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NEW THIS YEAR

Changes from last season are printed
in bright blue throughout this guide to as-
sist you in noticing those changes. Some of
the most notable are listed below.

LICENSES and PERMITS

Licenses and permits are required
for resident owners and tenants of farm-
lands less than 5 acres. See page 2 for
details.

Residents may purchase Combina-
tion Bear Permits (includes Bear Permit
+ Bear Chase Permit) for $50.

Non-residents may purchase youth
bear permits ($100), bear chase permits
($50) and youth bear chase permits ($15).

Residents may purchase Senior
Lifetime Sportsman’s Licenses for $180.

DEER HUNTING

Mandatory CWD Check Station
requirements for deer hunters in the
CWD Surveillance Zone (Calloway,
Fulton, Graves, Hickman and Marshall
counties) are in effect the opening week-
end of Modern Gun season (Nov. 11-13,
2023). See page 14 for updated locations
of CWD Check Stations and Voluntary
Deer Sample Collection Sites.

WILD TURKEY HUNTING

The harvest limit for fall turkey
hunting is now 2 legal birds. Hunters
may harvest one bird with a beard lon-
ger than 3 inches and one bird with no
visible beard (or a beard shorter than 3
inches).

Fall turkey hunters shall not hunt
within 600 feet of a baited site nor for
thirty (30) days after bait is removed. This
prohibition does not apply to bona fide ag-
ricultural practices or planted food plots.

ELK HUNTING

The Elk Hunt Drawing applica-
tion period is now Aug. 1 of the prior
year through April 30 of the hunt year.
Drawn hunters must purchase elk per-
mits before midnight June 15 of the hunt
year. Unpurchased permits will be reas-
signed to the new Elk Loyalty Redraw
program, a secondary elk permit draw-
ing for leftover permits. Resident hunt-
ers who have applied to the elk draw for
the most consecutive years without be-

ing drawn will be automatically entered.

BEAR HUNTING

Bear chase and bear hunting with
dogs is now open to non-residents. Li-
cense and permit(s) are required.

MIGRATORY BIRDS and
WATERFOWL HUNTING

September Canada Goose hunting
now includes two zones (Eastern and
Western) with separate season dates.

Sandhill crane hunters will be is-
sued printable tags attached to hunting
permits, accessible through the online
sandhill crane app at fw.ky.gov.

Falconry waterfowl season ends the
last Sunday in February.

Kentucky will offer quota dove
hunts Sept. 1 and Sept. 9 at Big Rivers
WMA and Kentucky River WMA. Four
hunts total. Any legal hunter may apply
online from Aug. 7-18 at fw.ky.gov.

COYOTE HUNTING

Night hunting with lights season is
Dec. 1-March 31 and May 16 — June 30
on public or private lands. On private
lands only, hunters during this season
may use any modern breech-loading
rifle, pistol or shotgun without caliber
restrictions.

PUBLIC LANDS

Gabbard Branch WMA (Butler
County), Ferguson Creek WMA (Liv-
ingston County) and Hoskins WMA
(Leslie and Harlan counties) are open to
the public under county and statewide
regulations.

WANTON WASTE

Hunters are required to make a rea-
sonable effort to recover big game and
upland birds harvested, including re-
moval of edible parts from the field.

:l The “My Profile”

1 feature at fw.ky.gov

: provides fast and easy

1 access to your Kentucky
i Fish and Wildlife re-

: cords. Scan this symbol
|\ with your smartphone to access it.
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ABOUT THIS GUIDE: This is a summary of the laws regarding hunting and trapping, intended solely for informational use. It is not a
reprint of any referenced Kentucky Revised Statute (KRS) or Kentucky Administrative Regulation (KAR) in its entirety and should not be
used as such. The exact wording of Kentucky’s hunting and trapping laws can be viewed online at fw.y.gov. Click on Enforcement, then
Regulations, then scroll down to Administrative Regulations.

Throughout the year, Kentucky Fish and Wildlife also produces regulation guides for fishing and boating, and spring hunting. These
guides are available free wherever licenses are sold, and are posted online.
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GENERAL INFORMATION

LICENSES and PERMITS

GENERAL HUNTER LICENSING

Persons who take or attempt to take
game are considered hunters and there-
fore subject to licensing requirements.
Unless license exempt, hunters and trap-
pers must obtain and carry while in the
field proof that they have met the license
requirements for the kind of activity
they are doing. This proof can be either a
paper license or permit, or a license au-
thorization number.

Persons who cannot show they are
licensed properly while hunting risk be-
ing issued a citation.

Each hunter and trapper must have
his or her own license or permit unless
exempt. Paper licenses and permits must

be signed before the hunter goes afield.

LICENSE-EXEMPT HUNTERS

In some cases, a resident hunter
may not be required to buy a hunting
license or game permits. Here are those
situations:

* Children younger than 12 (resident or
nonresident) are not required to pur-
chase licenses and permits, except the
elk hunt drawing application. Hunt-
ers eligible to participate in the free
youth hunting and trapping week or
free youth deer hunting weekend, and

Lose youk license ot permit?
Reprint your licenses or permits free any
time in “My Profile” at fw.ky.gov.

Other. laws apply!

Hunters exempt from buying licens-
es and permits are required to follow
hunting season laws, bag limits, com-
ply with the hunter orange clothing
law, and follow hunter harvest record-
ing, checking and tagging require-
ments. Kentucky landowners, their le-
gal dependents and their tenants are
subject to the usual license require-
ments anytime they hunt somewhere
other than their own lands.

adults who accompany a youth hunter
but are not hunting themselves, are not
required to have a license or permit
during these seasons. Daily and season
limits for hunters younger than 12 fol-
low statewide hunting regulations.

Kentucky resident owners of 5 or more

acres of farmlands, their spouses and

dependent children hunting upon
their own farmlands during an open
season.

Tenants, their spouses and dependent

children hunting on farmlands of 5

or more acres where they reside and

work.

* Kentucky residents on military leave of
more than three days in this state
who carry identification and pa-
pers verifying their leave status
* Members of the U.S. Armed

Forces based in Kentucky en-

gaged in sport hunting or fishing on
these Kentucky National Guard prop-
erties: Hidden Valley Training Area
in Powell County, and the Wendell
H. Ford Regional Training Center in
Mubhlenberg County

SHOOTING PRESERVE LICENSE

A shooting preserve license, avail-
able online only at fw.ky.gov, is valid
for one license year only, and only at the
shooting preserve indicated at the time
of purchase.

HIP SURVEYS

In addition to purchasing a mi-
gratory bird/waterfowl permit, or any
license that includes it, hunters who
intend to hunt migratory birds must
go online or make a phone call and fill
out the Harvest Information Program
(HIP) questions before they are legal
migratory bird hunters. Only those who
plan to hunt migratory birds need to
complete the HIP survey.

The process takes less than five
minutes. On the Kentucky Fish and
Wildlife webpage at _fw.ky.gov, click on
the “My Profile” tab. This takes you to
a page that asks for some basic infor-
mation to confirm your identity. Af-
ter completing the HIP questions, you
will receive a confirmation number that
must be written on your hunting license
or Kentucky migratory bird/waterfowl
hunting permit.

HOWTO BUY LICENSES and PERMITS

It is the hunter’s responsibility to
know what type of license or permit is
needed.

When buying a license or permit
the hunter’s date of birth and Social Se-

curity number must be provided.

If you have licensing questions, call
Kentucky Fish and Wildlife at 1-800-
858-1549, weekdays from 8 a.m. to 4:30

p-m. (Eastern time).

ONLINE

Licenses and permits can be pur-
chased online at fw.ky.gov.

Hunters purchasing licenses or per-
mits online must pay with a Visa, Mas-


http://fw.ky.gov
http://fw.ky.gov
https://app.fw.ky.gov/Solar/customer.aspx?oid=7203832448&tkn=9586741&Pnum=1&edom=2439
https://app.fw.ky.gov/myprofile/

tercard, American Express or Discover
card, or a Kentucky Fish and Wildlife
gift certificate. Gift certificates are sold
online only at fw.ky.gov.

Hunters who buy licenses or per-
mits online will not be mailed a paper

copy. However, hunters may print their
own copy from the My Profile section of
the department website. Hunters must
carry this copy or their license/permit
authorization number and a picture ID
while hunting.

IN PERSON

Licenses and permits can be pur-
chased at various locations throughout
the state. A list of license agents can be
viewed online at fw.ky.gov.

WHICH LICENSE OR PERMIT DO I NEED?

The tables below provide a quick
overview of current licensing require-
ments. See the rest of this section for

exemptions and complete residency,
licensing and hunter education require-
ments. Licenses and permits for the

species below are not required for chil-
dren younger than 12.

KENTUCKY RESIDENTS

Ages 12-15

Ages 16-64

Ages 65 and older OR
Disabled

Youth Hunting License*

Annual Hunting Licensef

Senior/Disabled or Senior

+ Youth Turkey Permit*

L + Youth Deer Permit* + Statewide Deer Permitf Lifetime Sportsman's License
Fall Turke Youth Hunting License* Annual Hunting Licensef Senior/Disabled or Senior
y + Youth Turkey Permit* + Fall Turkey Permitt Lifetime Sportsman's License
. Youth Hunting License* Annual Hunting Licensef Senior/Disabled or Senior
Spring Turkey

+ Spring Turkey Permitf

Lifetime Sportsman's License

Small Game & Furbearer

Youth Hunting License*

Annualt or 1-Day Hunting License

Senior/Disabled or Senior
Lifetime Sportsman's License

Bobcat permit required for bobcat hunters

Trapping

Annual Youth
Trapping License

Annual or Landowner/Tenant
Trapping License

Annual or Landowner/Tenant
Trapping License

Migratory Birds
(dove, snipe, woodcock, rails,
gallinules, sandhill cranes)

Youth Hunting License*

Annualt or 1-Day Hunting License
+ Kentucky Migratory Bird/
Waterfowl Permitt

Senior/Disabled or Senior
Lifetime Sportsman's License

Waterfowl
(ducks, geese, coots and
mergansers)

Youth Hunting License*

Annualt or 1-Day Hunting License
+ Kentucky Migratory Bird/Water-
fowl Permitt + Federal Duck Stamp

Senior/Disabled or Senior
Lifetime Sportsman's License
+ Federal Duck Stamp

*Included in Youth Sportsman’s License

NONRESIDENTS

fIncluded in Resident Sportsman’s License

(must buy nonresident licenses/permits)

Ages 12-15

Ages 16 and older

Youth Hunting License

Deer + Youth Deer Permit Annual Hunting License + Statewide Deer Permit
Youth Hunting License . . .
Fall Turkey + Youth Turkey Permit Annual Hunting License + Fall Turkey Permit
Spring Turkey Youth Hunting License Annual Hunting License + Spring Turkey Permit

+ Youth Turkey Permit

Small Game & Furbearer

Youth Hunting License

Annual, 1-Day or 7-Day Hunting License

Bobcat permit required for bobcat hunters

Trapping

Annual Trapping License

Annual Trapping License

Migratory Birds
(dove, snipe, woodcock, rails,
gallinules, sandhill cranes)

Youth Hunting License

Annual, 1-Day or 7-Day Hunting License +
Kentucky Migratory Bird/Waterfowl Permit

Waterfowl
(ducks, geese, coots and mergansers)

Youth Hunting License

Annual, 1-Day or 7-Day Hunting License + Kentucky
Migratory Bird/Waterfowl Permit + Federal Duck Stamp
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z LICENSE / PERMIT Resident fee Nonresident fee
Annual Fishing $23 $55
c Joint Married Couple Annual Fishing $42 Not available
H 1-Day Fishing $7 $15
3-Year Fishing (available online at fw.£y.gov only) $55 Not available
h Nonresident 7-Day Fishing Not available $35
< 1| Trout Permit $10
22| Annual Hunting $27 $150
= | 1-Day Hunting (not valid for deer, elk, turkey or bear) $7 $25
E | 7-Day Hunting (not valid for deer, elk, turkey or bear) Not available $65
Annual Youth Hunting (ages 12-15 only) $6 $10
m Shooting Area License (available online at fw.&y.gov only) $5
Annual Trapping $20 $130
c Annual Landowner/Tenant Trapping $10 Not available
I I Annual Youth Trapping (ages 12-15) $5 Not available
Annual Combination Hunting/Fishing $42 Not available
z Senior/DisabIgd Sportsmanfs License* (Includes same license and permits as Resident $12 Not available
Sportsman’s License. For residents age 65 and older.)
H 8 Sportsman’s License* (Includes combination hunting/fishing license, statewide deer
1| permit, spring and fall turkey permits, state migratory game bird-waterfow! permit and $95 Not available
I E trout permit.)
| Youth 12-1 ortsman’s License* (Includ uth hunting licen )
< yo:th d(eae?'e;ermitseznzpz yoijt:tuikeyc;e:r?ﬂts(.) cludes yout o ficense $30 Not available
Senior_ Lifetime Sp?rt_sman’s License*_ (Must mai_ntain Kentucky residency; includes $180 Not available
z all senior sportsman’s licenses and permits. For residents age 65 and older.)
-2 | Statewide Deer Permit (four deer) $35 $185
u H Youth (ages 12-15) Deer Permit (four deer) $10 $15
= | Additional Deer Permit (two deer) $15
z Spring Turkey Permit (statewide) (two turkeys) $30 $85
Youth (ages 12-15) Turkey Permit (one turkey, spring or fall) $10 $15
u g Fall Turkey Permit (statewide)(two turkeys) $30 $85
[ Kentucky Migratory Bird/Waterfowl Permit $15
u =-1| Federal Duck Stamp (available at post offices and online at www.duckstamp.com) $25
Pheasant Quota Hunt Permit (if drawn) $25
Sandhill Crane Permit (quota hunt, apply in Sept. at fw.4y.gov) $3 | $3
Elk Drawing Application (deadline April 30) $10
Youth Elk Drawing Application (ages 15 and under) $10
v Quota Bull Elk Firearm Permit (if drawn) $100 $550
= Quota Cow Elk Firearm Permit (if drawn) $60 $400
Quota (either sex) Archery/Crosshow Permit (if drawn) $100 $550
Quota Youth (ages 12-15) Elk Permit (if drawn; youth drawn for other permits pay full cost) $30 $200
Out-of-Zone Elk Permit $30 $400
Bear Permit $30 $250
-~ | Youth Bear Permit (ages 12-15) $10 $100
| | Bear Chase Permit $30 $50
='| Youth Bear Chase Permit (ages 12-15) $10 $15
Combhination Bear Permit (includes Bear Permit and Bear Chase Permit) $50 Not available
Ballard WMA 1-Day Waterfowl Permit $15
Peabody WMA User Permit $15
7,1 | Land Between The Lakes (LBL) Hunter Use Permit
ﬁ (other LBL permits available online at www.landbetweenthelakes.us) $25
5 Otter Creek ORA Admission Fees (per person) Daily: $3, annual: $30,
(available online at fw.ky.gov) children under 12: free.
O.tter C!'eek ORA Special Activity.Fees (per person, for use of horse trails, mountain Daily: $7, annual: $70
bike trails and shooting range) (available online at fw.y.gov) !
o Bohcat Permit (required for hunters) Free
l:-ll:l Temporary Hunter Education Exemption Permit (Hunter Apprentice Opportunity; Free
= | available online at fw.ky.gov only)
5 | Habitat Improvement and Public Access Donation (voluntary; available at fw.ky.gow only) Any amount

*Peabody, LBL and Otter Creek permits, elk drawing application, elk quota hunt permit, out-of-zone elk permit, bear permit, federal duck stamp
and trapping license not included. An additional deer permit is not included with a Sportsman’s License.

Kentucky’s license year begins March 1 and continues through the last day of February. New licenses are required annually, except for the 3-year
fishing license. A 1-day or 7-day hunting license is valid only for the period shown on license. Resident and nonresident youths under the age of
4 12 are not required to purchase licenses or permits (except the elk drawing application).
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LICENSE REQUIREMENTS

RESIDENT LICENSING

A resident is any person who has es-
tablished permanent domicile and legal
residence, and has resided in Kentucky
for 30 days prior to buying a license, full-
time students enrolled in a Kentucky
educational institution for at least six
months, or military service personnel on
permanent assignment in Kentucky.

NONRESIDENT LICENSING

A person who does not meet the
definition of a Kentucky resident is
considered a nonresident and must pur-
chase nonresident licenses and permits.
Nonresident youth hunters are subject
to the same license and permit require-
ments as resident youth hunters. A non-
resident who owns land in Kentucky
must purchase nonresident licenses and
permits.

YOUTH LICENSING

Resident and nonresident hunt-
ers younger than 12 are not required to
purchase licenses and permits, except
they must apply for quota hunts.

Resident and nonresident hunt-
ers ages 12-15 are eligible to purchase
discounted youth licenses and permits,
which are valid for the entire license
year if they are purchased before the
youth is 16.

¢

Kentucky resident seniors (ages

65 and older) and Kentucky residents

with qualified disabilities may pur-

chase discounted “‘sportsman’s’ type
licenses which include: annual fishing
and hunting licenses, permits for deer,
turkey, migratory bird/waterfowl and
trout. Disabled persons must first re-
ceive a disability license authorization

(good for three years) from Kentucky

Fish and Wildlife to buy the disability

license. Disability eligibility includes:

e Kentucky residents certified totally
and permanently disabled by the
federal Social Security Administra-
tion, a state workers’ compensa-
tion board, the Kentucky Teachers’
Retirement System or the U.S.
Railroad Retirement Board.

* Kentucky resident employees of the
U.S. Office of Personnel Management
declared totally and permanently
disabled by a recognized authority.

* Kentucky resident veterans at least
50 percent disabled as the result of
a service-connected disability.

Persons with disabilities listed
above must first obtain disability
authorization from Kentucky Fish and

Wildlife.

You must produce proof of
disahility through one of the
following agencies to obtain a
disahility authorization:

If your disability is through the —
¢ Federal Social Security Adminis-
tration: Any documentation from
Social Security certifying you are
disabled and receiving benefits is
acceptable. Forms should not be

more than 6 months old. A Benefit

RESIDENT SENIOR OR DISABLED SPORTSMAN’S LICENSES

Verification Letter is preferred. To get
a Benefit Verification Letter, contact
your local Social Security office,
call 1-800-772-1213 or go online to
www.socialsecurity.gov/myaccount. All
benefit letters, whether created online
or obtained from a local office, must
indicate disability qualification and
include name, address, date of birth,
last 4 digits of your social security
number and benefit amount.
Veterans Affairs: Contact your local
VA office and request a letter that
verifies you are at least 50 percent
disabled as a result of a service-con-
nected disability. The letter should also
have your current address and your
Social Security number.
State Workers’ Compensation
Board: Request an application from
Kentucky Fish and Wildlife and send
the completed form to the state Work-
ers’ Compensation Board.
¢ U.S. Railroad Retirement Board:
Contact the Board and request a let-
ter stating you are permanently and

P I ~

Q: How long is disability
authorization valid?

1

1

1

1

1

1

,&: Authorization is valid for :
three years (check expiration date). 1
Customers must renew the authori- :
zation when it expires. Those with :
disability authorization through :
Veterans Affairs, U.S. Railroad 1
Retirement Board or U.S. Office 1
of Personnel Management may :
call 1-800-310-1873 to update :
authorization. 1

Jw.ky.gov. After receiving disability

totally disabled and show current
address.

Kentucky Teachers’ Retirement
System: Contact the Teachers’ Re-
tirement System and request written
documentation stating you are on
disability retirement and show a
current address.

U.S. Office of Personnel Manage-
ment: Contact the federal Office of
Personnel Management and obtain
certification of employment, obtain
certification of being 100 percent
disabled from a recognized author-
ity, and show a current address.

To send disability paperwork to
Kentucky Fish and Wildlife:
* Use the “My Profile” link at fw.£y.gov.
* By mail: KDFWR Disability License,
#1 Sportsman’s Lane,
Frankfort, KY 40601
* By fax: (502) 564-9845

Disability authorization cards
are no longer issued. To print
copies of authorization or licenses,
access your “*My Profile”” account at

authorization, the license system will
automatically allow purchase of a
Disabled Sportsman’s License.
Disability authorization is not
a license. Proof of authorization
(or authorization number) must be
presented to license sellers at the time
of purchase. License vendors cannot
sell a disability license using expired
authorization. The Senior or Disabled
Sportsman’s License is valid through
the end of February each year.
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Persons 15 years of age and young-
er who hunt turkey, elk, deer or bear
with a firearm must always be accompa-
nied by an adult. Persons under 12 years
old, who have passed a hunter education
course, may hunt small game, furbear-
ers and migratory birds/waterfowl with-
out being accompanied by an adult.

The annual youth hunting license
authorizes the holder to hunt all small
game species, furbearers and migratory
bird species. Hunters 15 and younger are
exempt from purchasing a state migra-

tory bird/waterfowl per-
mit, and a duck stamp.
A youth deer per-
mit allows the hunter
to take four deer. To
harvest more than four
deer, a youth hunter
must purchase an addi-
tional deer permit. The
youth turkey permit
may be used during any
turkey season. The resident-only youth
sportsman’s license includes the annual

RECORDING, CHECKING,
TAGGING and TRANSPORTING

The following regulations apply to
all deer, elk, turkey, bear, bobcat and ot-
ter taken by hunters or trappers, includ-
ing landowners and other license-ex-
empt hunters.

HARVEST LOG

All successful hunters and trappers,
including those who are license exempt,
must fill out a harvest log as soon as the
animal is harvested and prior to moving
the carcass. Information that must be
written on the harvest log includes the
species and sex of animal taken, date and
county where taken. A telecheck confir-
mation number must be obtained and
recorded on the harvest log. A harvest
log is included with any paper license or
permit purchased from a license agent.
A printable harvest log is accessible by
clicking the “Hunt” tab on the Kentucky
Fish and Wildlife online homepage and
choosing “Hunting Home” from the
dropdown menu.

License-exempt hunters, children
younger than 12 years old, and those
who only have a license authoriza-

Q: Due to a cell phone
dropped call, a hunter loses a
confirmation number. Should the
animal be checked in again?

