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NEW THIS YEAR

The items highlighted in bright blue
throughout this guide are a quick overview
of the changes to this year’s regulations.

* Reciprocal fishing agreements between
Kentucky and its bordering states have
expired. Until further notice, anglers
fishing bordering waters must hold a
valid fishing license and follow the reg-
ulations of the state in which they are
fishing. Efforts to renew these agree-
ments will take time, as they require
KDFWR Commission approval and
legislative review. Visit the Kentucky
Fish and Wildlife website at fw.ky.gov
for the latest information.

Grayson Lake, Largemouth and
Smallmouth Bass: There is now a 12- to
15-inch protective slot limit. All large-
mouth and smallmouth bass caught

between 12 and 15 inches in length must
be immediately released.

* Channel Catfish: The 12-inch minimum

size limit is removed from over 100 lakes.

Sport fishing trotlines must now be

labeled on both ends with the user's

customer identification number pro-
vided on fishing licenses.

* The possession limit for shovelnose
sturgeon is now two times the daily
limit for anglers using all non-tradi-
tional fishing methods.

* The possession limit for sportfish for

anglers using trotlines, set lines (limb

lines) or jugs is two times the daily
limit for that particular species.

Hand grabbing is not allowed on lakes

less than 500 acres, except for the lakes

on Ballard, Peal and Swan Lake Wild-
life Management Areas.
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ABOUT THIS GUIDE
This is a SUMMARY of the laws regarding fishing and boating.

This guide is intended solely for informational use. It is not a LIc ENSES & PERMITS
reprint of any referenced statute or regulation in its entirety and
should not be used as such. Questions about the information con-
tained in this guide should be directed to the Kentucky Department FISHING REGULATIONS
of Fish and Wildlife Resources BEFORE engaging in the activities
referenced. Actual wording of any Kentucky Revised Statute (KRS)
or Kentucky Administrative Regulation (KAR) can be viewed at
legislature.ky.gov.

GENERAL INFORMATION

OTHER GUIDES AVAILABLE

Kentucky Fish and Wildlife also produces regulation guides for
spring and fall hunting and trapping. Call 1-800-858-1549 week-
days, look for a copy of these regulation guides where hunting

licenses are sold, or log on to fw.4y.gov. 27 TROPHY FISH
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m LICENSE / PERMIT Resident fee Nonresident fee
I Annual Fishing $23 $55
Joint Married Couple Annual Fishing $42 Not available
] 1-Day Fishing $7 $15
3-Year Fishing (available online at fw.£y.gov only) $55 Not available
E Nonresident 7-Day Fishing Not available $35
ﬂ Trout Permit $10
m 28 Annual Hunting $27 $160
=) | 1-Day Hunting (not valid for deer, elk, turkey or bear) $7 $25
u | 7-Day Hunting (not valid for deer, elk, turkey or bear) Not available $65
m Annual Youth Hunting (ages 12-15 only) $6 $10
Shooting Area License (available online at fw.£y.gov only) $5
Annual Trapping $20 $130
% Annual Landowner/Tenant Trapping $10 Not available
Annual Youth Trapping (ages 12-15) $5 Not available
Annual Combination Hunting/Fishing License $42 Not available
m Sportsman’s License* (Includes combination hunting/fishing license, statewide deer
permit, spring and fall turkey permits, Kentucky Migratory Bird/Waterfowl Permit and $95 Not available
u B trout permit.)
g Senior/Disabled Sportsman’s License* (Includes same licenses and permits as
w = | standard sportsman’s license. For residents age 65 or older, OR with disability license $12 Not available
8 authorization.)
Z Senior Lifetime Sportsman’s License* (Must maintain Kentucky residency; includes .
same licenses and permits as standard sportsman’s license. For residents age 65 or older.) $180 Not available
u Youth (age§ 12-15) Sportsman’s I‘.icense* (Includes hunting/ﬁshing license, statewigle deer $30 Not available
permit, spring and fall turkey permits and Kentucky Migratory Bird/Waterfowl Permit.)
U -7 | Statewide Deer Permit (four deer) $35 $235
— | Youth (ages 12-15) Deer Permit (four deer) $10 $15
= | Additional Deer Permit (two deer) $15
4 Spring Turkey Permit (statewide) (two turkeys) $30 $110
Youth (ages 12-15) Turkey Permit (one turkey, spring or fall) $10 $15
] Fall Turkey Permit (statewide)(two turkeys) $30 $110
[ Kentucky Migratory Bird/Waterfowl Permit $15
C-1| Federal Duck Stamp (available at post offices and online at www.duckstamp.com) $25
Pheasant Quota Hunt Permit (if drawn) $25
Sandhill Crane Permit (quota hunt, apply in Sept. at fw.£y.gov) $3 | $3
Elk Hunt Drawing Application (deadline April 30) $10
Youth Elk Drawing Application (ages 15 and under) $10
« Quota Bull Elk Firearm Permit (if drawn) $100 $550
d Quota Cow Elk Firearm Permit (if drawn) $60 $400
Quota (either sex) Archery/Crosshow Permit (if drawn) $100 $550
Quota Youth (ages 12-15) Elk Permit (if drawn; youth drawn for other permits pay full cost) $30 $200
Qut-of-Zone Elk Permit $30 $400
Bear Permit $30 $250
2| Youth Bear Permit (ages 12-15) $10 $100
ﬁ Bear Chase Permit $30 $50
=" Youth Bear Chase Permit (ages 12-15) $10 $15
Combination Bear Permit (includes Bear Permit and Bear Chase Permit) $50 Not available
Ballard WMA 1-Day Waterfowl Permit $15
Peahody WMA User Permit $15
7,0 | Land Between The Lakes (LBL) Hunter Use Permit $25
ﬁ Land Between The Lakes (LBL) Hunt/Backcountry Camp $50
E Otter Creek ORA Admission Fees (per person) Daily: $3, annual: $30,
(available online at fw.ky.gov) children under 12: free.
O.tter C!‘eek ORA Special Activity.Fees (per person, for use of horse trails, mountain Daily: $7, annual: $70
bike trails and shooting range) (available online at fw.y.gov) !
ﬁ Bohcat Permit (required for hunters) Free
|:l_: Terqporary Hunter Education Exemption Permit (Hunter Apprentice Opportunity; Free
(=) | available online at fw.ky.gov only)

