

ELMER DAVIS LAKE
Owen County

Possession or use of live shad for 
bait is prohibited. 
• Largemouth Bass: 12- to 15-inch pro-

tective slot limit. All largemouth bass 
caught between 12 and 15 inches in 
length must be immediately released.

FISHTRAP LAKE
• Largemouth and Smallmouth Bass: 

15-inch minimum size limit.
• Crappie: 9-inch minimum size limit.
• Blue and Channel Catfish: 15-fish 

aggregate daily limit, only 1 fish in 
the daily limit may be longer than 25 
inches.  

• Walleye: 2-fish daily limit; 18- to 26-
inch protective slot limit. All wall-
eye caught from 18 to 26 inches long 
must be immediately released.

FLOYD’S FORK from U.S. 60 bridge 
downstream to U.S. 150 bridge
Jefferson County
• Largemouth and Smallmouth Bass: 

15-inch minimum size limit.
• Rainbow Trout: All trout caught from 

Oct. 1 through March 31 must be im-
mediately released and only artificial 
baits shall be used during this period.

GENERAL BUTLER  
STATE PARK LAKE 
Carroll County

Possession or use of live shad for 
bait is prohibited. 
• Largemouth Bass: 12- to 15-inch pro-

tective slot limit. All largemouth bass 
caught between 12 and 15 inches in 
length must be immediately released.

• Channel Catfish: 4 fish daily limit.

Did you know?
Camping is prohibited on KDFWR 
owned or managed lakes except as 
designated by signs.
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Lakes National Recreation Area)
• Channel Catfish: 15-inch minimum 

size limit, 5-fish daily limit.

GRAYSON LAKE
• Largemouth and Smallmouth Bass: 

15-inch minimum size limit.
 

GREENBO LAKE 
Greenup County

Possession or use of live shad for 
bait is prohibited. 
• Bluegill and other sunfish: 15-fish 

daily limit.
• Areas marked by signage and buoys 

near the Jesse Stuart Lodge are peri-
odically closed to fishing.

GREEN RIVER LAKE
Lake upper boundaries: Green Riv-

er to Snake Creek Boat Ramp; Robin-
son Creek to KY 76 bridge; Casey Creek 
to Arnolds Landing Boat Ramp.
• Crappie: 9-inch minimum size limit.
• Muskellunge: 40-inch minimum size 

limit.

GREEN RIVER LAKE TAILWATER 
from Green River Lake Dam and ex-
tending downstream to the end of 
the concrete wall
Taylor County

Fishing shall be limited to rod in 
hand using either: (a) An artificial bait 
with a single hook; or (b) Live bait at-
tached to a single hook.

GUNPOWDER CREEK
Boone County

All trout caught from October 1 
through March 31 must be immediately 
released and only artificial baits shall be 
used during this period.

HATCHERY CREEK
Russell County

All licensed anglers must possess a 
trout permit to fish Hatchery Creek.
• Brook, Rainbow, Cutthroat and 

Brown Trout: Upper section: As des-
ignated by signs, 5-trout aggregate 
daily limit, no minimum size limit.  

 Lower section: Catch and release 
only and only artificial baits may be 
used. The lower boundary of Hatch-
ery Creek is delineated as a straight 
line between opposite points where 
Hatchery Creek meets the main stem 
of the Cumberland River. 

HIGHSPLINT LAKE
Harlan County
• Largemouth bass: 20-inch minimum 

size limit; 1-fish daily limit.

KENTUCKY, BARKLEY LAKES 
(and their connecting canal)
• Crappie: 10-inch minimum size limit.
• Largemouth and Smallmouth Bass: 

15-inch minimum size limit.

KENTUCKY LAKE TAILWATER – 
see Tennessee River

KENTUCKY RIVER, upstream of 
Lock and Dam 14, the North Fork 
and tributaries including Carr Fork 
below Carr Creek Lake along with 
the Middle and South Forks and all 
tributaries
• Walleye: 2 fish daily limit; 18- to 26-

inch protective slot limit. All wall-
eye caught from 18 to 26 inches long 
must be immediately released.

• Smallmouth Bass: 15-inch minimum 
size limit.

KENTUCKY RIVER WMA BOONE 
TRACT, Henry County
Benjy Kinman Lake:
• Catfish: 12-inch minimum size limit.
• Idle speed only. 
Prather Pond and 6-acre pond:
• Catfish: 12-inch minimum size limit, 

4-fish daily limit. 
Prather Pond, 6-acre pond and  
15-acre pond
• Bluegill and other sunfish: 15-fish 

daily limit.
• Trolling motor only.

LAKE BLYTHE
Christian County
• Largemouth Bass: 12- to 15-inch 

protective slot limit. All largemouth 
bass caught between 12 and 15 
inches in length must be immediate-
ly released.

LAKE CHUMLEY
Lincoln County

Fishing during daylight hours only.

LAKE CUMBERLAND 
The boundaries of Lake Cumber-

land are defined as Cumberland Falls 
on the Cumberland River, Devils Jump 
on the Big South Fork, the Narrows of 
Rockcastle River and Laurel River Lake 
Dam on Laurel River.

• Crappie: 10-inch minimum size limit.
• Lake Sturgeon: Catch and release only.
• Largemouth Bass: 15-inch minimum 

size limit.
• Smallmouth Bass: 18-inch minimum 

size limit.  
• Striped Bass: 22-inch minimum size 

limit, 2-fish daily limit. 

LAKE JERICHO
Henry County

Possession or use of live shad for 
bait is prohibited.
• Largemouth Bass: 15-inch minimum 

size limit.

LAKE MALONE
• Largemouth Bass: 12- to 15-inch pro-

tective slot limit. All largemouth bass 
caught between 12 and 15 inches in 
length must be immediately released.

LAKE PENNYRILE
Christian County
• Largemouth Bass: 12- to 15-inch pro-

tective slot limit. All largemouth bass 
caught between 12 and 15 inches in 
length must be immediately released.

LAKE REBA
Madison County

Possession or use of live shad for 
bait is prohibited.

LAKE SHELBY 
Shelby County
• Largemouth Bass: 15-inch minimum 

size limit.
• Channel Catfish: 4 fish daily limit.

LAND BETWEEN THE LAKES  
NATIONAL RECREATION AREA
(301 KAR 1:031)

Special fishing regulations are in 
effect for ponds and small lakes with-
in Land Between The Lakes Nation-
al Recreation Area. For complete fish-
ing information on this area, go online 
to landbetweenthelakes.us or call (270) 
924-2000.

LAUREL RIVER LAKE 
• Largemouth Bass: 15-inch minimum 

size limit.
• Smallmouth Bass: 18-inch minimum 

size limit, 2 fish daily limit.
• Crappie: 9-inch minimum size limit, 

15-fish daily limit.

https://www.landbetweenthelakes.us
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LEVISA FORK and all tributaries 
upstream of Fishtrap Lake
• Walleye: 2 fish daily limit; 18- to 26-

inch protective slot limit. All wall-
eye caught from 18 to 26 inches long 
must be immediately released.

LINCOLN HOMESTEAD STATE 
PARK LAKE
Washington County

Fishing during daylight hours only. 
Possession or use of live shad for bait is 
prohibited.
• Channel Catfish: 4 fish daily limit.
• Largemouth Bass: 12- to 15-inch pro-

tective slot limit. All largemouth bass 
caught between 12 and 15 inches in 
length must be immediately released.

MAMMOTH CAVE NATIONAL PARK
Special fishing regulations are in ef-

fect for ponds, streams and Green River 
within Mammoth Cave National Park. 
For complete fishing information on 
this area, anglers should contact: (270) 
758-2180.

MARION COUNTY LAKE
Possession or use of live shad for 

bait is prohibited.

MARTIN’S FORK LAKE and all 
tributaries
• Walleye: 2-fish daily limit; 18- to 26-

inch protective slot limit. All wall-
eye caught from 18 to 26 inches long 
must be immediately released.

McNEELY LAKE
Jefferson County

Possession or use of live shad for 
bait is prohibited.
• Largemouth Bass: 12- to 15-inch pro-

tective slot limit. All largemouth bass 
caught between 12 and 15 inches in 
length must be immediately released.

MILL CREEK LAKE
Powell and Wolfe counties

Possession or use of live shad for 
bait is prohibited. 
• Largemouth Bass: 15-inch minimum 

size limit. 

NEW HAVEN OPTIMIST LAKE
Nelson County
• Largemouth Bass: 15-inch minimum 

size limit.
• Channel Catfish: 4 fish daily limit.

NOLIN RIVER LAKE
Lake upper boundary is the Wheel-

ers Mill Road bridge in the Nolin Riv-
er arm and to the KY 728 bridge in the 
Bacon Creek arm.
• Crappie: 9-inch minimum size limit. 
• Largemouth and Smallmouth Bass: 

15-inch minimum size limit.

OHIO RIVER – see also, “Bordering 
Waters” page 15
• White Bass, Striped Bass and their 

Hybrids: 30 fish daily limit, only 4 
fish may be 15 inches or longer.

OTTER CREEK
Meade County

• Largemouth and Smallmouth 
Bass: 12- to 15-inch protective slot lim-
it. All largemouth and smallmouth bass 
caught between 12 and 15 inches in 
length must be immediately released.

All trout caught in Fort Knox Mil-
itary Reservation and in Otter Creek 
Park from Oct. 1 through March 31 
must be immediately released and only 
artificial baits shall be used during this 
period. There is a one-mile section of 
Otter Creek as posted by signs in Fort 
Knox Military Reservation where trout 
fishing is open to statewide regulations. 
Fort Knox Military Reservation requires 
the purchase of a $10 permit to fish and 
is closed to fishing on Tuesdays. Anglers 
must check-in with the Fort Knox Hunt 
Control Office at (502) 624-2712 before 
each day’s fishing. 

PANBOWL LAKE
Breathitt County
• Largemouth Bass: 12- to 15-inch pro-

tective slot limit. All largemouth bass 
caught between 12 and 15 inches in 
length must be immediately released.

PARCHED CORN CREEK
Wolfe County

Only artificial baits with single 
hook shall be used. Brook trout must be 
immediately released.

PEABODY WMA LAKES
In addition to a fishing license, a 

$15.00 user permit is required of per-
sons age 16 and over while on Peabody 
WMA. Permits can be purchased where 
fishing licenses are sold. Fishing open 
March 16 - Oct. 14 on Goose, Island 
and South Lake, all other lakes open 
year-round.

PIKEVILLE CITY LAKE
Pike County
• Largemouth Bass: All largemouth 

bass caught must be immediately re-
leased.

ROCK CREEK from Tennessee state 
line downstream to Bell Farm bridge 
McCreary County

All trout caught from October 1 
through March 31 must be immediately 
released and only artificial baits shall be 
used during this period.

ROCKCASTLE RIVER WMA 
Pulaski County
All Ponds Collectively:
• Largemouth Bass: 15-inch minimum 

size limit, 1-fish daily limit.
• Bluegill and other Sunfish: 10-fish 

daily limit.
• Catfish: 4-fish daily limit.
• Crappie: 15-fish daily limit.

ROUGH RIVER LAKE
Lake upper boundary: Rough Riv-

er to the KY 84 bridge.
• Crappie: 9-inch minimum size limit.
• Largemouth and Smallmouth Bass: 

15-inch minimum size limit. 

SHANTY HOLLOW LAKE
Warren County

Possession or use of live shad for 
bait is prohibited.

SHILLALAH CREEK
Bell County

Outside the Cumberland Gap Na-
tional Park as posted, only artificial baits 

QQ: Is fishing allowed around a 
dock or a marina? 

AA: It depends. Public marinas 
on U.S. Army Corps of Engineers 
Lakes have contractual agreements 
that address lease space on public 
waters. The Corps presently allows 
the marina owners or operators to 
post signs that prohibit fishing with-
in 150 feet of their floating struc-
tures. These agreements do not pro-
hibit a person from fishing in their 
boat rental slip. This policy does not 
apply to privately owned boat docks 
on Corps lakes.
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OTHER SPECIES
BULLFROGS (301 KAR 1:082)

The taking season for bullfrogs 
opens at noon on the third Friday in 
May (May 17, 2024) and runs through 
Oct. 31.  If a gun or bow and arrow are 
used, a hunting license is required. If 
frogs are taken by pole and line, a fish-
ing license is required. If frogs are taken 
by gig or by hand, then either a hunt-
ing or fishing license is valid. The daily 
noon-to-noon limit for bullfrogs is 15. 
The possession limit is 30.  

                          
TURTLES (301 KAR 1:058)

Anglers may take snapping turtles 
(except alligator snapping turtles) and 
softshell turtles year round by the same 
methods legal for taking rough fish spe-
cies or with a turtle trap. Commercial 
fishing gear may not be used to take 
turtles. A hunting license is required 
when taking turtles by gun or by bow 
and arrow. Otherwise a fishing license is 
required. Turtles cannot be sold.

Turtle traps may be one of two 
kinds: either a barrel or drum with a tilt-

ing trigger board or a floating log raft 
with an enclosed twine or wire mesh 
bag. Turtle traps must be inspected daily. 
All turtles must be removed daily except 
one decoy turtle may remain. Any other 
species (except soft shelled and snapping 
turtles) caught in a turtle trap must be 
released unharmed.

GRASS CARP HARVEST  
PROHIBITED (301 KAR 1:201)

Harvesting grass carp is prohib-
ited in any lake owned or managed by 
the Kentucky Department of Fish and 
Wildlife Resources. Anglers who catch 
a grass carp from one of these lakes must 
immediately return the fish to the water 
where it was caught. Grass carp are used 
to control aquatic vegetation. 

LIVE BAIT FOR PERSONAL USE
(301 KAR 1:130, 1:122)

No live fish, live bait fish or live 
bait organisms that are not native or 
established in Kentucky waters shall be 
bought, sold, possessed, imported, or in 

any way used or released into waters of 
this Commonwealth. Blueback herring 
are not native to Kentucky and may not 
be imported or possessed in this state.