7&: Try again until you get the
confirmation number, and then
contact the department at 1-800-
858-1549 the next business day to
report the incident.

tion number may create their own har-
vest log by writing the information on
a piece of paper or index card. Hunters
and trappers must have the completed
harvest log in their possession whenever
afield during the current season.

TELECHECK
1-800-CHK-GAME (1-800-245-4263)

All deer, turkey, elk, bobcat, riv-
er otters and sandhill cranes harvested
must be telechecked through the toll-
free, automated check-in system. Hunt-
ers may also check in harvested animals
online at fw.ky.gov.

Entering false information is un-
lawful. Multiple animals may be telech-
ecked during the same call.

Hunters who harvest a bear dur-
ing any bear hunting season must tele-
check the bear by 8 p.m. Eastern time
the day that it was harvested, and also
call 1-800-858-1549 within 24 hours of
harvest to arrange for a physical check
of the animal and receive a tag issued by
the department. All other harvested an-
imals must be telechecked by midnight
on the day the animal is recovered and
prior to processing the carcass. Bobcats
and river otters must be telechecked pri-
or to leaving Kentucky.

If the hide or head is removed from
the carcass of a harvested deer or elk be-
fore the animal is telechecked, the hunt-
er must demonstrate proof of the sex
of the deer or elk. See the deer and elk
hunting sections in this guide for details.

Telecheck is available 24 hours a
day while hunting seasons are open. Lis-
ten to each question carefully and pro-

Sportsmans License - Save $67

Available to Kentucky residents only, the sportsman’s
license includes a combination hunting and fishing
license, spring and fall turkey permits, statewide deer
permit, state migratory bird/waterfowl permit and
trout permit. A federal duck stamp (available at post
offices and online at www.duckstamp.com) is required
for waterfowl hunting.

youth hunting license, youth deer per-
mit and two (2) youth turkey permits.

E Telecheck is avail-

. able through the “My
Profile”” feature at
Jfw.ky.gov. Scan here
to access it.

[ —

vide the requested information using the
keypad on any touch tone phone.
Callers will be asked their Social Se-
curity number and code for the county in
which the animal was taken. All youth
hunters must use their Social Security
number when telechecking an animal.
Callers must also indicate the ani-
mal’s species and sex. Deer hunters who
take male fawns (button bucks) should
check the deer as “male” and then choose
“no visible antler” when prompted.
Next, callers will be asked about the
type of equipment they used to harvest the
animal, whether the land was private or
public, and the type of license they used.
Youths under 12, youths who check
deer during the Free Youth Deer Hunting
Weekend, or license exempt military per-
sonnel should select “statewide license.”
Once the harvest information has
been entered correctly, the caller will be
asked to hold for several seconds while
the system submits the survey infor-
mation. The hunter then will be given
a confirmation number, which is proof
that the harvested animal was legal-
ly reported. This number must be re-
corded on the hunter’s log and retained
throughout the season.

CARCASS TAG

A hunter shall attach a handmade
tag to the carcass of any harvested deer,
elk, turkey, bear, bobcat, or otter if trans-
ferring possession of the harvested ani-
mal to another person.

For example, a carcass tag is required
if the hunter gives the animal to anoth-


https://fw.ky.gov/hunt/pages/telecheck-info.aspx
https://www.duckstamp.com/
https://app.fw.ky.gov/myprofile/

KENTUCKY COUNTY CODE NUMBERS FOR TELECHECK

001 | Adair 021 | Carroll 041 | Grant 061 | Knox 081 | Mason 101 | Robertson
002 [ Allen 022 | Carter 042 | Graves 062 | LaRue 082 | Meade 102 | Rockcastle
003 | Anderson 023 | Casey 043 | Grayson 063 | Laurel 083 | Menifee 103 | Rowan
004 | Ballard 024 | Christian 044 | Green 064 | Lawrence 084 | Mercer 104 | Russell
005 | Barren 025 | Clark 045 | Greenup 065 | Lee 085 | Metcalfe 105 | Scott

006 | Bath 026 | Clay 046 | Hancock 066 | Leslie 086 | Monroe 106 | Shelby
007 | Bell 027 | Clinton 047 | Hardin 067 | Letcher 087 | Montgomery 107 | Simpson
008 | Boone 028 | Crittenden 048 | Harlan 068 | Lewis 088 | Morgan 108 | Spencer
009 | Bourbon 029 | Cumberland 049 | Harrison 069 | Lincoln 089 | Muhlenberg 109 | Taylor
010 | Boyd 030 | Daviess 050 | Hart 070 | Livingston 090 | Nelson 110 | Todd

011 | Boyle 031 [ Edmonson 051 [ Henderson 071 [ Logan 091 [ Nicholas 111 | Trigg

012 | Bracken 032 | Elliott 052 | Henry 072 | Lyon 092 | Ohio 112 | Trimble
013 | Breathitt 033 | Estill 053 | Hickman 073 | McCracken 093 | Oldham 113 | Union
014 | Breckinridge | 034 | Fayette 054 | Hopkins 074 | McCreary 094 | Owen 114 | Warren
015 | Bullitt 035 | Fleming 055 | Jackson 075 | McLean 095 | Owsley 115 | Washington
016 | Butler 036 | Floyd 056 | Jefferson 076 | Madison 096 | Pendleton 116 | Wayne
017 | Caldwell 037 | Franklin 057 | Jessamine 077 | Magoffin 097 | Perry 117 | Webster
018 | Calloway 038 | Fulton 058 | Johnson 078 | Marion 098 | Pike 118 | Whitley
019 | Campbell 039 | Gallatin 059 | Kenton 079 | Marshall 099 | Powell 119 | Wolfe
020 | Carlisle 040 | Garrard 060 | Knott 080 | Martin 100 | Pulaski 120 | Woodford

er person, drops it off to be processed, or
takes the head and cape to a taxidermist.

A harvested animal in a hunter’s
possession is assumed theirs, unless the
carcass tag states otherwise.

The carcass tag must include the
hunter’s name, phone number and tele-
check confirmation number.

Hunters who harvest a bear during
any bear season must attach a department-
issued carcass tag after having the bear in-
spected by department personnel. Call
1-800-858-1549 within 24 hours of har-
vest to arrange for the bear carcass to be
inspected and the carcass tag to be issued.

CITESTAG

A Convention on International
Trade in Endangered Species (CITES)
tag, issued by Kentucky Fish and Wild-
life, must be attached immediately
upon receipt to the raw fur, pelt or un-
skinned carcass of any bobcat or river
otter taken in Kentucky if the hunter
or trapper intends to sell it or export it

’ S
WE NEED YOUR HELP!

Kentucky Fish & Wildlife is
collecting lower jaws from
hunted and trapped bobcats and
river otters for a population
study. Please
contact the
department at
1-800-858-
1549 to re-
quest a sample
packet and
instructions.

\ ’

internationally.

To request a CITES tag, log on to
“My Profile” at fw.ky.gov.

CITES tags must immediately be
attached to the animal or pelt per the
instructions included with the mailed
tag and remain attached until it is pro-
cessed or exported outside the United

States. Possession of an unused CITES
tag is prohibited.

TRANSPORTING
HARVESTED ANIMALS

Hunters may not return to Ken-
tucky with whole carcasses of deer, elk,
moose or caribou harvested in another
state. Deboned meat and cleaned skulls/
antlers are allowable. See page 11 for ad-
ditional requirements.

An unchecked animal taken in
Kentucky may not be transported out of
Kentucky.

Furs and hides may only be sold
to a licensed fur buyer, fur processor or
taxidermist.

Butchers, meat processors, and li-
censed taxidermists shall dispose of any
unused cervid carcass material or waste
product by proper burial, removal by a
duly licensed rendering establishment,
or deposit into a contained landfill ap-
proved pursuant to KRS Chapter 224
(KRS 150.722).

GENERAL HUNTING REGULATIONS

LANDOWNER PERMISSION

A person shall not enter upon the
lands of another to shoot, hunt, trap and
fish or for other wildlife-related recre-
ational purposes without the verbal or
written permission of the landowner, ten-
ant, or person who has authority to grant
permission. Those who fail to obtain per-
mission are subject to arrest and prosecu-
tion. Railroad tracks and rights-of-way

are privately owned property and permis-
sion to hunt, trap or fish must be obtained
prior to entry. Landowners are under no
obligation to allow hunters to retrieve
game or hunting dogs from their property.

HUNTER EDUCATION

Persons born on or after Jan. 1,
1975 must carry proof of valid hunter
education certification. Hunters may use

hunting licenses or electronic documen-
tation with proof of identity. Persons not
required to have licenses or permits are
exempt from hunter education certifi-
cation. Persons currently serving in the
Armed Forces, veterans of the Armed
Forces and Kentucky peace officers
are exempt from the live-fire exercise.
Hunter education courses are available
online and held throughout the state.
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Pre-registration must be done online
at _fw.ky.gov. More information about
the registration process is available on
the website or by calling Kentucky Fish
and Wildlife. Children must be at least
9 years old to take the hunter educa-
tion test. Hunter education documents
issued by other states are valid in Ken-
tucky. Children younger than 12 years
old are exempt from hunter education
certification, but must be accompanied
by an adult who meets the hunter edu-
cation requirement. The adult must be
in a position to take immediate control
of the bow or firearm at all times while
hunting. One adult cannot accompany
more than two hunters younger than 12
years old at the same time.

APPRENTICE HUNTING
OPPORTUNITY

Persons new to hunting who have
not taken the hunter education course
may obtain a one-time temporary hunt-
er education exemption permit online
for free at fw.ky.gov.

This one-time permit allows new
hunters in Kentucky to hunt for one year
without taking hunter education courses.
The permit must be carried while hunting
and requires its holder to hunt with a li-
censed, adult hunter (at least 18 years old)
who meets the hunter education require-
ment. The adult shall be in a position to
take immediate control of the exempted
hunter’s bow or firearm at all times while
hunting. This law applies even if the ex-
emption permit holder is an adult.

After the hunter education exemp-
tion permit expires, the hunter is no lon-
ger exempt and must successfully com-
plete a hunter education course.

The temporary hunter education
exemption permit is valid only in Ken-
tucky. It is not accepted at Blue Grass
Army Depot or Fort Campbell.

Resident  landowners,  spouses
and dependent children, tenants, their
spouses and their dependent children are
only hunter education exempt on prop-
erty they own, or the property where
they reside and work. When hunting
elsewhere, they must comply with Ken-
tucky’s hunter education law.

REPLACEMENT HUNTER
EDUCATION CARDS

Free replacement hunter education
cards can be printed online at fw.ky.gov.
On the homepage, click on the “Educa-

tion” tab and select the “Hunter Educa-
tion” box, and click the Hunter Educa-
tion/Boater Education Card Print link.

HUNTER ORANGE CLOTHING LAW
All hunters, and persons accompa-
nying them, must wear outer garments
of hunter orange color visible from all
sides on the head, back and chest when
hunting during daylight hours for any
species during modern gun, muzzle-
loader and youth firearm deer seasons,
or a firearm elk or firearm bear season.

Waterfowl and dove hunters are ex-
empt from this requirement.

Hunter orange garments can be of
mesh type material, as long as openings
in the mesh weave are no wider than
one-quarter inch by any measurement.
Garments may display a small portion
of another color.

The following are common exam-
ples of violations related to hunter or-
ange clothing:

* Wearing camouflage-patterned hunt-
er orange garments without additional
solid hunter orange clothing on the
head, back and chest.

¢ Taking off hunter orange clothing
while on a stand or in a blind.

* Not wearing hunter orange while
hunting squirrel, rabbit or quail during
an open firearms deer or elk season.

Hunters using archery or crossbow
equipment during deer firearms seasons
must wear hunter orange clothing.

Whenever gun deer hunting is al-
lowed on a wildlife management area,
state park or Otter Creek Outdoor Rec-
reation Area, a person who will be hunt-
ing from inside a ground blind must first
attach a hat or vest made of solid, unbro-
ken hunter orange material to the blind
so it is visible from all sides. Hunter or-
ange clothing requirements still apply
for anyone inside the blind.

Hunters are not required to wear
hunter orange clothing or display hunter
orange on ground blinds during a fire-
arms season on a state owned or man-
aged WMA where firearms hunting for
deer, elk or bear is prohibited.

SHOOTING HOURS

Unless otherwise noted, shooting
hours for most species in this guide are
30 minutes before sunrise until 30 min-
utes after sunset. Exceptions include
waterfowl, migratory birds, raccoons,
coyotes, turtles and frogs. Hunters may

be in the field outside of shooting hours.
Raccoons and opossums may be
taken day or night, except during modern
gun deer season when raccoon and opos-
sum hunting is permitted only at night.
Exceptions also apply for coyotes.
See the Furbearer Hunting & Trapping

section.

HUNTING METHOD EXEMPTIONS

The department grants exemptions
to hunters with certain physical disabili-
ties to hunt with a crossbow during ar-
chery-only seasons, or to use a stationary
vehicle as a hunting platform. Hunters
with a qualifying physical disability must
have an exemption form completed and
signed by a licensed physician certifying
why the exemption is necessary.

Forms are available online at fw.4y.
gov. A completed exemption form serves
as the hunters exemption permit. It
should not be returned to the department.
Persons with an exemption must carry the
form in the field, in addition to the appro-
priate hunting license and permits.

PROHIBITED HUNTING METHODS
* No person shall discharge any firearm,
bow and arrow, crossbow or similar de-
vice, upon or across any public roadway.
No person shall take or attempt to
take any wildlife, protected or unpro-
tected, from an automobile, or other
vehicle, except as prescribed by regula-
tion. Hunting from boats is permitted
for small game and furbearers.

No person shall use an aircraft to: ha-
rass wildlife, shoot or attempt to shoot
with the purpose of capturing or kill-
ing wildlife.

A person shall not pursue, chase or
take a deer, elk or turkey (during the
spring turkey season) with the aid of
dogs; while on horseback; or when a
deer, elk or bear is swimming. Dogs
may be used to locate and flush turkeys
during the fall turkey seasons only.

It is illegal to feed bears directly or in-
directly for any reason.

No person shall take wildlife with the
aid of fire, explosives, smoke or gas.
Baiting is prohibited on all WMAs,
Big South Fork National River and
Recreation Area, Daniel Boone Na-
tional Forest, Jefferson National For-
est, Land Between The Lakes and
state parks open to hunting.

Deer and elk hunters shall not use
electronic decoys or calls.


https://app.fw.ky.gov/edcourse/courseevent.aspx?ceid=104
https://app.fw.ky.gov/heet/default.aspx
https://app.fw.ky.gov/HECardLookup/Default.aspx
http://fw.ky.gov
http://fw.ky.gov

No person shall take a turkey when
the turkey is roosting. A roost is the
place, typically a tree, where a turkey
spends the night.

Live wild turkeys cannot be used as
decoys.

Wild turkey or bears shall not be
hunted by the aid of bait, nor shall
areas be hunted where bait is present.
This includes private lands baited for
deer. An area is considered baited for
30 days after all bait has been removed.
* A baited area is any place where feed,
grains or other substances capable of
luring game animals have been placed.
An area where grains or other feeds
exist as the result of a bona fide agri-
cultural practice or manipulation of a
crop (food plot) for wildlife manage-

ment purposes is legal for hunting.

CONCEALED CARRY DEADLY
WEAPONS

Anyone who may legally possess
firearms may carry any legal firearms
while hunting, but only legal methods
may be used to take game.

CONVICTED FELONS

A person convicted of a felony is
prohibited from possessing or hunt-
ing with a firearm in Kentucky. Breech
and muzzle-loading rifles, shotguns and
handguns are all considered firearms.
'The prohibition on handguns applies to
those convicted after Jan. 1, 1975. The
prohibition on other firearms applies to
those convicted after July 15, 1994. See
KRS 527.040 for more details, or con-
tact your County Attorney.

SPOTLIGHTING

No person may deliberately cast the
rays of a spotlight or other artificial light
into any field, pasture, woodlands or
torest, whether public or private, where
wildlife or domestic livestock may rea-
sonably be expected to be located. Shin-
ing artificial lights into private residenc-
es or other structures also is prohibited.

This does not apply to: headlights
of vehicles engaged in a normal course
of travel; lights being used in legitimate
agricultural activities; anyone involved
in activities legitimate to his or her busi-
ness or occupation; circumstances in-
cluding lawful hunting activities; or any
landowner, his or her immediate family,
or any paid employee while working on
his or her land at that time.

No person shall take wildlife, except
raccoons, opossums, frogs and fish, using
lights or other means designed to blind
wildlife or make wildlife visible at night.
Exceptions apply for coyotes. See the
Furbearer Hunting & Trapping section.

GAME CALLING DEVICES

and RESTRICTIONS

* Hand or mouth-operated calls may be
used in hunting all species.

* A hunter may use electronic calls or
attracting devices for furbearers dur-
ing the furbearer season.

* Mechanical or electronic calls may be
used to take crows during crow season.

* Deer, turkey and elk hunters shall not
use or possess electronic calling devices.

TRANSPORTATION and HOLDING
OF LIVE NATIVE WILDLIFE

A person may not take, possess or
transport live wildlife without a permit
when prescribed by regulation.

A person shall not hold live native
wildlife in captivity that was not legally
taken or possessed. Persons shall not buy
or sell, offer to buy or sell, trade, or barter
native wildlife or parts thereof obtained
from the wild, unless in possession of the
proper up-to-date commercial or non-
commercial captive wildlife permit per
each holding facility. Wildlife without
legal permits may be confiscated and the
holder fined.

Orphaned wildlife may only be
possessed by a licensed wildlife reha-
bilitator. Persons transporting live deer,
elk or moose (cervids) without proper
documentation or permits, or holding
live deer captive in unpermitted facilities
or pens, may be fined. Animals may be
confiscated or destroyed.

Legally trapped rabies vector spe-
cies shall be dispatched before being
moved unless immediately released at
the capture site. Permit holders shall re-
port all bites and exposure to their local
county health department within twelve
(12) hours. If a legally obtained native
mammal in possession bites a person or
shows symptoms of a rabies infection,
the animal shall be dispatched immedi-
ately. Permit holders shall immediately
submit the animal heads for testing to
an approved laboratory.

DOG TRAINING
and HUNTING WITH DOGS

Hunters may run or train dogs

for rabbits, foxes, coyotes, raccoons and
opossums year-round. Game may only
be harvested during an open hunting
season.

Some WMAs have special restric-
tions on using dogs. All members of the
party must have a valid hunting license
(unless license-exempt) to pursue rab-
bits or furbearers, even when training
dogs without taking game.

Dogs may not be used to chase or
hunt deer and elk. Dogs may be used to
chase or hunt bears if a legal season is
open.

Dogs are permitted for locating and
flushing turkeys during the fall turkey
season only. Dogs on leash may track
and locate wounded deer, elk and bear.
Except during the hunting season, rac-
coon and opossum hunters shall not use
any device to force a raccoon or opossum
from trees or dens. Raccoon squallers
may be used year-round.

BOBWHITE SHOOT-TO-TRAIN
SEASON
For the purpose of bird dog train-

ing on private lands only, pen-reared

bobwhite quail may be harvested Aug.

15 through May 15 (excluding bobwhite

hunting season), provided that prior to

shooting a person must:

* Submit a completed application to the
department

* Possess a valid hunting license, or be
license-exempt

* Possess proof of the sale/ownership of
the birds

* Possess a captive wildlife permit for
pen-reared bobwhite if more than 100
birds are in possession, or if kept for
more than 10 days

* Make sure that the training area is free
of wild quail

* Band pen-reared birds before release
with No. 7 leg bands or department-
supplied bands.

HUNTING WITH A SUPPRESSOR

A person with a federal permit for
a firearm noise suppressor (silencer) may
use it to hunt legal game animals. A val-
id hunting license is required.

WANTON WASTE

Hunters are required to make a
reasonable effort to recover big game
and upland birds harvested, including
removal of edible parts from the field.
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2023-24 DEER HUNTING ZONES and SEASONS

m Early Season | Late Season

CWD Surveillance
Zone, see pg. 13 [0 Zone 1 [ 1 Zone2

DEER BAG LIMITS

Only one antlered deer may be harvested statewide,

ZONE 2

regardless of zone or method.

A hunter may harvest an unlimited number of
antlerless deer in Zone 1 using the statewide
deer permit and additional deer permits.

A hunter may harvest no more than four deer
in Zone 2.

ZONE 3

A hunter may harvest no more than four deer
in Zone 3. A firearm or air gun cannot be
used to take more than one antlerless deer.

ZONE 4

A hunter may harvest no more than two
deer in Zone 4. Only one can be antlerless.
Antlerless deer cannot be harvested

during the modern gun season, the early
muzzleloader season or the first six days of
the late muzzleloader season. The statewide
bag limit of one antlered deer still applies.

Archery Sept. 2, 2023 - J 15, 2024
= ept. - Jan.
Youth/Senior Crosshow ! !
Crosshow Sept. 16, 2023 - Jan. 15, 2024
Youth-only Gun Oct. 14-15, 2023
Muzzleloader Oct. 21-22, 2023 | Dec.9-17, 2023
Modern Gun Nov. 11-26, 2023 Lewis Greenup
Free Youth Weekend Dec. 30-31, 2023 gy lemins carerBoy
Bourb
o ono Bath T "™ Te oty .
Fayette 2, ) awrence
Ye, lark \ %’ ifee) Morgan
A, \ Menife: 9al
%% ) Jr%sizz Powell Johnson A
%F Breckinridge Madison Wolfe 4{,9 Martin
Daviess Sov! 5 Estill 0,5%
oyle g L
Marion Yo *./ Breathitt Floyd
Ohio Grayson Lincoln Rock. Yacksom\Owsley Pike
Taylor Casey castle Perry) KOt
Butler é\%,
D5, Clay ) Letch
% 2 T Adair Pulaski Laurel Leslie etcher
®,
Warren / Barren (((394, Russell
Logan NCumber Knox Harlan
) Wayne )
Allen . & Whitley Bell
Wil & McCreary ¢

] Zone3s [ ]Zone4 Zone change

pending.

Go online to fw.ky.gov

for current status.