*Peabody, LBL and Otter Creek permits, elk drawing application, elk quota hunt permit, out-of-zone elk permit, bear permit, federal duck stamp
and trapping license not included. An additional deer permit is not included with a Sportsman’s License.

Kentucky’s license year begins March 1 and continues through the last day of February. New licenses are required annually, except for the 3-year
fishing license. A 1-day or 7-day hunting or fishing license is valid only for the period shown on license. Resident and nonresident youths under
2 the age of 12 are not required to purchase licenses or permits (except the elk hunt drawing application).
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LICENSES & PERMITS

WHO NEEDS A LICENSE?
(KRS 150.010, 150.170)

All persons must fill out and carry
the proper license and permit to fish
any Kentucky waters except the follow-
ing (for permit requirements see “Trout
Permit” on this page):

* The bona fide resident owners of
farmlands, their spouses and depen-
dent children may fish on their farm-
lands without a license. Tenants, their
spouses and dependent children may
fish without a license on farmlands
where they live and work.

Resident servicemen on furlough for
more than three days may fish state-
wide without a license, but must carry
proper identification and papers show-
ing furlough status.

Residents and nonresidents ages 15
and younger.

Persons fishing on the first Saturday
and Sunday in June (June 7-8, 2025)
during Free Fishing Days are not re-
quired to have a license or permit. All
other fishing regulations still apply.
Persons fishing within the boundar-
ies of Mammoth Cave National
Park.

A resident is anyone who has
established permanent and legal
residence in Kentucky and resided
here at least 30 days immediately

g. hats
Annual license/permit authorization
numbers are valid from the date of
purchase through the last day in
February. New licenses are required
annually March 1. A temporary
fishing license is valid for the period
shown on the license. KRS 150.175

prior to applying for a license. Full-time
students enrolled in a Kentucky educa-
tional institution for at least a six-month
term and service personnel on perma-
nent assignment in Kentucky are also
classified as residents.

All others are considered non-resi-
dents for licensing purposes.

TROUT PERMIT (301 KAR 1:201)
Unless license exempt, anglers
who intend to keep trout must have
a trout permit ($10). A trout permit
is included with the resident senior/
disabled sportsman’s license and resident
sportsman’s license. All licensed anglers

Lose youk license ot permit?
Reprint your licenses or permits free any
time in “My Profile” at fw.ky.gov.

fishing the portion of the Cumberland
River from Wolf Creek Dam to the
Tennessee state line, its tributaries up to
the first riffle and all of Hatchery Creek
are required to possess a trout permit.
(See the Trout section in this guide for
details and for a complete list of waters
where trout are present.)

RESIDENT SPORTSMAN’S
LICENSE (SAVE $67')

Available to Kentucky residents
only, the Sportsmans License includes
a combination hunting and fishing li-
cense, spring turkey permit, fall turkey
permit, statewide deer permit, state wa-
terfowl permit (which also covers dove
and other migratory bird hunting) and
trout permit. Peabody and LBL permits,
trapping license, an elk drawing applica-
tion, elk quota hunt permit (if drawn),
out-of-zone elk permit, bear permit and
bonus deer permits must be purchased
separately. A federal duck stamp (avail-
able at post offices) is required for water-
towl hunting.

PAY LAKES (KRS 150.660)

A person fishing in a pay lake li-
censed by the Kentucky Department of
Fish and Wildlife Resources needs ei-
ther a Kentucky fishing license or a free
permit issued by the operator.

HOW TO BUY LICENSES and PERMITS

When buying a license or permit
the angler’s date of birth and Social Se-
curity number must be provided.

If you have licensing questions, call
Kentucky Fish and Wildlife at 1-800-
858-1549, weekdays from 8 a.m. to 4:30
p-m. (Eastern time).

ONLINE

All Kentucky hunting and fishing
licenses and permits can be purchased
through the secured Kentucky Fish and
Wildlife website at faw.ky.gov.

Anglers purchasing licenses or per-
mits online must pay with a Visa, Mas-
tercard, American Express or Discover
card, or a Kentucky Fish and Wildlife
gift certificate. Gift certificates are sold
online only at fw.ky.gov.

Anglers who buy licenses or permits
online will not be mailed a paper license
or permit but will receive an authoriza-
tion number. The authorization number
or a computer printout of the license or
permit and a picture ID must be carried

in the field while fishing.

IN PERSON

Licenses and permits can be pur-
chased at various locations throughout
the state. A list of license agents can be
viewed online at fw.ky.gov.

BY PHONE

Licenses and permits are not cur-
rently available by phone. Please go on-
line to the Kentucky Fish and Wildlife
website at fw.ky.gov for updates.
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RESIDENT SENIOR OR DISABLED SPORTSMAN’S LICENSES

Seniors and persons with qualified
disabilities may purchase discount-
ed licenses to hunt and fish. These
are only available for Kentucky
residents. The senior and disabled
sportsman’s licenses include: an-
nual fishing and hunting licenses,
permits for deer, spring and fall
turkeys, migratory bird/waterfowl
and trout.