Holders of sport fishing licenses 
may take live bait from public waters 
and may possess up to 500 live bait fish-
es which include shad (except on lakes 
where possession or use of live shad is 
prohibited) and herring, 500 crayfish, 25 
spring lizards or dusky salamanders, 5 
frogs (other than bullfrogs), 5 tadpoles, 
100 native lampreys, 500 other aquatic 
invertebrate organisms other than mus-
sels, and any number of unshelled Asi-
atic clams. Live wild caught invasive 
carp, herring and shad, as well as the 
species mooneye and goldeye, may 
only be used in the waters from which 
they were collected and cannot be 
transported by roadway. A commercial 
license is required to take live bait from 
public waters open to commercial fish-
ing for the purpose of selling.  

Regardless of size or how obtained, 
it is illegal to use any sport fish for bait 

with single hook shall be used. Brook 
trout must be immediately released.

SPORTSMAN’S LAKES
Franklin County

Fishing during daylight hours only. 

SPURLINGTON LAKE
Taylor County

Possession or use of live shad for 
bait is prohibited.

SWIFT CAMP CREEK
Clifty Wilderness, Wolfe County

All trout caught from October 1 
through March 31 must be released im-
mediately and only artificial baits shall 
be used during this period.

SYMPSON LAKE
Nelson County
• Largemouth Bass: 15-inch minimum 

size limit.

TAYLORSVILLE LAKE
Lake upper boundary is Dry Dock 

Road on Salt River. 
• Crappie: 10-inch minimum size limit, 

15-fish daily limit. 
• Largemouth and Smallmouth Bass: 

15-inch minimum size limit. 
• Blue and Channel Catfish: 15-fish 

aggregate daily limit, only 1 fish may 
be longer than 25 inches.

TENNESSEE RIVER from Ken-
tucky Lake Dam downstream to 
confluence with Ohio River

Gigging and snagging regulations 
along with special regulations for the 
Tennessee River below Kentucky Lake 
can be found on page 14.

TRAMMEL CREEK
Allen County

All trout caught from October 1 
through March 31 must be immediately 
released and only artificial baits shall be 
used during this period.  
• Rainbow Trout: 5-fish daily limit.

WILLISBURG PARK POND
Washington County
• Channel Catfish: 4-fish daily limit.
• Largemouth Bass: 15-inch minimum 

size limit.

• Sunfish: 15-fish daily limit, no mini-
mum size limit.

WOOD CREEK LAKE
Laurel County
• Largemouth Bass: 12- to 15-inch pro-

tective slot limit. All largemouth bass 
caught between 12 and 15 inches in 
length must be immediately released.

• Walleye: 2-fish daily limit; 18- to 26-
inch protective slot limit. All wall-
eye caught from 18 to 26 inches long 
must be immediately released.

YATESVILLE LAKE
• Largemouth and Smallmouth Bass: 

15-inch minimum size limit.
• Blue and Channel Catfish: 15-fish 

daily limit in aggregate, only one 
fish may be longer than 25 inches. 
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NON-TRADITIONAL FISHING METHODS
SPORT FISHING TROTLINES, 
JUGGING and SET LINES  
(LIMB LINES)
(301 KAR 1:410; KRS 150.010)

A sport fishing trotline is a line 
with no more than 50 single or multi-
barbed baited hooks that must be at least 
18 inches apart. A sport fishing trotline 
must be set at least three feet below the 
water’s surface. Jugging is fishing with a 
single baited line attached to any float-
ing object. A jug line may have no more 
than one single or multi-barbed hook. A 
set line is a line with one single or multi 
barbed hook. It may be attached to a tree 
limb, tree trunk, bank pole or other sta-
tionary object on the bank of a stream or 
impoundment.   

One person may use no more than 
two sport fishing trotlines or 50 jug lines 
or 25 set lines at any one time. Each boat 
may not use more than 50 jug lines, but 
each occupant may use two sportfish-
ing trotlines or 25 set lines. Each sport 

fishing trotline, jug line or set line must 
be: 1) permanently labeled with the cus-
tomer identification number provided 
on fishing licenses; 2) baited, checked 
and all fish removed at least once every 
24 hours; 3) removed from water, bank 
or tree when fishing ceases.   

Prohibited Areas: Sport fish-
ing trotlines, jug lines or set lines may 
not be used within 200 yards below any 
dam. Sport fishing trotlines, jug lines or 
set lines are not allowed in Department 
owned/managed lakes having less than 
500 surface acres, except those located 
on Ballard and Boatwright WMAs. 
No sport fishing trotlines are allowed 
within 700 yards below Kentucky Dam, 
the area between Barkley Dam and U.S. 
62 bridge, or below the following Ohio 
River dams from the face of the dam to 
the end of the outer lock wall: Smith-
land, Newburgh, Cannelton, Mark-
land, Meldahl and Greenup; McAlpine 
downstream to the K&I railroad bridge; 
J.T. Meyers (Uniontown) to the end of 
the outer lock wall and that portion of 
the split channel around the southern 
part of Wabash Island from the fixed 
weir dam to the first dike.     

TICKLING and NOODLING
(301 KAR 1:410; KRS 150.010)

The tickling and noodling (hand 
grabbing) season for rough fish is June 
1 through August 31, during daylight 
hours only. Tickling and noodling 
means taking fish directly by hand, or 
with the aid of a handled hook. These 
methods are permitted in all waters. The 
daily limit is 15 rough fish, no more than 
5 of which can be catfish. Only one blue 

or channel catfish longer than 25 inches 
may be kept daily on Barren River Lake, 
Carr Creek Lake, Dewey Lake, Fishtrap 
Lake, Taylorsville Lake and Yatesville 
Lake.

BOW FISHING (301 KAR 1:410)
Rough fish (except alligator gar 

and lake sturgeon) may be taken year-
round by long bow, crossbow, compound 
bow, recurve bow or pneumatic air arrow 
launching device. Sport fish may not be 
taken with this gear. Arrows must have 
a barbed or retractable style point that 
has a line attached for retrieval. Catfish 
have a daily limit of 5 (in aggregate) and 
paddlefish and shovelnose sturgeon have 
a daily limit of 2. There is no limit on 
other rough fish. Bow fisherman may 
fish within 200 yards of a dam, except 
they cannot fish by boat in boat re-
stricted areas. Bow fishing is prohibited 
on the Cumberland River below Wolf 
Creek Dam downstream to the Tennes-
see line, including Hatchery Creek and 
all tributaries for ½ mile upstream of 
their confluence with the Cumberland 
River. Bow fishing is also prohibited in 
Lake Carnico (Nicholas County), Car-
penter Lake (Daviess County), Clear 
Creek Lake (Bath County), Greenbo 
Lake (Greenup County), and Lake Reba 
(Madison County).

Persons using a bow and arrow for 
fishing must have the appropriate fish-
ing license and may take rough fish from 
bank or boat. Bow anglers cannot sell 
paddlefish and shovelnose sturgeon or 
their roe taken by bow and arrow. Pad-
dlefish, catfish and shovelnose sturgeon 
taken by bow and arrow must be taken 

QQ: What is legal equipment for 
sport fish?

AA: Anglers may legally take sport 
fish by hook and line in hand, rod 
in hand, jugging, setline or sport 
fishing trotline. There is no limit on 
number of rods/poles per angler.

No firearms for fishing
Fish may not be taken with use of a 
firearm.

(except redear sunfish less than 6 inches 
long). Live bait fishes are defined as red-
ear sunfish less than 6 inches long and 
rough fish except blackside dace, pale-
zone shiner, Cumberland darter, relict 
darter and tuxedo darter or any other 
federally threatenend or endangered 
species. Also, see fw.ky.gov for a de-
scription of these protected fish species. 
Bluegills are not sport fish and may be 
taken for bait as described above.

Live bait may be taken with the fol-
lowing gear: 

• Dip Nets: Maximum size of 3 feet in 
diameter is legal statewide. 

• Minnow Traps: Maximum legal size 
statewide: 3 feet long, 18 inches in di-
ameter, 1-inch openings for catching.

• Seines: Maximum legal size statewide: 
10 feet long, 4 feet deep, ¼-inch mesh. 
Maximum legal size in the Ohio and 
Mississippi rivers and Kentucky and 
Barkley lakes: 30 feet long, 6 feet deep 
and ¼-inch bar mesh.

• Sport Cast Nets: Maximum sport cast 
net size is 20 feet in diameter with 

maximum 1-inch bar mesh statewide 
except in the following waters. Sport 
cast nets prohibited in: 1) lakes hav-
ing fewer than 500 surface acres, 2) 
Hatchery Creek in Russell County. 

All sport fish incidentally taken 
while capturing live bait with seines, dip 
nets, cast nets or minnow traps must be 
released immediately unharmed into the 
water. Special regulations may apply to 
some waters.
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be culled. Fish taken by bow must not 
be discarded on the bank. Bank disposal 
is littering and subject to a fine.

SPEAR FISHING (301 KAR 1:410)
Underwater spearing of rough fish 

with hand-held or mechanically pro-
pelled spear is permitted year-round, but 
only in lakes having 1,000 surface acres 
or more. All participants in this sport 
must be completely submerged while 
spear fishing. Only rough fish may be 
taken and the appropriate fishing license 
is required. The daily limit is 15 fish of 
which only 5 may be catfish.

 
Gigging means spearing or impal-

ing fish on any pronged or barbed in-
strument attached to the end of any rig-
id object. Snagging means taking fish or 
other aquatic animals by a rapid drawing 
motion (rather than enticement by bait) 
using a hand-held rod and attached line 
with one single or treble hook. A rod le-
gal for snagging must be equipped with 
line, guides and a reel. 

The statewide season for gigging 
and/or snagging rough fish is from Feb-
ruary 1 through May 10. It is illegal to 
possess a gig on a stream or lake or in a 
boat from November 1 through January 
31. A person may gig or snag fish from 
the bank of a stream during the day or 
night. Gigging and snagging is not legal 
from a platform or boat, except that gig-
ging is legal from a boat on lakes 500 
surface acres or larger and only during 
daylight hours. 

There is a statewide daily limit of 
2 paddlefish and 2 shovelnose sturgeon 
for either gigging or snagging. Harvest 
of shovelnose sturgeon is prohibited 
in the Mississippi River. All gigged or 
snagged paddlefish and shovelnose stur-
geon must be taken into possession and 
cannot be culled or released. Anglers 
must cease gigging or snagging once 
they attain either a paddlefish or shov-
elnose sturgeon daily limit. It is illegal to 
sell paddlefish and shovelnose sturgeon 
or their roe taken by sportfish snagging 
methods. Also, when snagging, anglers 

may only harvest 1 trophy catfish per day 
and must cease snagging once a trophy 
catfish is taken. When gigging, an angler 
may take 1 trophy catfish of each spe-
cies per day. No daily limits on any other 
rough fish. Regardless of condition, all 
sport fish as well as alligator gar and lake 
or pallid sturgeon taken by gigging and 
snagging must be immediately returned 
to the water. Persons may gig rough fish 
through the ice any time the surface is 
frozen thick enough to stand upon. The 
gigger must gig while supported by the 
ice. Disposal of gigged or snagged fish 
on the bank is considered littering and 
subject to a fine. 

Statewide regulations apply unless other-
wise mentioned below:
SPECIAL REGULATIONS FOR 
GREEN RIVER, ROLLING FORK 
RIVER AND THEIR TRIBUTARIES
• Up to five single or five treble hooks 

may be used for snagging.

SPECIAL REGULATIONS FOR 
TENNESSEE RIVER (below 
Kentucky Lake)
• Gigging is prohibited in the Tennessee 

River downstream of Kentucky Dam 
year-round.

• The area from Kentucky Dam to the 
new U.S. 62 bridge is open to snag-
ging 24 hours per day from January 1 
through May 31 and from sunset to 
sunrise from June 1 through Decem-
ber 31.

• The area from the I-24 bridge down-
stream to the Ohio River is open to 
snagging year-round.

• The area from the new U.S. 62 bridge 
to the I-24 bridge is closed to snag-
ging year-round.

• Snagging is prohibited under the U.S. 
62 bridge, under the P&L railroad 
bridge, and from any fishing pier or 
jetty.

• Daily snagging limit of 8 fish in ag-
gregate excluding invasive carp, only 

QQ: May you clean your fish 
while on the water?

AA: Anglers shall not remove any 
part of the head or tail of any fish 
for which there is a size or daily 
limit until finished fishing and off 
the water.

GIGGING and 
SNAGGING FISH 

STATEWIDE

two of which can be paddlefish and 
sturgeon.

• No size limit for sport fish snagged in 
the Tennessee River below Kentucky 
Dam.

• Anglers must cease snagging if the 
daily limit of any sportfish with a daily 
limit less than 8 fish is reached.

• Snagged shad, herring or invasive carp 
may be released, but all other species, 
including paddlefish and sportfish 
must be taken into possession and not 
be culled, regardless of size.

SPECIAL REGULATIONS FOR 
CUMBERLAND RIVER (below Lake 
Barkley)
• Gigging and snagging only permitted 

downstream of U.S. 62 bridge.
• Harvest of sportfish prohibited.
• Snagged shad, herring or invasive carp 

can be released, but all other species, 
including paddlefish must be taken 
into possession and not be culled.

 
GIGGING AND SNAGGING ARE 
PROHIBITED IN THE FOLLOWING 
WATERS OR AREAS: 
• Cave Run Lake including all tribu-

taries up to the first riffle or upper 
boundary as listed below. Lake upper 
boundaries: Scott’s Creek to the KY 
801 culvert; Beaver Creek to the KY 
1274 culvert; North Fork Creek to the 
confluence of Craney Creek; Ramey 
Creek to include pool of water north 
of KY 801; Licking River to KY 722 
bridge.

• Cumberland River, below Wolf Creek 
Dam downstream to the Tennessee 
line including all of Hatchery Creek 
and all tributaries for ½ mile upstream 
of their confluence with the Cumber-
land River.

• Within 200 yards of a dam, except be-
low Kentucky Dam.

• Cumberland River, below Barkley Dam 
downstream to the U.S. 62 bridge.

• Tennessee River, below Kentucky Dam 
from the new U.S. 62 bridge to I-24 
bridge.

• Middle Fork of Kentucky River from 
Buckhorn Lake downstream to the 
Breathitt County line.

• Rough River, below Rough River Dam 
to KY 54 bridge.

• In the Tennessee River below Ken-
tucky Dam, gigging prohibited year-
round.
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BORDERING WATERS

The Take Me Fishing website at 
www.takemefishing.org is a bounti-
ful resource for anglers just learn-
ing to fish as well as intermediate 
anglers looking to improve their 
knowledge. 