GENERAL INFORMATION

* The statewide deer permit and youth deer permit
allow for the harvest of up to four deer. Hunters
may take up to one antlered deer and three antler-
less deer, or four antlerless deer using the state-
wide deer permit.

A hunter may take as many deer as allowed for each
zone. In order to take more than four deer state-
wide, an additional deer permit must be purchased.
An additional deer permit allows a hunter to take
up to two additional deer. Zone bag limits apply.
Hunters who did not harvest an antlered deer using
their statewide or youth deer permits can take one
antlered deer and up to one antlerless deer, or up to
two antlerless deer with the additional deer permit.
Shooting hours are 30 minutes before sunrise to 30
minutes after sunset.

Hunters must claim any deer they harvest as their
own.

---——————————————————I
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BAG LIMITS

Bag limits and harvest restrictions
apply to all hunters. There is no daily
bag limit on deer. A person may take
no more than one (1) deer with visible
antlers, excluding male fawns (button
bucks). However, on some federally
controlled areas, including Reelfoot Na-
tional Wildlife Refuge, Fort Campbell
and Fort Knox military reservations and
Blue Grass Army Depot, a bonus ant-
lered deer may be taken, as determined
by the governing agency for each area.

CHECKING and TAGGING

All deer must be telechecked.
Hunters must call 1-800-245-4263 or
complete the online check-in process at
fw.ky.gov. See the “Recording, Check-
ing, Tagging and Transporting” portion

of this guide’s “General Information”

section for full details.

If the hide or head is removed be-
fore the harvested deer is checked in —
to quarter the animal, for example — it
is necessary to demonstrate proof of sex
by retaining the head or keeping the
genitalia attached to the carcass. In such
cases, it is still necessary to fill out the
harvest log immediately after harvest
and telecheck the animal before mid-
night on the day the deer is harvested
or recovered.

A carcass tag is required if a har-
vested deer leaves the hunter’s posses-
sion for any reason.

STATEWIDE DEER PERMIT
All deer hunters ages 16 and older,

unless license exempt, must first buy

Carry proog

Hunters who buy their license or
permit by phone or internet must
carry while hunting: a picture ID
and proof of purchase (an authoriza-
tion number, paper license or com-
puter print out). Paper licenses/per-
mits must be signed and all informa-
tion completed before hunting.

and carry proof of purchasing an annual
hunting license and a statewide deer
permit while deer hunting. The permit
allows a hunter to take four deer: one
antlered and three antlerless, or four
antlerless. It does not matter if the ant-
lered or antlerless deer is taken first.

ADDITIONAL DEER PERMIT

To take more than four deer, an ad-
ditional deer permit must be purchased.
The additional deer permit is valid for
deer of either sex. The additional deer
permit allows a hunter to take up to two
additional deer beyond those allowed
by the statewide permit in the follow-
ing combinations: one antlered and one
antlerless, or two antlerless. Regardless
of what permit a deer hunter carries, the
statewide season limit for antlered deer
is one per hunter. The additional deer
permit is not valid unless the hunter
has first purchased an annual hunting
license and statewide deer permit and is
able to show proof of that in the field. A
statewide or additional deer permit may
be used on public and private land, and
during some quota hunts.

HUNTING EQUIPMENT
RESTRICTIONS

MODERN GUN SEASON

During modern gun deer season,
hunters may hunt with any centerfire
rifle or pistol, including air guns of .35
caliber or larger charged by an external
tank, muzzleloaders, and archery and
crossbow equipment, and must follow
season restrictions, zone guidelines and
other hunting requirements.

All hunters, including archery and

crossbow hunters, and persons accompa-

nying hunters, must wear hunter orange
clothing during modern gun season.

Persons ages 15 and younger hunt-
ing deer with a firearm must be accom-
panied by an adult who shall be in a po-
sition to take immediate control of the
youth’s firearm at all times.

ARCHERY SEASON
Hunters using archery equipment
during a deer, elk or bear firearms sea-

¢ A Y
CHRONIC WASTING
DISEASE

If you hunt hig game outside of
Kentucky, you may not bring any
member of the deer (Cervidae)
family, which includes deer, elk,
moose, caribou, reindeer and any
hybrids, back into Kentucky un-
less the brain and spinal column
have heen removed.

Allowed parts from other states and
provinces include: quarters or other
portions of meat with no part of the
spinal column or head attached,
boned-out meat, antlers, antlers
attached to a clean skull plate, a
clean skull, clean teeth, hides and
finished taxidermy products.

Chronic Wasting Disease (CWD)
has not been detected in Kentucky.

Donations sought for testing

The department seeks donations of
deer heads from hunter harvested
animals for CWD testing. This will
allow Kentucky Fish and Wildlife to
better manage an outbreak should
CWD be detected. Bucks or does
are needed. Hunters should cut off
the head a couple inches below the
base of skull, then freeze the head.
Contact your local biologist or drop
off the head at a sample collection
site freezer (see page 14).

Online: fw.ky.gov/disease

Up-to-date news regarding CWD
can be found at cwd-info.org.
\ ’

Antler traps

Devices designed to entangle or trap
the antlers of a deer cannot be used.

son must follow all firearms deer season
restrictions, zone guidelines and other
hunting requirements, and must wear
hunter orange clothing. The only ex-
ception is on state-owned or managed
WDMASs where firearms hunting for deer
or elk is prohibited.

CROSSBOW SEASON
Hunters using crossbows during a
deer, elk or bear firearms season must

INILNNH 4330
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https://fw.ky.gov/Pages/default.aspx
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follow all firearms deer season restric-
tions, zone guidelines and other hunting
requirements, and must wear hunter or-
ange clothing. The only exception is on
state-owned or managed WMAs where
firearms hunting for deer or elk is pro-
hibited. A legal resident hunter age 65
years or older and a youth hunter age 15
or younger may hunt deer with a cross-
bow from the first Saturday in Septem-
ber through the third Monday in January.

MUZZLELOADER SEASON
Muzzleloaders, archery and cross-
bow equipment may be used during this
season. All hunters must comply with
the hunter orange clothing law. Youths
ages 15 and younger hunting deer with
a muzzleloader must be accompanied by
an adult who shall remain able and in
a position to take immediate control of
the youth’s muzzleloader at all times.

TREE STANDS

Construction and use of tree stands
on private lands is regulated by land-
owners.

Hunter orange /Leq(u'/bed/

Hunters and people accompany-

ing them must wear solid, unbro-
ken hunter orange color visible from
all sides on the head, back and chest
when hunting for any species dur-
ing modern gun, muzzleloader and
youth gun deer seasons, or a firearm
elk or firearm bear season. However,
hunter orange is not required when
hunting waterfowl or doves dur-

ing a gun deer, elk or bear season,
or when hunting furbearers at night
during a legal furbearer season.

¢ S

SUBMIT IMAGES OF YOUR
DEER’S JAW BONE FOR
AGING

Kentucky Fish and Wildlife

would like to age your harvested
female deer. Visit the webpage
“Deer Hunting” at fw.ky.gov/
Hunt/Pages/Deer.aspx for more
information.

N ’

¢

Scopes are allowed on all hunt-
ing equipment (used for statewide
seasons).

MODERN GUN EQUIPMENT

e Any caliber centerfire rifle or
centerfire handgun.

Rifle, handgun or shotgun maga-
zines may not be capable of hold-
ing more than 10 rounds.

Rifles or handguns may not be
fully automatic (capable of firing
more than one round with one
trigger pull).

Full metal jacketed or tracer bul-
let ammunition is prohibited.
Shotguns, no larger than
10-gauge, shooting slug ammuni-
tion only (includes saboted bullets).
Muzzle-loading rifles, handguns,
or shotguns shooting round balls,
conical bullets, or saboted bullets.
Air guns of .35 caliber or larger
charged by an external tank, shoot-
ing single projectile ammunition
designed to expand upon impact.

ARCHERY EQUIPMENT

* Longbows, recurves and com-
pound bows of any draw weight
(ho minimum).

N

LEGAL DEER HUNTING EQUIPMENT

A Y

* Wood, carbon or metal arrows,
but arrows may not be chemically
treated.

* Fixed blade or mechanical broad-
heads at least 7/8"" wide (when
blades extended), but broadheads
may not be chemically treated.

CROSSBOW EQUIPMENT

e Crossbows of any draw weight (no
minimum), with a working safety.

* Wood, carbon or metal arrows
(bolts), but arrows (bolts) may not
be chemically treated.

* Fixed blade or mechanical broad-
heads at least 7/8"" (when blades
extended), but broadheads may
not be chemically treated.

MUZZLELOADING EQUIPMENT

* Muzzle-loading rifles or handguns
of any caliber, shooting round
balls, conical bullets or saboted
bullets.

* Muzzle-loading firearms equipped
with open sights or telescopic
sights (scopes).

* Muzzle-loading shotguns no larger
than 10-gauge, shooting round
balls, conical bullets or saboted
bullets.
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YOUTH DEER HUNTING

YOUTH DEER HUNTING

Youths may hunt deer during any
open season, including two special deer sea-
sons for resident and nonresident hunters
who have not reached their 16th birthday.

Adults accompanying youth deer
hunters during either of these hunts may
not use firearms to take deer.

Adults accompanying youth hunt-
ers are not required to possess a hunt-
ing license or deer permit if the adult is
not deer hunting, but by law, the hunter
and the accompanying adults must wear
hunter orange clothing.

YOUTH-ONLY GUN SEASON/ FREE
YOUTH DEER HUNTING WEEKEND
The first special youth deer season
is on the second weekend of October.
Youth hunters may take deer with fire-

arms, or any other legal method, state-
wide. During the October youth-only
firearms season, the appropriate hunt-
ing license and deer permits are required
for hunters ages 12-15. Youth hunters
younger than age 12 are not required to
have a hunting license or deer permit.
On the first weekend following Christ-
mas, resident and nonresident youth 15
years of age and younger, who are ac-
companied by an adult, are eligible to
participate in the free youth weekend.
Youth hunters may hunt deer with fire-
arms, or any other legal method, state-
wide without a hunting license or deer
permit. During these seasons, youth
hunters may harvest antlered or antler-
less deer regardless of zone but must still
abide by all bag limits and other deer

hunting requirements.


http://fw.ky.gov/Hunt/Pages/Deer.aspx
http://fw.ky.gov/Hunt/Pages/Deer.aspx

SPECIAL DEER REGULATIONS

affecting Calloway, Fulton, Graves,
Hickman and Marshall counties
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A Chronic Wasting Disease (CWD) Surveillance
Zone is in effect for Calloway, Fulton, Graves, Hickman
and Marshall counties. The zone includes special regu-
lations which are detailed in this section of the guide.
Chronic wasting disease is an always fatal disease of deer,
elk and species in the deer family. While no conclu-
sive evidence exists that CWD can be transmitted
to people, the Centers for Disease Con-
trol and Prevention (CDC)

recommends  refraining
from eating meat from
animals that test positive

for CWD. Hunters may
take a deer head to one of the
voluntary deer sample collection stations

CWD CHECK STATION LOCATIONS

listed on page 14 for free sampling. C2 | Calloway | New Concord Fire Dept., 284 Dunbar Rd. New Concord
Inclusion in a Surveillance Zone does not C5 | Calloway | First Choice Firearms, 1205 Stadium View Dr. Murray

change deer seasons or bag limits in the coun- F1 | Fulton | Fulton County Extension Office, 2114 7th Street Hickman

ty. However, some special regulations apply: F2 | Fulton Fulton City Fire/Rec Area, 340 Browder St. Fulton

* Mandatory CWD Check Stations for Gl | Graves Burnett's Deer Processing, 1580 Penny Corner Rd. Melber
some season dates (see details below). G3 | Graves Patriot Ag LLC, 400 Crittendon Ln. Mayfield

* No feeding or baiting of deer or other "G4 [ Graves |Sedalia Fire Dept., 5414 KY 97 Sedalia
wildlife at any time in the CWD Surveil- G5 | Graves | Southern Reds BBQ, 5085 KY 94 West Water Valley
lance Zone. G6 | Graves Dowdy's Taxidermy, 1461 Baltimore Church Rd. Mayfield

No transportation of harvested deer out

of the CWD Surveillance Zone. Whole G7 | Graves Farmer's Slaughterhouse, 181 Fowler Rd. Mayfield
deer carcasses and high-risk parts, includ- H1 | Hickman | Hickman Co. Extension Office, 329 James H Phillips Dr. | Clinton
ing intact heads containing brain material, M2 | Marshall | Clarks River NWR, 91 U.S. 641 N Benton
cannot be moved out of the zone. M3 | Marshall | Kenlake Bayview Building, 466 Bayview Rd. Hardin

CWD SURVEILLANCE ZONE INFORMATION

MANDATORY DEER CWD Surveillance Zone (Calloway,
CWD CHECK STATIONS Fulton, Graves, Hickman and Marshall CWD chect station dateb:
Hunter participation is vital to dis-  counties) by any method during the fol-
. . . . Nov.11-13,2023
ease monitoring efforts. To obtainanad-  lowing dates in 2023 must be brought ; !

. .. . . . Stations will be open 9 a.m. to
equate sample size for scientific testing, to a CWD Check Station for sampling. 7 p.m. (Central) during these dates
Kentucky Fish and Wildlife is operating Check stations will only operate AL :
13 mandatory CWD Check Stations during dates listed to the right. There Self-serve drop-off freezers will also
within the CWD Surveillance Zone. is no mandatory deer check station re- be available Nov. 11-26 at each

All deer harvested within the quirement outside of Nov. 11-13, 2023. CWD Check Station. 1 3
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(D EEavvsliadi-uiv'fvu-lll VOLUNTARY DEER SAMPLE COLLECTION STATIONS
available through Deer Sample Col-
z lection Sites (see below). County |Location Name/Address City
Mandatory CWD Check Sta-  |Bell Rose Taxidermy, 7 Ennismore Dr. Middlesboro
e tion requirements include license-  |Breckinridge | Yellowbank WMA Office, Grady-Frymire Spur Rd. Stephensport
h exempt hunters, such as landown- Calloway KDFWR Murray Office, 30 Scenic Acres Dr. Murray
ers hunting on their own property, Calloway First Choice Firearms, 1205 Stadium View Dr. Murray
z and those who take deer during Calloway Hazel Fire Department, 215 Main St. Hazel
these dates by other methods, such Christian MSU Breathitt Veterinary Center, 101 MSU Dr. Hopkinsville
: as muzzleloader or archery equip- Franklin KY Dept. Fish & Wildlife Resources, 1 Sportsman's Ln. Frankfort
ment. Deer given to others by a |Fulton Fulton Co. Extension Office, 2114 S 7th St. Hickman
: hunter during these dates must be Fulton_ Fulton_ City Fire Department, 340 Browder St. Fulton
physically checked as well. All deer Gallatin Gallétm Co. Extension Office, 395 U.S. 42 . Wz.irsaw
z should be telechecked before com- Grant Curtis Gates Lloyd WMA Office, 230 Gardnersville Rd. Crittenden
ing to the check station. Graves Grav.es County Extensmh Office, 4200 U.S. 45 Mayfield
u Checkstationswi]loperatefrom Graves Patrlo.t A(_':] LLC, 400 Crittenden Ln. Mayﬁ.eld
9 am. -7 p.m. (Central). Hunters Graves Sedalia Fire Department, 5414 KY 97 Sedalia
u may bring in an intact deer carcass Graves Southern Reds BBQ, 5085 KY 94 West Water Valley
. 7 |Harlan Harlan Co. Extension Office, 519 South Main St. Harlan
n a field-dressed deer or just the head Hi - - — -
. ickman Hickman Co. Extension Office, 329 James H. Phillips Dr. Clinton
of t.he dee.r for' samRhng at a check Knox Parkway Monument, 4528 North U.S. 25E Gray
station. B1olog1st.s will take s_amples Marshall Clarks River National Wildlife Refuge, 91 U.S. 641 N Benton
at the check stations to monitor f_or Marshall Kenlake Bayview Building, 466 Bayview Rd. Benton
the presence of CWD. Hunters will McCracken |Paducah Shooter Supply, 3919 Cairo Rd. Paducah
be asked for an approximate location McCreary |Big South Fork Outdoors, 45 Job Corp Rd. Pine Knot
where they harvested the deer, name  [\etcalfe Critter Creations Taxidermy, 954 Harvey White Cemetery Rd. | Summer Shade
of taxidermist or processor if being  [Nelson Kentucky Gun Company (KYGUNCO), 401 Glenwood Dr. Bardstown
used, and provide telecheck and li-  [Njicholas Blue Licks State Park, 10299 Maysville Rd. Carlisle
censing information. Rowan Minor Clark Fish Hatchery, 120 Fish Hatchery Rd. Morehead
Hunters will receive a card |Simpson USDA NRCS Franklin Office, 1300 Bluegrass Rd. Ste. B Franklin
verifying their visit to the check sta- [ warren KDFWR Green River Regional Office, 970 Bennett Ln. Bowling Green
tion. Cards will contain information | Whitley Good Steward Forestry, 133 Tom Taylor Rd. Corbin
about how to view test results for |Woodford |USDA NRCS Versailles Service Office, 184 Beasley Rd. Versailles

their deer. Test results are generally
available within six weeks or less.

VOLUNTARY DEER SAMPLE
COLLECTION STATIONS

Freezers are available at 12 self-serve
Voluntary Deer Sample Collection Sta-
tions in the CWD Surveillance Zone,
and at several other locations through-
out the state. Deer Sample Collection
Stations allow hunters to voluntarily
have their deer tested when the manda-
tory CWD Check Stations are not open.
Testing is available through these sites for
deer taken anywhere in the state. Only
the deer head is needed for sampling;
instructions, bags and tags are located
at each sampling site. A location map of
Deer Sample Collection Stations is avail-
able online at fw.ky.gov/cwd.

NO DEER BAITING OR
WILDLIFE FEEDING

Grain, feed, mineral blocks, salt
blocks and other baits used to attract
deer cannot be used in CWD Surveil-
lance Zone counties year-round. This
helps prevent deer from concentrating,

which increases spread of disease. Bird
feeders in yards, planted food plots and
normal agricultural practices such as
mineral blocks or feed for cattle are al-
lowed. Hunters can use products that are
not ingested by deer, such as scent at-
tractors and deer urine products.

SPECIAL CARCASS TAGS
NO LONGER REQUIRED

Carcass tags are required if the
deer leaves a hunter’s possession. Special
CWD Surveillance Zone carcass tags
are no longer required. Hunters must
complete a harvest log prior to moving
the carcass and telecheck their deer be-
fore midnight on the day the animal is
recovered, prior to processing.

Yieed more information?
Go online to fw.ky.gov/CWD, call
1-800-858-1549 from 8 a.m. —
4:30 p.m. (Eastern) weekdays,

or send an email at any time to
info.center@ky.gov.

CARCASS TRANSPORTATION
RESTRICTIONS

Carcasses or high-risk parts of deer
harvested within the 5-county CWD
Surveillance Zone may not be taken out-
side of the zone. Only de-boned meat,
antlers, antlers attached to a clean skull
cap, a clean skull, clean teeth, hides and
finished taxidermy products may be tak-
en out of the CWD Surveillance Zone.

CARCASS IMPORTATION
PROHIBITED

Whole carcasses or high-risk parts
(head, skull cap or skull with any brain
material, or spine) of any deer, elk, moose
or caribou harvested in another state can-

not be brought back into Kentucky.

DOES CWD INFECT LIVESTOCK
OR PEOPLE?

CWD is not known to infect peo-
ple. It does not appear to naturally infect
cattle or other domesticated animals. As
a precaution, however, people should
avoid eating deer or elk that appear to

be sick or have tested positive for CWD.


https://fw.ky.gov/Wildlife/Pages/Chronic-Wasting-Disease.aspx
mailto:info.center%40ky.gov?subject=
http://fw.ky.gov/cwd

KENTUCKY’S
TROPHY
BUCKS

201 5/8
Brett Salyers
Pike County
Non-typical
Archery

HOW TO GET ON NEXT YEAR’S TROPHY LIST

To be eligible for next year’s trophy list a hunter must
take a white-tailed deer in Kentucky this season that of-
ficially net scores 160 or higher typical, or net scores 185
or higher non-typical, as determined by the Boone and
Crockett scoring system. Velvet deer scored under the Pope
and Young Club system for bowhunters.

No later than May 1, send the completed and signed
score sheet with a photo to Kentucky Hunting & Trapping
Guide, #1 Sportsman’s Lane, Frankfort, KY 40601. Include
the county in which the deer was taken, and the equipment
used to harvest the deer. Please send a copy as score sheets
and photos will not be returned. Emailed submissions to
info.center@ky.gov also will be accepted. To get a list of of-
ficial Boone and Crockett Club scorers in Kentucky visit:
www.boone-crockett.org.