Senior sportsman’s license:
Available to Kentucky residents
65 or older. (Seniors may also
purchase the senior lifetime
sportsman’s license.)

Disabled sportsman’s license:
Available to Kentucky residents
who meet the disability criteria in
state law and obtain a disability
authorization.

Note: Disabled residents 65
and older can purchase a senior
sportsman’s license instead of the
disabled sportsman’s license. The
senior sportsman’s license only
requires proof of age. Both licenses
cost the same and include the same
licenses and permits.

How to get a disabled

sportsman’s license:

1. Obtain proof of disability
allowed by state law

2. Submit disability proof to
Kentucky Fish and Wildlife

3. Obtain disability authorization

4. Buy license online at fw.ky.gov
or anywhere licenses are sold

1 OBTAIN PROOF OF
DISABILITY THROUGH ONE OF
THE FOLLOWING AGENCIES

¢ Federal Social Security
Administration: Obtain a Benefit
Verification Letter certifying you
are disabled and receive benefits.
Forms should not be more than
6 months old. To get a Benefit
Verification Letter: Contact your
local Social Security office, call
1-800-772-1213 or go online to
www.socialsecurity.gov/myaccount.

Benefit letters must show disability

qualification and include your name,

address, date of birth, the last 4

digits of your social security number

and the benefit amount.
Veterans Affairs: Obtain letter
verifying that you are at least 50
percent disabled as a result of a
service-connected disability. The
letter must include your current

address and Social Security number.

State Workers’ Compensation
Board: Request an application from
Kentucky Fish and Wildlife and

send the completed form to the state

Workers’” Compensation Board.
¢ U.S. Railroad Retirement Board:
Obtain letter stating you are

permanently and totally disabled and

show current address.

e Kentucky Teachers’ Retirement
System: Obtain written
documentation stating you are on
disability retirement and show a
current address.

e U.S. Office of Personnel
Management: Obtain certification
of employment, certification of 100
percent disabled from a recognized
authority, and show a current
address.

2 SEND PROOF OF DISABILITY
TO KENTUCKY FISH AND
WILDLIFE:

* Online: Visit fw.ky.gov. Select
“MyProfile.” Select “'Disability
Authorization.” Upload your file.

* By mail: KDFWR Disabled License,
#1 Sportsman’s Lane, Frankfort,
KY 40601

* By fax: (502) 564-9845

* Questions? Call 1-800-858-1549 or

email Info.Center@ky.gov

3 OBTAIN DISABILITY
AUTHORIZATION

Disabhility authorization. You will
receive disability authorization once

your proof of disability is verified. This
authorization is necessary to purchase

a disabled sportsman’s license. This

authorization is valid for 3 years.
It is not a hunting or fishing
license. While you must carry a
license while you are hunting or
fishing, you do not need to carry
proof of disability authorization.
This is why Kentucky Fish and
Wildlife no longer mails disability
authorization cards. Residents
may still print their own copy of
a disability authorization card

by going online to fw.ky.gov and
clicking on MyProfile.

You will receive an email
notifying you of your approval.
You may also check your
application status by accessing
your “My Profile’” account at

JSw.ky.gov.

Disability authorizations are only
valid for 3 years. Go online to
Jfw.ky.gov and access “*MyProfile”
to see your authorization expiration
date. Repeat these steps to reapply.
However, if you received your
disability authorization through
Veterans Affairs, the U.S. Railroad
Retirement Board or U.S. Office of
Personnel Management, you may
call Kentucky Fish and Wildlife at
1-800-858-1549 to renew over the
phone.

4 BUY LICENSE

Once you have the disability
authorization, you may buy your
discounted disabled sportsman’s
license online at fw.ky.gov or
wherever hunting and fishing
licenses are sold. You cannot

buy this license if your disability
authorization has expired. Disabled
sportsman’s licenses are valid
through the end of February each
year. The disability authorization,
which you need in order to obtain
a license, stays in effect for three
years. Use the “MyProfile” tab
online at fw.ky.gov to view, print
or reprint your license at home
anytime for free.

S

4



FISHING REGULATIONS

STATEWIDE REGULATIONS

Some waterbodies have different size and daily limits, so please refer to the “Special Fishing Regulations” section on page 6
for more details. All fish not meeting size limit requirements must be released immediately. There are no size or daily limits for

rough fish, unless statewide or special regulations apply.

For daily limit and fishing license purposes, one fishing day equals one calendar day. Except for trout, anglers may cull fish of a par-

ticular species until reaching the daily limit. Any additional fish caught in excess of the daily limit must be released immediately.

m Daily Limit Possession Limit Minimum Size Limit
Largemouth Bass 6* 12% 12"
BLACK Smallmouth Bass 6* 12* 12"
BASS Kentucky (Spotted) Bass 6% 12% none
Coosa Bass 6* 12* none
Rock Bass 15 30 none
Redear Sunfish 20 40 none
Walleye, Sauger, and their Hybrids 6* 12* 14"
Muskellunge 1 2 30"
Chain Pickerel 5 10 none
White & Hybrid Striped Bass 15%* 30%* none**
Striped Bass 5 10 15"
Yellow Bass none none none
Crappie (Black & White) 20% 40* none
Paddlefish 2 4 none
Rainbow Trout 8 16 none
Brown Trout 1 2 16"
Cutthroat Trout 1 2 20"
Brook Trout Catch and release only***

Lake Sturgeon Catch and release only

Alligator Gar Catch and release only
TROPHY Channel Catfish 28" and ahove 1 2 28"
CATFISH | Blue & Flathead Catfish 35" and ahove 1 each 2 each 35"
Channel Catfish below 28~ none none none
Blue & Flathead Catfish helow 35~ none none none

* Singly or combined; a total of these species

** No more than 5 fish in the daily limit may be more than 15 inches long.

*** Except for the Cumberland River downstream of Wolf Creek Dam and the upper section of Hatchery Creek, see Special

Regulations section for details.