All resident Kentucky anglers who 
fish reciprocal waters must have a valid 
Kentucky fishing license.

OHIO RIVER
(KRS 150.170)                                    

An angler with a Kentucky fishing 
license may fish the entire main stem of 
the Ohio River from a boat, or a bor-
dering state’s bank without buying the 
other state’s license (bordering states in-
clude Illinois, Indiana and Ohio). 

This does not apply if fishing a bor-
dering state’s embayments or tributaries, 
which begin at a straight line between 
opposite points where the tributary or 
embayment meets the main stem of the 
river.

Anglers fishing from a bordering 
state’s bank must follow the size and 
daily limits of the state where the angler 
is located. Anglers fishing from a boat 
must follow the size and daily limits of 
the state in which the angler is licensed, 
except as follows: Kentucky and Illinois 
licensed anglers fishing in the other 
state’s waters must follow the more re-
strictive regulations of the two states.

Reminder: snagging is not permit-
ted for any fish species on the Indiana 
side or in any Indiana waters of the 
Ohio River. In Kentucky, a person may 
not snag within 200 yards below any 
dam on the Ohio River.

MISSISSIPPI RIVER 
(KRS 150.170)

Anglers licensed in Kentucky may 
fish Missouri portions of the Mississippi 
River without buying a Missouri fishing 
license. Each state recognizes the sport 
fishing licenses and permits of the other 
state on the Mississippi River. The river 
is defined as the main channel and im-
mediate side or secondary channels and 
chutes. It does not include oxbow or 
floodplain lakes or any tributary streams. 
A tributary is delineated by the straight 
line between opposite points where the 
tributary connects with the main body 
of the Mississippi River. Furthermore, 
the river does not include backwaters 
that extend onto the floodplain or tribu-
taries when the river exceeds 33 feet at 
the gauging station at Cairo, Illinois.

Sport fishing license or permit 

holders may fish from, or attach any 
device or equipment to land along the 
river under the jurisdiction of the other 
state. Landowner permission is required 
to fish from the bank. 

Sport fishing license holders shall 
abide by the regulations in the state in 
whose waters they are fishing and when 
fishing in waters they are not licensed to 
fish, shall comply with the most restric-
tive regulation.  

DALE HOLLOW LAKE
Anglers may use either a Tennes-

see or a Kentucky sport fishing license 
while fishing in the Wolf River arm of 
Dale Hollow Lake. This includes the Il-
lwill Creek embayment beginning at a 
line crossing the Wolf River at its mouth 
where it joins the Obey River and the 
main part of the lake. 

Anglers must obey the regulations 
of the state in which they are licensed. 
Kentucky residents must have a Ken-
tucky license.

KENTUCKY LAKE
On Kentucky Lake, anglers with 

either a valid Kentucky or Tennes-
see sport fishing license may fish from 
Eggner’s Ferry Bridge (U.S. 68 and KY 
80) in Kentucky south to the Governor 
Ned McWhorter Bridge (U.S. 79 and 
TN 76) in Tennessee. This includes all 
embayments and tributaries, except the 
Blood River embayment in Kentucky. 
Anglers must abide by the fishing and 
boating regulations of the state in which 
they are fishing.

BIG SANDY and TUG FORK 
RIVERS

Anglers with a valid Kentucky 
fishing license may fish the entire main 
stem of the Big Sandy and Tug Fork 
rivers from the confluence of the Ohio 
and Big Sandy Rivers upstream to the 
Virginia state line. Kentucky anglers can 
fish from a boat or on West Virginia’s 
bank without buying a West Virginia 
fishing license.

This does not apply to fishing West 
Virginia’s tributaries or embayments, 
which begin at a straight line between     
opposite points where the tributary or 
embayment meets the main stem of the 

river.
Kentucky anglers fishing from 

West Virginia’s bank must follow their 
size and daily limits. However, Kentucky 
anglers fishing the main stem from a 
boat must follow Kentucky’s size and 
daily limits.

BIG SOUTH FORK OF THE 
CUMBERLAND RIVER

Anglers may use either a Tennessee 
or a Kentucky sport fishing license while 
fishing that portion of the Big South 
Fork from the Leatherwood Ford bridge 
(TN 297) in Tennessee to the KY 92 
bridge at Yamacraw, Kentucky. 

Anglers must obey the regulations 
of the state in which they are licensed. 
Kentucky residents must have a Ken-
tucky license.

OTHER BORDERING WATERS
On all other bordering waters, 

boundaries are set by state lines. Obey 
the laws of the state in which you are 
fishing.

http://www.takemefishing.org
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Angling means taking or attempting to 
take fish by hook and line in hand, rod 
in hand, jugging, set line or sport fishing 
trotline. 
Artificial baits are lures or flies made of 
wood, metal, plastic, hair, feathers, pre-
served pork rind or similar inert materi-
als and having no organic baits includ-
ing dough bait, putty or paste type baits 
designed to attract fish by taste or smell.
Authorization number is the number 
assigned to a person in lieu of fishing or 
hunting license when the license is pur-
chased over the phone or Internet.
Black bass includes largemouth, small-
mouth, Kentucky (spotted) and Coosa 
bass.
Catfish: A catfish means a blue, chan-
nel or flathead catfish. Bullheads are not 
included in this definition.
Culling: Replacing a live fish in the 
daily limit with another fish of the same 
species.
Daylight hours begin one-half hour be-
fore sunrise and end one-half hour after 
sunset. 
Daily limit means the maximum num-
ber of a particular species or group of 
species a person may legally take in one 

(1) calendar day while fishing.
Fishing is taking or attempting to take 
fish in any manner, whether or not fish 
are in possession.
Lake means impounded waters, from 
the dam upstream to the first riffle on the 
main stem river and tributary streams or 
as specified in regulation.
Length means the distance from the 
front tip of a fish’s lower jaw with mouth 
closed to the tip of its tail with the fish 
laid flat on a rule with its tail lobes 
squeezed together.
Organic baits are insects, minnows, fish 
eggs, worms, corn, cheese, cut bait or 
similar substances used as a lure.
Possession limit means the maximum 
number of unprocessed fish a person 
may hold after two (2) or more days of 
fishing.
Regulation is an official rule of Ken-
tucky law applying to particular activi-
ties or circumstances.
Release means return of the fish, in the 
best possible condition, immediately af-
ter removing the hook, to the water from 
which it was taken in a place where the 
fish’s immediate escape shall not be pre-
vented.

Resident is anyone who has established 
permanent and legal residence in Ken-
tucky and residing here at least 30 days.
Rough fish are those fish species not 
listed as sport fish in the regulation 301 
KAR 1:060.
Size limit is the legal length a fish must 
be if it is in possession. (Fish length 
is measured from the tip of the closed 
lower jaw to the tip of the tail with fish 
laid flat on rule and tail lobes squeezed 
together.)
Slot limit means fish within a speci-
fied minimum and maximum size range 
must be released. 
Single hook is a hook with only one 
point.
Tenant is any resident sharecropper or 
lessee who lives and works on farmland 
owned by his/her landlord.
Trophy catfish is a blue or flathead cat-
fish 35 inches or longer or a channel cat-
fish 28 inches or longer.

DEFINITIONS

Kentucky’s largest salamander: Eastern Hellbender

HAVE YOU HAVE YOU SEEN ME?SEEN ME?    

Can grow up to 24” long
Completely aquatic

Not aggressive or poisonous
Long lived (up to 30 yrs.)

Kentucky Fish and Wildlife is very 
interested in all location records for the 
eastern hellbender. If you see this giant 

salamander, please e-mail John MacGregor 
(john.macgregor@ky.gov) or Michaela Rogers 

(michaela.rogers@ky.gov) with location 
information and a photograph, if possible.

mailto:michaela.rogers@ky.gov
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FISHING 
TOURNAMENTS

Bigger tournaments
Fishing tournaments involving more 
than 100 boats must register with 
the Division of Law Enforcement, 
1-800-858-1549.

Fishing event organizers are 
strongly urged to use the Tournament 
website at fw.ky.gov to register and re-
port on their events. Tournament plan-
ners can avoid space conflicts with other 
previously registered events by adjusting 
the date, time, specific launch areas or 
weigh-in site for their activities.

Other recreational anglers and 
boaters can check the website to see 
when and where fishing events are 
scheduled. This will assist them in plan-
ning their activities and also help avoid 
potential space conflicts. Additional per-
mits may be required by the U.S. Army 
Corps of Engineers, the U.S. Forest Ser-
vice or Kentucky State Parks. 

GENERAL INFORMATION

If the launch site for your tourna-
ment involves using a marina ramp, 
please contact the marina operator be-
fore scheduling your tournament.

Check the Kentucky Fish and 
Wildlife website at fw.ky.gov for more 
information on tournaments and keep-
ing your bass alive.

HABITAT
The Kentucky Department of Fish 

and Wildlife regularly creates and main-
tains fish attractors and habitat struc-
tures in lakes across Kentucky. The fish 
habitat/attractors are made in a variety 
of shapes and sizes and include mate-
rial from trees, rocks, logs, wooden pal-
lets, and even commercially made plastic 
structures. These structures are typically 
dense in nature with tree limbs and 
shade producing cover. Rock piles and 
gravel beds create spawning grounds for 
many species and brush piles provide 
much needed shelter for young fishes. 
All of these structures also provide stable 
substrates for the attachment of aquatic 
plants that provide the basis of the food 
chain in lakes. In general, more habitat 
just means more fish.

Kentucky Fish and Wildlife also 
collects trees for habitat with our an-
nual Christmas tree drive. Every year 
after the holiday season, we collect and 
recycle thousands of discarded natural 
trees into brush piles for habitat. 

All of the habitat sites created are 
published and made available to the 
public via Google Maps. They can be ac-
cessed by using the Find a Place to Fish 
feature or on the Lakes with Fish At-
tractors page at fw.ky.gov.

The Lakes with Fish Attractors 
page also has downloadable GPX files 

QQ: Can you sell fish caught 
while possessing only a valid 
Kentucky sport fishing license?

AA: No. It is illegal to sell any 
fish (except invasive carp) caught 
without the proper commercial 
fishing license and gear.

NEED A PLACE TO FISH?

The Fish Boat KY app will help 
inform anglers and boaters from 
any place in Kentucky. A few 
clicks on a cell phone will bring 
users valuable information on 
waterbodies, current fishing 
reports, ramps and access sites, 
fishing and boating regulations 
as well as access to the Kentucky 
Fish and Wildlife website. Use 
the QR code above to access the 
Fish Boat KY app webpage.

for importing in to the depth finder of 
your boat. Most brands of depth find-
ers will allow for upload of GPX files, 
but you may have to consult your owners 
manual. YouTube is also a good source 
for instructional videos on how to im-
port and convert these files.

Once you know where the sites are, 
fishing them can be rewarding. Lake 
habitat sites will vary in depth and may 
include areas in the backs of creeks, large 
flats, small pockets, and even main lake 
points. Many of these sites are located 
away from the bank in deeper water, so 
depth finders will help in identifying 
these offshore locations.

Kentucky is blessed with a myriad 
of productive fishing waters with 17 
major reservoirs, dozens of smaller, 
state owned lakes, large rivers as well as 
smaller streams perfect for floating. The 
waters of Kentucky contain warm water 
species such as largemouth bass, catfish 
and crappie as well as cool water species 
such as muskellunge, trout and walleye. 
An angler can run the gamut of fishing 
possibilities from catching slab crappie 
from Kentucky Lake and Lake Barkley 
in far western Kentucky to landing large 
rainbow trout in the Cumberland River 
below Lake Cumberland in southeast-
ern Kentucky. 

Buy your Kentucky fishing license 
and get in on the great fishing in our 
state.

Fishing Forecast
Use our Fisheries Biologists as your 
guide to your next fishing spot. The 
forecast provides anticipated fishing 
success based on current fish surveys 
and other historical data. Visit 
fw.ky.gov to download your copy.

https://app.fw.ky.gov/TournamentManager/tournamentschedule.aspx
https://fw.ky.gov/Fish/Pages/fish_attractor_lakes.aspx
https://fw.ky.gov/Fish/Pages/Fish-Boat-KY-App.aspx
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Sensitive population
Women of childbearing age, children 
6 years of age or younger, pregnant 
and nursing women and women who 
plan to become pregnant should fol-
low the advisories in the “Sensitive 
Population” category.

minnows, etc. Predatory fish include 
black bass (smallmouth, largemouth and 
spotted), white bass, striped bass, hybrid 
striped bass, sauger, saugeye, walleye, 
muskellunge, flathead and blue catfish, 
yellow bass, chain pickerel and all gars.

Panfish include bluegill, crap-
pie, rock bass as well as green, longear 
and redear sunfish. Bottom feeder fish 
include the bullheads, buffalo species, 
channel catfish, common carp, redhorse 
species, shovelnose sturgeon, drum,  
creek chub as well as carpsuckers and 
white, spotted and northern hog suckers.

STATEWIDE
All waters are under advisory for 

mercury. Women of childbearing age 
and children 6 years of age or younger 
should eat no more than six meals per 
year of predatory fish. They should eat 
no more than one meal per month of 
panfish, bottom feeder fish and no more 
than one meal per week of fish in the 
“other fish” category. The general popu-
lation should eat no more than one meal 
per month of predatory fish and no more 
than one meal per week of panfish and 
bottom feeder fish. There is no advisory 
for the general population for fish in the  
“other fish” category. However, brown 
trout over 17 inches are more predatory 
and have the potential to build up higher 
contaminant levels when compared to 

Kentucky anglers will oc-
casionally clean a fish and find a 
white or yellowish color worm in 
the fish’s flesh that is about the 
size of a grain of rice. Or, when 
stream fishing, an angler will 
encounter a smallmouth bass or 
sunfish with small black specks on 
its belly or across its body. 

This is a parasitic fluke that 
requires different host animals to 
complete its life cycle: a fish eating 
bird, a snail and a fish. The grub 
matures and produces eggs inside 
a host fish-eating bird such as a 
Great Blue Heron. The eggs enter 
the water from the bird’s droppings 

REDUCE YOUR RISK

Risks from eating contaminated 
fish can be reduced by the 
following:
• fillet the fish, remove the skin 

and trim all fat
• do not eat fish eggs
• broil, grill or bake the fillets in-

stead of frying or microwaving
• do not eat or reuse juices or fats 

that cook out of the fish.