BOONE & CROCKETT TROPHY DEER

2022 SEASON - TYPICAL

Hunter County Method
200 3/8 | Joby Gossett Pulaski Modern Gun
173 2/8 | Austin Ponder Whitley Modern Gun
172 7/8 | Jared Kenner Logan Archery
170 5/8 | Aaron Jolly Breckinridge | Modern Gun
170 1/8 | Jearmy S. Wilson Casey Archery
3\2?\/:{)8 Clark Vice Bath Archery
167 3/8 | Craig Browning Edmonson Archery
166 2/8 | James Dalton Boone Muzzleloader
165 7/8 | Justin Berry Todd Archery
165 4/8 | Dale Vickers Woodford Crosshow
164 3/8 2:;'2:‘5’5:” A Oldham Modern Gun
162 5/8 | Allen R. McQueary Russell Modern Gun
162 4/8 | William Joey Reid Madison Crosshow
162 Braden Cheek Scott Archery
161 1/8 | Jerry Loughran Pulaski Modern Gun
160 6/8 | James A. Williams Henderson Modern Gun
160 2/8 | Craig S. Burrell Pulaski Crosshow
160 2/8 | Josh Earlywine Roberston Archery
160 2/8 | Brannon Whisman Jefferson Modern Gun
160 David Andrew Newton | Nelson Modern Gun

Hunter

BOONE & CROCKETT TROPHY DEER
2022 SEASON - NON-TYPICAL

County

Method

232 5/8 | Ian Meredith Grayson Archery
229 4/8 | Bridgett Smith Union Modern Gun
219 2/8 | Dawson Mashburn Muhlenberg | Modern Gun
216 4/8 | Daniel Lappe Jr. Henderson Modern Gun
215 4/8 | Kevin Clements Casey Crossbow
206 2/8 | Colt Stumbo Hardin Modern Gun
203 4/8 | Philip Travis Edmonson Crosshow
201 6/8 | Roger Maynard Johnson Modern Gun
201 5/8 | Brett Salyers Pike Archery
195 2/8 | Jeff Humphrey Franklin Crossbow
195 Kevin W. Dunn Meade Crossbow
191 5/8 | Kyle Montgomery Jessamine Modern Gun
189 1/8 | Aaron C. Johnson Edmonson Crosshow
188 4/8 | Curt Bangerter Roberston Crosshow
187 1/8 | Allison Nardi Todd Modern Gun
186 7/8 | Josh Harlow Barren Archery
185 1/8 | Charles Watkins Breathitt Modern Gun

This list includes deer scored and reported to Kentucky Fish and

Wildlife. It is possible that unreported bucks taken last year in Ken-

tucky may have scored 160 typical or 185 non-typical or higher.

INILNNH 4330
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BEAR HUNTING

SEASON DATES and RESTRICTIONS

BEAR

Zone 1

Zone 2

Chase-Only*

June 1 - Aug. 31 and Sept. 9-30, 2023

Hunt with Dogs**

Oct. 23-27, 2023

Oct. 23-27, 2023 and Nov. 2-10, 2023

Archery/Crosshow

Oct. 28-30, 2023

Oct. 28 - Nov. 1, 2023

Firearm

Dec. 9-11, 2023

Dec. 9-13, 2023

*Bear chase only is not permitted on WMASs until the third Saturday in August. However, Hensley-Pine Mountain WMA is closed

to bear chase and all bear hunting seasons.

**Any legal equipment may be used during the Hunt with Dogs.
Note: Hunters may participate in the chase-only season even if they have harvested a bear.

CHASE-ONLY SEASON WITH DOGS

Participants must purchase and
possess proof of a valid combination
bear permit, bear chase permit or youth
bear chase permit in addition to fulfill-
ing annual hunting license requirements.

Chase-only and hunt with dogs
seasons are closed in the Daniel Boone
National Forest, Beaver Creek WMA,
Cane Creck WMA, Hensley-Pine
Mountain WMA, Mill Creek WMA,
Miller-Welch Central Kentucky WMA,
Pioneer Weapons WMA, Redbird
WMA, Big South Fork National River
and Recreation Area, and Cumberland
Gap National Historical Park.

Bears can be chased during legal
daylight hours only. Hunters cannot
chase bears from a baited area while bait
is present or for 30 days after the bait
has been removed.

The bear hunt with dogs season also
is open as a chase-only season for any
person with a valid bear chase permit.

HUNTING SEASONS

All bear hunters and bear chase
participants must purchase and pos-
sess proof of the appropriate valid bear
permit(s) in addition to fulfilling annual
hunting license requirements.

Hunters who harvest a bear during
any bear hunting season must telecheck
it by 8 p.m. (Eastern). Prior to moving

¢

* A modern rifle of 6.5 mm (.264
caliber) or larger, with a maga-
zine capable of holding no more
than 10 rounds

* A muzzle-loading rifle of .45
caliber or larger

* A muzzle-loading or breech-
loading shotgun no larger than
10-gauge, and no smaller than
20-gauge, firing a single projectile
(slug, round ball, conical bullet or
saboted bullet) only

* A handgun loaded with center-
fire cartridges with a case length
of 1.285 inches or larger, firing
bullets of 6.5 mm (.264 caliber)
or larger designed to expand

A

LEGAL BEAR HUNTING EQUIPMENT

upon impact
* Firearms may not be fully auto-
matic (capable of firing more than
one round with one trigger pull)
Full metal jacketed or tracer bul-
let ammunition is prohibited
Archery and crossbow equipment
that is legal for deer hunting
During the bear hunt with dogs
season, hunters may only harvest
a bear using a legal weapon as-
sisted by dogs that are actively
pursuing, chasing, baying or tree-
ing a bear prior to harvest. Dogs
must be included on the depart-
ment-approved breed list for bear
season, found online at fw.ky.gov.

from the Bear Zone,
1-800-858-1549
within 24 hours of harvest to arrange
for a physical check of the animal and
receive a tag issued by Kentucky Fish
and Wildlife. Bears physically checked
during any hunting season must include
a carcass or an intact hide that contains
the skull and proof of sex (i.e. intact hide
or genitalia attached to removed hide).
Bear hunters may harvest bear with
archery/crossbow

harvested bears

hunters must call

and muzzleloader

equipment during bear firearm season.

Vote

Prior to moving harvested bears
out of the Bear Zone, hunters must
call 1-800-858-1549 within 24
hours of harvest to arrange for a
physical check of the animal and
receive a tag issued by Kentucky
Fish and Wildlife.

S
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http://fw.ky.gov

BEAR HUNTING ZONES

Zone 1
Zone 2

Bear Reserves
(closed to bear
hunting)

Cumberland

Clinton

ckcastl

e

Hensley-Pine
Mountain WMA

Cumberland Gap
National Park

Big South Fork National
River & Recreation Area

HUNTER RESTRICTIONS

* 'The bag limit is one bear per person
per license year, regardless of season.

* Hunters and houndsmen may not dis-
turb or take bears from dens.

* Bear hunting and bear chase is pro-
hibited in the following areas within
the bear zone: Big South Fork Na-
tional River and Recreation Area,
Cumberland Gap National Historical

Q: Is it legal to shoot a hear
that is feeding at a trash can or
dumpster?

>£<: No. Garbage is considered bait.

Park, Kingdom Come State Park, and
the Hensley-Pine Mountain WMA.
The chase-only and bear hunt with
dogs seasons are closed in the Daniel
Boone National Forest, Miller-Welch
Central Kentucky WMA, Beaver
Creek WMA, Cane Creek WMA,
Mill Creek WMA, Pioneer Weapons
WDMA and Redbird WMA.

Hunters may not take female bears
with cubs, or any bear weighing less
than 75 pounds.

Hunters may not use bait or other
substances capable of luring black
bears. Predator calls and decoys are
legal equipment.

Dogs may not be used to hunt bears
during the archery/crossbow or mod-

ern gun seasons, but leashed tracking
dogs may be used to recover wound-
ed bears.

* Hunters 15 years old and younger
who use a firearm must be accompa-
nied by an adult, who shall remain in
a position to take immediate control
of the youth’s firearm.

HUNTER ORANGE REQUIREMENT
Bear hunters and those who accom-
pany them, or any other person hunting
on public or private lands in the bear
hunting zones during a firearm season
for bears, must comply with the hunter
orange clothing law. This requirement
also applies to any person chasing bears
during the bear hunt with dogs season.

INILNNH dV38
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MIGRATORY BIRDS and WATERFOWL
HUNTING SEASONS

MIGRATORY BIRDS

(WEBLESS)
Sept. 1 - Oct. 26, Nov. 23 - Dec. 3, 2023
LD and Dec. 23, 2023 - Jan. 14, 2024 15 45
Virginia & Sora Rail Sept. 1 - Nov. 9, 2023 25 singly or combined 75
Woodcock Oct. 28 - Nov. 10 and Nov. 13 - Dec. 13, 2023 3 9
q Sept. 20 - Oct. 29, 2023 and
LG Nov. 23, 2023 - Jan. 28, 2024 8 24
Common & Purple Gallinule Sept. 1 - Nov. 9, 2023 3 singly or combined
Sandhill Crane Dec. 7, 2023 - Jan. 31, 2024 1or2* 3

Find the latest information on public dove fields online at fw.ky.gowv. Always check before hunting, as fields are subject to
change due to weather conditions or crop failures.

*The daily bag limit for sandhill cranes is 2 cranes for permit holders with 2 or more tags, or 1 crane for hunters with one tag.
Sandhill Crane permits available only through quota hunt drawing in September at fw.ky.gov. Sandhill crane hunters will be
issued printable tags attached to hunting permits, accessible through the online sandhill crane app at fw.ky.gov. Hunters must
possess printed or electronic proof of a valid crane hunting permit.

WATERFOWL

6; may include no more | 18; may include no more

Early Teal & Wood Duck Sept. 16-20, 2023 than 2 wood ducks than 6 wood ducks
Teal Sept. 16-24, 2023 6 18
Sept. Canada Goose,Western Zone Sept. 1-15, 2023 5 15
Sept. Canada Goose, Eastern Zone Sept. 16-30, 2023 5 15
6; may include no more
than 4 mallards (only 2
of which may be hens),
3 wood ducks, 2 red-
Duck heads, 1 pintail, 2 black | Triple the daily bag limit
Nov. 23-26 and ducks, and 2 canvasback.

Dec. 7, 2023 - Jan. 31, 2024 1 scaup Nov. 23-26 and
Dec. 7-17; and 2 scaup
Dec. 18 - Jan. 31.

Coot 15 45
Merganser 5; only 2 may be hooded | Triple the daily bag limit

5 combined; 3 Canada
geese, 2 white-fronted | Triple the daily bag limit

Canada/Cackling Goose,
White-Fronted Goose & Brant

Nov. 23, 2023 - Feb. 15, 2024 geese and 1 brant
Snow Goose 20 none
(including Ross’ Goose)
Youth-only Waterfowl Nov. 18, 2023; Feb. 10, 2024
— Same as regular season
Military/Veteran-only Waterfowl Nov. 19, 2023; Feb. 11, 2024
Falconry (ducks, coots &
mergansers) Nov. 23, 2023 - Feh. 25, 2024 3 9
Falconry (geese) Same as regular season Same as regular season
Light Goose Conservation Order Feb. 16 - Mar. 31, 2024 none none

Notes: The Northeast Goose Zone now mirrors the rest of the state. The Cave Run Lake refuge area remains closed to goose hunting.
See the "Quota Hunts" section in this guide for waterfowl hunting information pertaining to public lands and blind drawings.


https://fw.ky.gov/Hunt/Pages/Migratory-Bird-Hunting.aspx#PublicHunting
https://fw.ky.gov/Pages/default.aspx
https://app.fw.ky.gov/Sandhill/Default.aspx

DAILY BAG and
POSSESSION LIMITS

Daily limit refers to the number
of birds which may be taken during a
one-day period. Possession limit applies
to transporting birds after two or more
days of hunting but does not permit a
double daily bag limit in the field.

MILITARY,YOUTH-ONLY
WATERFOWL SEASONS

Seasons are statewide. Youths
must be under the age of 16 on the day

SHOOTING HOURS
(WATERFOWL)

One-half hour before
Regular .
sunrise to sunset
Exceptions:
Snow Goose | One-half hour before
Conservation | sunrise to one-half
Order hour after sunset
One half-hour before
sunrise to sunset, un-
Wildlife less otherwise noted
Management in the Waterfowl
Areas Hunting Guide, avail-
able in fall online at
Sw.ky.gov.

eligible if they are on active duty. Par-
ticipants must have proper license and
permit, including federal duck stamp.
Check the 2023-24 waterfowl guide for

more information.

of the hunt. Military seasons are for
military on active duty and honorably
discharged veterans of the U.S. Armed
Forces only. Per federal rule, National
Guard members and reservists are only

SEPTEMBER SEASON
GOOSE ZONES

Western Zone:
shaded counties.
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Graves
m Calloway

SHOOTING HOURS (MIGRATORY BIRDS)

Sept. 1 only: 11 a.m. to sunset. Remainder of dove
season: one-half hour before sunrise to sunset

Sept. 1 - Oct. 26: 11 a.m. to sunset. Second and
third segments of dove season: one-half hour before
sunrise to sunset

O

Dove, private land

Dove, public land
(WMAs, leased fields)

Sandhill crane Sunrise to sunset (quota hunt only)

One-half hour before sunrise to sunset

All other species

Note: Dove and waterfowl hunters must complete the HIP migratory bird harvest
survey before hunting each year. Visit fw.ky.gowv (see "My Profile”) for details.

DATES, RESTRICTIONS and HOW TO APPLY

Firearms

Week 1: Sept. 30 - Oct. 4, 2023
Week 2: Oct. 7-11, 2023

Week 1: Nov. 25-29, 2023
Week 2: Dec. 30, 2023 - Jan. 3, 2024

Archery / Crosshow (either sex)

Sept. 9-22, 2023 and Dec. 2-8, 2023

Youth-only Quota (either sex)

All seasons as noted above

Note: Qut-of-zone elk hunters must follow deer season regulations and use only the legal elk hunting equipment described on this
page to take elk from any county not included in the 16-county elk zone, and must have an Out-of-Zone Elk Permit.

HOW THE QUOTA HUNTS WORK

Hunters must buy their elk quota hunt  * Elk quota hunt applications can be

* Applications go on sale Aug. 1for the
following year’s Kentucky elk hunts.

purchased online at fw.ky.gov or any-
where licenses are sold. A person who 1 9

applications before midnight (East-
ern) on April 30 of the hunt year.


https://app.fw.ky.gov/Solar/
https://fw.ky.gov/Pages/default.aspx
https://fw.ky.gov/Pages/default.aspx
https://fw.ky.gov/Pages/default.aspx
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Elb hunt deadlines

Aug. 1: First day to apply for an elk
hunt (for the following year)

April 30: Last day to apply for an
elk hunt (for that year’s hunt)

June 15: Deadline for drawn hunt-
ers to buy permit; unclaimed permits
redistributed for elk loyalty redraw

June 30: Deadline for elk loyalty
redraw winners to buy permit

June 30: Deadline to apply for hunt-
ing unit; unit assigned to those who
do not apply

does not have access to the depart-
ment’s website to apply for any quota
hunt may contact the department toll
free at 1-800-858-1549 (Monday-Fri-
day, 8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.) for assistance.
Residents and nonresidents are eligi-
ble to apply for each of the three per-
mit types (bull firearm, cow firearm or
either sex archery/crossbow) but can
only be drawn for one.

Each application costs $10. Only indi-
viduals may purchase elk applications,
not a party of hunters together.
Hunters 15 years of age and younger
may apply for a youth-only quota hunt
during the same application period as
for the regular elk quota hunt drawing.
Applicants for the youth-only hunt
may also purchase elk applications for
the regular elk quota hunts. A youth
may not be drawn for the youth-only
quota hunt and the regular quota hunt
for elk in the same year, and if drawn
for the youth-only hunt, will be per-
manently blocked from applying for
the youth-only hunt again.

If an applicant is drawn for a youth-
only permit, they will purchase the
applicable quota youth elk permit.
If a youth applicant is drawn for the
regular quota hunts, the youth will be
required to purchase the full price ant-
lered or antlerless elk permit.

A random computer drawing is held
in May to select the drawn hunters.
Applicants may check to see if they
were drawn on fw.ky.gov.

It is the hunter’s responsibility to find
a place to hunt in the unit they are
assigned to hunt. Hunters must get
landowner permission to hunt on pri-
vate land.

* There is no limit to the number of as-
sistants an elk hunter may take into
the field, but only the permit holder is
allowed to hunt.
Fishtrap Lake WMA in Pike Coun-
ty and Paul Van Booven WMA in
Breathitt County are designated as
viewing areas and are off limits to elk
hunting.
Quota elk permits must be pur-
chased from the department’s website
(fw.ky.gov) or through any license
vendor before midnight June 15. Un-
purchased permits will be reassigned
to the new Elk Loyalty Redraw pro-
gram, a secondary elk permit draw-
ing for leftover permits. Resident
hunters who have applied to the elk
draw for the most consecutive years
without being drawn will be auto-
matically entered.

Unless license exempt, hunters drawn

for a quota elk permit are required to

buy an annual hunting license. All elk
hunters must purchase a quota elk
permit.

Hunters awarded an elk permit will

be blocked from reapplying for three

years.

* Up to three drawn hunters may apply
for their unit choices as a party. Those
applying for a regulated area must do
so individually, not as a party.

QUOTA HUNTS WITHIN
THE ELK ZONE

The elk zone includes the following
16 counties: Bell, Breathitt, Clay, Floyd,
Harlan, Johnson, Knott, Knox, Leslie,
Letcher, Magoftin, Martin, McCreary,
Perry, Pike and Whitley. Inside this
4.1 million-acre zone, elk may only be
taken by hunters drawn for a quota hunt
as previously described. All elk hunters
must display a department-issued per-
mit in their vehicles while hunting.

BAITING

Elk hunters may not use bait on
public or private land within the elk
zone. However, it is legal to hunt elk
over bait outside the elk zone where
baiting is permitted.

CALLING

A person shall not mimic the sound
of an elk on public land open to elk
hunting from Sept. 1 until the opening
of the elk archery/crossbow season.

SHOOTING HOURS

Elk may only be hunted during
daylight hours, from 30 minutes before
sunrise to 30 minutes after sunset.

BAG LIMIT/HUNTER ORANGE

The season bag limit on elk is one
per hunter per season, regardless of per-
mit type. Hunters may not take an elk
during a quota elk hunt and also take an
elk out-of-zone during the same season.
Elk hunters and those who accompany
them, or any other person hunting pub-
lic or private lands in the elk zone during
firearm elk seasons, must comply with
the hunter orange clothing law.

LEGAL ELK HUNTING
EQUIPMENT

* A modern rifle of .270 caliber
or larger with a magazine ca-
pable of holding no more than
10 rounds

A muzzle-loading rifle of .50
caliber or larger

A muzzle-loading or breech-
loading shotgun no smaller than
20-gauge, firing a single pro-
jectile (slug, round ball, conical
bullet or saboted bullet) only

A handgun loaded with cen-
terfire cartridges with a case
length of 1.285 inches or
larger, firing bullets of .270
caliber or larger designed to
expand upon impact

Firearms may not be fully-au-
tomatic (capable of firing more
than one round with one trigger
pull)

Full metal jacketed or tracer
bullet ammunition is prohibited
Crosshows or archery equip-
ment (long bows, recurves or
compound bow) loaded with

a fixed blade or mechanical
broadheads at least 7/8” wide
(when blades extended), but
broadheads may not be chemi-
cally treated. Crossbows must
have a working safety.

Note: Hunters may use archery
or crossbows during the bull or
cow firearms hunts.


https://fw.ky.gov/Pages/default.aspx
https://app.fw.ky.gov/Solar/

ELK HUNTING OUTSIDE
THE ELK ZONE

Elk may be taken from any county
outside the zone by hunters who pos-
sess an annual Kentucky hunting license
and an Out-of-Zone Elk Permit. These
hunters must follow deer season regula-
tions and use only the legal elk hunting
equipment outlined above, but are not
required to possess a Statewide Deer
Permit.

CHECKING and TAGGING

All elk must be telechecked. Hunt-
ers must call 1-800-245-4263 and re-
port the harvest. See the “General Infor-
mation” section for details.

Once an elk is harvested, a hunter
may remove the head of the animal to
facilitate its removal from the field prior
to the elk being telechecked. It is still
necessary to fill out the harvest log im-
mediately after harvest and telecheck

the animal before midnight on the day
the elk is harvested or recovered. If the
hide or head of the elk is removed in the
field - to quarter the animal, for example
— it is necessary to demonstrate proof of
sex by retaining the head or keeping the
genitalia attached to the carcass.

A carcass tag is required if a har-
vested elk leaves the hunter’s possession
for any reason.

VOUCHER COOPERATOR ELK
PERMIT PROGRAM

An access program by the Kentucky
Department of Fish and Wildlife Re-
sources has created additional elk hunt-
ing opportunity for drawn elk hunters.

The Voucher Cooperator Elk Per-
mit Program links people who own or
lease elk hunting land with hunters who
have drawn an elk permit. Hunter ac-
cess is accomplished by offering land-
owners/lessees an elk permit when they

accumulate 10 points (harvested bull =
1 point, harvested cow = 1 point). In-
terested landowners and lessees may
contact Kentucky Fish and Wildlife at
1-800-858-1549 to learn more about
the Voucher Cooperator Elk Permit
Program.

POST-SEASON ELK HUNTING
SURVEY

All elk hunters (including any ap-
plicant selected for a permit in the draw-
ing) must complete and submit a post-
season elk hunting survey no later than
the last day of February. The post-season
survey will be accessible to elk hunters
through the “My Profile” feature on the
department’s website. Any elk hunter
who fails to complete and submit the
post-season survey will be ineligible to
apply for any quota hunt or no-hunt op-
tion the following year.

WHERE TO HUNT ELK

ELK ZONE

- Elk Zone Counties

E Elk Hunting Units
- Public Hunting Areas

- Elk Regulated Areas

- Viewing Areas

(No elk hunting)

] Whitley

McCreary \

Magoffin

Breathitt

Johnson

Martin

VNaps online

See statewide harvest maps,
hunting zones, current elk
hunting areas and more at
Jfw.ky.gov. Click the “More”
tab and choose “Maps.”
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https://fw.ky.gov/More/Pages/Game-Maps.aspx
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SEASON DATES and RESTRICTIONS

Shotgun

Archery

Crosshow

FALL TURKEY

Oct. 28 - Nov. 3 and
Dec. 2-8, 2023

Sept. 2, 2023 - Jan. 15, 2024

Oct. 1-22 and
Nov. 11 - Dec. 31, 2023

BAG LIMITS

* Two (2) turkeys per season.

* One (1) turkey with a beard at least
three (3) inches long.

* One (1) turkey with no visible beard
or a beard shorter than 3 inches.

* One (1) turkey per day.

PERMIT REQUIREMENTS

Adult hunters: Unless exempt, all
fall turkey hunters ages 16 and older
must carry with them in the field proof
of purchase of a valid Kentucky hunt-
ing license and a valid fall turkey per-
mit. Short-term (1- or 7-day) hunting
licenses are not valid for turkey hunting.
'The fall turkey permit is valid for the fall
archery, crossbow and shotgun turkey
seasons and allows a hunter to harvest
up to the fall season bag limit of turkeys.