STATEWIDE SIZE and
DAILY LIMITS (301 KAR 1:060,
1:201; KRS 150.010)

Fishing season is open year-round
in Kentucky, except on waterfowl refug-
es and as otherwise noted in this guide.
Statewide size and daily limits apply to
all Kentucky waters, public and private,
except some waters have dif-
ferent limits (see
“Special Fishing
Regulations”).

MEASURING FISH (301 KAR 1:201)

Measure all fish from the tip of the
lower jaw (closed) to the tip of the tail
with fish laid flat on rule with tail lobes
squeezed together. Fish not of legal size
must be returned immediately to the

waters from which they were taken in
the best possible physical condition.

Q: How is a daily limit
different than a possession limit?

1 1
1 1
1 1
1 1
1 1
1 1
: 7&: The daily limit is the number 1
i of a particular sport fish species 1
i you may keep in one day’s fishing. 1
i A possession limit is two times the 1
: daily limit for all fish species with :
1 adaily limit, excluding previously 1
1 1
1 processed fish. )
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SPECIAL FISHING REGULATIONS

(301 KAR 1:080, 1:180, 1:201, 2:222
4:100, KRS 150.010, 150.025)

SPECIAL REGULATION WATERS
LISTED ALPHABETICALLY

'The public waters listed below have
different size and/or daily limits than
statewide regulations allow. Statewide
size and daily limits apply unless other-
wise mentioned below. Special boating

regulations are listed in the Boating sec-
tion of this guide.

Some privately owned waters may
have special size and daily limits as post-
ed by signs.

FINs LAKES:

Lakes in the Fishing In Neighbor-
hoods (FINs) program have uniform
regulations for size and daily limits:

* Rainbow Trout: 5-fish daily limit.
Trout stamp required if you intend to
keep trout.

* Catfish: 4-fish daily limit.

* Sunfish: 15-fish daily limit.

* Largemouth Bass: 15-inch minimum
size limit, 1-fish daily limit.

¢ Possession or use of live shad for bait
is prohibited.

ED # OF CATFISH STOCKED

Iy

. Feb. | March| Oct. | Nov. | March| Apr. | May | June
Anderson County Community Park Lake Anderson 500 500 500 200 200 200 200
Camp Ernst Lake Boone 1,500 | 1,500 1,500 § 1,250 | 1,250 | 1,250 | 1,250
Millennium Park Pond Boyle 500 500 500 400 400 400 400
Alexandria Community Park Lake Campbell 1,500 | 1,500 1,500 § 1,400 | 1,400 | 1,400 | 1,400
Robert J. Barth Lake Campbell 750 750 750 700 700 700 700
Southgate Lake Campbell 500 500 500 400 400
Panther Creek Park Lake Daviess 750 750 750 800 800 800 800
Waymond Morris Park Lake Daviess 1,500 1,500 1,000 | 1,000 | 1,000 | 1,000
Yellow Creek Park Lake Daviess 750 750 750 600 600 600 600
Jacohson Park Lake Fayette 3,000 | 3,000 | 3,000 2,300 [ 2,300 | 2,300 | 2,300
Kentucky Horse Park Rolex Lake Fayette 1,500 1,500 1,100 1,100
Flemingshurg 0ld Reservoir Fleming 1,500 1,500 1,100 1,100
Lower Sportsman's Lake Franklin 500 500 500 600 600 600 600
Upper Sportsman's Lake Franklin 1,500 | 1,500 | 1,500 1,200 | 1,200 | 1,200 | 1,200
Lake Pollywog Grant 750 750 750 700 700
Leary Lake Grant 1,500 | 1,500 1,500 900 900
Kess Creek Park Lake Graves 500 500 500 400 400 400 400
James D. Beville Park Lake Grayson 750 750 750 600 600 600 600
Kingdom Come State Park Lake Harlan 500 500 500 500 500
Rotary Park Lake Hickman 500 500 500 200 200 200 200
Madisonville City Park Lake South Hopkins 1,500 | 1,500 | 1,500 1,250 1,250
Cherokee Park Lake Jefferson 750 750 750 800 800
Fisherman's Park Lake #3 Jefferson 500 500 500 400 400
Fisherman's Park Lake #4 Jefferson 500 500 500 400 400
Tom Wallace Park Lake Jefferson 1,500 | 1,500 | 1,500 1,000 | 1,000 1,000 1,000
Waverly Park Lake Jefferson 1,500 | 1,500 | 1,500 900 900 900 900
William F. Miles Angler Lake Jefferson 750 750 750 700 700 700 700
William F. Miles Green Heron Lake Jefferson 500 500 500 200 200 200 200
Lake Mingo Jessamine 500 500 500 500 500 500 500
Southland Church Lake Jessamine 500 500 500 500 500 500 500
Middleton Mills Long Pond Kenton 500 500 500 300 300 300 300
Middleton Mills Shelterhouse Pond Kenton 500 500 500 300 300 300 300
Prisoners Lake Kenton 750 750 750 800 800
Brickyard Pond Knox 1,500 1,500 § 2,000 | 2,000 | 2,000 | 2,000
Logan Hubhle Park Lake Lincoln 1,500 | 1,500 1,500 1,800 1,800
Whitehall Park Lake Madison 1,500 | 1,500 | 1,500 1,200 | 1,200 | 1,200 | 1,200
Mike Miller Park Lake Marshall 750 750 750 800 800
Maysville-Mason County Rec. Park Lake Mason 1,500 1,500 1,150 1,150
Lake Montgomery McCracken | 1,500 | 1,500 (1,500 1,100 1,100 | 1,100 | 1,100
Carlson Lake (Ft. Knox) Meade 1,400 1,400
Easy Walker Park Pond Montgomery | 500 500 500 400 400 400 400
Bloomfield Park Lake Nelson 500 500 500 500 500
Lushy Lake Scott 500 500 500 500 500 500 500
Scott County Park Lake Scott 500 500 500 500 500 500 500
Jesse W. Thornton Lake Warren | 1,500 | 1,500 1,500 | 1,450 | 1,450 | 1,450 | 1,450
(formerly Three Springs Lake) ! ! ! ! ! ! !