PARASITES and GRUBS IN FISH

or from its mouth. The eggs hatch 
and tiny larvae of the parasite 
burrow into a snail. After a time 
in the snail, the parasite changes 
form and swims to its next host, a 
fish. Inside the fish, the parasite 
changes to a grub form and waits 
for the fish to be eaten. Then, the 
cycle repeats.

The angler’s first instinct is 
to discard any fish with either 
the grubs in the flesh or black 
specks on the body. Grub-infested 
fish are safe to eat. Grubs do not 
infect people. Remove any grubs 
found and prepare the fish as you 
normally would.

The Kentucky Departments for 
Environmental Protection, Health Ser-
vices and Fish and Wildlife Resources 
jointly issue a fish consumption advisory 
to the public when fish are found con-
taminated. Trace contaminants such as 
polychlorinated biphenyl (PCB), mer-
cury and chlordane are found in some 
fish in Kentucky. An advisory cautions 
people about potential health problems 
that may result from eating fish caught 
from a particular area. An advisory does 
not ban eating fish; it is a guide to reduce 
your risk. This guide provides informa-
tion on how often fish may be safely eat-
en. Most fish are healthy to eat and are 
an excellent source of low-fat protein. 

CONSUMPTION GUIDELINES
Consumption rates for specific fish 

have been developed based on a meal of 
½ pound of fish (before cooking) eaten 
by a 150-pound individual. Following 
these guidelines and spacing your meals 
of those fish species will limit your 
health risks by reducing your total expo-
sure. See table on the next page. 

Fish consumption advisories now 
delineate between predatory fish, bot-
tom feeder fish, panfish and other fish 
species including invasive carp, trout, 

smaller brown trout.
Organic mercury occurs naturally 

in the environment and does not affect 
swimmers, skiers or boaters. Fish accu-
mulate low levels of mercury by eating 
plankton and other small aquatic crea-
tures.

In 2021, state officials began testing 
fish from Kentucky waters to determine 
the prevalence of PFAS or polyfluoro-
alkyl substances. These substances are 
found in non-stick cookware, firefight-
ing foam, stain resistant carpets and 
some food packaging and break down 
slowly in the environment. PFAS chem-
icals can be found in water, air, soil, fish, 
and wildlife and can build up in organ-
isms such as fish over time.   

From 2021 to 2022, fish from seven 
streams and a separate lake study were 
tested for PFAS and all samples had 
detectable levels of PFAS. Health offi-
cials are still evaluating the risks posed 
by these chemicals. However, to lower 
potential health risks from PFAS, of-
ficials recommend following the same 
consumption guidelines for mercury 
while consuming fish from Kentucky 
waters. The Department for Environ-
mental Protection continues to monitor 
and evaluate the occurrence of PFAS in 
Kentucky.

FISH CONSUMPTION ADVISORIES
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NUMBER OF MEALS PER SPECIES General 
Population

Sensitive 
Population

STATEWIDE

Predatory fish (mercury and 
PFAS) 1/month 6/year

Bottom feeders and panfish 
(mercury and PFAS) 1/week 1/month

Other fish (mercury and PFAS) No advisory 1/week
DRAKES CREEK (from dam on W. Fork at Franklin, 
KY downstream to confluence with Barren River) All species (PCB) No consumption

FISH LAKE, Ballard Co. 
(from lake headwaters to outflow of Shawnee Creek) Bottom feeders (mercury) 1/month 6/year

FISHTRAP LAKE, Pike Co. (from VA/KY state line to 
Fishtrap Lake dam)

Bottom feeders and hybrid 
striped bass (PCB) 1/month 6/year

GREEN RIVER LAKE (from lake headwaters to dam) Bottom feeders (PCB and 
mercury) 1/month 6/year

KNOX CREEK, Pike Co. 
(from VA/KY state line to Tug Fork River)

Flathead catfish (PCB and 
mercury) No consumption

Bottom feeders (PCB) 6/year No 
consumption

Predatory fish (PCB) and panfish 
(PCB and mercury) 1/month 6/year

LITTLE BAYOU CREEK, McCracken Co. All species (PCB) No consumption
METROPOLIS LAKE, McCracken Co. All species (PCB and mercury) No consumption

MUD RIVER, Logan Co. 
(from headwaters to Wolf Lick Creek)

Bottom feeders (PCB) No consumption
Predatory fish and panfish (PCB) 1/month 6/year

MUD RIVER, Butler and Muhlenberg cos. 
(from Wolf Lick Creek to Green River)

Bottom feeders (PCB) 1/month 6/year
Panfish (PCB) 1/week 1/month

TOWN BRANCH, Logan Co. All species (PCB) No consumption

FISH CONSUMPTION ADVISORIES 

OHIO RIVER, UPPER  
and MIDDLE REACH  
(Mouth of the Big Sandy 
River to J.T. Meyers L&D)

Common carp (PCB) 1/month 1/month
Channel catfish under 18 inches long (PCB) 1/month 1/month

Channel catfish 18 inches and longer (PCB) 6/year 6/year
Flathead catfish (PCB) 1/month 1/month
Striped and hybrid striped bass (PCB) 6/year 6/year
White bass (PCB) 1/month 1/month
All suckers (PCB) 1/month 1/month
Freshwater drum (PCB) 1/month 1/month
Black bass (largemouth, smallmouth and spotted) (mercury) 1/month 1/month

OHIO RIVER,  
LOWER REACH  
(J.T. Meyers L&D to mouth 
of Ohio River)

Common carp 22 inches and longer (PCB) 1/month 1/month
Blue catfish 20 inches and longer (PCB) 1/month 1/month
Channel catfish 18 inches and longer (PCB) 1/month 1/month
Flathead catfish (PCB and mercury) 1/month 1/month
Striped and hybrid striped bass (PCB and mercury) 1/month 1/month
White bass (mercury) 1/month 1/month
Freshwater drum 14 inches and longer (mercury) 1/month 1/month
Black bass (largemouth, smallmouth and spotted) (mercury) 1/month 1/month
Sauger (mercury) 1/month 1/month

The Ohio River has different advisories than other Kentucky waters. 
Any fish species not listed in the table below falls under a 1 meal per week advisory for mercury.

PARASITES and GRUBS IN FISH
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ANGLER’S FISH IDENTIFICATION GUIDE

BLUEGILL
1. Gill flap black, 2. Vertical bars on side, 3. Dark 
blotch at rear of soft dorsal fin

REDEAR SUNFISH
1. Gill flap black with orange or red margin, 
2. No dark blotch at rear of soft dorsal fin

SPOTTED BASS
1. Upper jaw does not extend beyond back of eye,  
2. Shallow notch between dorsal fins, 3. Rows of dark 
spots below lateral line, 4. Single tooth patch on tongue

3
1

1 2

1

2

1

2

1

WHITE CRAPPIE
1. Dorsal fin has five or six spines, 2. Vertical bars on side

3

1

BLACK CRAPPIE
1. Dorsal fin has seven or eight spines, 2. Irregular 
black blotches on side

SMALLMOUTH BASS
1. Upper jaw does not extend beyond back of eye, 2. Shallow 
notch between dorsal fins, 3. Bronze colored with vertical bars 
on side

2

LARGEMOUTH BASS
1. Upper jaw extends beyond back of eye, 2. Dorsal 
fins separated by deep notch

2

2

3

2
1

3
ROCK BASS

1. Eye rimmed in red, 2. Most scales have a dark spot,  
3. Anal fin has five or six spines

4

2

1
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HYBRID STRIPED BASS
1. Tooth patch on tongue consists of two rows of teeth, 
often partially joined, 2. Back moderately arched,  
3. Most stripes are broken, many more than once

STRIPED BASS
1. Tooth patch on tongue consists of two distinctly 
split, parallel rows of teeth, 2. Back slightly 
arched, more streamlined, 3. Stripes very distinct 
and most extend fully onto tail

WHITE BASS
1. Single tooth patch on tongue, 2. Back arched, 
3. Stripes often faint and irregular

1

3

1

2

3

1

2

3

2

YELLOW BASS
1. No tooth patch on tongue, 2. Second and 
third anal spines nearly same length, 3. Stripes 
distinct and broken above anal fin

1

2

3

3

FLATHEAD CATFISH
1. Lower jaw projects far beyond upper jaw, 2. Tail fin not 
deeply forked, 3. Head is compressed on flathead catfish

1 2

CHANNEL CATFISH
1. Outer margin of anal fin rounded, with 24 to 29 rays, 
2. Dark spots usually on body, 3. Tail fin deeply forked

1

2

3

BLUE CATFISH
1. Outer margin of anal fin straight, with 30 to 35 rays, 
2. Body without dark spots, 3. Tail fin deeply forked

2

1

3

Lake sturgeon and alligator gar may not be harvested statewide. 
Alligator gar are part of a restoration effort in western Kentucky. 
Lake sturgeon are part of a restoration effort in the upper reaches 
of Lake Cumberland. If you see or catch these fish, please report 
the catch or sighting to Matt Thomas at (502) 892-4463.

LAKE STURGEON
1. Short cone-shaped snout, 2. Short caudal peduncle, 
3. Rows of bony plates (scutes)

ALLIGATOR GAR
1. Short, broad snout when compared to other gar species, 
2. Numerous large teeth, 3. Heavy body and large size 
(adults can reach 9 feet and 300 pounds)

1 23

1

2 3
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AQUATIC NUISANCE SPECIES

SILVER CARP
1. Eye located below midline of head, 2. Keel 
extending from the anus to the origin of the pectoral 
fins, 3. Silvery in color, very small scales.

BIGHEAD CARP
1. Eye located below midline of head, 2. Keel 
extending from the anus to the middle of the pelvic 
fins, 3. Dark gray body with blotches, very small scales.

GRASS CARP
1. Large, dark-edged scales, 2. Mouth terminally 
located and lacks barbels, 3. Color is dark olive above, 
with greenish-yellow sides, and white belly

INVASIVE CARP
Four species of invasive carps (big-

head, silver, black and grass) are repro-
ducing and threaten Kentucky’s aquatic 
ecology. These fish may outcompete na-

1
2

3

1
2

3

2

1
3

MUSKELLUNGE
1. Duck-like bill with sharp teeth, 2. No scales on 
lower half of cheek and gill flap

1

2

WALLEYE
1. Dark streaks or blotches on spiny dorsal fin, but not 
distinct spots, 2. Dark blotch at rear of spiny, dorsal fin, 
3. White spot on lower lobe of tail fin

SAUGER
1. Rows of dark spots on spiny dorsal fin, 2. No dark 
blotch at rear of spiny dorsal fin, 3. Dark saddle-like 
blotches which extend onto the sides of the body

1

3

1

3

2

2

SAUGEYE
1. Intermediate in appearance between walleye and sauger, 
2. May have dark streaks or blotches on spiny dorsal fin,  
3. Dark blotches on side, but smaller than those on sauger

tive fishes for forage and their popula-
tions in some areas are expanding at an 
alarming rate. KDFWR supports com-
mercial fishing of invasive carps (301 
KAR 1:152 Harvest and sale of Asian 

Carp). There are restrictions on the use 
of live-caught shad and herring to pre-
vent the movement of Invasive Carp. 
Do Not Move Carp - Learn more about 
invasive carp at fw.ky.gov.

BLACK CARP
1. Body shape similar to grass carp, 2. Pharyngeal 
teeth (teeth in the throat) look like human molars,  
3. Large scales and dark in color

1

2

3

1
2

3

https://fw.ky.gov/Fish/Pages/Invasive-Carp-Information.aspx
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It’s the law
No live fish, live minnow, or live 
bait organisms not native or estab-
lished in Kentucky (except aquarium 
species) shall be bought, sold, pos-
sessed, imported, or in any way used 
or released into Kentucky waters.

The Alabama Bass is native to 
the Mobile River Basin in Alabama, 
Georgia, and Mississippi. They look 
nearly identical to native "Kentucky" 
Spotted Bass but pose a major threat 
to the bass fisheries in Kentucky. 
Alabama Bass have rapidly displaced 
and outcompeted the native Large-
mouth Bass in areas of North Caroli-
na, Georgia, Tennessee, Virginia, and 
South Carolina where they have been 
illegally introduced by anglers hoping 
for trophy fish. Instead, Alabama 

DON'T MOVE FISH! ALABAMA BASS: A THREAT TO BASS POPULATIONS

Bass rarely get larger than 1-2 pounds 
outside of their native range.

Alabama Bass will readily hybrid-
ize with Smallmouth Bass and Spotted 
Bass and have nearly eliminated those 
species through genetic mixing in 
invaded lakes. For example, an Ala-
bama Bass introduction would mean a 
total loss of Kentucky’s official state 
fish, the “Kentucky” Spotted Bass 
or potentially the loss of the premier 
Smallmouth Bass fishery at Dale Hol-
low Lake. 

Research in other states sug-
gests that even introducing small 
numbers of Alabama Bass can lead 
to a collapse in the native bass 
numbers in less than 10 years. Once 
established, no state has success-
fully been able to reduce Alabama 
Bass numbers or their negative ef-
fects on native bass populations. To 
prevent the introduction of Alabama 
Bass into Kentucky, do not move 
any bass species between waterbod-
ies. It is illegal!

 

ECONOMIC IMPACTS
Economic impacts can include 

increased costs to businesses and indi-
viduals due to interference with normal 
operations or infrastructure. In addition, 
tourism dollars are lost when recreation-
al experiences such as hunting, hiking, 
fishing, swimming, and boating are no 
longer possible or pleasant. For example, 
invasive zebra mussels (Dreissena poly-
morpha) and quagga mussels (Dreissena 
bugensis) clog pipes, cover shoreline ac-
cess, and encrust boat hulls and motors. 
Their impacts alone have cost the U.S. 
billions of dollars in damage control.

ECOLOGICAL IMPACTS
Aquatic nuisance species ecologi-

cal impacts include the degradation of 

native habitats and ecosystem function, 
reduced abundance of native species, 
and the loss of biodiversity (the com-
munity of unique organisms within 
specific habitats). Consider the invasive 
aquatic weed hydrilla (Hydrilla verticil-
lata). Hydrilla is a submerged plant that 
spreads rapidly while choking out native 
vegetation and altering the physical and 
chemical composition of the lakes and 
ponds where it is introduced. 
This can lead to reduced forag-
ing habitat, alter the flow and 
mixing of the water column, 
and disrupt access for boating, 
fishing, swimming, and even 
block the withdrawal of wa-
ter for agricultural irrigation 
or power generation in many 
water bodies.