’ N
LEGAL FALL TURKEY
HUNTING EQUIPMENT

* Breech-loading or muzzle-
loading shotguns no larger than
10 gauge and no smaller than
.410.

* Breech-loading shotguns must
be plugged to hold a maximum
of three shells (two in magazine
and one in chamber)

¢ | ead or non-toxic shot no
larger than No. 4

¢ Longbows, recurve bows and
compound bows of any draw
weight (no minimum).

* Crossbows of any draw weight
(no minimum) with a working
safety device.

* Non-barbed broadheads with a
minimum cutting diameter of
7/8-inch, whether expandable
or non-expandable.

\ ’

Youth hunters: Youths younger
than 12 are exempt from license and
turkey permit requirements. Youths ages
12-15 are eligible to purchase a youth
turkey permit, which is valid during
any turkey season for one turkey. Youth
hunters must abide by season bag lim-
its and harvest restrictions but can use
the youth permit throughout the license
year. The youth sportsman’s license in-
cludes two (2) youth turkey permits.
Anyone may call turkeys, or assist in
the hunt. Callers and assistants are not
required to possess a hunting license or
turkey permit, and may carry equipment

while in the field.

OTHER RESTRICTIONS

Hunters may not use bait or any
substance capable of luring wild tur-
keys. Fall turkey hunters shall not hunt

within 600 feet of a baited site nor for
thirty (30) days after bait is removed.
This prohibition does not apply to
bona fide agricultural practices or
planted food plots. Turkey hunters may
not use firearms to take turkeys during
archery or crossbow-only seasons. On
some WMAs, special equipment restric-
tions may apply.

YOUTH SUPERVISION

Firearm turkey hunters 15 years old
and younger must be accompanied by
an adult, who shall remain in a position
to take immediate control of the youth’s
firearm at all times.

HARVEST RECORDING and
TAGGING REQUIREMENTS

The process and
for recording, checking and tag-

requirements

ATTENTION TURKEY HUNTERS!

You can help the Kentucky Department of Fish and Wildlife Resources’ efforts
to manage the wild turkey resource by participating in the Summer Brood
Survey. In July and August, record all observations of turkeys, including broods

(hens and poults) and gobblers.

Visit the department’s website at fw.ky.gov for more details about this survey,
which will help Kentucky Fish and Wildlife better track trends in turkey popula-
tions. Enter “Turkey Brood Survey” in the search box on the department’s
homepage. Only summarized results will be reported.


https://fw.ky.gov/Pages/default.aspx

porting” guidelines in the “General wild turkeys with leg bands should re-
Information” section of this guide. port the band number online at fw.ky.
To help researchers, hunters who harvest  gov/Hunt/Pages/TurkeyBand.aspx.

ging harvested turkeys are the same
as for deer and elk. See the “Record-
ing, Checking, Tagging and Trans-

FURBEARER HUNTING and TRAPPING

SEASON DATES and RESTRICTIONS

Raccoon & Opossum
Coyote
Bohcat

River Otter, Muskrat, Mink, Beaver, Red
Fox, Gray Fox, Weasel & Striped Skunk

Free Youth Hunting & Trapping Week

Hunting
Oct. 1, 2023 - Feb. 29, 2024, day* or night (exceptions apply)
Year-round, day or night (exceptions apply)
Nov. 18, 2023 - Feb. 29, 2024

Trapping

Nov. 13, 2023 -
Feb. 29, 2024

Nov. 13, 2023 - Feb. 29, 2024

Dec. 30, 2023 - Jan. 5, 2024

Bobcat permit required for bobcat hunters

FURBEARER BAG LIMITS

Raccoon &

Opossum No limit
Coyote No limit
5; no more than 3
Bohcat of which shall be
taken with a gun*
10; only 6 of
. which can be
R e taken from Otter
Zone 2
Muskrat, Mink,
Beaver, Red Fox, No limit

Gray Fox, Weasel

& Striped Skunk

SPECIAL HUNTING
RESTRICTIONS

(Daylight hours are defined as 30
minutes before sunrise to 30 minutes
after sunset.)

During modern gun deer season, rac-
coon and opossum hunters may not hunt
during daylight hours. Night hunting on

*See exception in Special Hunting Restrictions

Friday, Nov. 10,2023 shall conclude by 30
minutes before sunrise on Saturday, Nov.
11, which is when shooting hours open
for modern gun deer season.

A hunter shall not use a light from
a boat to take raccoon or opossum.

A person shall not use the following
while chasing raccoon or opossum from
noon on March 1 through September 30:
a firearm, a slingshot, tree climber or any
device to kill, injure, or force a raccoon or
opossum from a tree or den.

Coyotes may be hunted year-round,
day or night, with no bag limit. Hunt-
ers may only use artificial light or other
means designed to make wildlife visible
at night from Dec. 1 - March 31 and
May 16 - June 30. Artificial light or oth-
er means designed to make wildlife vis-
ible at night cannot be connected to or
cast from a mechanized vehicle. Coyote
hunters with valid Mobility-Impaired
Access Permits or Hunting Methods
Exemption Vehicle Permits may use a

stationary vehicle as a hunting platform,
and may use lights or other means de-
signed to make wildlife visible at night
so long as the means used are not con-
nected to the vehicle.

On public land after daylight hours, a
person shall not use any equipment other
than a bow, crossbow, or shotgun loaded
with a multiple-projectile shell. On pri-
vate land after daylight hours, coyote
hunters may only use a bow, crossbow
or shotgun loaded with multiple projec-
tiles. From Dec. 1 - March 31, and May
16 - June 30, hunters on private land at
night may also use any breech-loading
rifle or pistol of any caliber, a shotgun
firing a single projectile or a muzzle-
loader of .54-caliber or less.

Night hunting shall not be allowed
in a county or area where a deer or elk
firearm or muzzleloader season is open.

Night hunting for coyotes is pro-
hibited on Kentucky lands managed by
Big South Fork National River and Rec-

RIVER OTTER ZONES

ZONE 1: Anderson, Ballard, Bath, Boone, Bourbon, Bracken, Breckinridge, Bullitt, Caldwell, Calloway, Campbell, Carlisle,
Carroll, Christian, Crittenden, Daviess, Fayette, Fleming, Franklin, Fulton, Gallatin, Grant, Graves, Grayson, Hancock, Har-
din, Harrison, Henderson, Henry, Hickman, Hopkins, Jefferson, Kenton, LaRue, Livingston, Lyon, Marshall, Mason, Meade,
McCracken, McLean, Muhlenberg, Nelson, Nicholas, Ohio, Oldham, Owen, Pendleton, Robertson, Rowan, Scott, Shelby,
Spencer, Trigg, Trimble, Union, Webster and Woodford. ZONE 2: All other counties.

23


http://fw.ky.gov/Hunt/Pages/TurkeyBand.aspx
http://fw.ky.gov/Hunt/Pages/TurkeyBand.aspx
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LEGAL METHODS
and EQUIPMENT FOR
HUNTING FURBEARERS

(see Special Hunting Restrictions
section for exceptions)

e Centerfire or rimfire gun

* Muzzle-loading rifle or handgun

* Muzzle-loading or breech-
loading shotguns no larger
than 10 gauge. Breech-loading
shotguns must be plugged to
hold a maximum of three shells
(two in magazine and one in
chamber). There is no limit on
shot size. Shotguns must be
shoulder fired

* Shot shells with a single pro-
jectile may only be used during
daylight hours

* Bow and arrow or crossbow

¢ Air guns with pellets that are
at least .22 caliber in size

* Hand or mouth operated calls,
electronic calls, or attracting
devices

e Falconry

reation Area, Daniel Boone National
Forest, George Washington and Jeffer-
son National Forests, Land Between The
Lakes National Recreation Area, Clarks
River National Wildlife Refuge and
Reelfoot National Wildlife Refuge, in-
cluding Beaver Creek, Cane Creek, Mill
Creek, Pioneer Weapons and Redbird
wildlife management areas (WMAs).
Hand or mouth-operated calls and
electronic calls that imitate wounded
prey or coyote calls are legal. It is legal
to hunt coyotes over animal carcasses.
Animal carcasses are considered bait.
A hunter shall not place or distribute
bait or otherwise participate in baiting
wildlife on all WMAs, Big South Fork
National River and Recreation Area,
Daniel Boone National Forest, Jeffer-
son National Forest, Land Between The
Lakes and state parks open to hunting.
Bobcat hunters must carry a valid
hunting license (unless license exempt)
and a valid bobcat hunting permit while
hunting. Bobcat permits are free. Permits
are available online at fw.ky.gov in the
license purchase section. Hunters and
trappers are asked to submit jaws of all
harvested bobcats for population studies.
Bobcat age will be provided to the har-

Trappers may use lights from boats
or vehicles to check traps.

Traps may not be placed in trails
or paths commonly used by people
or domestic animals.

There are no restrictions on the
size or type of trap used as a water
set, except that any body-gripping
trap greater than 20 inches wide
must be placed so the trap is com-
pletely submerged under water. A
water set is a trap placed in the wa-
ter of a river, stream, pond, lake,
wetland or other body of water so
that a portion of the trap body is
underwater.

The following equipment is per-
mitted for dry land sets. A dry land
set is a trap placed so that no por-
tion of the trap touches the water of
a river, stream, pond, lake, wetland
or other water course.

* Deadfall

* Wire cage or box trap

* Foothold traps with a maximum
inside jaw spread of 6 inches mea-
sured perpendicular to the hinges

* On private land, a body-gripping
trap with a maximum inside jaw

vester. A hunter or trapper who submits
lower jaws from all their harvested bob-
cats in a single season to the department
may receive one (1) additional bobcat to
the bag limit for the following season for
every two animals harvested. Jaw samples
from all harvested bobcats must be re-
ceived by the department by March 15
per instructions provided to qualify for
the increased bag limit. Increased bag
limits are non-transferable. Hunters and
trappers must confirm an increased bag
limit for the following season through

“My Profile” at faw.ky.gov.

SPECIAL TRAPPING RESTRICTIONS
* All traps must bear a metal tag giv-
ing either the name and address of

Sample trap tags

LEGAL METHODS and EQUIPMENT FOR TRAPPING FURBEARERS

spread of 7% inches measured
parallel with the trigger

* On wildlife management and out-
door recreation areas, a body-
gripping trap with a maximum in-
side jaw spread of 5% inches

* Snare. A snare means a wire, cable,
or string with a knot, loop, or a sin-
gle piece closing device, the deploy-
ment of which is or is not spring-
assisted, but any spring-assisted
device is not for the purpose of ap-
plying tension to the closing device

On wildlife management and out-
door recreation areas, dry land sets
may not be placed closer than 10
feet apart.

On private land, dry land sets
may not be placed closer than 10
feet apart unless the person trapping
has written permission from the
landowner or the landowner’s desig-
nee, except there shall not be more
than three traps placed within any
10-foot spacing. The trap spacing
requirement does not apply to wire
cage or box traps or on properties of
5 acres of less.

the trapper, or a wildlife identifica-
tion number for trap tags issued
by the department as well as the
1-800-25-ALERT phone number.

* Any trap found without a tag can be
immediately confiscated by the de-
partment without a court order.

* All traps must be visited at least once
every twenty-four (24) hours and all
animals removed.

* Coyotes can only be trapped during
furbearer trapping seasons.

* Trappers must harvest furbearers upon

capture, unless they possess a captive

wildlife permit from Kentucky Fish
and Wildlife.

Spotted skunks are protected year

round and may not be taken or pos-

sessed. Report incidental trappings to

Kentucky Fish and Wildlife.

* It is illegal to intentionally obstruct or
disrupt the right of a person to law-
fully take wildlife by trapping.

TELECHECK and CITES TAGGING

Harvested bobcats and otters must


https://app.fw.ky.gov/Solar/
https://app.fw.ky.gov/myprofile/

be telechecked by calling 1-800-245-
4263 by midnight on the day the ani-
mal is recovered, before processing the
carcass and before transporting the
raw fur, pelt or unskinned carcass out
of Kentucky. A hunter or trapper who
wants to have a bobcat or otter mounted
shall provide his or her name, telephone
number and telecheck confirmation
number to the taxidermist. Taxidermists
cannot legally accept an unchecked otter
or bobcat for mounting.

A Convention on International
Trade in Endangered Species (CITES)
tag, issued by Kentucky Fish and Wild-
life, must be attached to the raw fur,
pelt or unskinned carcass of any bobcat
or river otter taken in Kentucky if the
hunter or trapper intends to sell or ex-

port internationally.

To request a CITES tag, log on to
“My Profile” online at fw.ky.gov.

A CITES tag must be attached to
the raw fur, pelt or unskinned carcass of
any bobcat or river otter taken in Ken-
tucky immediately upon receipt of the tag
from Kentucky Fish and Wildlife per the
instructions provided by the department
and remain attached until it is processed
or exported outside the United States.

Possession of an unused bobcat or
otter CITES tag is prohibited.

A person who transfers, but does
not sell, a river otter or bobcat to anoth-
er person or taxidermist, is not required
to request a CITES tag. But, this per-
son must attach a handmade carcass tag
to the animal that contains the telech-

FURBEARER HUNTERS AND TRAPPERS:
WE NEED YOUR HELP!

1
1
1
Kentucky Fish & Wildlife is collecting lower jaws !
from hunted and trapped bobcats and river otters I
for a population study. Please contact the depart- :
ment at 1-800-858-1549 to request a sample 1
packet and instructions. Thank you for your 1
contribution to furbearer management. 1

eck confirmation number and the hunt-
er or trapper’s name and phone number.

BUYING and SELLING HIDES

There is no time restriction on the
holding of raw furs of furbearers by a
trapper or hunter after the close of fur-
bearer season. Raw furs may be sold only
to licensed taxidermists, licensed fur
buyers or licensed fur processors.

FREE YOUTH WEEK

Resident and nonresident youth
hunters and trappers ages 15 and young-
er may hunt and trap applicable game
and furbearers, and hunt migratory birds
in season without a hunting or trapping
license for seven consecutive days start-
ing the Saturday after Christmas.

Please refer to the hunter orange
clothing law section (pg. 8) for guidelines.

Youth hunters must comply with
all equipment regulations and bag limits
for furbearers when hunting or trapping.
Hunter education is not required for li-
cense-exempt hunters. Adults accom-
panying youth hunters/trappers dur-
ing the free youth hunting and trapping
week do not need a license if they are
not hunting/trapping.

SMALL GAME HUNTING and TRAPPING

SEASON DATES and RESTRICTIONS

SMALL GAME

Hunting

Trapping

Squirrel

Aug. 19 - Nov. 10 and
Nov. 13, 2023 - Feb. 29, 2024

Nov. 13, 2023 - Feb. 29, 2024

Eastern Zone
Rabbit

Nov. 1-10 and Nov. 13, 2023 - Jan. 31, 2024

Nov. 13, 2023 - Jan. 31, 2024

Western Zone

Nov. 13, 2023 - Feb. 10, 2024

Nov. 13, 2023 - Feb. 10, 2024

Eastern Zone

Nov. 1-10 and Nov. 13, 2023 - Jan. 31, 2024

e Western Zone

Nov. 13, 2023 - Feb. 10, 2024

Grouse*®

Nov. 1-10 and Nov. 13, 2023 - Feb. 29, 2024

No trapping

Falconry

Sept. 1, 2023 - March 30, 2024

Free Youth Hunting & Trapping Week

Dec. 30, 2023 - Jan. 5, 2024

* In Grouse Hunting Zone only. Information about grouse hunting on public areas is available online at fw.y.gov.

SMALL GAME
The following animals are con-
sidered small game: squirrels, rabbits,

northern bobwhite (quail) and grouse.
Only rabbits and squirrels may
be trapped. Quail and grouse may not

be trapped. Hunting bag limits apply.
Trapping equipment and restrictions
are the same as those listed in the fur-


https://fw.ky.gov/Pages/default.aspx
https://fw.ky.gov/Pages/default.aspx
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RABBIT and QUAIL ZONES

Western Zone = shaded counties.
Eastern Zone = all other counties.

Rabbit trapping permitted
only when rabbit hunting
season is open in
each zone.

Henderson

Grouse hunting is also allowed
on Pennyrile State Forest,
Tradewater WMA and Ft.
Knox during the month of
December, except
during quota

deer hunts.

e
e
A e

GROUSE HUNTING ZONE

Shaded counties only.

Q: Do I have to telecheck my
small game?

Kentucky Fish and Wildlife by
filling out the hunter cooperator
surveys for small game. Search

£

1 1
1 ]
1 ]
1 ]
1 ]
1 ]
: 7&: No. However, you can help :
: )
1 ]
1 ]
1 ]
| “hunter cooperator” at fw.ky.gov. |

bearer section.

A trapping license is required for
anyone 12 years of age and older.

Trappers must harvest squirrels and
rabbits upon capture, unless they possess
a captive wildlife permit from Kentucky
Fish and Wildlife. Seasons on WMAs
and other public hunting lands not
managed by Kentucky Fish and Wildlife

may be different from statewide seasons.

Individual area listings are available on-

line at fw.ky.gow.
BAG LIMITS

¢ Squirrel: Daily limit is 6; possession
limit is 12.

 Rabbit: Daily limit is 4; possession
limit is 8.

* Quail: Daily limit is 8; possession limit
is 16.

* Grouse: Daily limit is 4; possession
limit is 8.

FREE YOUTH WEEK

Resident and nonresident youth
hunters and trappers ages 15 and young-
er may hunt and trap small game with-
out a hunting or trapping license for
seven consecutive days starting the Sat-
urday after Christmas.

Hunter orange clothing must be

LEGAL SMALL GAME
HUNTING EQUIPMENT and
METHODS

Hunters may only use the follow-
ing to take small game during the
fall and winter seasons:

* A rimfire gun or rimfire handgun

* .410 gauge handgun

* Muzzle-loading or breech-
loading shotguns no larger than
10-gauge. Breech-loading shot-
guns must be plugged to hold a
maximum of three shells (two in
magazine and one in chamber)

* | ead or non-toxic shot no larger
than No. 2

* Muzzle-loading rifles

e Archery or crossbow equipment

e Pellets fired from .177, .20, .22
or .25 caliber air guns

* Falconry

e Slingshots with manufactured
hunting ammunition

* Dogs may be used to aid in the
hunt

worn by all hunters Dec. 30-31, 2023
since youth hunters are also permitted
to hunt deer with firearms at that time.

Youth hunters must comply with all
equipment regulations and bag limits for
small game when hunting or trapping.
Hunter education is not required for
license-exempt hunters. Adults accom-
panying youth hunters/trappers during
the free youth hunting and trapping
week do not need a license if they are
not hunting/trapping.

FALCONRY SEASON

'The limit for this hunting method
is two (2) of any small game or furbearer
species per falconer per day, except dur-
ing the fall and winter hunting season
when the limits are the same as for
other methods. Falconers must possess
a falconry permit, which costs $75 and
is valid for three years, as well as a valid
Kentucky hunting license, unless license
exempt, and obey all applicable state and
federal laws.


https://fw.ky.gov/Hunt/Pages/Small-Game-Hunter-Cooperator-Program.aspx
https://fw.ky.gov/Pages/default.aspx

SEASON DATES and RESTRICTIONS

Crow Sept. 1 - Nov. 7, 2023 and Jan. 4 - Feb. 29, 2024
Bullfrog Noon May 19 - Midnight Oct. 31, 2023
Groundhog Year-round
Turtles* Year-round, day or night

* Alligator snapping turtles may not be harvested.

CROW SEASON

A hunting license is required unless
the hunter is license exempt. A Migra-
tory Bird/Waterfowl permit or comple-
tion of the HIP survey is not required.

Electronic or mechanical calling
devices may be used during the open
seasons. Shooting hours are 30 minutes
before sunrise until sunset.

There is no daily or possession limit
on crows.

BULLFROG SEASON

'The daily limit (noon to noon) is 15.
'The possession limit is 30. If bullfrogs are
taken by gun or bow and arrow, a hunting
license is required. If taken by pole and
line, a fishing license is required. If frogs
are taken by gig or by hand, either a hunt-
ing or fishing license is valid.

It is illegal to possess a gig on a
stream or lake, or in a boat, from Nov. 1
through Jan. 31.

TURTLES

Snapping turtles (except alligator
snapping turtles) and soft shell turtles
may be taken year-round with no bag
limit but may not be harvested for com-
mercial purposes.

A hunting license is required if tur-
tles are taken by gun or bow and arrow.
Consult the Kentucky Fishing & Boat-
ing Guide for information on other legal
means of harvest.

WILD PIGS
Wild pigs are not considered game
species in Kentucky. They are an exotic,

invasive species that pose serious threats
to wildlife, wildlife habitat, natural ar-
eas, agriculture and Kentucky hunting
traditions. Hunting fails as an eradica-
tion tool for wild pigs due to their high
reproductive rate and intelligence. Dis-
turbances associated with human activ-
ity, especially hunting pressure, cause
wild pigs to leave the area and become
nocturnal, limiting other more effective
eradication methods.

In an effort to stop the spread of
wild pigs, Kentucky Department of Fish
and Wildlife Resources discourages wild
pig hunting and asks the public to report
sightings and damage. The department,
in partnership with USDA Wildlife
Services, offers free professional trap-
ping services to anyone experiencing
damage from wild pigs. Trapping wild
pigs is the most efficient method of
eradication. You can help by reporting
wild pig sightings, damage or the illegal
possession, sale or release of wild pigs to
the department by calling 1-800-858-
1549 or visiting fw.ky.gov/wildpigs.

GROUNDHOGS

Groundhogs may be hunted state-
wide, year-round, with no bag limit.
A hunting license is required unless
the hunter is license exempt. Shooting
hours are 30 minutes before sunrise to
30 minutes after sunset.

BIRDS

* English sparrows and starlings may be
hunted year-round, with no bag limit,
but a hunting license is required, un-
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Anonymous tips about suspected il-
legal activity related to fish, wildlife
or boating can be submitted through
the KFWLaw smartphone app. For
non-smartphones with texting capa-
bility, text the keyword “KFWLAW"
along with your tip to 847411
(tip411).

less license exempt.

