Frequently Asked Questions
Can my child operate a personal watercraft or motorboat?
A person must be 12 years or older to operate a motorboat (including a
personal watercraft) 10 horse power or over on Kentucky public waters. A person
12-17 years old shall possess a Kentucky Safe Boating Certification Card or a
certification showing successful completion of a NASBLA approved boater
Where can I find Boater Education Classes?
http://fw.ky.gov/app1/calendar.aspx?Category=9&Month=* to search by county
to find a class in your area.
What kind of equipment do I need for my boat?
Go to pages 41-43 of the 2012-13
Fishing and Boating Guide
Can I have alcohol on the boat?
- It is against the law to operate a boat or vessel
including personal watercraft, manipulate water skis, surfboard or other
similar device while intoxicated or under the influence of any other
substance that impairs one’s driving ability.
- For passengers and operators, Kentucky law
specifically prohibits the drinking of alcoholic beverages in public places
(this excludes establishments licensed to sell such beverages) and the
waterways of this state are considered public places.
Do I need to register my canoe or kayak or sailboat?
Only if it is mechanically powered. ALL mechanically powered vessels
used primarily in this state must have a Kentucky registration.
Where can I go boating in Kentucky?
a place to fish or boat