WHAT YOU CAN DO
Anglers and Water 
Recreationists
• Clean your boat, anchor, and other 

items that may have been submerged 
in water. 

• Do not move fish you caught to new 
lakes, streams, or ponds.

• Empty the water from the vessel, live 
well and buckets before leaving the 
boat ramp. 

•  Do not dump leftover bait! Dispose 
of unwanted bait, including min-
nows, leeches, crayfish and worms, in 
the trash. Dumping of bait is a major 
pathway that allows nuisance species 
to spread between waterways.

Aquarium and Water Garden 
Owners

Do not release or dump pet fish, 

plants, or live bait. Your action could be 
harmful to native fish and wildlife. Some 
alternatives to release include:
• Give/trade with another aquarist or 

water gardener.
• Donate to a local aquarium society, 

school, or aquatic business.
• Contact a veterinarian or pet retailer 

for guidance on humane disposal of 
animals.

DIDYMO
Didymo (Didymosphenia germinate) 

has been documented in the Cumber-
land River. This invasive species is a white, 
gray, light brown, or beige mass that 
forms thick mats covering the rocks and 
stream bottom. This crowds native insects 
that trout feed on. Clean Drain Dry for 
gear. Remove algae and plant material 
from your gear. Clean with water or a 2% 
bleach solution and dry for 2 days.

Report aquatic  
nuisance species
If you have questions or think you 
have observed an aquatic nuisance 
species, contact Jeff Herod at (270) 
978-5377 or jeffrey.herod@ky.gov. 
Information provided in your report 
should include a location, contact 
phone and email, and a photograph.

Didymo photo courtesy Fish & Game New Zealand

mailto:jeffrey.herod%40ky.gov?subject=
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TROUT WATERS

BROWN TROUT
1. Dark spots and orange or red spots with blue halos,  
2. Few spots on tail fin

RAINBOW TROUT
1. Pink to red stripe on side, 2. Back and sides heavily 
speckled, 3. Spots on tail fin

2

2 3

BROOK TROUT
1. Worm-like markings (vermiculations) on upper body,  
2. Pale spots on dark background

1

CUTTHROAT TROUT
1. Orange/red “slash” on lower jaw, 2. May have pink hue 
along centerline, but typically pale, 3. Spots may be more 
concentrated towards rear of fish

TAILWATERS
The following tailwaters receive 

rainbow and brown trout. Stocking 
begins in spring and continues into 
the late fall; monthly totals will vary. 
Monthly schedules are available through 
Kentucky Fish and Wildlife by call-
ing 1-800-858-1549 or logging on to 
fw.ky.gov.

TAILWATERS Total Rainbows Total Browns Months

Buckhorn 5,000 0 4,5,6,10,11

Carr Creek 4,000 0 4,5,10,11

Cave Run 6,000 0 4,5,6,10,11

Cumberland* 192,400 42,000 3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10,11,12

Dewey 4,000 0 4,5,10,11

Fishtrap 10,000 0 4,5,6,10,11

Grayson 5,000 0 4,5,6,10,11

Herrington 4,500 300 3,5,6,7,8,11

Laurel River 500 250 3,4,5,6,10

Martins Fork 3,750 0 4,5,6,10,11

Nolin River 8,000 250 3,4,5,6,7,9,10,11

Paintsville 14,000 0 4,5,6,7,9,10,11

Taylorsville 3,000 0 4,5,6,11

Yatesville 3,000 0 4,5,10,11

*Stocking dates for Cumberland River (Lake Cumberland tailwater) will not be 
announced. Also, brook trout are stocked in March and cutthroat trout in early fall.

Leave a note
When planning a boating trip, leave 
a note, or float plan, with someone 
to let them know where you are. 
Include your departure and expected 
return times, the waters where you 
will be boating, a description and/
or license number of the vessel and 
where you can be reached in case of 
emergency.

TROUT STOCKING

1

2 3

21

1



T
R

O
U

T
 W

A
T

E
R

S

25

STATEWIDE STREAMS County
Total 

Rainbows
Months

Total 
Browns

Catch and Release  
(No Harvest) Season

Bark Camp Creek* Whitley 3,750 3,4,5,6,10 500 Oct. 1 - March 31; 3.9 miles

Beaver Creek Wayne 1,500 4,5,10
Oct. 1 - March 31; Hwy 90 bridge 

upstream to Hwy 200 bridge – 
2.8 miles

Big Bone Creek Boone 1,600 3,4,10,12
Oct. 1 - March 31; inside the Big 
Bone Lick State Park – 2.1 miles

Big Caney Creek Elliott 2,500 4,5,10 250
Black Lick Creek Logan 1,250 3,5,6,7,10
Cane Creek* Laurel 3,750 3,4,5,6,10 Oct. 1 - March 31; 6.6 miles
Casey Creek Trigg 8,000 2,4,5,6,7,8,9,10 Oct. 1 - March 31; 3.6 miles
Chimney Top Creek* Wolfe 450 9

Clear Creek Bell 1,200 4,10
Oct. 1 - March 31; Hwy 190 bridge 
down stream to mouth – 4.5 miles

Craney Creek* Rowan 1,000 9
East Fork, Indian Creek* Menifee 4,000 3,4,5,9 400 Oct. 1 - March 31; 5.3 miles
East Fork, Little Sandy River Boyd 2,400 3,4,10
Elk Spring Creek Wayne 1,600 4,5,6,10 Oct. 1 - March 31; 2.8 miles

Floyds Fork Jefferson 12,000 2,3,4,10,11,12
Oct. 1 - March 31; US 60 

downstream to US 150 – 20 miles

Fort Campbell Christian 2,400 2,4 3,250
Greasy Creek Leslie 900 4,11
Gunpowder Creek Boone 1,600 3,4,10,12 Oct. 1 - March 31; 1.5 miles
Hatchery Creek (upper) Russell 32,100 monthly
Jennings Creek Warren 7,000 3,5,6,7,8,9,10 500
Laurel Creek Elliott 2,750 4,5,10 250
Looney Creek Harlan 1,500 4,5,10 700
Lynn Camp Creek Hart 2,500 4,5,6,7,10
Middle Fork, Red River* Powell/Wolfe 2,700 3,4,5,9
North Fork, Triplett Creek* Rowan 1,050 3,4,5

Otter Creek, Fort Knox
Otter Creek ORA Meade

7,500
7,250

3,4,6,7,8,9,10
 2,3,4,5,11,12

500
(fort only)

Oct. 1 - March 31; Ft. Knox 
Military Reservation and Otter 

Creek ORA – 9.7 miles
Right Fork, Beaver Creek Floyd 2,000 4,5,10,11
Right Fork, Buffalo Creek Owsley 500 4,5

Rock Creek* McCreary 15,125
3,4,5,6,9,10, 

11,12

Oct. 1 - March 31; Tennessee 
border downstream to Bell Farm 

bridge – 9.8 miles
Round Stone Creek Hart 2,800 3,5,6,7,8,9,10 200
Royal Springs Scott 1,200 5,6,7
Russell Fork Pike 2,250 4,5,10
Sinking Creek Breckinridge 1,200 4,5,11
Station Camp Creek Estill 750 4

The streams listed on the following 
pages are stocked with rainbow trout by 
the Kentucky Department of Fish and 
Wildlife Resources (KDFWR) and the 
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service during 
the months indicated. Brown trout are 
stocked once each year in some streams 

STREAMS

for a put-grow-take fishery. All trout are 
produced at Wolf Creek National Fish 
Hatchery. Visit fw.ky.gov for a list of 
monthly trout stockings.

CATCH and RELEASE STREAMS
Some streams indicated in the ta-

ble have a catch and release season (no 
harvest) from Oct. 1 through March 31. 
During the catch and release season, 
only artificial baits shall be used and all 
trout caught must be immediately re-
leased.



T
R

O
U

T
 W

A
T

E
R

S

26

TROPHY FISH

*Daniel Boone National Forest stream; stockings are not announced.

STATEWIDE STREAMS 
(continued)

County
Total 

Rainbows
Months

Total 
Browns

Catch and Release  
(No Harvest) Season

Sturgeon Creek Lee 400 4
Sulphur Spring Creek Simpson 3,000 3,5,6,7,8,9,10 200

Swift Camp Creek* Wolfe 1,000 3,9
Oct. 1 - March 31; within Clifty 

Wilderness Area – 8.0 miles
Trammel Creek Allen 7,000 3,5,6,7,8,9,10 600 Oct. 1 - March 31 – 4.4 miles
Triplett Creek Rowan 1,200 3,4,5
War Fork* Jackson 2,500 3,4,5,6,10
West Hickman Creek 
(Veteran’s Park) Fayette 1,000 2,10

Wolf Creek Martin 2,000 4,11

Many of the streams listed in this guide are located on, or adjacent to, privately owned lands. 
Anyone entering upon or crossing private property must have the permission of the land owner.

LAKES Acres
Total 
Trout

Months

Bert Combs Lake 36 4,000 1,4,5,10
Beulah Lake 87 4,000 1,4,5,10
Boulder Pond, Parklands 1 800 3,10
Cannon Creek Lake 243 9,000* 2,3,10
Cranks Creek Lake 219 5,000 1,4,5,10
Eagle Lake 19 2,000 2,3,10,11
Fagan Branch Lake 126 2,500* 3,11
Fishpond Lake 32 4,000 1,4,5,10
Grant’s Branch Lake 22 4,500 1,3,11
Greenbo Lake 181 13,000* 2,10
Highsplint Lake 6 2,250 1,10
Ky. River WMA Boone Tract, Six Acre Lake 6 2,000 2,10

Laurel River Lake 5,600 6,000* 3
Martin Co. (Milo) Lake 5 2,750 2,11
Metcalfe Co. Lake 22 500 3
Mill Creek Lake 41 6,000 1,3,5,10
Morton’s Lake, Higginson/Henry WMA 1 500 2
Paintsville Lake 1,139 14,000* 2,3
Panbowl Lake 75 6,000 3,10
Peabody WMA, Access Pond 1 2,250 1,11
Peabody WMA, Flycatcher Pond 1 1,500 1,11
Peabody WMA, Rob’s Pond 11 1,500 1,11
Pikeville City Lake 24 2,500 3,11
Sandy Watkins Park Lake 3 1,000 2,10
Wood Creek Lake 672 8,000 2,10

* Total trout includes brown trout

The lakes below are stocked with rainbow trout in the months indicated. January-
March stockings are scheduled based on weather and road conditions. See FINs 
lakes trout stocking table on page 6.

LAKES

FORT CAMPBELL and  
FORT KNOX

Little West Fork and Fletch-
ers Fork on Fort Campbell (Tennes-
see portion) and Otter Creek on Fort 
Knox (Bullitt, Meade and Hardin 
counties) military reservations are 
stocked with rainbow or brown trout. 
Special fishing regulations apply and a 
post fishing permit is required in ad-
dition to a valid Kentucky fishing li-
cense and trout permit. Contact Com-
munity Recreation Division, Hunting 
and Fishing Unit, Fort Campbell, KY 
42223-5000; phone: (270) 798-9824 
or Hunt Control Office, Fort Knox, 
KY; phone: (502) 624-7311. 

CATCH and RELEASE BROOK 
TROUT STREAMS

Three streams are catch and re-
lease only year-round and only artifi-
cial flies and lures with a single hook 
may be used on these streams:
• Dog Fork – Wolfe County
• Parched Corn Creek – Wolfe 

County*
• Shillalah Creek – Bell County, out-

side the Cumberland Gap National 
Historic Park

* Parched Corn Creek is stocked annually 
with brook trout as part of a restora-
tion project.

OTHER AREAS

Get permission
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TROPHY FISH

Anglers who catch, by pole and 
line, any one fish meeting the length 
requirements below may qualify for the 
Trophy Fish/Master Angler Awards 
Program. Anglers who catch three 
different species of trophy status are 
eligible for the Master Angler Award.  
There is no time limit in which the 
three different species must be caught, 
but each catch must be documented 
and registered as a trophy fish with 
Kentucky Fish and Wildlife since the 
program began in 1987. Species counted 
toward a Master Angler Award may not 
be duplicated.

Anglers submitting a qualifying 
trophy fish will receive a Trophy Fish 
Patch and sticker representing the 
species caught, along with a Trophy 
Fish Program Patch and sticker if it 
is the angler’s first qualifying trophy 
fish.  After submitting three different 
qualifying trophy fish species, anglers 
will receive the coveted Master Angler 
Patch and sticker.

ELIGIBLE SPECIES Minimum 
length

Blue Catfish 35”
Bluegill 10”
Bowfin 25”
Brook Trout 15”
Brown Trout 20”
Bullhead Catfish 14”
Common Carp 35”
Chain Pickerel 24”
Channel Catfish 28”
Crappie 15”
Flathead Catfish 35”
Freshwater Drum 25”
Gar 40”

Hybrid Striped Bass 23”
Kentucky (Spotted) 
Bass 16”

Largemouth Bass 23”
Muskellunge 40”
Rainbow Trout 20”
Redear Sunfish 10”
Redbreast Sunfish 10”
Rock Bass 10”
Sauger 18”
Saugeye 23”
Smallmouth Bass 20”
Striped Bass 36”
Walleye 25”
White Bass 16”
Yellow Perch 10”

All applications for Trophy Fish/
Master Angler Awards and associated 
photos must be received within 60 days 
of the catch to qualify for the respective 
patch and sticker. The department may 
use submitted photos for promotional 
purposes.

Anglers must register at fw.ky.gov 
to receive their patches, stickers, and 
self-printable Trophy Fish Certificates. 

Complete details are available by 
calling 1-800-858-1549 or online at 
fw.ky.gov.