Pheasants released during quota hunts
are not open to year-round hunting on
Green River Lake WMA, Yellowbank
WMA and Clay WMA.

All birds of prey and native songbirds
are protected under state and federal
laws and may not be taken.

HOOFED STOCK (OTHER THAN

WHITE-TAILED DEER and ELK)

* Exotic, non-native hoofed stock may
be hunted year-round.

* No license required.

* No bag limit or checking requirement.

* Fallow deer are not legal to hunt on
Land Between The Lakes National

Recreation Area.

MAMMALS and OTHER WILDLIFE

* 'The spotted skunk, a rare species found
in eastern Kentucky, is protected and
may not be taken.

* All federally threatened or endangered
species are protected under state and
federal laws and may not be harvested.

Spotted Skunk - Protected Statewide
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https://fw.ky.gov/InvasiveSpecies/Pages/Wild-Pig-Home.aspx
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PUBLIC LANDS HUNTING
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I' The Wildlife Management Area &

I' Public Lands Search feature on

: Jfaw.ky.gov is a go-to source for
information ahout where to hunt,

g fish, hike and more in Kentucky.
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WILDLIFE MANAGEMENT AREAS

Kentucky Fish and Wildlife owns,
leases or manages more than 85 wildlife
management areas (WMAs) for public
use. On some areas, a user permit is re-
quired. It also has agreements to provide
public access on certain privately owned
lands, known as Hunting Access Areas.
Many public-use areas have special reg-
ulations and hunting season dates that
are different from statewide seasons.
On some public-use areas, a user per-
mit is required. Please refer to specif-
ic area listings for that information. The
rest are open to hunting free of addition-
al charge.

The information here applies to us-
ers of all WMAs owned or managed by
Kentucky Fish and Wildlife. If you in-
tend to hunt (or otherwise visit) public
lands listed under “Wildlife Manage-
ment Areas,” you must comply with the
following guidelines.

1. For game listed in this guide, hunt-
ing seasons on the WMAs listed on
the following pages are open only as
stated.

2. County zone deer bag limits apply to
all WMAs unless otherwise noted un-
der the area listing.

3. Quota deer hunters may take up to
two (2) deer on a quota hunt in Zones
2,3 and 4, only one of which may be
antlered, unless otherwise noted un-
der the area listing. See the deer quo-
ta hunt listings on page 41 for more
details.

4. Squirrel, rabbit, quail, grouse and
furbearer hunting is closed the first
two days of modern gun deer sea-
son on WMAs, if gun deer hunting

OVERVIEW

is permitted.

5. Unless otherwise noted, persons shall
not allow unleashed dogs from March
1 until the third Saturday in August,
except during department-authorized
field trials, or when training a retriever
or other water dog if the activity is au-
thorized by a sign at the body of water.
The dog must remain leashed except
while training, or within 100 feet of
the water, or as stated under the area
listing or posted on the WMA.

6. Quota hunts for pheasant, deer, wa-
terfowl and elk hunts require advance
application. (Refer to “Quota Hunts”
and “Elk Hunting” sections.) Advance
application is not required for other
listed hunts.

7. Camping is permitted only in desig-
nated areas. Check WMA maps on-
line at fw.ky.gov or call the WMA of-
fice for camping availability through
Kentucky Fish and Wildlife or other
campgrounds. Parking must be con-
fined to designated parking areas if
such areas exist. If no parking area is
designated, parking is generally al-
lowed alongside maintained roads in
such a manner that does not block a
road or gate or prevent access to a por-
tion of the area. Unless otherwise au-
thorized by the department, mecha-
nized vehicles (excluding wheelchairs)
are permitted only on maintained
roads open to public use. It is unlawful
to cut trees or fences, dump trash or
litter, or damage any property or hab-
itat in any fashion.

8. Before trapping on a WMA or Out-
door Recreation Area, a Public Area
Trapping Registration Form must
be completed. The form is available
at department offices and online at
fw.ky.gov. Click the “Hunt” tab on
the homepage and choose “Trapping”
from the dropdown menu.

9. Hunters shall not enter or hunt in ar-

eas that have been designated closed
by signs.

During a WMA deer quota hunt,
and the open firearm deer hunts at
Grayson Lake and West Kentucky
WNMASs, only participating hunters
and accompanying non-hunting as-
sistants (limit one per hunter) are
allowed to be on those WMAs, ex-
cept waterfowl hunters in some ar-
eas that may be open, or if a part of
the WMA is otherwise open as noted
in the following area listings. Non-
hunting assistants must check in and
check out with the quota hunter that
they are accompanying and abide by
hunter orange requirements.

10. A person shall not discharge a fire-
arm within 100 yards of a residence
or occupied building located on or
off the area.

11. A person shall not distribute or
place bait, hunt over bait or other-
wise participate in baiting wildlife
ona WMA.

12. A group of ten (10) or more people
who gather for any event or orga-
nized activity on a WMA shall apply
to the department at least 30 days
before the date of the event. Groups
shall apply on a form provided by the
department. The department shall
retain the authority to deny events,
or otherwise restrict, institute addi-
tional requirements for, or direct the
rescheduling of, any event to avoid
user conflicts or for other legitimate
reasons. Permit requests for events
that do not meet WMA user guide-
lines shall be denied, and events may
be canceled in progress if partici-
pants fail to comply with user guide-
lines or create hazards or disruption
for others.

13. Horseback riding is permitted on
some WMAs during certain times
of the year and under certain restric-


https://fw.ky.gov/Pages/default.aspx
https://fw.ky.gov/Pages/default.aspx
https://app.fw.ky.gov/Public_Lands_Search/

tions. Unless hunting, horses shall
only be ridden on designated horse
riding trails or a maintained public
road open to vehicular traffic. Horses
may not be ridden on WMAs dur-
ing firearms seasons for turkey, deer,
bear or elk unless participating or as-
sisting in a legal elk hunt.

14. On all WMAs, Otter Creek Out-
door Recreation Area and Dan-
iel Boone National Forest, a person
shall not use a nail, spike, screw-in
device, wire, or tree climber for at-
taching a tree stand or climbing a
tree. A portable stand or climbing
device that does not injure a tree
may be used. Stands must be marked
with the hunter’s name and address,
placed no more than two (2) weeks
before the opening of the season and
removed within one (1) week fol-
lowing the last day of each hunting
period. A person shall not use an ex-
isting permanent tree stand.

15. Whenever gun deer hunting is al-
lowed on a wildlife management
area, state park or Otter Creek Out-
door Recreation Area, a person who
will be hunting from inside a ground
blind must first attach a hat or vest
made of solid, unbroken hunter or-
ange material to the blind so it is vis-
ible from all sides. Hunter orange
clothing requirements still apply for
anyone inside the blind.

16. Hunters are not required to wear
hunter orange clothing or display
hunter orange on ground blinds
during a firearms season on a state
owned or managed WMA where
firearms hunting for deer, elk or bear
is prohibited.

17. For information about migratory
bird and waterfowl hunting on pub-

lic lands, please visit fw.ky.gov.

MOBILITY-IMPAIRED HUNTER
ACCESS TO WMAs

Kentucky Fish and Wildlife offers
special exceptions to hunting and fish-
ing regulations for persons who are mo-
bility-impaired and want to hunt and
fish on select WMAs. (Eligibility re-
quirements appear in the Quota Hunts
section.) Persons interested in applying
for a mobility-impaired access permit
should contact the department for an
application or print one from the agen-
cy’s website at fw.ky.gov.

Applicants for a mobility-impaired

Hunter orange required!

Hunters and people accompany-

ing them must wear solid, unbro-
ken hunter orange color visible from
all sides on the head, back and chest
when hunting for any species dur-
ing modern gun, muzzleloader and
youth gun deer seasons, or a firearm
elk or firearm bear season. However,
hunter orange is not required when
hunting waterfowl or doves dur-

ing a gun deer, elk or bear season,
or when hunting furbearers at night
during a legal furbearer season.

access permit shall fill out the required

information on the application and ob-

tain the attestation and signature from a

licensed physician describing the mobil-

ity impairment. A mobility-impaired in-
dividual shall have a completed mobili-
ty-impaired access permit application on
his or her person at all times while par-
ticipating in such activities, along with
the appropriate hunting licenses and
permits. Mobility-impaired access areas
have been designated on portions of the
following WMAs: Barren River (Goose

Island Unit), Green River Lake, Griffith

Woods, Kentucky River, Lake Cumber-

land, Mill Creek, Miller Welch-Central

Kentucky, Mullins, Peabody (Sinclair

Unit), Redbird, Taylorsville Lake, West

Kentucky, Yatesville Lake and Yellow-

bank WMAs. The mobility-impaired

access permit allows the following activ-
ities by a mobility-impaired individual:

* Discharge of a firearm or other legal
hunting device from a motor vehicle
when the vehicle is motionless and has
its engine turned off. The motor vehi-
cle shall be used as a place to wait or
watch for game and shall not be used
to chase, pursue, or drive game.

*May operate electric wheelchairs,
ATVs, and other passenger vehicles
on or off gated, ungated or open-gat-
ed roads otherwise closed to vehicular
traffic, but only on designated tracts of
designated WMAs.

*Roads may be accessed March 1
through the third Friday in August.

* Tracts designated as mobility-impaired
access areas shall be posted with signs.

* Vehicular access shall not be permit-
ted on fields, openings, roads, paths, or
trails planted with annual grains or ag-
ricultural crops.

* It shall be permissible to access areas
which are not roads the third Saturday
of August until the end of February.

* ATV users shall adhere to manufactur-
er recommendations including wear-
ing a helmet, wearing safety glasses,
and restricting riding to one (1) per-
son, while using ATVs on WMAs.

A person with a mobility-impaired
access permit may designate one (1)
qualified assistant. The assistant may:

* Track and dispatch a wounded animal,
retrieve an animal, or render other as-
sistance in accordance with all oth-
er Kentucky Fish and Wildlife and
WMA laws and regulations.

A qualified assistant shall not:

* Operate his or her own ATV; or hunt
or shoot from an AT'V.

STATE PARK and OTHER
OPEN DEER HUNTS

Open deer hunts are offered on the
following state parks on the following
dates. Contact the host state park for
complete details, including the number
of available slots, equipment restrictions,
bag limits and check-in and check-out
procedures.

* Yatesville Lake State Park and Law-
rence County Recreation Area (606-
673-1492): Muzzleloader  starting
the second Monday of December for
three consecutive days.

Other open deer hunts

* Jenny Wiley State Resort Park
(1-800-325-0142): Open the first
Saturday of January for two consecu-
tive days, limit two deer, only one of
which may be antlered. Limited to
the first 15 mobility-impaired hunters
who check in at the park the day be-
fore the hunt. Hunters must meet the
mobility-impaired eligibility require-
ments outlined on page 40. (Mobili-
ty-impaired access permit required at
check-in.) Hunters must also check in
and out on hunt days, and must tele-
check deer taken. Hunters may be ac-
companied by another person, but that
person will not be permitted to hunt.

* An open youth hunt is held at Gray-
son Lake WMA on the first Saturday
in November for two consecutive days
and is limited to youths ages 15 and
younger. See page 36 for details.
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https://fw.ky.gov/Pages/default.aspx
https://fw.ky.gov/Pages/default.aspx
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Note: Area listings are numbered or lettered according to how they appear on region pages.

KENTUCKY’S PUBLIC HUNTING AREAS:
CATEGORIES & WMA MANAGEMENT LEVELS

Every public lands property in
Kentucky is unique — varying by loca-
tion, ownership, land and water features,
local wildlife, and recreational opportu-
nities. To help you find the right spot
for your intended outdoor activities —
anywhere, anytime — the information
below explains what to expect based on
different public lands designations.

To ensure the most enjoyable time
afield possible, take some time to re-
search the opportunities, regulations
and boundaries of possible destinations.
Always consult Kentucky’s hunting and
fishing guides because regulations differ
between areas and sometimes change.
Be aware of applicable hunting seasons
or quota (drawing) hunts, which could

|| purcHASE REGION
|| cREEN RIVER REGION
|| BLUEGRASS REGION
|| NORTHEAST REGION
|| souTHEAST REGION

|| DANIEL BOONE NATIONAL FOREST
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H=High Management Level

PURCHASE REGION (pg. 32)

. Ballard WMA - H

Big Rivers WMA & State Forest - H
Boatwright WMA - H

Coil Estate WMA - L

Doug Travis WMA - M

Lake Barkley WMA - L

Livingston County WMA & SNA - M

NOoOU R WN

M=Medium Management Level

impact your plans. If you have additional
questions, call 1-800-858-1549, email
Info.Center@ky.gov, or call your local
public lands office.

Wildlife Management Areas

Wildlife ~ Management  Areas
(WMAs) are properties owned or man-
aged by the Kentucky Department of
Fish and Wildlife Resources for con-
servation and public access. They are
categorized into high, moderate and
low intensity management levels. High
intensity typically includes areas with
offices and active management, such as
dove fields or food plots. Low intensity
areas offer a wilder experience to those

Wayne

8. Ohio River Islands WMA - L
9. Pennyrile State Forest

10. Tradewater WMA - L

11. West Kentucky WMA - M
12. Beechy Creek WMA - L

13. Ferguson Creek WMA - L
14. Jones-Keeney WMA - L

15. Kaler Bottoms WMA - L

Bourbon > Bath R%wan
4&%%fd0
Menifee/ Morgan
y s Y, U
K olfe

Pulaski o 020Laure|
.4
4102 .
553 Whitley
L/ JicCieary -

seeking to it. The new system does not
rate how good an area is for hunting
or wildlife watching; low intensity ar-
eas may offer better hunting due to less
pressure.

HIGH MANAGEMENT LEVEL

These areas are continually man-
aged and typically have onsite staff,
infrastructure, marked access sites and
parking lots. These areas tend to be larg-
er and are either owned or leased long-
term by the department.

Fields may be managed by planting
native grasses, wildflowers, clover or an-
nual grains. Fields may also be managed
through mowing, disking, or prescribed
fire, controlling invasive species, or leas-

Lewis
17 20

>, Fleming o ~_-®.

L=Low Management Level

16. Kentucky Lake WMA - L

17. Obion Creek WMA - L

18. Winford WMA - L

A. Clarks River Nat. Wildlife Refuge
B. Fort Campbell Military Reservation
C. Land Between The Lakes NRA

D. Reelfoot National Wildlife Refuge


mailto:Info.Center%40ky.gov?subject=

ing to local farmers for row crops or hay.
Wetlands may be managed by planting,
disking, mowing or managing water
levels. Forests may be managed by pre-
scribed burns, forest stand improvement,
harvests, tree plantings or the control of
invasive species.

“High” level management WMAs
may have onsite staff and resources and
a direct point of contact for current con-
ditions and management activities. You
are welcome to stop by to talk to the
friendly and informative staff to get in-
formation; but be aware that employees
are often out managing the land and are
not always in the office.

MODERATE MANAGEMENT LEVEL

WMAs that are managed at a
“moderate” level are obviously not as in-
tensively managed, and staff are typically
not on-site. Management is limited to
habitat maintenance through prescribed
fire, mowing, upkeep of access sites and

GREEN RIVER REGION (pg. 34)
Barren River Lake WMA - H
Higginson-Henry WMA - H
Marrowbone State Forest & WMA - M
Nolin River Lake WMA - L

Otter Creek Outdoor Recreation Area
Peabody WMA - H

Sloughs WMA - H

Yellowbank WMA - H

9. Clear Creek WMA - L

10. Gabbard Branch WMA - L

11. Green River State Forest

12. Harris-Dickerson WMA - M

13. L.B. Davison WMA - L

14. Lee K. Nelson WMA - L

15. Rough River Lake WMA - L

A. Fort Knox Military Reservation

O N AW

BLUEGRASS REGION (pg. 35)

1. Curtis Gates Lloyd WMA - M

2. Dr.James R. Rich WMA - M

3. Dr. Norman & Martha Adair WMA - L
4. Griffith Woods WMA - M

5. John A. Kleber WMA - M

6. John C. Williams WMA - L

7. Kentucky River WMA - H

8. Knobs State Forest & WMA - L

9. Miller Welch-Central Ky. WMA - M
10. Mullins WMA - L

11.T. N. Sullivan WMA - M

12. Taylorsville Lake WMA - H

13. Twin Eagle WMA - L

14. Veterans Memorial WMA - M

15. Marion Co. WMA & State Forest - L
16. Rolling Fork WMA - M

17. Stephens Creek WMA - L

A. Bluegrass Army Depot

boundaries and long-term habitat work
such as forest stand improvement or wet-
land development and manipulation. Sev-
eral of the Moderate Level WMAs plant
and prepare fields for dove hunting op-
portunities as well. These areas are owned
or leased by the department and offer
ample acreage for hunting, fishing, hiking
and sightseeing throughout the state.

LOW MANAGEMENT LEVEL

WMAs designated as “low” man-
agement intensity level are typically re-
mote and receive little or no active man-
agement. Practices are limited to general
maintenance and marking boundaries,
though some long-term habitat work
may be ongoing. These areas may be
difficult to access, with terrain more de-
manding for visitors to traverse. How-
ever, these areas can provide excellent
hunting and wildlife viewing opportuni-
ties, sometimes because they may attract
less attention or be less accessible.

NORTHEAST REGION (pg. 36)

. Clay WMA - H

Czar Hunting Access Area

Dewey Lake WMA - M

Fishtrap Lake WMA - L

Fleming WMA - M

Grayson Lake WMA - H
Legacy-LLC Hunting Access Area
Paintsville Lake WMA - M

9. Pike Elkhorn Hunting Access Area
10. Pioneer Weapons WMA - L

11. South Shore WMA - M

12. Yatesville Lake WMA - M

13. RH Group Hunting Access Area

14. Betterment Wildlife Hunting Access
15. Ed Mabry-Laurel Gorge WMA - L
16. Elk Horn Coal Hunting Access Area
17.0ld Trace Creek WMA - L

18. Simon Kenton WMA - L

19. Sunny Brook WMA - L

20. Tygarts State Forest

A. Daniel Boone National Forest

B. Ohio R. Islands Nat. Wildlife Refuge

DN U W N

SOUTHEAST REGION (pg. 38)
1. Asher Hunting Access Area
Beaver Creek WMA - H

Big South Fork NRRA

Cane Creek WMA - M

Cedar Creek Lake WMA - L
Dennis-Gray WMA - M

Dix River WMA - L

Green River Lake WMA - H
9. Hensley-Pine Mountain WMA - L
10. Hidden Valley Training Area
11. Lake Cumberland WMA - M
12. Mill Creek WMA - M

ONo L hWN

Other Public Lands

HUNTER ACCESS AREAS (HAAs)
These areas are accessible through
agreements with landowners to provide
public hunting access. Some HAAs
may only be open to certain activities.
Special regulations may be in place for
hunting, fishing and other recreational
opportunities on particular HAAs.

SHOOTING SPORTS AND DOG
TRIAL AREAS

Three of the WMAs in the mod-
erate management level category are
primarily used for shooting sports, dog
training and field trials: Curtis Gates
Lloyd WMA, Miller Welch-Central
Kentucky WMA and West Kentucky
WMA. Although some hunting is al-
lowed on these areas, activities are strict-
ly managed to minimize conflicts be-
tween hunters, anglers and other WMA
user groups.

13. Mud Camp Creek WMA - L

14. Paul Van Booven WMA - M

15. Pike Elkhorn Hunting Access Area

16. Ping-Sinking Valley WMA - M

17.R. F. Tarter WMA - L

18. Redbird WMA - L

19. Robinson Forest WMA - L

20. Rockcastle River WMA - M

21. RH Group Hunting Access Area

22. Ashland WMA - L

23. Betterment Wildlife Hunting Access

24. Boone Forestlands WMA - M

25. Buck Creek WMA - M

26. Buckhorn Lake WMA - L

27. Burchell-Beech Creek WMA - L

28. Carr Creek Lake WMA - L

29. C.F. Ataya WMA - M

30. Cranks Creek WMA - L

31. Dale Hollow Lake WMA - L

32. Elk Forest WMA - M

33. Elk Horn Coal Hunting Access Area

34. Fortner-Davis WMA - L

35. Hoskins WMA - L

36. Jefferson National Forest

37. Kentenia State Forest

38. Kentucky Ridge Forest WMA/
Kentucky Ridge State Forest - M

39. Martins Fork Lake WMA - L

40. Martins Fork WMA & SNA - L

41. Meadow Creek WMA - L

42. Ross Creek WMA - L

43. Shillalah Creek WMA - L

44, Stone Mountain WMA & SNA - L

45, Wells Hunting Access Area

A. Daniel Boone National Forest

1
v o
r
—
(qp)
r
>
=
-
(V2]
-
=
]
—
=
[P

31



()
=
|
j—
=
=
=
(72
a
=
<
-
(&)
-
-
(a )]
—
(a1

32

PUBLIC HUNTING AREAS QUICK REFERENCE

The charts in this section should be
used as a quick reference only. WIMAs and
other public lands may be open to hunting
and trapping during statewide seasons or

have different dates and regulations, as de-
termined by the managing agency. For all
the details on these public lands visit faw.ky.
gov. Also note that some of these public

lands may have areas that are off-limits to
hunting or trapping, as noted by signs, and
that units within these areas may have dif-
ferent season dates or regulations.

PUBLIC HUNTING AREAS

I Open under statewide regulations

I Closed
Quota hunt
1 # Open with exception(s) _

MAP # and AREA NAME
Ballard WMA* Main Unit

PURCHASE REGION

Deer - Archery/ Crosshow

Deer - Muzzleloader
Deer - Modern Gun
Deer - Youth Gun

(270) 224-2244

Big Rivers WMA & State Forest

(270) 374-3025

Boatwright WMA* Swan Lake Unit

(270) 224-2244

Coil Estate WMA*

(270) 224-2244

Doug Travis WMA*

(270) 488-3233

Lake Barkley WMA* Duck Island Refuge | (270) 753-6913

Livingston County WMA & SNA

(270) 753-6913

Ohio River Islands WMA*
Stewart Island Unit

(270) 753-6913

O 00 Nl H|WIN|H

Pennyrile State Forest

(270) 797-3241

10 | Tradewater WMA

(270) 753-6913

11 | West Kentucky WMA*

(270) 488-3233

Refuge (731-538-2481).