QUALITY BASS MANAGEMENT

Quality Bass Management (QBM) is more
than a name... It is a dedicated program to
enhance the black bass fisheries of Kentucky.
With a focus on genetics, regulations,
stocking, habitat, and forage,
QBM will utilize science-
based strategies and foster
partnerships to achieve
healthy and abundant

quality bass fisheries.

INITIATIVES:

Thoroughbred Bass Program —
selective breeding to increase big bass
potential

Genetic Sampling — genetic inventory of bass
populations

Selective Bass Harvest — educational
campaign to encourage anglers to selectively
harvest overcrowded bass populations
Supplemental Bass Stocking — stock

replacement or enhancement

populations

fingerling bass to compensate for poor spawns
Hahitat Enhancement - strategic habitat

Selective Bass Removals — removal of small
bass via electrofishing from overcrowded

Visit fw.ky.gov or
scan this symbol for
more information!

BARK CAMP CREEK
Whitley County

All trout caught from October 1
through March 31 must be immediately
released and only artificial baits shall be
used during this period.

BARKLEY, KENTUCKY LAKES

(and their connecting canal)

* Crappie: 10-inch minimum size limit.

* Largemouth and Smallmouth Bass:
15-inch minimum size limit.

BARKLEY TAILWATER - See Cum-
berland River

BARREN RIVER and all tributaries

including Barren River Lake

* Walleye: 2-fish daily limit; 18- to 26-

inch protective slot limit. All walleye

caught from 18 to 26 inches long must

be immediately released.

* Smallmouth Bass: 15-inch minimum
size limit.

BARREN RIVER LAKE
The boundaries of Barren Riv-
er Lake are from the dam upstream to
the KY 100 bridge, Long Creek to the
KY 100 bridge, Beaver Creek to the KY
1297 bridge, Skaggs Creek to the Mat-
thews Mill Road bridge and Peter Creek
to the Peter Creek Road bridge.
¢ Blue and Channel Catfish: 15-fish
aggregate daily limit, only 1 fish may
be longer than 25 inches.
e Crappie: 10-inch minimum size limit.
* Largemouth and Smallmouth Bass:
15-inch minimum size limit.
* Walleye: 2-fish daily limit; 18- to 26-
inch protective slot limit. All wall-
eye caught from 18 to 26 inches long
must be immediately released.

BEAVER CREEK from the KY 90
bridge upstream to the KY 200 bridge
Wayne County

All trout caught from October 1
through March 31 must be immediately

released and only artificial baits shall be
used during this period.

BEAVER LAKE
Anderson County

Possession or use of live shad for
bait is prohibited.

* Largemouth Bass: 12- to 15-inch pro-
tective slot limit. All largemouth bass
caught between 12 and 15 inches in
length must be immediately released.

BEECH FORK RESERVOIR

Powell County

* Bluegill: 15-fish daily limit.

* Largemouth Bass: 15-inch minimum
size limit.

BERT COMBS LAKE
Clay County
Possession or use of live shad for
bait is prohibited.
* Largemouth Bass: 12- to 15-inch pro-
tective slot limit. All largemouth bass
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caught between 12 and 15 inches in
length must be immediately released.

BEULAH LAKE

Jackson County

* Largemouth Bass: 12- to 15-inch pro-
tective slot limit. All largemouth bass
caught between 12 and 15 inches in
length must be immediately released.

BIG BONE CREEK
Boone County

All trout caught from October 1
through March 31 must be immediately
released and only artificial baits shall be
used during this period.

BOLTZ LAKE
Grant County

Possession or use of live shad for
bait is prohibited.

* Largemouth Bass: 12- to 15-inch pro-
tective slot limit. All largemouth bass
caught between 12 and 15 inches in
length must be immediately released.

BRIGGS LAKE
Logan County

Possession or use of live shad for
bait is prohibited.

BUCKHORN LAKE

* Largemouth and Smallmouth Bass:
15-inch minimum size limit.

* Muskellunge: 40-inch minimum size
limit.

* Crappie: 9-inch minimum size limit.

CANE CREEK
Laurel County

All trout caught from October 1
through March 31 must be immediately
released and only artificial baits shall be
used during this period.

CARNICO LAKE

Nicholas County

* Largemouth Bass: 15-inch minimum
size limit.

* Bluegill and other sunfish: 15-fish
daily limit.

CARR CREEK LAKE

* Crappie: 9-inch minimum size limit.

* Largemouth and Smallmouth Bass:
15-inch minimum size limit.

¢ Blue and Channel Catfish: 15-fish
aggregate daily limit, only 1 fish may
be longer than 25 inches.

CARTER CAVES STATE PARK
LAKE (also called Smoky Valley
Lake)
Fishing during daylight hours only.
Possession or use of live shad for
bait is prohibited.

* Largemouth Bass: 12- to 15-inch pro-
tective slot limit. All largemouth bass
caught between 12 and 15 inches in
length must be immediately released.