TROPHY FISH/MASTER ANGLER AWARD PROGRAM

Wyatt Hoefer caught the state record 
brook trout from the Cumberland 
River on March 15, 2015. The fish 
weighed 3.65 pounds.
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SPECIES Weight Caught By Location Date

ANCIENT FISH

Bowfin 15.08 lbs. Norman Moran, Lexington, KY Green River 05/31/99

Longnose Gar 40 lbs. Kelsie Travis, Jr., Paducah, KY Ohio River 08/08/56

Paddlefish (Spoonbill) 106 lbs. William Chumbler, Calvert City, KY Ohio River 03/23/04
Lake Sturgeon (current 
regulations do not allow 
harvest of Lake Sturgeon)

36.5 lbs. Barney Frazier, Corbin, KY Lake Cumberland 10/03/54

BLACK BASS

Kentucky (Spotted) Bass 7.63 lbs. A.E. Sellers, Louisville, KY Private lake, Nelson Co. 06/13/70

Largemouth Bass 14.59 lbs. Mark Ward, Evarts, KY Highsplint Lake 04/19/19

Smallmouth Bass* 11.94 lbs. David L. Hayes, Leitchfield, KY Dale Hollow Lake 07/09/55

Coosa Bass 1.21 lbs. Seth Goodin, Smith, KY Martins Fork River 05/25/13

TEMPERATE BASS

Striped Bass (Rockfish) 58.25 lbs. Roger Foster, Somerset, KY Lake Cumberland 12/11/85

Hybrid Striped Bass 20.5 lbs. Mark Wilson, Louisville, KY Barren River 04/27/91

White Bass 5 lbs. (TIE)
Lorne Eli, Dawson Springs, KY Kentucky Lake 07/11/43

B.B. Hardin, Mt. Eden, KY Herrington Lake 06/03/57

Yellow Bass 1.4 lbs. William Hinton, Central City, KY
Cumberland River,  

Lake Barkley tailwaters
03/19/09

CARP/SUCKER

Bighead Carp 65.06 lbs. Eddie Young, Versailles, KY Kentucky River 07/18/20

Blue Sucker 8.34 lbs. Stacy L. Boik, Evansville, IN Ohio River 11/22/09

Buffalo (Smallmouth) 55 lbs. Clinton Roby, Waddy, KY Kentucky Lake 03/23/00

Common Carp 54.88 lbs. Ricky Vance, Paris, KY South Fork, Licking River 03/13/71

Creek Chub 0.59 lbs Joshua Scott, Louisville, KY Otter Creek, Hardin Co. 03/26/06

STATE RECORD FISH PROGRAM
To qualify for the state record fish 

program, fish must be caught in Ken-
tucky waters by a rod and reel or pole 
and line only and weigh a minimum of 
0.10 pounds. Fish taken on commercial 
gear, by trotlines, limb lines, jugging, 
gigging, snagging, by hand or bow fish-

WESTERN FISHERY DISTRICT
Adam Martin or Nick Simpson
Murray, (270) 753-3886

NORTHWESTERN FISHERY DISTRICT
Jeremy Shiflet or Maddy Ruble
Calhoun, (270) 273-3117

SOUTHWESTERN FISHERY DISTRICT
Eric Cummins or Kayla Boles  
Bowling Green, (270) 746-7127

CENTRAL FISHERY DISTRICT
Jeff Crosby or David Baker 
Frankfort, (502) 892-4464

NORTHEASTERN FISHERY 
DISTRICT 
Tom Timmermann or Nathan Hayes 
Morehead, (606) 783-8650

EASTERN FISHERY DISTRICT
Jason Russell or Emily Watling
Prestonsburg, (606) 889-1705

SOUTHEASTERN FISHERY 
DISTRICT
Marcy Anderson or Bradley Hartman
Somerset, (606) 677-4096

ing are not eligible. 
Fish need to be weighed on a scale 

certified for legal trade and witnessed by 
three people who must sign the record 
application. The intact fish (not filleted, 
gutted or cut up) must be identified in 
person by a KDFWR fishery biologist 

or the manager of Wolf Creek National 
Fish Hatchery.

Applications for the state record 
fish program are available by calling 
1-800-858-1549 or online at fw.ky.gov 
or from your District Fisheries Office 
listed below.

MINOR CLARK FISH HATCHERY 
Rod Middleton, Pete Besant or  
Scott Barrett 
Morehead, (606) 783-8650

PFEIFFER FISH HATCHERY 
Noah Nelson, Graham Howell or  
Andy Redden
Frankfort, (502) 564-4957

WOLF CREEK NATIONAL FISH 
HATCHERY
James Gray, (270) 343-3797
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Note: Line class records are not maintained by the KDFWR.
* All tackle world record

SPECIES (cont.) Weight Caught By Location Date

Golden Redhorse 4.31 lbs. Leif Meadows, Stanton, KY Red River 04/22/98

Grass Carp 58.5 lbs. Robert Marsh, Erlanger, KY Cemetary Lake, Kenton Co. 06/17/09

Northern Hog Sucker 1.75 lbs. Larry Salchli, Stanton, KY Slate Creek, Bath Co. 04/07/05

River Redhorse 9.06 lbs. Denny Hatfield, London, KY Rockcastle River 09/20/03

Silver Carp 17.34 lbs. Brian Montgomery, Louisville, KY Ohio River 02/27/23
Silver Redhorse 5.38 lbs. Justin Collins, London, KY Rockcastle River 04/17/10

White Sucker 1.63 lbs. Larry Salchli, Stanton, KY Slate Creek, Montgomery Co. 03/19/98

CATFISH

Blue Catfish 106.9 lbs. Glynn Grogan, Arlington, KY Ohio River 10/20/18

Bullhead Catfish 5.5 lbs. Randy Kirk, Maysville, KY Private Pond, Mason County 07/06/13

Channel Catfish 32 lbs. Kyle Estep, South Point, OH Ohio River 05/26/04

Flathead Catfish 97 lbs. Esker Carroll Green River 06/06/56

White Catfish 5.27 lbs. Ethen Vest, Frankfort, KY Guist Creek Lake 10/11/16

DRUM

Freshwater Drum 42.81 lbs. Alan Cooper, Morgantown, KY Dale Hollow Lake 04/26/21

HERRING

Skipjack Herring 3.10 lbs. Joey Dixon, Elizabethtown, KY Ohio River 04/14/06

MOONEYE

Goldeye 2.64 lbs. Mark Smith, Lexington, KY Kentucky River 04/21/01

Mooneye 0.63 lbs. Samir Bajric, Bowling Green, KY Barren River 08/23/19

PERCH

Sauger 7.44 lbs. Rastie Andrew, Jamestown, KY Cumberland River 04/28/83

Saugeye 9.03 lbs. Wolfgang Kratzenberg, Verona, KY Bullock Pen Lake 03/21/21

Walleye 21.5 lbs. Abe Black, Shaker Heights, OH Lake Cumberland 10/01/58

Yellow Perch 1.44 lbs. Klint Thaxton, Ashland, IL Kentucky Lake 03/12/10

PIKE

Chain Pickerel 5.38 lbs. Tommy Thompson, Bardwell, KY Forked Lake, Carlisle Co. 07/08/83

Grass Pickerel 0.63 lbs. Gerald Gallagher, Louisville, KY Wilson Creek, Bullitt Co. 07/17/89

Muskellunge 47 lbs. Sarah Terry, Mt. Sterling, KY Cave Run Lake 11/02/08

Northern Pike 10.53 lbs. Derek Cowden, Corbin, KY Laurel River Lake 10/29/06
Tiger Muskie 
(Muskellunge Hybrid) 19.56 lbs. Wayne Joslin, Winchester, KY Private lake, Clark Co. 04/25/07

SUNFISH

Bluegill 4.19 lbs. Phil Conyers, Madisonville, KY Strip Mine Lake, Hopkins Co. 08/05/80 

Crappie (White or Black) 4.87 lbs. Penny Hopper, Crofton, KY Watershed Lake, Christian Co. 05/08/05

Green Sunfish 1.59 lbs. David Gibson, Hawesville, KY Farm pond, Hancock Co. 05/20/13

Longear Sunfish 0.83 lbs. Anthony Lynch, Salyersville, KY Strip Mine Pond, Magoffin Co. 06/23/94

Redbreast Sunfish 0.88 lbs. Tim King, Stearns, KY Marsh Creek, McCreary Co. 09/01/97

Redear Sunfish 3.06 lbs. Betty Truax, Finchville, KY Farm pond, Shelby Co. 05/24/82

Rock Bass 1.63 lbs. H.S. White, Cadiz, KY Casey Creek, Trigg Co. 05/26/75

Warmouth 1.39 lbs. Jon Hoover, Louisville, KY Private pond, Jefferson Co. 07/21/03

TROUT

Brook Trout 3.65 lbs. Wyatt Hoefer, Louisville, KY Cumberland River 03/15/15

Brown Trout 21 lbs. Thomas Malone, Crofton, KY Cumberland River 04/30/00

Lake Trout 5.31 lbs. John McDonogh, Jeffersontown, KY Cumberland River 04/04/83

Rainbow Trout 14.38 lbs. Jim Mattingly, Somerset, KY Cumberland River 09/10/72
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INTRODUCTION
This publication provides basic 

information for most boaters and an-
swers the most commonly asked ques-
tions. However, it is not all inclusive. 
For further information, please con-
tact the Division of Law Enforcement, 
#1 Sportsman’s Lane, Frankfort, KY 
40601 or call 1-800-858-1549.

For emergencies, officers may be 
contacted by dialing 1-800-252-5378, or 
local law enforcement agency or through 
the nearest Kentucky State Police post. 
One may use marine channel 16 to con-
tact a local marina.

REGISTRATION

(301 KAR 6:001, 6:010)
All mechanically powered vessels 

used primarily in this state must have a 
Kentucky registration. Boats are regis-
tered at the county clerk’s office.  Persons 
may register in the county of their resi-
dence or the county of principal use. Boat 
registrations expire April 30 each year.

Boats registered in other states may 
be used for up to 60 consecutive days in 
Kentucky without registering here.

All boats operated in Kentucky 
must have the registration certificate 
on board. Boats that are rented from a 
marina or boat livery must have a lease 
agreement on board.

DISPLAY OF NUMBER and DECAL
Once boats are assigned a registra-

tion number and decals, they must be 
displayed correctly. The number assigned, 
and no other, shall be displayed on the 
bow, or forward half, of each side of the 
vessel, read from left to right, and in a 
position to be distinctly visible. The let-
ters and numbers must be of a plain block 
design, at least three (3) inches in height, 
and of a color that will provide maximum 
contrast to the background (light num-
bers on a dark hull or vice versa).

There must be a letter size space be-

BOATING REGULATIONS

KY 1234 AA

KY 1234 AA

Registration decal

tween letter and number groups:

Correct: KY 1234 AA
Incorrect: KY1234AA

Registration decals are to be placed 
within six inches behind (aft) and in line 
with the registration number. Upon renew-
al every year, old registration decals are to 
be removed and the current ones applied.

TRANSFER, DESTRUCTION OR 
ABANDONMENT

When ownership of a currently 
registered boat changes, it is the respon-

PROPER DISPLAY OF 
NUMBERS AND DECALS

BOATING

sibility of the purchaser to take the en-
dorsed title to the county clerk and have 
the boat transferred into the name of the 
new owner. This procedure must be done 
upon completion of the transaction.

Whenever a vessel is transferred, 
the seller shall, within 15 days, give the 
county clerk notice of the transfer of his 
interest in the vessel.

Whenever a vessel is destroyed or 
abandoned, the owner shall, within 15 
days, give notice to the county clerk to 
terminate the registration. The owner 
shall remove the numbers and decals 
from the vessel.

BOAT REGISTRATION FEES
Class A Vessels (less than 16’ in length) $21.00

Class 1 Vessels (16’ to less than 26’ in length) $40.00

Class 2 Vessels (26’ to less than 40’ in length) $50.00

Class 3 Vessels (over 40’ in length) $65.00

Inboard boats (regardless of size) $43.00

Boats propelled by an electric (trolling) motor only $10.00

The above costs do not include property taxes, clerks fees, titling fees or any other 
applicable charges. (301 KAR 6:005)
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Bordering waters
Kentucky boaters on the Ohio River 
may also be subject to the laws of 
Ohio, Indiana, Illinois and the U.S. 
Coast Guard.

AGE RESTRICTIONS 
A person must be 12 years or older 
to operate a motorboat (including 
personal watercraft) over 10 horse-
power on Kentucky public waters. 
A person 12-17 years old shall 
possess a Kentucky Safe Boating 
Certificate Card or a certificate 
showing successful completion 
of a NASBLA approved boater 
education course. For information 
about Kentucky’s Boater Education 
program, call 1-800-858-1549 or 
on the internet, log on to fw.ky.gov.
Persons under 12 years of age must 
wear a personal floatation device 
(lifejacket) while in the open por-
tion of a boat that is under way.

BOAT, MOTOR and LAKE USAGE

(301 KAR 1:012, 1:015)
Maximum horsepower limits and 

other boat motor and lake usage regula-
tions apply on many small public fish-
ing lakes. (For boat size limits see box 
on this page.)

MOTOR SIZE RESTRICTIONS:
Operation of electric or internal 

combustion motors prohibited: Lake 
Chumley, Dennie Gooch Lake and 
Kingdom Come Lake.

Operation of internal combustion 
motors prohibited – electric trolling 
motor only: Bert T. Combs Lake, Briggs 
Lake, Carpenter and Kingfisher lakes, 
Carter Caves State Park Lake (a.k.a. 
Smoky Valley Lake), Lebanon City Lake 
(a.k.a. Fagan Branch Lake), Fishpond 
Lake, all Kentucky River WMA Boone 
Tract lakes (except Benjy Kinman Lake), 
Lincoln Homestead State Park Lake, 
McNeely Lake, Marion County Lake, 
Martin County Lake, Metcalfe County 
Lake, Mauzy Lake, Mill Creek Lake, 
Lake Reba, Spurlington Lake, Washburn 
Lake, Pikeville City Lake.

Motors larger than 10 HP must 
operate at idle speed at all times on 
Beaver Lake, Boltz Lake, Bullock Pen 
Lake, Corinth Lake, Cranks Creek 
(Herb Smith) Lake, Elmer Davis Lake, 
Kincaid Lake, Martins Fork Lake and 
Shanty Hollow Lake. 

Idle Speed Only: Ballard WMA 
lakes, Benjy Kinman Lake, Boatwright 
WMA lakes, Beulah Lake, Carnico Lake, 
Greenbo Lake, Panbowl Lake, Wilgreen 
Lake and all Peabody WMA lakes in-
cluding Goose, Island and South lakes.