OPEN UNDER STATEWIDE REGULATIONS FOR ALL SPECIES in accordance with the county in which they are located:
12. Beechy Creek WMA (270-753-6913); 13. Ferguson Creek WMA (270-753-6913); 14. Jones-Keeney WMA (270-753-
6913); 15. Kaler Bottoms WMA (270-753-6913); 16. Kentucky Lake WMA (270-753-6913); 17. 0bion Creek WMA (270-210-
9774) and 18. Winford WMA (270-224-2244).
CALL FOR DETAILS: A. Clarks River National Wildlife Refuge (270-527-5770); B. Fort Campbell Military Reservation
(270-798-9824); C. Land Between The Lakes National Recreation Area (270-924-2065); D. Reelfoot National Wildlife

Squirrel
Rabbit
Grouse
Quail
Turkey
Furbearer
Bear

Elk Quota
Other

s M s

El# EXCEPTIONS:

1. Open under statewide archery/cross-
bow seasons through Oct. 14 only.

2. Open Aug. 19 - Nov. 13, 2023.

3. Open during the youth-only gun sea-
son; closed for free youth weekend.

4. Open for October muzzleloader sea-
son only.

5. Any weapon other than a modern gun
that is legal to take deer may be used
during the modern gun season.

6. Open shotgun/muzzleloader deer hunt
from Jan. 13-15, 2024; Limited to
140 hunters; Check in and check out
required.

7. Open only for youth-mentor quota
hunt on “A” tracts. Closed for all oth-
er youth firearm seasons.

8. Tracts 1, 4, 5 and “A” tracts open

Jan. 1-10 except if harvest limits are
reached before Jan. 10; Tracts 2, 3, 6
and 7 open with statewide seasons and
close Dec. 31.

9. During quota hunts, all deer hunt-
ing seasons on this WMA are closed,
except to drawn hunters. Archery/
crosshow quota hunt from the fourth
Monday in October through Nov. 30,
except when closed during the quota
hunt that starts the first Saturday in
November.

OTHER RESTRICTIONS:

* Ballard WMA: The main unit is closed
to unauthorized public access Oct. 15
- March 15; The area west of Hwy
473 within the two-mile driving loop
is closed to all hunting as marked

by signs; The 400-acre tract located
south of Sallie Crice/Terrell Landing
Road is open under statewide regula-
tions for hunting and trapping seasons.

* Boatwright WMA: OImsted, Peal
and all other units open under state-
wide regulations for all hunting and
trapping seasons, except some potr-
tions may be closed to public access as
marked by signs.

* Coil Estate WMA: Eastern por-
tion open under statewide regulations
for all hunting and trapping seasons;
Western portion closed to all hunting
and trapping as marked by signs.

* Doug Travis WMA: Some areas closed
to public access as marked by signs
Nov. 1 - March 15.

* Lake Barkley WMA: North Island


https://app.fw.ky.gov/Public_Lands_Search/
https://app.fw.ky.gov/Public_Lands_Search/

Refuge is closed Nov. 1 - Feb. 15;
Duck Island Refuge is closed Oct. 15

- March 15, with the exception of the
October muzzleloader deer season; All
non-refuge tracts open under statewide
regulations.

* Qhio River Islands WMA: Remain-
der of WMA (Pryor, Rondeau and Sis-

ters islands) open under statewide reg-
ulations for all hunting and trapping
seasons.

* West Kentucky WMA: Check-in re-

quired before entering any area marked
with an “A”; Only shotguns may be used
for small game or furbearer hunting;

Hunters may not use centerfire rifles or

handguns to take deer.

NOTE: Before trapping on a WMA or
Outdoor Recreation Area, a Kentucky
Fish and Wildlife Public Area Trapping
Registration Form must be completed.
See page 28 for details.

REPORT WILD PIG SIGHTINGS, DAMAGE, OR CRIMINAL RELEASE

FW.KY.GOV/WILDPIGS

WILD PIGS POSE SERIOUS THREATS TO NATIVE
WILDLIFE, wildlife habitat, agriculture, and Kentucky
hunting traditions. In an effort to stop the spread of

wild pigs, Kentucky Department of Fish and Wildlife
Resources discourages wild pig hunting and asks the
public to report sightings and damage. Trapping wild pigs
is the most successful method of eradication.

WILD PIG POPULATIONS DID NOT NATURALLY
EXPAND INTO KENTUCKY

Wild pigs are the result of illegal releases for recreational
hunting opportunities.

WILD PIGS NEGATIVELY IMPACT DEER AND
TURKEY HUNTING SEASONS

Wild pigs displace white-tailed deer and turkey, negatively
affecting hunter harvest. Wild pigs are especially fond of
acorns, robbing native wildlife of an important fall food

source. Wild pigs prey on ground-nesting bird eggs.

HUNTING IS NOT AN EFFECTIVE MEANS OF
CONTROL

Hunting pressure scatters wild pigs, making them more
difficult to find and trap. Shooting into a group of pigs
may remove 1 or 2, but it educates the rest of the pigs.

HELP US WIN THE FIGHT by reporting wild pig
sightings, damage, or the illegal possession, sale, or
release of wild pigs to the department by visiting fw.£y.
gov/wildpigs or calling 1-800-858-1549. Free Trapping
Available: KDFWR in partnership with USDA APHIS
Wildlife Services, offers free professional trapping
services to anyone experiencing damage from wild pigs.

KY LAW - It is a violation of law to import, possess, or
release any wild or feral pig, Eurasian or Russian boar,
or any hybrid of these. Accidental escape of livestock is
exempt. It is illegal to hunt wild pigs at night.
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GREEN RIVER REGION

PUBLIC HUNTING AREAS

I Open under statewide regulations

I Closed
Quota hunt 5
B Open with exception(s) :‘

MAP # and AREA NAME
Barren River Lake WMA*

Deer - Archery/ Crosshow
Deer - Muzzleloader

Deer - Modern Gun

Deer - Youth Gun

(270) 646-5167

Higginson-Henry WMA

(270) 389-3580

Marrowbone State Forest & WMA

(270) 646-5167

Nolin River Lake WMA

(270) 646-5167

Otter Creek Outdoor Recreation Area*

(502) 942-9171

Peabody WMA*

(270) 476-1889

Njojun| A IWIN (-

Sloughs WMA - Sauerheber Unit*

(270) 827-2673

8 | Yellowbank WMA

(270) 547-6856

OPEN UNDER STATEWIDE REGULATIONS FOR ALL SPECIES in accordance with the county in which they are located:
9. Clear Creek WMA (270-476-1889); 10. Gabbard Branch WMA (270-476-1889); 11. Green River State Forest (270-797-
3241); 12. Harris-Dickerson WMA (270-476-1889); 13. L.B. Davison WMA (270-476-1889); 14. Lee K. Nelson WMA (270-
389-3580); 15. Rough River Lake WMA (270-646-5167). CALL FOR DETAILS: A. Fort Knox Military Reservation (502-

624-7311 or 502-624-2712).

Furbearer
Elk Quota

_ B

[ EXCEPTIONS:
1. Rabbit and quail hunting seasons

open Nov. 1 - Dec. 31. At Yellowbank
WMA, no small game hunting allowed
on designated pheasant quota hunt
units during pheasant quota hunt
period.

2. On the Peninsula Unit, including Nar-

rows, Goose and Grass islands, hunt-
ers may use a muzzle-loading shotgun
or crossbow during the fall firearm
season and may use a crossbow during
the fall archery season.

3. During quota hunts, all deer hunt-

ing seasons on this WMA are closed,
except to drawn hunters. Archery/
crossbow quota hunt from the fourth
Monday in October through Nov. 30,
except when closed during the quota
hunt that starts the first Saturday in
November.

4. Rabbit and quail hunting seasons open

Nov. 13 - Dec. 31.

5. Wild turkeys may not be har-

vested with a firearm. Archery only:
Sept. 2-30, Jan. 1-15, 2024. Archery
and crossbow: Oct. 1-22, Oct. 28 -
Nov. 3, and Dec. 1-31.

6. Open Dec. 1-31, except during deer

quota hunts.

7. Open under statewide regulations

for 10 consecutive days starting the
second Saturday in November.

8. On the Sinclair Unit, quail hunting

allowed between 7:30 a.m. - 3 p.m. on
Thursdays and Sundays; On the Ken

Unit, quail hunting allowed between
7:30 a.m. - 3 p.m. on Wednesdays and
Saturdays. On either unit, the daily
bag limit for quail is four.

9. Sauerheber Unit closes to public ac-

cess from Nov. 1 through March 15,
as designated by signs, except for
waterfow!| quota hunt permittees.

10. Open for December muzzleloader

season only.

11. Pheasant quota hunts, either sex,

limit two, Dec. 1, 2 and 3; Open Dec.
4 only to drawn pheasant quota hunt-
ers, either sex, limit three; Open Dec.
5-31, either sex, daily limit three.

12. Open only in bear zone.

OTHER RESTRICTIONS:
* Barren River Lake WMA: On the

Peninsula Unit, including Narrows,
Goose and Grass islands, hunters shall
not use a modern firearm to take
game.

Otter Creek Outdoor Recreation
Area: User permit required. A person
shall not enter the area during the
deer quota hunt without a valid quota
hunt confirmation number. All small
game and turkey seasons closed during
the quota deer hunt. Hunters may not
use rifles or ball or slug ammunition
to take furbearers and may not use a
rimfire gun to take small game unless
participating in the deer quota hunt.
Trapping season open Jan. 1 through
the last day in February.

* Peabody WMA: Any person ages
16 and older entering the area must
obtain and carry a Peabody WMA
user permit. Individual permits may
be obtained through any license
vendor. An event permit is available
from Kentucky Fish and Wildlife to
any organization to use the area for
any allowable activity. Permits are
nontransferable. Rabbit and quail
hunters on the Sinclair and Ken units
must check in and check out at a
self-service kiosk and clearly display a
department-provided vehicle hang-
tag in a vehicle. Hang-tags available
in advance through the department’s
website.

* Sloughs WMA: Ash Flats, Grassy
Pond, Powells Lake, Jenny Hole,
Highland Creek, and Cape Hills units
are open for all hunting and trapping
seasons.

NOTE: Before trapping on a WMA or
QOutdoor Recreation Area, a Kentucky
Fish and Wildlife Public Area Trapping
Registration Form must be completed.
See page 28 for details.



PUBLIC HUNTING AREAS

I Open under statewide regulations

I Closed
Quota hunt

El# Open with exception(s) %

BLUEGRASS REGION

Deer - Archery/ Crosshow

Deer - Muzzleloader
Deer - Modern Gun
Deer - Youth Gun

MAP # and AREA NAME PHONE

1 | Curtis Gates Lloyd WMA* (859) 428-2262
2 | Dr. James R. Rich WMA (502) 535-6335
3 | Dr. Norman & Martha Adair WMA (859) 428-2262
4 | Griffith Woods WMA (859) 428-2262
5 | John A. Kleber WMA (502) 535-6335
6 | John C. Williams WMA (502) 477-9024
7 | Kentucky River WMA (502) 535-6335
8 | Knobs State Forest & WMA (502) 477-9024
9 | Miller Welch-Central Kentucky WMA* | (859) 986-4130
10 | Mullins WMA (859) 428-2262
11 | T. N. Sullivan WMA (502) 535-6335
12 | Taylorsville Lake WMA (502) 477-9024
13 | Twin Eagle WMA (502) 535-6335
14 | Veterans Memorial WMA* (859) 428-2262

OPEN UNDER STATEWIDE REGULATIONS FOR ALL SPECIES in accordance with the county in which they are located:
15. Marion County WMA & State Forest (502-477-9024); 16. Rolling Fork WMA (502-477-9024); 17. Stephens Creek
WNMA (859-428-2262). CALL FOR DETAILS: A. Bluegrass Army Depot (859-779-6651).

Squirrel
Rabbit
Grouse
Turkey
Furbearer
Elk Quota

2

[}
=
=
o

Quail
Bear

El# EXCEPTIONS:

1. Open for December muzzleloader
season only.

2. Open Nov. 1 - Dec. 31.

3. Open archery hunt, either sex, Mon-
day through Thursday only, from the
first Saturday in September through
Dec. 17 and daily from Dec. 18
through the third Monday in January;
Open crossbow hunt, either sex, Mon-
day through Thursday only, Sept. 16,
2023 through December 17 and daily
from Dec. 18 through third Monday in
January; Closed during scheduled field
trials as posted on bulletin board at
WMA office.

4. Open for furbearer trapping; Closed
for furbearer hunting.

Public shooting ranges are available on Curtis Gates Lloyd WMA, Higginson-Henry WMA, John A. Kleber WMA
(check fw.ky.gov for temporary closures), Jones-Keeney WMA, Miller Welch-Central Kentucky WMA, Otter Creek
Outdoor Recreation Area, Peabody WMA, Taylorsville Lake WMA and West Kentucky WMA. Users must comply
with all rules posted by sign per each area. Shooting ranges are closed on Mondays and during deer quota hunts at
applicable WMASs. Some ranges can be reserved for special events by contacting the WMA manager 30 days in ad-
vance of the event. Search “Kentucky Shooting Range Map” online at fw.£y.gov to view an interactive database of
shooting ranges known to the department. Public shooting ranges also are available on Daniel Boone National Forest.
Details are available online at www.fs.usda.gov/dbnf by clicking on “Recreation’ and then “Other Activities.”

5. Check-in, check-out required at John
A. Kleber WMA office.

OTHER RESTRICTIONS

* Curtis Gates Lloyd WMA: Unleashed
dogs are prohibited April 1 until the
third Saturday in August, except dur-
ing department-authorized field trials
and the spring squirrel season.

* Miller Welch-Central Kentucky
WMA: Unleashed dogs are prohibited
April 1 until the third Saturday in
August, except during department-
authorized field trials and the spring
squirrel season. At other times of the
year, unleashed dogs are permitted on
Tuesdays, Thursdays, Saturdays and
Sundays.

* Veterans Memorial WMA: Access
within the WMA may be restricted due
to construction.

NOTE: Before trapping on a WMA or
Outdoor Recreation Area, a Kentucky
Fish and Wildlife Public Area Trapping
Registration Form must be completed.
See page 28 for details.

:' See statewide harvest
1 maps, hunting zones

i and more at faw.ky.gov.
i Click the “More” tab
: and choose “Maps,”
iy or scan this code.
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PUBLIC HUNTING AREAS

I Closed
Quota hunt

El# Open with exception(s) _‘

MAP # and AREA NAME
Clay WMA*

NORTHEAST REGION

I Open under statewide regulations

Deer - Archery/ Crosshow
Deer - Muzzleloader

Deer - Modern Gun

Deer - Youth Gun

(859) 289-8564

Czar Hunting Access Area™

(606) 780-0854

Dewey Lake WMA

(606) 207-3385

Fishtrap Lake WMA

(606) 207-3385

Fleming WMA

(859) 289-8564

Grayson Lake WMA*

(606) 776-2620

Legacy-LLC Hunting Access Area

(606) 776-2620

Paintsville Lake WMA

w20 1Y 11

(606) 776-2620

O (OIN |1 BH(WIN|H

Pike Elkhorn Hunting Access Area

(606) 776-2620

10 | Pioneer Weapons WMA

(606) 784-6428 12 12 12

11 | South Shore WMA*

(606) 776-2620 18 13 13

12 | Yatesville Lake WMA

(606) 776-2620 14

13 | RH Group Hunting Access Area*

(606) 776-2620

A | Daniel Boone National Forest

(859) 745-3100

OPEN UNDER STATEWIDE REGULATIONS for all species in accordance with the county in which they are located:

14. Betterment Wildlife Hunting Access Area (606-776-2620); 15. Ed Mabry-Laurel Gorge WMA (606-776-2620);

16. Elk Horn Coal Hunting Access Area* (606-776-2620); 17. 0ld Trace Creek WMA (606) 780-0854; 18. Simon Kenton
WNMA (859-289-8564); 19. Sunny Brook WMA* (606-780-0854); 20. Tygarts State Forest (502-564-4496).

CALL FOR DETAILS: B. Ohio River Islands National Wildlife Refuge (304-375-2923).

Squirrel
Rabbit
Grouse
Quail
Turkey
Furbearer
Bear

Elk Quota
Other

19 17 19

El # EXCEPTIONS

1. Only the Beech Fork Tract is open to
hunting under statewide rules and reg-
ulations. Portions open during elk
quota hunts to permit holders.

2. Archery and crossbow hunting pro-
hibited on main tract during the quota
fox hunting field trials, Sept. 13-16;
Sept. 27-30; Feb. 21-24, 2024.

3. Open Nov. 1 - Dec. 31, except
closed Nov. 4-5 for the deer quota
hunt and in the pheasant quota hunt
units during pheasant quota hunts
Dec. 1-4.

4. Open until 3 p.m. (local time) on
Tuesdays and Saturdays from Nov. 1
- Dec. 31, except closed Nov. 4-5 for
the deer quota hunt and in the pheas-
ant quota hunt units during pheasant
quota hunts Dec. 1-4. Daily bag limit
is four quail and two grouse.

5. Pheasant quota hunts, either sex, lim-
it two, Dec. 1, 2 and 3; Open Dec. 4
only to drawn pheasant quota hunt-
ers, either sex, limit three; Open Dec.
5-31, either sex, daily limit three.

6. The main tract of the management
area is closed to public use Feb. 21-24

(2024) except for registered partic-
ipants in the quota fox hunting field
trials.

7. Open Nov. 1 - Dec. 31.

8. Open Oct. 1 - Dec. 31.

9. Crossbows legal during entire archery
season, except archery and crossbow
hunting are closed during the Novem-
ber open youth hunt.

10. Youth gun seasons open. An open
youth hunt is held on the first Satur-
day in November for two consecutive
days and is limited to youths ages 15
and under. Check in and check out re-
quired, but any deer harvested must
also be telechecked. Limit of two deer,
only one of which may be antlered.
Closed to all other hunting during the
two-day event.

11. Deet, bear, and elk hunting is ar-
chery/crossbow only (firearms pro-
hibited) on three areas near the dam:
1) the area extending eastward from
the drainage of Glade Branch along
the lake to the state park bound-
ary line at Rocky Knob, 2) the two
islands visible from the state park
boat ramp at the end of KY 2275,

and 3) the entire hollow surrounding
the Shoal Branch cove of the lake
west of the dam beginning where the
Paintsville Utilities Water Treatment
Plant building is visible on the lake
edge.

12. Hunters cannot use a modern gun
or in-line muzzleloading gun. Hunters
shall use only open or iron sights on
any weapon.

13. Centerfire rifles and handguns may
not be used to take deer.

14. Open under statewide regulations for
10 consecutive days starting the sec-
ond Saturday in November.

15. Deer, bear, and elk hunting is ar-
chery/crossbow only (firearms prohib-
ited) on two areas near the dam: 1)
on the east side of the dam, the area
extending southward from the dam
to old Shoreline Campground No. 1,
and 2) on the west side of the dam,
the area extending westward from
the dam along Ky 302 to Terry Boat
Ramp.

16. Portions open during quota elk hunts
to persons who possess the appropri-
ate elk hunting permit.



17. Hunters may use a crossbhow during WMA in Fleming and Bath counties baiting, livestock production and the 1
the archery season but shall use only are Zone 3 for bear. use of screw-in steps or tree stands
open or iron sights on any weapon. * Czar Hunting Access Area: Beech that have screws and spikes, which c
18. Open for October muzzleloader sea- Fork Tract: Open to hunting under may injure trees, are not permitted on
son only. statewide and countywide rules and the property. w
19. Hunters shall not use any type of regulations. Bow Tract: Open dur- * RH Group Hunting Access Area:
breech-loading firearm. ing elk quota hunts to those who pos- Commercial guiding, camping, ATV F
20. Open for December muzzleloader sess the appropriate elk hunting per- use, horseback riding, fishing, night H
season only. mit. Closed to all other hunting. Czar hunting, baiting, livestock production
21. Open only in bear zone. Tract and Area 3 Tract: Open during and the use of screw-in steps or tree n
22. Portions open during the archery/ elk quota hunts to those who possess stands that have screws and spikes
crosshow quota elk hunts only to per- the appropriate elk hunting permit. which may injure trees are not permit- r
sons who possess the appropriate elk Quota hunt for rabbit and spring tur- ted on the property. Waiver required
hunting permit. key. Closed to all other hunting. to access property. Go online to faw.&y. >
Applicants must call (606) 395-6825 gow and search under RH Group for
OTHER RESTRICTIONS for further requirements before access- more information. z
* Clay WMA: During the pheasant quo- ing the area or to apply for the quota * Sunny Brook WMA: Area may peri-
ta hunt period, pheasant quota hunt hunts. odically close to public access due to u
units close to small game hunting for * Grayson Lake WMA: Camp Webb is future stream restoration construc-
four consecutive days starting the first closed to all hunting. tion. Closures will be marked through m
Friday in December. Rabbit, quail * South Shore WMA: Closed to all signage.
and grouse hunters must check in and hunting and public access November :
check out at a self-service kiosk and 15 - January 15, except open for wa- NOTE: Before trapping on a WMA or
clearly display a department-provided terfowl and dove hunting when state- QOutdoor Recreation Area, a Kentucky :
vehicle hang-tag in a vehicle. Hang- wide seasons are open. Fish and Wildlife Public Area Trapping
tags available in advance through the * Elk Horn Coal Hunting Access Area:  Registration Form must be completed. z
department’s website. Portions of this Camping, ATV use, horseback riding, See page 28 for details.
|

Kentucky Hunters for the Hungry (KHFH) is a nonprofit,
volunteer organization that encourages hunters to harvest and
donate deer each season for distribution to homeless shelters and
food banks throughout the state.

il

o
i
]/
v
Hunters in Zone 1 counties have a unique opportunity to help.
They may take an unlimited number of antlerless deer so long as

KENTUCKY they have purchased the appropriate additional deer permits.
HUNTERS FOR THE

H u N G RY Donated deer must be properly field dressed, recorded and tel-
echecked. KHFH covers processing fees for donated deer. Hunt-
ers can find approved deer processors
participating in the program and

full instructions online at the KHFH
website.

