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Q: Is it legal to shoot a bear 
that is feeding at a trash can or 
dumpster?

A: No. Garbage is considered bait.

LEGAL BEAR HUNTING 
EQUIPMENT

•	A modern rifle of .270 caliber 
or larger, with a magazine 
capable of holding no more than 
10 rounds.

•	A muzzleloading rifle of .50 
caliber or larger.

•	A muzzle-loading or breech-
loading shotgun no larger than

	 10-gauge, and no smaller than 
20-gauge, firing a single pro-
jectile (slug, round ball, conical 
bullet or saboted bullet) only.

•	A handgun loaded with centerfire 
cartridges with a case length of 
1.285 inches or larger, firing 
bullets of .270 caliber or larger 
designed to expand upon impact.

•	Firearms may not be fully auto-
matic (capable of firing more than 
one round with one trigger pull).

•	Full metal jacketed or tracer 
bullet ammunition is prohibited.

•	Archery and crossbow equipment 
that is legal for deer hunting.

YOUTH-ONLY SEASON
Unless license exempt, hunters 

must purchase a Bear Permit, in addition 
to a Youth or Annual Hunting License. 
Bear Permits are available for purchase 

over-the-counter, by phone (1-877-598- 
2401), and online at fw.ky.gov.

If the harvest quota limit is reached, 
the season will close 30 minutes after 
sunset that day. Successful hunters must 
telecheck their bear by 8 p.m. East-
ern time and also call 1-800-858-1549 
within 24 hours of harvest to arrange for 
a physical check of the animal and re-
ceive a tag issued by Kentucky Fish and 
Wildlife. Bears physically checked dur-
ing the archery/ crossbow season must 
include a carcass or an intact hide that 
contains the skull and proof of sex.

Hunters must call 1-800-858-1549 
after 9 p.m. each day of the season to 
check if the bear quota has been reached. 
If the quota has not been reached, the 
season will continue through the next day.

HUNTER ORANGE REQUIREMENT
Bear hunters and those who accom-

pany them, or any other person hunting 
on public or private lands in the bear 
hunting zone during a firearm season for 
bears, must comply with the hunter or-
ange clothing law. This requirement also 
applies to any person chasing bears during 
the Bear Quota Hunt with Dogs season.

OTHER RESTRICTIONS
•  Bear hunting is open to Kentucky 

residents only. 
•  Hunters and houndsmen may not dis-

turb or take bears from dens. 

FALL TURKEY HUNTING
SEASON DATES & RESTRICTIONS

BAG LIMITS
•  Four birds total, no more than two (2) 

of which may be taken with a shotgun.
• No more than one (1) bird may have a 

beard length of three (3) inches or longer.
•  No more than one (1) bird may be 

taken per day.

PERMIT REQUIREMENTS
Adult hunters: Unless exempt, all 

fall turkey hunters ages 16 and older 
must carry with them in the field proof 
of purchase of a valid Kentucky hunting 
license and a valid Fall Turkey Permit. 
Short-term (1- or 7-day) hunting li-

censes are not valid for turkey hunting.  
The Fall Turkey Permit is valid for the 
fall archery, crossbow and shotgun tur-
key seasons and allows a hunter to har-
vest up to the fall season bag limit of 
turkeys.

Youth hunters: Youths under the 

FALL TURKEY
Shotgun Archery Crossbow

Oct. 22-28 and Dec. 3-9, 2016 Sept. 3, 2016 – Jan. 16, 2017 Oct. 1-16 and  
Nov. 12 – Dec. 31, 2016

•  Bear hunting is prohibited on Big South 
Fork National River and Recreation 
Area, Cumberland Gap National His-
torical Park, Kingdom Come State Park, 
and the Hensley-Pine Mountain WMA. 
Additionally, bear hunting within the 
12,094 acres surrounding Hensley-Pine 
Mountain WMA and Kingdom Come 
State Park is limited to landowners, their 
spouses and dependent children hunting 
on their own property. 

•  See map for detailed bear reserve 
boundaries. 

•  Hunters may not take female bears 
with cubs, or any bear weighing less 
than 75 pounds.

•  Hunters may not use bait during any 
bear season. 

•  Dogs may not be used to hunt bears 
during the archery/crossbow or modern 
gun seasons, but leashed tracking dogs 
may be used to recover wounded bears. 