ON ALL KENTUCKY FISH 
& WILDLIFE-OWNED/
MANAGED LAKES: 

• Boaters must use idle speed 
(slowest speed possible to main-
tain maneuverability of a boat) 
when passing another boat with 
an occupant actively engaged in 
fishing. 

• The centerline of boats on the 
water cannot exceed 22 feet 
as measured on deck or bow 
to stern on all lakes owned or 
managed by Kentucky Fish and 
Wildlife, except on Guist Creek 
Lake where monohull boats with 
a centerline of 24 feet and 8 
person capacity are allowed. 

• On Cedar Creek Lake, Lake 
Beshear and Lake Malone only, 
pontoon boats may have deck-
ing and pontoons up to 30 feet; 
on Guist Creek Lake pontoon 
max length is 24 feet. There is 
no size restriction on canoes. 

• Houseboats are not permitted. 
• Personal watercrafts are pro-

hibited on Cedar Creek Lake.
• Swimming is permitted only in 

designated areas when a quali-
fied lifeguard is on duty. 

• Skin or scuba diving is not per-
mitted.

Water-skiing permitted as des-
ignated by signs on Guist Creek 
Lake and Lake Beshear from 
10:00 a.m. to sunset beginning 
the third Thursday in May (May 
16, 2024) through September 30. 
Similarly, water-skiing is permit-
ted on Lake Malone beginning the 
third Thursday in May (May 16, 
2024) through October 31. Wa-
ter-skiing and tubing are prohibit-
ed on Cedar Creek Lake.

Note
Legal-size boats exceeding the maxi-
mum horsepower restriction for a 
particular lake may operate their boat 
with an electric trolling motor only.

WATER-SKIING
Water skiing is the act of riding in 

or upon water skis, kneeboards, wake-
boards, tubes or similar devices propelled 
by a boat’s wake or while riding on or 
in a boat’s wake directly behind a vessel 
that is under way. This applies whether 
the person is holding a rope attached to 
the boat or not.  Water-skiing is only al-
lowed between sunrise and sunset. Ad-
ditionally, it is illegal to manipulate skis, 
surfboards, etc. while intoxicated or un-
der the influence of any other substance 
that impairs one’s operating ability.

Both the operator and skier should 
be alert to the areas of a lake or river 
marked as “no ski.” Persons shall not ski 
within 100 feet of a commercial boat 
dock, a moorage harbor or a swimming 
area or within 2,000 feet of a lock or dam. 

Skiers who ski too close to other 
boats, docks and obstructions are showing 
poor judgement. Many of the complaints 
officers receive while patrolling the water 
are those about skiers skiing too close.

Persons being towed by any device 
must wear a Type I, II or III PFD or its 
equivalent buoyancy. Boats (including 
personal watercraft) towing skiers must 
have, in addition to the operator of the 
boat, an observer 12 years of age or older 
or a wide angle rearview mirror mount-
ed so that the operator can check on the 
skier but still give full attention to traffic 
ahead. There must be adequate seating 

for all riders.
Boats towing kites and similar air-

borne devices must:
• Have, in addition to the operator, an 

observer 12 years or older (mirror will 
not suffice),
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and ramps,
• Limit the tow rope to 150 feet or less,
• Have no more than two persons being 

towed.

PERSONAL WATERCRAFT 
A “personal watercraft” (PWC) 

means a vessel which uses an internal 
combustion engine to power a jet pump 
for its primary source of propulsion and 
is designed to be operated by a person 
sitting, standing or kneeling on the ves-
sel rather than by a person sitting or 
standing inside the vessel. In addition 
to being governed by the same laws that 
apply to all boats, the following laws ap-
ply to personal watercraft:
• Personal watercraft can only be oper-

ated between sunrise and sunset.
• Personal watercraft without self-cir-

cling capability must have a lanyard-
type engine kill switch attached to the 
operator when the craft is underway.

• Operators and passengers must wear a 
U.S. Coast Guard-approved personal 
flotation device (PFD) for that activity.

Because of their small size and low 
profile, operators of PWCs should ex-
ercise defensive driving. These craft are 
highly responsive and capable of quick 
turns. In fact, this is part of the fun of 
their operation. However, this kind of 
operation is reckless if done in congested 
areas of boat traffic.

SKIN and SCUBA DIVING 
(301 KAR 1:410, 6:030)

Skin or SCUBA diving is prohib-
ited in all lakes owned or managed by 
the Kentucky Department of Fish and 
Wildlife Resources, except during emer-
gencies, on Greenbo Lake and during 
salvage operations when the diver has 
written permission from the regional di-

rector or local wildlife and boating law 
enforcement officer assigned to the spe-
cific body of water in which the diving is 
to take place. 

Persons diving or submerging with 
the aid of a mechanical breathing appa-
ratus in an area where boats might be are 
required by law to display the diver’s flag.

This flag should be put on a buoy, 
boat or other floating platform so boat-
ers will readily see it. Approaching 
boats must stay outside of a 100-foot 
radius of the flag. Divers must surface 
within a 50-foot radius unless there is 
an emergency.

Divers shall not dive in established 
traffic lanes nor interfere with anyone 
fishing unless emergency operations are 
in progress.

SWIMMING
Swimming in any lake owned or 

managed by the KDFWR is prohibited 
except in areas specifically set aside for 
swimming at which a qualified lifeguard 
is on duty. Kentucky law specifically 
prohibits swimming at any boat launch-

Alpha Flag (left): Blue with a 
silver stripe, displayed on vessel 
with restricted mobility because 
of diving operation. Diver’s Flag 
(right): Red flag at least 12” x 12” 
with diagonal stripe at least three 
inches wide, displayed where diver is 
submerged.

DIVERS DOWN FLAGS
Boaters should exercise caution

BOAT OPERATION
RECKLESS OPERATION

The operator of a watercraft is re-
sponsible for damage caused by negli-
gent operation. The following actions 
are considered reckless operation and are 
therefore against the law:
• weaving through traffic;
• following watercraft too closely that is 

towing an individual on waterskis, a 

ing ramp. Swim in marked and super-
vised areas. If you are a nonswimmer or a 
poor swimmer, wear a PFD. Remember, 
PFDs are not just for boaters.

Refrain from drinking alcoholic 
beverages when swimming. Alcohol 
greatly reduces a person’s reflexes and 
strength when in the water. For persons 
who have had alcoholic beverages a PFD 
is the difference between life and death.

Persons who wish to swim a long 
distance should swim parallel to the 
shore instead of across a river or lake. 
Boaters don’t normally expect to see 
swimmers in the middle of a lake or 
river and may run over them.

INFLATABLES 
Air mattresses, inner tubes and oth-

er similar devices are generally used as 
recreational items by persons swimming 
or sunbathing. Use of these items should 
be restricted to designated or generally 
recognized swimming areas and not be 
used in areas of boat traffic. Nonswim-
mers or poor swimmers should not de-
pend on these devices to save their life. 
These items can be punctured and lose 
their buoyancy – wear a PFD!

LITTERING
(KRS 433.757)

The operator of any motorboat or 
vessel is responsible for any litter thrown 
into the water. Litter is not only un-
sightly, but can be dangerous to humans 
and animals. For example, fishing line 
discarded into the water can be hazard-
ous to wildlife and to a boat’s lower unit. 
Animals can be ensnared in the line and 
die. Fishing line caught on a prop shaft 
can cause seal leaks and lower unit fail-
ure. Trot lines and limb lines can snare 
animals and other anglers in boats.

surfboard or any water sport device;
• jumping the wake of another craft 

in a way that endangers human life,  
physical safety or property;

• cutting between a boat and the 
individual(s) being towed by the boat;

• crossing the path of another boat 
when visibility is obstructed;

• steering toward an object or individual 

in the water and turning sharply at 
close range.

Persons shall not operate a motor-
boat or personal watercraft within 50 
feet of a commercial vessel and its tow 
that is in operation on a waterway, ex-
cept if the operator of the commercial 
vessel has given consent. 

When operating in a busy area, re-
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SMALL CRAFT 
PRECAUTIONS

Statistics show that approxi-
mately half the boat-related fa-
talities involve boats that are less 
than 16’ in length. These boats 
are usually unstable and can tip 
over, throwing the occupants 
overboard. Also, these boats can 
be easily swamped, especially if 
used on a large body of water 
where the wind can cause high 
waves. When using such craft, be 
aware of the hazards. Wearing a 
personal floatation device (PFD) 
is strongly recommended.

duce speed and allow plenty of room for 
avoidance maneuvers. Even in areas that 
are not marked as idle speed, excessive 
wake can still be dangerous. Operators 
of larger craft should be aware of the 
wake their vessels are throwing.

IDLE SPEED
Kentucky law defines idle speed as 

the “slowest speed possible to maintain 
maneuverability” of a boat. Generally 
speaking for a properly adjusted boat, this 
is the speed when a boat is put into gear 
without advancing the throttle. Wakes 
can capsize small boats or cause damage 
to boats moored at marinas and docks. It 
is extremely important that boat operators 
be aware of their speed and the resulting 
wake. Operators are liable for any injuries 
or damage caused by their boat’s wake.

Boaters may see buoys or signs that 
say “No Wake.” This means that boats 
must be at idle speed.

LOCKS AND DAMS
Boaters in Kentucky may encoun-

ter lock and dam systems. Generally, 
these will be on the Green, Ohio and 
Kentucky Rivers (for the first four locks 
upstream to Frankfort, KY), but a few 
impoundments have a lock and dam. 
Locks are a relatively simple method of 
raising or lowering boats from one wa-
ter level to another. If lockage is desired, 
boaters should signal the lock operator 
by using the pull chain on each end of 
the lock or call on marine channel 13. 
If the lock is not immediately available, 
boaters should position their vessels a 
safe distance from the approach chan-

nel to avoid personal injury or dam-
age to their boat from wakes caused by 
commercial tows entering or leaving the 
locks. Never moor a vessel in the lock 
approach channels.

Dams associated with the locks 
can be very dangerous. Below all locks 
and dams, boat occupants must wear a 
personal floatation device (lifejacket) 
upstream of danger signs and open-di-
amond buoys or within 150 feet of the 
downstream lock and dam wall. Anglers 

LOW HEAD DAMS ARE 
DANGEROUS

Low head dams are usually 
marked with “keep out” buoys or 
“danger” signs above and below. 
Low head dams pose an even 
greater danger due to the fact 
that they are not as recognizable, 
especially when water is flow-
ing over them. It is this flow of 
water over the dam that creates 
a “boil” on the lower side. Boat-
ers risk almost certain death if 
caught in this turbulence.

Low
Head 
Dam

Boil

should never fish from or stand on lock 
and dam structures.

Boaters should be alert for these 
structures. Dams are either conventional 
or “low head” type. Conventional dams 
are easily recognizable with their spill-
ways and power installations. 

RESTRICTED ZONES
(KAR 6:030)

Kentucky law prohibits boats from 
operating within restricted areas as 
posted above or below navigation, power 
generating or flood control dams.

No fish is worth risking your life. 
Be aware of trespassing and danger 
zones. Wear a PFD when entering any 
area above or below a dam.

OPERATING UNDER THE 
INFLUENCE
(KRS 235.240)

It is against the law to operate a 
boat or vessel including personal water-
craft, manipulate water skis, surfboard 
or other similar device while intoxicated 
or under the influence of any other sub-
stance that impairs one’s driving ability. 
Any person who operates a vessel on 
Kentucky waters is considered to have 
given consent to a test or tests to deter-
mine his alcohol concentration or the 
presence of other drugs. The tests shall 
be administered at the direction of a law 
enforcement officer who has probable 
cause to believe that the operator is in-
toxicated. An operator refusing the test 
shall be in violation of the law and sub-
ject to the same penalties.  

Anyone who operates a boat, PWC, 

BLOOD ALCOHOL CONTENT CHART
Body Weight  
(in pounds)

Number of Drinks in a Two Hour Period
12 oz. beer = 5 oz. wine = 1 oz. 80 proof liquor

100 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

120 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

140 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

160 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

180 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

200 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

220 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

240 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9

BAC to .05% - Be careful. Loss of judgement and coordination.

BAC .05% to .07% - Abilities impaired. Chance of accident increased.

BAC .08% and over - Do not operate a boat. High risk of accident, subject to arrest.
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RULES OF THE ROAD

On the water there are no painted 
lines to mark where boats must go. In or-
der to provide an orderly flow of traffic, 
there are “rules of the road” that boaters 
should learn and practice.

Boaters on the water encounter 
three situations: meeting, crossing and 
overtaking. The following diagrams 
should give a clear explanation of who 
has the right of way (stand-on vessel) 
and who must give way (give-way ves-
sel). However, in an emergency, all ves-

MEETING SITUATION

OVERTAKING SITUATION

Give-way vessel 
overtaking

Stand-on vessel 
being overtaken

CROSSING 
SITUATION

Give-way 
vessel

Stand-on vessel 
holds course 
and speedDanger zone 

112°

sels must give way to avoid a collision. At 
night, a boat’s navigation lights give an 
indication of right of way (see page 36).

The above rules cover most traffic 
situations, but a few other situations ex-
ist. Sailboats under sail have the right of 
way except when they are the overtaking 
vessel. Rowboats and paddle powered 
boats have the right of way over motor-
boats. All recreational craft should yield 
the right of way to large commercial 
craft (towboats, barges). Such vessels 
have large blind spots and will be unable 

to see smaller crafts in front of them.
On small or narrow bodies 

of water, all traffic should stay to 
the right of mid-channel and not 
“cut corners”.

BUOYS
Buoys are the most common 

types of navigational aid, and 
they serve the same pur-

pose as traffic signs on 
the highway. Failure to 
obey buoys can result 

in enforcement action, or 
worse, a loss of property or 
lives. When boating in un-

familiar waters, slow down 
and look for any regulatory 

or channel-marking buoys. 
Remember that it is possible 

for these buoys to drift out 
of position. Kentucky law 
prohibits from tying up to 
any buoy except designated 

mooring buoys.

UNIFORM STATE 
WATERWAY MARKING 

SYSTEM

Boats Keep Out!
Nature of danger 
may be placed 
outside crossed 
diamond, e.g., 
waterfalls, swim 
areas or rapids.