Targeting Hunger

Kentucky Whitetail Access is a KHFH program that pairs landowners who need
assistance controlling depredating deer with hunters who can help. Visit the KHFH
website for more information about this program and application forms.

Detailed instructions about how to donate your deer and
a list of participating processors are available online at

kyhuntersforthehungry.info
37
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PUBLIC HUNTING AREAS

I Closed
Quota hunt

Il Open with exception(s)

MAP # and AREA NAME
Asher Hunting Access Area

SOUTHEAST REGION

I Open under statewide regulations

Deer - Archery/ Crosshow

Deer - Muzzleloader
Deer - Modern Gun
Deer - Youth Gun

(606) 654-2533

Beaver Creek WMA

(606) 376-8083

Big South Fork NRRA

(606) 376-5073

Cane Creek WMA

(606) 376-8083

Cedar Creek Lake WMA

(270) 465-5039

Dennis-Gray WMA

(270) 465-5039

Dix River WMA

(270) 465-5039

Green River Lake WMA*

(270) 465-5039

O (OIN |1 BH(WIN|H

Hensley-Pine Mountain WMA

(606) 654-2533

10 | Hidden Valley Training Area*

(606) 878-9595

11 | Lake Cumberland WMA

(606) 376-8083

12 | Mill Creek WMA

(606) 878-9595

13 | Mud Camp Creek WMA

(270) 465-5039

14 | Paul Van Booven WMA

(606) 435-6229

15 | Pike Elkhorn Hunting Access Area*

(606) 654-2533

16 | Ping-Sinking Valley WMA

(606) 376-8083

17 | R. F. Tarter WMA

(270) 465-5039

18 | Redbird WMA

(606) 878-9595

19 | Robinson Forest WMA*

(606) 435-6229

20 | Rockcastle River WMA*

(606) 677-1098

21 | RH Group Hunting Access Area*

(606) 677-1098

A | Daniel Boone National Forest

(859) 745-3100

(606-435-6229).

OPEN UNDER STATEWIDE REGULATIONS for all species in accordance with the county in which they are located:

22. Ashland WMA (606-878-9595); 23. Betterment Wildlife Hunting Access Area, Knott & Letcher portions: (606-654-
2533), Leslie & Perry portions: (606-877-8409); 24. Boone Forestlands WMA (606-654-2533); 25. Buck Creek WMA (606-
677-1098); 26. Buckhorn Lake WMA (606-435-6229); 27. Burchell-Beech Creek WMA (606-677-1098); 28. Carr Creek
Lake WMA (606-654-2533); 29. C.F. Ataya WMA (606-654-2533); 30. Cranks Creek WMA (606-654-2533); 31. Dale
Hollow Lake WMA (270-465-5039); 32. Elk Forest WMA (606-654-2533); 33. Elk Horn Coal Hunting Access Area* (606-
654-2533); 34. Fortner-Davis WMA (606-654-2533); 35. Hoskins WA (606-654-2533); 36. Jefferson National Forest
(888-265-0019); 37. Kentenia State Forest (502-564-4496); 38. Kentucky Ridge Forest WMA (606-654-2533)/Kentucky
Ridge State Forest (502-564-4496); 39. Martins Fork Lake WMA (606-654-2533); 40. Martins Fork WMA & State Natural
Area (606-654-2533); 41. Meadow Creek WMA (606-376-8083); 42. Ross Creek WMA (606-677-1098); 43. Shillalah Creek
WMA (606-654-2533); 44. Stone Mountain WMA & State Natural Area (606-654-2533); 45. Wells Hunting Access Area

Squirrel
Rabbit
Grouse
Quail
Turkey
Furbearer
Bear

Elk Quota
Other

El EXCEPTIONS

1. Open Nov. 1 - Dec. 31.

2. Open Oct. 1 - Dec. 31.

3. Open under statewide regulations for
two consecutive days starting the sec-
ond Saturday in November.

4. Open for December muzzleloader sea-
son only.

5. Pheasant quota hunts, either sex, lim-
it two, Nov. 17-19; Open Nov. 20 only
to drawn pheasant quota hunters, ei-
ther sex, limit three; Open Nov. 21 -

Dec. 31, either sex, daily limit three.

6. Furbearer trapping open with permis-
sion; Closed for furbearer hunting.

7. Open from Sept. 1 through the last
day of February.

8. Portions open during quota elk hunts
to persons who possess the appropri-
ate elk hunting permit.

9. Open until 3 p.m. on Tuesdays and
Saturdays from Nov. 1 — Dec. 31, ex-
cept when closed during the deer quo-
ta hunt and opening weekend of mod-

ern gun deer season. Daily bag limit is
four quail and two grouse.

10. Portions open during the archery/
crosshow quota elk hunts only to per-
sons who possess the appropriate elk
hunting permit.

OTHER RESTRICTIONS

* Green River Lake WMA: During the
pheasant quota hunt period, pheas-
ant quota hunt units closed to small
game hunting for four consecutive days



starting the third Friday in November.
A person shall not hunt sandhill cranes
within 100 yards of the normal sum-
mer pool level of 675 feet, east of the
Hwy. 551 Bridge in the following em-
bayments: Green River to the Snake
Creek Boat Ramp; and Casey Creek to
the Hwy. 76 bridge.

* Hidden Valley Training Area: Area
closes periodically for training exercis-
es. Call (606) 878-9595 for more in-
formation about training dates.

* Rohinson Forest WMA: The main
block of this area is closed to all hunt-
ing. The remainder of this WMA is
open under statewide requirements.

* Rockcastle River WMA: Rabbit,
quail and grouse hunters must check
in and check out at a self-service ki-
osk and clearly display a department-

provided vehicle hang-tag in their ve-
hicle. Hang-tags available in advance
through the department’s website.

Elk Horn Coal Hunting Access Area:
Camping, ATV use, horseback rid-

ing, baiting, livestock production and
the use of screw-in steps or tree stands
that have screws and spikes, which
may injure trees, are not permitted on
the property.

RH Group Hunting Access Area:
Commercial guiding, camping, ATV
use, horseback riding, fishing, night
hunting, baiting, livestock production
and the use of screw-in steps or tree
stands that have screws and spikes
which may injure trees are not per-
mitted on the property. Waiver re-
quired to access property. Go online
to fw.ky.gov and search under RH

*

*

Group for more information.

* Pike Elkhorn Hunting Access Area:
Access to the Letcher County property
via Wright’s Fork Road off US 23 is
not permitted.

NOTE: Before trapping on a WMA or
Outdoor Recreation Area, a Kentucky
Fish and Wildlife Public Area Trapping
Registration Form must be completed.
See page 28 for details.

INTRODUCTION

Kentucky Fish and Wildlife con-
ducts quota hunts for deer, pheasant and
migratory birds (waterfowl and mourn-
ing doves). Quota hunts control the
number of hunters in an area to provide
quality hunting opportunities and regu-
late harvests at specific areas.

Some hunts are mentored hunts for
youth and accompanying adults. Some
hunts are open to mobility-impaired
hunters only.

Any resident or nonresident may
apply for quota hunts. Only the person(s)
successfully drawn for quota hunts may
hunt. Substitutions are not allowed.

Applicants drawn for quota hunts
must purchase applicable licenses and
permits to legally hunt during the quo-
ta hunts.

HOW TO APPLY

Quota hunt applications are avail-
able online only at fw.ky.gov.

Apply for dove quota hunts Aug.
7-18. Apply for deer, pheasant and wa-
terfowl quota hunts Sept. 1-30. Hunters
may apply for multiple quota hunts for

OVERVIEW

I Complete details for all quota

1 hunts are available online. Click
I the “Hunt” tab on fuw.ky.gov,

1 choose “Quota Hunts” from the
| dropdown menu and scroll to the
| appropriate hunt.

\ ’

-—————I

different species at the same time.

'The non-refundable application fee
is $3 per hunter for each hunt.

To see if you were drawn for a hunt,
go online to fw.ky.gov and check under
the “MyProfile” section. You may also
call Kentucky Fish and Wildlife week-
days 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. (Eastern time)
at 1-800-858-1549.

QUOTA DEER HUNTS

Deer quota hunts are held on 16
WMAs, five state parks (Dale Hol-
low Lake, Greenbo Lake, Green River
Lake, Kenlake, Kincaid Lake), and Ot-
ter Creek Outdoor Recreation Area.
Additionally there are quota deer hunts
for mobility-impaired hunters on Green
River Lake WMA, Taylorsville Lake
WMA and Zilpo-Twin Knobs Camp-

Gollow the rudes!

Hunters who do not comply with
quota hunt requirements are ineli-
gible to apply for any quota hunt the
following year (including deer, pheas-
ant and waterfowl), and will lose any
accumulated preference points.

grounds (on Cave Run Lake).

If applying for a deer quota hunt
as a group, each applicant’s preference
points will be used to calculate an aver-
age point total for the group. A group
with a higher preference point average
will be randomly selected before a group
with a lower preference point average.

A maximum of 10 percent nonresi-
dents can be drawn in each deer quota
hunt pool.

Drawn quota hunters may bring one
non-hunting person along on their hunt.
The non-hunting person is not required
to have applied for the quota hunt but
must check in and check out with the
drawn quota hunter. Participants must
abide by hunter orange requirements.
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Ground blinds used during gun
quota hunts for deer must have a hat
or vest made of solid, unbroken hunter
orange material attached to the blind so
that it is visible from all sides. Hunter
orange clothing requirements still apply
for any persons inside the blind.

PHEASANT QUOTA HUNTS
Pheasant quota hunts are held on
Yellowbank WMA, Green River Lake
WMA and Clay WMA. See the “Pub-
lic Hunting Areas Quick Reference”
charts for dates. All drawn pheasant
hunters must buy (regardless of at-
tendance) and carry while hunting a
pheasant quota hunt permit, which is
$25 and may be purchased online or

from license vendors anytime before
the hunt. Permits are not transferrable.

DOVE QUOTA HUNTS

Youth hunters and an accompany-
ing adult may participate in quota men-
tored dove hunts on a limited number of
public fields. Apply online at faw.ky.gov
from Aug. 7-18.

Locations of mentored hunts will
be published in the Dove and Early Wa-
terfowl Guide, available at fw.£y.gov in
early August. The one-day quota men-
tored hunts are held in September.

Kentucky will offer quota dove
hunts Sept. 1 and Sept. 9 at Big Riv-
ers WMA and Kentucky River WMA.
Four hunts total. Any legal hunter

WATERFOWL QUOTA

WATERFOWL/MIGRATORY BIRD
QUOTA HUNTS

The Kentucky Department of
Fish and Wildlife Resources is migrat-
ing much of its waterfowl and migra-
tory bird hunting information to its
website. Find information not covered
in this printed guide online at faw.ky.
£ov, including a form downloadable to
smartphones. This page covers basic in-
formation.

Season-long blind drawings are
available at Barkley Lake, Barren River
Lake, Doug Travis and Green River
Lake. Drawings are typically held from
August through October. These are sep-
arate from general quota hunt drawings
held in September. Kentucky Fish and
Wildlife announces dates and locations
for these waterfowl blind drawings in
August. Check online at fw.ky.gov for

more information.

PUBLIC LAND HUNTING

Ballard WMA (Ballard County)
Hunters are not required to hunt

from blinds maintained by Kentucky

Fish and Wildlife. Hunters will be

drawn for one of 14 hunting units. The

party who draws that unit can hunt any-

where within the unit.

* Hunts available through quota draw

for individual dates only.

* Apply for quota hunts Sept. 1-30 on-
line at fw.ky.gov.

Sloughs WMA - Sauerheber Unit

(Union and Henderson counties)

Successfully drawn hunters will
be assigned one of 12 hunting units.

The hunter who draws that unit can

hunt anywhere within the unit, except

in specified units where you must hunt
from a blind.

* Hunts available through quota draw
for individual dates only.

* Apply for quota hunts Sept. 1-30 on-
line at fw.ky.gov.

* Hunters must check-in the Sunday
prior to the hunt.

Sloughs WMA - Jenny Hole Unit

(Henderson County)

Unit is a quota hunt-only area.

* Hunting spots (10) assigned by week-
ly drawings held Monday evenings
at Sloughs WMA office. Only one
member of a hunting party needs to
be present at the drawing. Two spots
available through quota draw for indi-
vidual dates only.

* Apply for quota hunts Sept. 1-30 on-
line at fw.ky.gov.

* Access is limited to drawn hunters only,
and only on quota hunt days, with no
access after 2 p.m. (local time).

may apply online from Aug. 7-18 at
Sfw.ky.gov.

MOBILITY-IMPAIRED
QUOTA HUNTS

Persons with severe mobility re-
strictions may apply for a mobility-im-
paired quota hunt. At check in, drawn
hunters must show a WMA Mobility-
Impaired Access Permit, available in ad-
vance of the hunt date from Kentucky
Fish and Wildlife. Criteria is available
online at _fw.ky.gov by searching under
the keywords, “mobility access permit,”
or by calling Kentucky Fish and Wild-
life at 800-858-1549.

HUNTS

MENTOR/MOBILITY-IMPAIRED

HATCHERY HUNTS

Minor Clark and Pfeiffer Fish Hatch-

eries (Rowan and Franklin counties)

* Open to mobility-impaired hunters
with access permit, and youths under
the age of 16 accompanied by an adult
mentor. A mentor may hunt.

* Hunters must apply online between
Nov. 1-15.

* Hunt dates available Jan. 6-7, 13-14,
20-21,27-28 (2024).

* Mentor/youth hunt groups limited to
four hunters, with no more than two
hunting adults.

Doug Travis WMA Mobility-

impaired Hunt (Carlisle and Hickman

counties)

* Two blinds available.

* Applications accepted by mail,

Sept. 1-30.

SANDHILL CRANES

* Apply in September at fw.ky.gov for
the Sandhill Crane permit drawing.

* Hunters may be drawn for up to three
permits a season.

* Portions of Green River Lake and Bar-
ren River Lake are refugee areas and
closed to crane hunting.

* Hunters must pass a migratory bird
identification test before receiving
their sandhill crane permit.
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2023-24 DEER QUOTA HUNT CHOICES o
Min. # pref. c
pts.of 2022
WMA - Outdoor Recreation Area choices Dates gl participants _I-Iunt SIS (e e q
slots Non either sex deer unless otherwise noted)
All >
Res.
Hunters awarded one preference point for each
1 | Ballard WMA Nov. 4-5 | 150 | 2.2 | 4 | female deer harvested, up to four. Scouting
permitted through Oct. 14. :
2 | Beaver Creek WMA Nov. 4-5 | 330 | O 0 | Antlered deer only. :
Archery and crossbow only. Closed during the
L Oct. 23- two-day quota hunt that starts the first Satur- z
3 | Big Rivers WMA & State Forest #1 Nov. 30 130 ! 4 day in November. Department issued hang tags
required. Must telecheck harvested deer. q
4 | Big Rivers WMA & State Forest #2 Nov. 4-5 | 100 1 2.6
Limit four, only one of which may be antlered, dur- m
5 | Clay WMA Nov. 4-5 | 225 1 1 | ing quota hunt. Hunters awarded one preference
point for each female deer harvested, up to four.
Dewey Lake WMA Nov. 4-5 | 150 0 0 | Limit one during quota hunt.
Fishtrap Lake WMA Nov. 18-19| 200 0 0 Limit one during quota hunt.

Green River Lake & Dennis-Gray WMAs| Nov. 4-5 | 400 | 0.2 | 0.5
Green River Lake & Dennis-Gray WMAs

9 Mobility-Impaired* Nov. 4-5 15 0 0 | Open only to mobility-impaired persons.
Archery and crossbow only. Closed during the

10 | Higgnson - ey Wit #1 L2 | oo | | | o s e s st
required. Must telecheck harvested deer.

11 | Higginson - Henry WMA #2 Nov. 4-5 45 1 2

12 | Kentucky River WMA Nov. 4-5 65 | 0.5 1

13 | Kleber and Rich WMAs #1 Nov. 4-5 | 200 | 0.2 | 0.25

14 | Kleber and Rich WMAs #2 Dec.2-3 | 200 | O 0

15 | Otter Creek Outdoor Recreation Area Dec. 9-10 | 30 0 | 0.7 | User permit required.

16 | Paintsville Lake WMA Nov. 4-5 | 200 | O

17 | Pennyrile State Forest/Tradewater WMA | Nov. 4-5 | 300 0

18 | Taylorsville Lake WMA #1 Nov. 4-5 | 268 | 0.7 | 0.75| Hunters awarded one preference point for each

female deer harvested, up to four.

Open only to mobility-impaired persons. Hunters
Nov. 4-5 7 0 0 | awarded one preference point for each female
deer harvested, up to four.

Hunters awarded one preference point for each
female deer harvested, up to four.

Taylorsville Lake WMA

19 Mobility-Impaired* #1

20 | Taylorsville Lake WMA #2 Dec.2-3 | 268 | 0 0

Taylorsville Lake WMA Open only to mobility-impaired persons. Hunters

21 Mobility-Impaired* #2 Dec. 2-3 7 0 0 | awarded one preference point for each female
deer harvested, up to four.

22 | Veterans Memorial WMA #1 Nov. 4-5 50 1 1
Antlerless deer only. Hunters awarded one

23 | Veterans Memorial WMA #2 Dec. 2-3 | 30 0 0 | preference point for each female deer harvested,
up to four.

24 | West Kentucky WMA Nov. 18-21| 60 0 0 | Shotgun and muzzleloader only.

— CHART CONTINUES ON NEXT PAGE -

*0Only hunters who are mobility-impaired as described on page 29 can apply and be drawn for this hunt.
Antlered deer taken during quota hunts count against the statewide limit of one antlered deer per hunter, per season.
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- DEER QUOTA HUNT CHOICES 2023-24, CONTINUED -

Min. # pref.
pts.of 2022
WMA - Qutdoor Recreation Area choices Dates o participants .H""t Remarks (Quota hunt? are for
slots Non either sex deer unless otherwise noted)
All
Res.

Shotgun only, youth mentor hunt on "A" tracts.
Only youth hunters apply. No more than two youth
hunters may accompany an adult mentor. No
more than one adult can mentor a youth hunter.
An adult mentor may take a deer during the hunt.

25 | West Kentucky WMA youth mentor Nov. 18-21| 4 0 0

Archery and crossbow only. Must telecheck
harvested deer.

27 | Dale Hollow Lake State Resort Park #2| Dec. 9-10 | 40 0 0 | Youth only. Must telecheck harvested deer.
28 | Dale Hollow Lake State Resort Park #3| Jan. 6-7 50 | 0.2 | 0.2 | Must telecheck harvested deer.

Archery and crossbow only. Must telecheck
harvested deer.

Archery and crossbow only. Must telecheck
harvested deer.

26 | Dale Hollow Lake State Resort Park #1| Nov. 6-10 | 60 0 0

29 | Greenbo Lake State Resort Park #1 Nov. 3-5 40 0 0
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30 | Greenbo Lake State Resort Park #2 Nov. 10-12| 40 0 0

31 | Greenbo Lake State Resort Park #3 Must telecheck harvested deer.

Archery and crossbow only. No check in or out.
Must telecheck harvested deer.

Archery and crossbow only. No check in or out.
Must telecheck harvested deer.

Archery and crossbow only. Must telecheck
harvested deer.

Archery and crossbow only. Must telecheck
harvested deer.

36 | Kincaid Lake State Park #1 Dec. 7-10 | 10 | 1.6 | 1.6 | Must telecheck harvested deer.
37 | Kincaid Lake State Park #2 Dec. 14-17| 10
38 | Twin Knobs Mobility-Impaired* Dec. 9 12

Jan. 9-10 | 20 0 0

32 | Green River Lake State Park #1 Dec. 14-17| 55 | 0.8 | 0.8

33 | Green River Lake State Park #2 Dec. 21-24| 55 0 0

34 | Kenlake State Resort Park #1 Nov. 9-12 | 20 1 1

35 | Kenlake State Resort Park #2 Jan. 6-7 20 | 0.7 | 0.7

Must telecheck harvested deer.

Open only to mobility-impaired persons.

WHITE-TAILED DEER
Kentucky Fish and Wildlife collects heads from hunter-harvested deer for Chronic
Wasting Disease (CWD) testing. CWD has not been detected in Kentucky. However,
adequate testing is essential for early detection and limiting the spread of this always
fatal disease of deer. Hunters should cut the head of a harvested buck or doe off a
couple inches below the base of the skull and freeze.

Submitting deer samples

Kentucky Fish & Wildlife has several voluntary sample collection sites hunters can

use to donate deer heads for testing. To find the site nearest you, go online to
fw.ky.gov/cwd for maps and collection times. You may also contact a biologist using
this online site to arrange a sample submittal.

RABBITS

Report the location of any site with multiple dead rabbits to a local biologist or by
calling 1-800-858-1549 or emailing Info.Center@ky.gov. The department is monitoring
for Rabbit Hemorrhagic Disease, which has been found in domestic rabbits in Kentucky
and the Southeastern United States, but not in wild rabbits in Kentucky. Humans are not
at risk for this disease. However, people should not handle rabbit carcasses which are
not hunter-harvested, as other diseases transmissible to humans may be present.

The Kentucky Department of Fish

and Wildlife Resources collects tissues
from affected animals to assist its
wildlife disease monitoring program.
'This allows the department to better
manage potential disease outbreaks.
Your assistance could include reporting
deceased wild animals or freezing a

TAKE PRECAUTIONS
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portion of a carcass until it can be picked up. To find
out more or to locate your local biologist, go online to

fw.ky.gov/disease or call 1-800-858-1549

Wear gloves, keep your knife clean and wash your hands when processing wild game. If

you harvest an animal and find something abnormal in the body or meat and you have
concerns, take pictures and freeze a sample. Then contact a local biologist for guidance.
Finally, don't eat an animal that appeared sick before its harvest.
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