CASEY CREEK
Trigg County

All trout caught from October 1
through March 31 must be immediately
released and only artificial baits shall be
used during this period.

CAVE RUN LAKE

Gigging and snagging prohibited
in lake and all tributaries up to the first
riffle or upper boundary as listed below.

Lake upper boundaries: Scott’s Creek to

the KY 801 culvert; Beaver Creek to the

KY 1274 culvert; North Fork Creek to

the confluence of Craney Creek; Ramey

Creek to include pool of water north

of KY 801; Licking River to KY 722

bridge.

* Largemouth Bass: 12- to 15-inch
protective slot limit. All large-
mouth bass caught between 12 and
15 inches in length must be released
immediately.

¢ Smallmouth Bass: 18-inch minimum
size limit.

* Muskellunge: 40-inch minimum size
limit.

CEDAR CREEK LAKE

Lincoln County

* Largemouth Bass: 20-inch minimum
size limit, 1-fish daily limit.

CHIMNEY TOP CREEK
Wolfe County
Only artificial baits may be used.

CLEAR CREEK
Bell County

All trout caught from October 1
through March 31 must be immediately
released and only artificial baits shall be
used during this period.

CLEAR FORK
Logan and Warren counties
Catch and release for all sport fish.

CORINTH LAKE
Grant County

Possession or use of live shad for
bait is prohibited.

* Largemouth Bass: 12- to 15-inch pro-
tective slot limit. All largemouth bass
caught between 12 and 15 inches in
length must be immediately released.

CUMBERLAND GAP NATIONAL
HISTORICAL PARK
(301 KAR 1:035)

Special fishing regulations are in
effect on Cumberland Gap Nation-
al Historical Park. For complete fishing
information on this area contact: Cum-
berland Gap National Historical Park,
P.O. Box 1848, Middlesboro, KY 40965,
phone (606) 248-2817.

CUMBERLAND RIVER upstream
from Cumberland Falls and all
tributaries:

* Walleye: 2-fish daily limit; 18- to 26-
inch protective slot limit. All wall-
eye caught from 18 to 26 inches long
must be immediately released.

* Smallmouth Bass: 15-inch minimum
size limit.

CUMBERLAND RIVER from Wolf

Creek Dam to the Tennessee state line

All licensed anglers must possess
a trout permit on this portion of Cum-
berland River. This includes Hatchery
Creek and all tributaries up to the first
riffle.

Anglers may not attract or chum
trout with bait, corn or other attractants
designed to draw numbers of trout to a
specific area. This includes all tributar-
ies up to the first riffle and in Hatch-
ery Creek. For additional regulations on
Hatchery Creek, refer to the Hatchery
Creek section on page 10.

* Brown Trout or Cutthroat Trout: 20-
inch minimum size limit, 1-fish dai-
ly limit, also applies to all tributary
streams, except Hatchery Creek.

* Rainbow Trout: 15- to 20-inch pro-
tective slot limit. All trout caught be-
tween 15 and 20 inches in length
must be immediately released. Five
fish daily limit, only one rainbow
trout may be longer than 20 inches.
Also applies to all tributary streams,
except Hatchery Creek.

* Brook Trout: 1-fish daily limit with a
15-inch minimum size limit. Also ap-
plies to all tributary streams, except



Hatchery Creek.
* Lake Sturgeon: Catch and release only.

CUMBERLAND RIVER from Lake
Barkley Dam downstream to conflu-
ence with Ohio River

Gigging and snagging regulations
along with special regulations for the
Cumberland River below Lake Barkley
can be found on page 14. Fishing pro-
hibited at the mouth of the lock cham-
ber at Barkley Dam as designated by
signs.

DALE HOLLOW LAKE

* Crappie: 10-inch minimum size limit,
15-fish daily limit.

* Black Bass: includes largemouth,
smallmouth and Kentucky (spot-
ted) bass — 5 fish daily limit on black
bass singly or combined, only two of
which may be smallmouth bass.

* Largemouth Bass: 15-inch minimum
size limit.

* Smallmouth Bass: 16- to 21-inch
protective slot limit. One fish over 21
inches and one fish under 16 inches
may be kept daily.

* Sauger: 10-fish daily limit.

* Rainbow and Brown Trout: 7-fish
aggregate daily limit.

* Walleye: 16-inch minimum size limit,

5-fish daily limit.

DEWEY LAKE

* Largemouth and Smallmouth Bass:
15-inch minimum size limit.

¢ Blue and Channel Catfish: 15-fish
aggregate daily limit, only 1 fish may
be longer than 25 inches.

* Muskellunge: 40-inch minimum size
limit.

DIX RIVER from Herrington Lake
Dam downstream for two miles
Only artificial baits shall be used.

DOE RUN LAKE
Kenton County
Possession or use of live shad for
bait is prohibited.
* Largemouth Bass: 15-inch minimum
size limit.

* Channel Catfish: Four fish daily limit.

DOG FORK
Wolfe County

Only artificial baits with a single
hook shall be used. Brook trout must be
immediately released.

EAST FORK INDIAN CREEK
Menifee County

All trout caught from October 1
through March 31 must be immediately
released and only artificial baits shall be
used during this period.

ELKHORN CREEK in Franklin

County from confluence of North

and South forks downstream to

Kentucky River

* Largemouth and Smallmouth Bass:
12- to 15-inch protective slot lim-
it. Largemouth and smallmouth bass
caught between 12 and 15 inches in
length must be immediately released.

* For regulatory purposes, the bound-
ary of Elkhorn Creek is a permanent
marker just below the first shoal up-
stream from its confluence with the
Kentucky River.

ELK SPRING CREEK
Wayne County

All trout caught from October 1
through March 31 must be immediately
released and only artificial baits shall be
used during this period.