•  Hunters 15 years old and younger who 
use a firearm must be accompanied by 
an adult, who shall remain in a posi-
tion to take immediate control of the 
youth’s firearm.
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HUNTING EQUIPMENT 

•	Breech-loading or muzzle-
loading shotguns no larger than 
10 gauge and no smaller than 
.410.

•	Breech-loading shotguns must 
be plugged to hold a maximum 
of three shells (two in magazine 
and one in chamber)

•	Lead or non-toxic shot no 
larger than No. 4

•	Longbows, recurve bows and 
compound bows of any draw 
weight (no minimum).

•	Crossbows of any draw weight 
(no minimum) with a working 
safety device.

•	Non-barbed broadheads with a 
minimum cutting diameter of 
7/8-inch, whether expandable 
or non-expandable.

age of 12 are exempt from license and 
turkey permit requirements. Youths ages 
12-15 are eligible to purchase a Youth 
Turkey Permit, which is valid during 
any turkey season for one turkey. Youth 
hunters must abide by season bag lim-
its and harvest restrictions but can use 
the youth permit throughout the license 
year. The Youth Sportsman’s License 
includes two (2) Youth Turkey Permits. 
Anyone may call turkeys, or assist in 
the hunt. Callers and assistants are not 
required to possess a hunting license or 
turkey permit, and may carry equipment 
while in the field.

OTHER RESTRICTIONS
Turkey hunters may not use fire-

arms to take turkeys during archery 
or crossbow-only seasons. On some 
WMAs, special equipment restrictions 
may apply.  

YOUTH SUPERVISION
Firearm turkey hunters 15 years old 

and younger must be acompanied by an 
adult, who shall remain in a position to 
take immediate control of the youth’s 

firearm at all times.

HARVEST RECORDING and  
TAGGING REQUIREMENTS

The process and requirements for 
recording, checking and tagging har-
vested turkeys are the same as for deer 
and elk. See pages 7 and 8.

POSSESSION/RELEASE OF LIVE 
TURKEYS

Because of potential disease prob-
lems and genetic pollution, it is illegal to 
possess live wild turkeys. For the same 
reasons, domestic or pen-raised turkeys 
should not be released into the wild. 

HUNTING TURKEYS OVER BAIT 
IS ILLEGAL

It is illegal to hunt turkeys over 
bait – an area where feed, grains or other 
substances capable of luring wild turkeys 
have been placed. An area is considered 
baited until 30 days after the bait has 
been removed. An area where grain, 
feed or other substances exists as the re-
sult of a bona fide agricultural practice 
or manipulation of a crop for wildlife 

management purposes is legal for turkey 
hunting.

SMALL GAME HUNTING & TRAPPING

SEASON DATES & RESTRICTIONS

* In Grouse Zone only. Information about grouse hunting on public areas is available online at fw.ky.gov.

SMALL GAME
The following animals are con-

sidered small game: squirrels, rabbits, 
northern bobwhite (quail) and grouse.

Only rabbits and squirrels may 
be trapped. Quail and grouse may not 
be trapped. Hunting bag limits apply. 
Trapping equipment and restrictions 

are the same as those listed in the fur-
bearer section.

A trapping license is required for 
anyone 12 years of age and older.

SMALL GAME Hunting Trapping

Squirrel Aug. 20 – Nov. 11 and  
Nov. 14, 2016 – Feb. 28, 2017

One-half hour before sunrise  
Nov. 14, 2016 – Feb. 28, 2017

Rabbit
Eastern Zone Nov. 1-11 and Nov. 14, 2016 – Jan. 31, 2017 One-half hour before sunrise  

Nov. 14, 2016 – Jan. 31, 2017

Western Zone Nov. 14, 2016 – Feb. 10, 2017 One-half hour before sunrise  
Nov. 14, 2016 – Feb. 10, 2017

Quail
Eastern Zone Nov. 1-11 and Nov. 14, 2016 – Jan. 31, 2017

No trapping
Western Zone Nov. 14, 2016 – Feb. 10, 2017

Grouse* Nov. 1-11 and Nov. 14, 2016 – Feb. 28, 2017
Falconry Sept. 1, 2016 – March 30, 2017

Free Youth Hunting & Trapping Week Dec. 31, 2016 – Jan. 6, 2017


