Archery season for deer and fall turkey begins September 6.  Read the 2014-15 Kentucky Hunting and Trapping Guide before hunting.​

The hunting season for dove and some other migratory birds began September 1.  Read the 2014-15 Dove Hunting Guide before hunting.​

 Commercial Licenses

All Commercial Licenses are sold and issued through the Kentucky Department of Fish and Wildlife Frankfort Office.  Print and fill out the appropriate form below.  Please allow 2-3 weeks for processing. Call 1-800-858-1549 for more information.

Commercial License Application- Mail the completed application and fee to:

Kentucky Department of Fish and Wildlife
Division of Administrative Services
#1 Sportsman's Lane
Frankfort, KY 40601

Commercial Guide License Application- Mail the completed application and fee to:

Kentucky Department of Fish and Wildlife
Law Enforcement Division
Attn: Law Enforcement Director
#1 Sportsman's Lane
Frankfort, KY 40601

Commercial Guide License requirements:

Require documentation of Hunter Education Certification for all hunting guides. KDFWR will allow the Hunter Education Exemption the first year. This exemption can be accessed on the website for a cost of $5.00. This will allow the guide or helper a full year to obtain the Hunter Education class.

Require documentation of Boater Education Certification for all guides utilizing a boat. As with Hunter Education, guides who have not yet completed the course may go tohttp://www.boat-ed.com/ky/index.htm and complete the “Safe Boating Certification” online course for a cost of $24.50. (This fee does not go to KDFWR)

Require documentation of a criminal records check through Kentucky State Police (KSP). To obtain a Background Check Release Authorization Form, please contact the KSP Name Search Section at 502-227-8700, Monday through Friday from 8:00 A.M. to 4:30 P.M. E.S.T. There is a $20 fee charged for each background check. The completed authorization form and accompanying fee must be submitted in person or by mail. Please advise the KSP that the background check is for a Kentucky Department of Fish and Wildlife Resources Commercial Guide’s License.

Require CPR and First Aid certifications signed affidavit (All applicants) from two (2) separate character references documenting the applicants moral character, physical condition, and the applicants experience in the field which they are guiding. Exception – A guide who has possessed a guide license for three (3) consecutive years shall not be required to submit the two (2) affidavits.

A commercial guide applicant who possesses a valid United States Coast Guard Captain’s License (“six pack”) and will guide on a United States Coast Guard regulated waterway may submit a copy of this license in lieu of the boater education course, CPR and First Aid certification.

A commercial guide may now utilize helpers provided they are under the direct supervision of the commercial guide. A fishing guide helper shall have in possession all necessary fishing licenses and permits and be accompanied in the boat by a commercial guide. A hunting guide helper shall have in possession all necessary hunting licenses and permits and hunter education card or a valid hunter education exemption permit. If guiding by boat the helper must have a valid boater education card.

If you wish to renew your license, please fill out the application; attach documentation regarding certifications, State Police background check and application fee and mail to Carrie Chappell, #1 Sportsman’s Lane, and Frankfort, KY 40601.