ELMER DAVIS LAKE
Owen County

Possession or use of live shad for
bait is prohibited.

* Largemouth Bass: 12- to 15-inch pro-
tective slot limit. All largemouth bass
caught between 12 and 15 inches in
length must be immediately released.

FISHTRAP LAKE

* Largemouth and Smallmouth Bass:
15-inch minimum size limit.

* Crappie: 9-inch minimum size limit.

¢ Blue and Channel Catfish: 15-fish
aggregate daily limit, only 1 fish in
the daily limit may be longer than 25
inches.

* Walleye: 2-fish daily limit; 18- to 26-
inch protective slot limit. All wall-
eye caught from 18 to 26 inches long
must be immediately released.

FLOYD’S FORK from U.S. 60 bridge
downstream to U.S.150 bridge
Jefferson County

* Largemouth and Smallmouth Bass:
15-inch minimum size limit.

* Rainbow Trout: All trout caught from
Oct. 1 through March 31 must be im-
mediately released and only artificial
baits shall be used during this period.

GENERAL BUTLER

STATE PARK LAKE

Carroll County

Possession or use of live shad for
bait is prohibited.

* Largemouth Bass: 12- to 15-inch pro-
tective slot limit. All largemouth bass
caught between 12 and 15 inches in
length must be immediately released.

* Channel Catfish: 4 fish daily limit.

GOLDEN POND (Land Between The

Lakes National Recreation Area)

e Channel Catfish: 15-inch minimum
size limit, 5-fish daily limit.

GRAYSON LAKE

* Largemouth and Smallmouth Bass:
12- to 15-inch protective slot limit.
Alllargemouth and smallmouth bass
caught between 12 and 15 inches in
length must be immediately released.

GREENBO LAKE
Greenup County
Possession or use of live shad for

bait is prohibited.

* Bluegill and other sunfish: 15-fish
daily limit.

* Areas marked by signage and buoys
near the Jesse Stuart Lodge are peri-
odically closed to fishing.

GREEN RIVER LAKE

Lake upper boundaries: Green Riv-
er to Snake Creek Boat Ramp; Robin-
son Creek to KY 76 bridge; Casey Creek
to Arnolds Landing Boat Ramp.
* Crappie: 9-inch minimum size limit.
* Muskellunge: 40-inch minimum size

limit.

GREEN RIVER LAKE TAILWATER
from Green River Lake Dam and ex-
tending downstream to the end of
the concrete wall
Taylor County

Fishing shall be limited to rod in
hand using either: (a) An artificial bait
with a single hook; or (b) Live bait at-
tached to a single hook.

ogl'dgwu krnow?

Camping is prohibited on KDFWR
owned or managed lakes except as
designated by signs.
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GUNPOWDER CREEK
Boone County

All trout caught from October 1
through March 31 must be immediately
released and only artificial baits shall be
used during this period.

HATCHERY CREEK
Russell County

All licensed anglers must possess a
trout permit to fish Hatchery Creek.

* Brook, Rainbow, Cutthroat and
Brown Trout: Upper section: As des-
ignated by signs, 5-trout aggregate
daily limit, no minimum size limit.
Lower section: Catch and release
only and only artificial baits may be
used. The lower boundary of Hatch-
ery Creek is delineated as a straight
line between opposite points where
Hatchery Creek meets the main stem
of the Cumberland River.

HIGHSPLINT LAKE

Harlan County

* Largemouth bass: 20-inch minimum
size limit; 1-fish daily limit.

KENTUCKY, BARKLEY LAKES

(and their connecting canal)

* Crappie: 10-inch minimum size limit.

* Largemouth and Smallmouth Bass:
15-inch minimum size limit.

KENTUCKY LAKE TAILWATER -
see Tennessee River

KENTUCKY RIVER, upstream of

Lock and Dam 14, the North Fork

and tributaries including Carr Fork

helow Carr Creek Lake along with

the Middle and South Forks and all

tributaries

* Walleye: 2 fish daily limit; 18- to 26-
inch protective slot limit. All wall-
eye caught from 18 to 26 inches long
must be immediately released.

* Smallmouth Bass: 15-inch minimum
size limit.

KENTUCKY RIVER WMA BOONE

TRACT, Henry County

Benjy Kinman Lake:

* Idle speed only.

Prather Pond and 6-acre pond:

* Catfish: 4-fish daily limit.

Prather Pond, 6-acre pond and

15-acre pond

* Bluegill and other sunfish: 15-fish
daily limit.

e Trolling motor only.

LAKE BLYTHE

Christian County

* Largemouth Bass: 12- to 15-inch
protective slot limit. All largemouth
bass caught between 12 and 15
inches in length must be immediate-

ly released.

LAKE CHUMLEY
Lincoln County
Fishing during daylight hours only.

LAKE CUMBERLAND
The boundaries of Lake Cumber-
land are defined as Cumberland Falls
on the Cumberland River, Devils Jump
on the Big South Fork, the Narrows of
Rockcastle River and Laurel River Lake
Dam on Laurel River.
* Crappie: 10-inch minimum size limit.
* Lake Sturgeon: Catch and release only.
* Largemouth Bass: 15-inch minimum
size limit.
e Smallmouth Bass: 18-inch minimum
size limit.
* Striped Bass: 22-inch minimum size
limit, 2-fish daily limit.

LAKE JERICHO
Henry County
Possession or use of live shad for
bait is prohibited.
* Largemouth Bass: 15-inch minimum
size limit.

LAKE MALONE

* Largemouth Bass: 12- to 15-inch pro-
tective slot limit. All largemouth bass
caught between 12 and 15 inches in
length must be immediately released.