Danger!
Nature of danger 
may be indicated 
inside the diamond 
shape, e.g., rocks, 
reefs, dams, construction or snags.

Caution!
Controlled Areas as 
indicated in circle, 
e.g., speed limit, no 
fishing, no anchor-
ing, ski-only, slow-
no wake, no ski or no prop boats.

Information
Tells directions, 
distances, places 
such as food, repair, 
supplies and other 
non-regulatory 
messages.

Obstruction 
Marker
Do not pass between 
shore and buoy.

Mooring Buoy
White with reflec-
tive blue band. May 
have white light or 
reflector.

Channel Marker
Keep buoy on right 
facing upstream.

Channel Marker
Keep buoy on left 
facing upstream. 
Marker may be 
green or black.

skis, surfboard or similar device while 
intoxicated with a blood alcohol level of 
0.08 or higher or while under the influ-
ence of any substance that impairs the 
operator’s driving ability may be subject 
to fines and possible jail time if convicted. 

DRINKING IN PUBLIC and 
PUBLIC INTOXICATION
(KRS 222.202)

Kentucky law specifically prohibits 
the drinking of alcoholic beverages in 
public places (this excludes establish-
ments licensed to sell such beverages) 
and the waterways of this state are con-
sidered public places.

Further, in a public place, persons 
who are manifestly under the influence 

of alcoholic beverages to the extent that 
they may unreasonably annoy or endan-
ger themselves or others shall be subject 
to arrest.

PROHIBITED RIDING
Approximately half of boat related 

fatalities result from falls overboard. 
When operating a motorboat above idle 
speed the operator or passengers shall 
not ride on an enclosed bow, outside 
protective railing of a pontoon or house-
boat, on a seat which extends six inches 
above the plane of the gunwales, nor 
shall they ride on the sides, back, engine 
cover, back of seat, or any other obvious-
ly dangerous position which could lead 
to falling overboard.
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REQUIRED 
EQUIPMENT

(301 KAR 6:020 Sect. 4); KRS 235.203
For each person onboard a vessel, 

federal as well as state law requires a 
Type I, II, or III personal flotation de-
vice (PFD) or its equivalent buoyancy on 
all boats. Boats 16 feet and over, except 
canoes and kayaks, must also carry one 
Type IV throwable PFD. Operators and 
passengers of personal watercraft must 
wear a PFD. Persons under 12 years of 
age must wear a PFD while in the open 
part of a boat that is under way.

PERSONAL FLOTATION DEVICES
Kentucky Fish and Wildlife 

strongly recommends wearing PFDs 
while boating, especially by children and 
nonswimmers. In order for PFDs to be 
legal, the following requirements must 
be met:
• Coast Guard approved: A label with 

an approval number will be on the 
PFD. Check the label on inflatable 
types of PFDs. Some older models 
meet Coast Guard approval only 
when worn.

• Serviceability: All straps, buckles, 
zippers, stitching, must be intact and 
the fabric should not be rotted. Some 
PFDs contain airtight bags filled with 
a fibrous material. Squeeze the bags. 
If air escapes, destroy the PFD and 
replace it with a new one.

• Size: PFDs must fit properly. Read 
the label to determine size and weight 
restrictions.

• Accessibility: PFDs must be read-
ily available for immediate use by all 
occupants of a vessel. It is advisable 
for each person to try on their PFD 
before departing so that they are fa-
miliar with the fastening devices and 
to assure it is adjusted to the person. 
PFDs shouldn’t be stored in the plas-
tic bags in which they were sold. This 
limits access and can promote rotting.

FIRE EXTINGUISHERS
Kentucky law requires that all 

boats equipped with a petroleum prod-
uct (gasoline, kerosene, propane, etc.) 
consuming device (engines, lanterns, 
stoves, etc.) shall have a hand por-
table fire extinguisher in serviceable 

condition and located for immediate 
use. Disposable (non-rechargeable) dry 
chemical fire extinguishers 
must be removed 12 years after 
the date of manufacture. These 
fire extinguishers generally 
have their year of manufacture 
stamped on the bottom or next 
to its UL label. A rechargeable 
extinguisher does not need 
removal from service after 12 
years, but must be maintained 
annually by a technician. The 
best fire protection is well 

TYPE IV 
These PFDs are 
designed to be 
thrown to persons 
in the water who 
can hold on to 
them until help 
arrives. They are not 
designed to be worn, and could cause 
drowning if worn on the back.

TYPE I (above) and TYPE II (right)
These devices are designed, when 
worn properly, to turn a person who is 
unconscious and face down in the water 
to a vertical or slightly backward face 
up position.

TYPES OF PFDs

MARINE FIRE EXTINGUISHER CLASSIFICATION
Coast Guard 

Classes
UL Listing Foam (gals.) CO2 (lbs.)

Dry Chemical 
(lbs.)

B-I 5B 1.25 4 2

B-II 6B* 2.5 15 10

— 10B none 10 2.5

— 20B 2.5 50 4.5 - 6

* UL rating 6B is no longer used.

MINIMUM NUMBER OF  
B-1 FIRE EXTINGUISHERS

Vessel/
size

No Fixed Fire 
Extinguisher 

System

Fixed Fire 
Extinguisher 

System Installed

Class A 1 0

Class 1 1 0

Class 2 2 1

Class 3 3 2

TYPE V
These special use devices are to be 
worn for specific activities that will 
be described on the PFD’s label. To 
be effective, Type V 
PFDs must be used 
according to these 
specifications, and 
many must be worn at 
all times in order to 
qualify as a PFD.

TYPE III           
These are special purpose devices that 
include ski vests, fishing vests and float 
coats. They are not designed to turn a 
person’s face out of the water, but they 
do have the same buoyancy as the type I 
and II PFDs and are more comfortable 
to wear.

Personal Floatation Devices (PFDs) will now have a new style of 
label on the inside. Going forward, these devices will be referred 
to as either “throwable” or “wearable” and have a performance 
category indicated by an icon instead of the Type I, II, III, IV and 
V used previously. It will take many years for the older style of 
labels to be completely phased out and both styles will be in stores, on boats and 
in use for many years to come. Any PFD will the old label that is still serviceable 
will continue to be legal for use.

maintained equipment and proper 
safety habits.
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BACKFIRE FLAME ARRESTERS
Internal combustion engines may 

backfire. To safeguard against fire, all 
motorboats with enclosed engines and 
engines originally equipped with a 
flame arrester, (except outboards and 
diesels) must have an approved carbu-
retor backfire flame arrester system on 
each carburetor.

VENTILATION
Most fires on a boat are due to igni-

tion of fuel vapors. Gasoline is heavier 
than air. It can collect in the bilge or 
engine compartment and any spark can 
ignite it. Therefore, Kentucky law re-
quires boats to have adequate ventilation 
of areas where flammable vapors can ac-
cumulate.

Most boats are equipped with ad-
equate ventilation systems when they 
come from the factory. Usually, this is 
a combination of active and passive 
systems. Active systems use electrical 
blowers to exhaust flammable vapors 
from the bilge and other areas. Passive 
systems are ducts and cowls that venti-
late areas when the boat is moving. Al-
most all inboards will have an electrical 
blower installed in the engine compart-
ment. Operators should run the blower 
for several minutes before starting the 
engine. If the blower is inoperable it 
should be repaired or replaced immedi-
ately. Many boat fires take place after re-
fueling, so care should be taken to avoid 
spilling fuel in the vessel.

NAVIGATION LIGHTS
All vessels when underway between 

sunset and sunrise must display proper 
navigation lights. Navigation lights on 
boats are restricted to the colors of red, 
green and white.

From sunset to sunrise in an area 
where other boats navigate, or in poor 
visibility conditions, all vessels at anchor 
shall display a steady white light visible 

Boat A
Boat B

Class A and Class 1 
motorboats

Class 2 and 3 
sailboats

DISPLAY OF NAVIGATION LIGHTS

redgreen

white

red

green

white

red

green

white

redgreen

white

Class 2 and 3 
motorboats Class A and  

Class 1 sailboats

one mile for class two vessels and one 
and one-half miles for class three ves-
sels. This does not exempt vessels from 
any other signaling device as may be re-
quired by federal law when operating on 
navigable waters of this state. 

Navigation law also requires the 
following maneuvering and warning 
signals:
• One long blast: Warning signal (com-

ing out of slip)
• One short blast: Pass on my port side 

(left)
• Two short blasts: Pass on my starboard 

(right)
• Three short blasts: Engines in reverse
• Five or more blasts: Danger signal

MUFFLING DEVICES
Kentucky law requires all boats to be 

equipped with effective exhaust muffling 
devices. Usually, boats and motors that 
come direct from the manufacturer are 
adequately muffled. However, there may 
be instances of high performance boats 
that have been modified by the owners 
that are not in compliance with the law. 
Additionally, there may be federal and/or 
local regulations restricting boats with an 
over-the-transom exhaust system.

360 degrees at all times. Manually pro-
pelled vessels shall carry a white light to 
display in sufficient time to avoid a col-
lision.

The purpose of the red and green 
navigation lights at night is to show if 
your boat is in a meeting, crossing or 
overtaking situation. The red and green 
lights must be displayed from sunset to 
sunrise whenever a boat is underway. 
They will give some indication of the 
size and speed of vessels. The red and 
green bow lights are especially helpful 
in determining right of way in crossing 
situations. In the diagram below, boat 
B sees the green bow light of boat A, 
and has the right of way to continue on 
course. Boat A sees the red bow light of 
boat B and must stop or pass astern of 
boat B. In special circumstances, such 
as towing, refer to 33 CFR 83 (Inland 

Scan this 
QR code to 
find Boater 
Education 
Courses!

Above: foam, CO2 and dry chemical fire 
extinguishers

Navigation Rules).

SIGNALING DEVICES
Kentucky law states that all boats 

16 feet in length or longer must have a 
hand-, mouth- or power-operated sig-
naling device capable of producing a 
blast for two seconds or more and au-
dible for one-half mile for class 1 vessels, 
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(301 KAR 6:030, KRS 235.250)

REPORTING REQUIREMENTS
If any of the following conditions 

occur as the result of a boating accident, 
collision, etc., a Boating Accident Re-
port must be made:
• death or disappearance of a person;
• injury to a person which requires 

medical attention or incapacitates 
that person for 24 hours or more;

• loss or damage to property (including 
the vessel) in an amount of $500 or 
more.

The operator of a vessel is required 
to complete the report. If the operator is 
not capable of filing the report and is not 
the owner of the vessel, then the owner 
shall be required to fill out a boating ac-
cident report.

Note 1: Even if a Law Enforce-
ment Officer fills out a boating accident 
report, this does not exempt the opera-
tor from filing a report.

Note 2: The reports filed by op-
erators of vessels are confidential and 
are not available as public record (KRS 
235.250). However, reports made by of-
ficers are available for review.

Accidents involving death or seri-
ous injury must be submitted to the Di-
vision of Law Enforce-
ment within 48 hours. 
All others must be sub-
mitted within five days. 

Boating accident 
report forms are avail-
able from wildlife and 
boating law enforcement 
officers or by writing to 
Kentucky Department 
of Fish and Wildlife Re-
sources, Division of Law 
Enforcement, #1 Sports-
man’s Lane, Frankfort, 
KY 40601, calling 1-800-
858-1549, or online at 
fw.ky.gov.

RENDERING AID
An operator of a vessel involved 

in a boating accident shall render aid 
to other persons and vessels as long as 
it doesn’t endanger his crew, passengers 
or vessel. Also, the operator of any ves-
sel involved in an accident shall give his 
name, address, and identification of his 
vessel, in writing, to any person that is 
injured or to the owner of any property 
that is damaged.

FIRST AID
This section includes suggestions 

that may save a life. First, boats should 
be equipped with a first aid kit. This kit 
should be able to provide treatment for 
burns, insect bites, cuts and abrasions. 

Second, boaters should take a first aid 
course so they know how to treat victims 
with sprains, broken bones and shock.

Third, boaters should know how to 
perform Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation 
(CPR) in case they encounter victims of 
near drowning, heart attack or trauma 
from boating accidents. In many cases, 
emergency medical help is further away 
on the water than on land. Interested per-
sons should contact their local chapter of 
the American Red Cross for information 
on first aid and CPR training.

HYPOTHERMIA
Four elements cause hypothermia 

– cold, moisture, wind and exhaustion. 
Symptoms of hypothermia are uncontrol-
lable shivering, slurred speech, stumbling, 
blue skin, decreased heart and breathing 
rate, weak pulse and unconsciousness. 

All hypothermia symptoms de-
mand immediate attention. As soon as 
possible, a victim of hypothermia should 
be brought out of the weather. Wet 
clothing should be replaced with dry 
clothing. If the victim shows mild symp-
toms, get them near a fire or other heat 
source or put them in a warm sleeping 
bag. For victims with advanced symp-
toms of hypothermia, seek immediate 
medical attention. Never give alcohol to 
the victim.

The best cure for hypothermia is 
prevention. Monitor weather reports 
when you plan to be in the outdoors. 
Dress in layers and always have foul-
weather gear handy.

FATIGUE
Boaters should be aware of the fac-

tors that induce fatigue while on the 
water. The wind, sun, engine noise and 
constant motion of the boat can greatly 
reduce a person’s reaction time.

Subscribe online at fw.ky.gov

MARINE SANITATION DEVICES 
(KRS 235:420)

Motorboats with marine toilets are 
not allowed on public waters unless the 
toilet is equipped with a Type I, II or III 
marine sanitation device (MSD.) Type I 

and II MSDs chemically treat sewage. 
Type III MSDs are holding tanks for 
raw sewage.

Raw sewage shall not be discharged 
in any public waters. Treated sewage 
may be discharged from a marine toi-

let into legal “discharge” waters. Those 
waters are Barkley and Kentucky lakes, 
Lake Cumberland and any of the major 
river systems. Type I and II MSDs must 
be sealed or locked while the vessel is on 
“no discharge” waters.

https://fw.ky.gov/Boat/Documents/boatingaccidentreport2012.pdf
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that provides secure destruction services while helping you meet both 

legislative and corporate information privacy requirements. 

WHAT SHOULD YOU SHRED?

• Documents containing Social Security Numbers
• Documents containing passwords or PIN numbers
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• Credit card bills
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• Tax records
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