LAKE PENNYRILE

Christian County

* Largemouth Bass: 12- to 15-inch pro-
tective slot limit. All largemouth bass
caught between 12 and 15 inches in
length must be immediately released.

LAKE REBA
Madison County

Possession or use of live shad for
bait is prohibited.

LAKE SHELBY

Shelby County

* Largemouth Bass: 15-inch minimum
size limit.

* Channel Catfish: 4 fish daily limit.

LAND BETWEEN THE LAKES
NATIONAL RECREATION AREA
(301 KAR 1:031)

Special fishing regulations are in
effect for ponds and small lakes with-
in Land Between The Lakes Nation-
al Recreation Area. For complete fish-
ing information on this area, go online
to landbetweenthelakes.us or call (270)
924-2000.

LAUREL RIVER LAKE

* Largemouth Bass: 15-inch minimum
size limit.

* Smallmouth Bass: 18-inch minimum
size limit, 2 fish daily limit.

* Crappie: 9-inch minimum size limit,

15-fish daily limit.

LEVISA FORK and all tributaries

upstream of Fishtrap Lake

* Walleye: 2 fish daily limit; 18- to 26-
inch protective slot limit. All wall-
eye caught from 18 to 26 inches long
must be immediately released.

LINCOLN HOMESTEAD STATE

PARK LAKE

Washington County

Fishing during daylight hours only.

Possession or use of live shad for bait is

prohibited.

* Channel Catfish: 4 fish daily limit.

* Largemouth Bass: 12- to 15-inch pro-
tective slot limit. All largemouth bass
caught between 12 and 15 inches in
length must be immediately released.

MAMMOTH CAVE NATIONAL PARK

Special fishing regulations are in ef-
fect for ponds, streams and Green River
within Mammoth Cave National Park.
For complete fishing information on
this area, anglers should contact: (270)
758-2180.

MARION COUNTY LAKE

Possession or use of live shad for
bait is prohibited.

MARTIN’S FORK LAKE and all

tributaries

* Walleye: 2-fish daily limit; 18- to 26-
inch protective slot limit. All wall-
eye caught from 18 to 26 inches long
must be immediately released.

McNEELY LAKE
Jefferson County
Possession or use of live shad for


https://www.landbetweenthelakes.us

bait is prohibited.

¢ Largemouth Bass: 12- to 15-inch pro-
tective slot limit. All largemouth bass
caught between 12 and 15 inches in
length must be immediately released.

MILL CREEK LAKE
Powell and Wolfe counties
Possession or use of live shad for
bait is prohibited.
* Largemouth Bass: 15-inch minimum
size limit.

NEW HAVEN OPTIMIST LAKE

Nelson County

* Largemouth Bass: 15-inch minimum
size limit.

* Channel Catfish: 4 fish daily limit.

NOLIN RIVER LAKE

Lake upper boundary is the Wheel-
ers Mill Road bridge in the Nolin Riv-
er arm and to the KY 728 bridge in the
Bacon Creek arm.
* Crappie: 9-inch minimum size limit.
* Largemouth and Smallmouth Bass:

15-inch minimum size limit.

OHIO RIVER

* White Bass, Striped Bass and their
Hybrids: 30 fish daily limit, only 4
fish may be 15 inches or longer.

OTTER CREEK

Meade County

Otter Creek inside Otter Creek Out-

door Recreation Area:

* Largemouth and Smallmouth Bass:
12- to 15-inch protective slot limit.
All largemouth and smallmouth bass
caught between 12 and 15 inches in
length must be immediately released.

* All trout caught in Otter Creek Park
from Oct. 1 through March 31 must
be immediately released and only ar-
tificial baits shall be used during this
period.

Otter Creek inside Fort Knox: An-

glers fishing Otter Creek within Fort

Knox must check in, purchase a fishing

permit and follow the fishing regula-

tions at the Fort Knox iSportsman web-
site at fZknox.isportsman.net.

PANBOWL LAKE

Breathitt County

* Largemouth Bass: 12- to 15-inch pro-
tective slot limit. All largemouth bass
caught between 12 and 15 inches in
length must be immediately released.

PARCHED CORN CREEK
Wolfe County

Only artificial baits with single
hook shall be used. Brook trout must be
immediately released.

PEABODY WMA LAKES

In addition to a fishing license, a
$15.00 user permit is required of per-
sons age 16 and over while on Peabody
WMA. Permits can be purchased where
fishing licenses are sold. Fishing open
March 16 - Oct. 14 on Goose, Island
and South Lake, all other lakes open

year-round.

PIKEVILLE CITY LAKE

Pike County

* Largemouth Bass: All largemouth bass
caught must be immediately released.

ROCK CREEK from Tennessee state
line downstream to Bell Farm bridge
McCreary County

All trout caught from October 1
through March 31 must be immediately
released and only artificial baits shall be
used during this period.

ROCKCASTLE RIVER WMA

Pulaski County

All Ponds Collectively:

* Largemouth Bass: 15-inch minimum
size limit, 1-fish daily limit.

* Bluegill and other Sunfish: 10-fish
daily limit.

* Catfish: 4-fish daily limit.

* Crappie: 15-fish daily limit.

ROUGH RIVER LAKE
Lake upper boundary: Rough Riv-

Q: Is fishing allowed around a
dock or a marina?

7&: It depends. Public marinas

on U.S. Army Corps of Engineers
Lakes have contractual agreements
that address lease space on public
waters. The Corps presently allows
the marina owners or operators to
post signs that prohibit fishing with-
in 150 feet of their floating struc-
tures. These agreements do not pro-
hibit a person from fishing in their
boat rental slip. This policy does not
apply to privately owned boat docks
on Corps lakes.

PR e e T

er to the KY 84 bridge.

* Crappie: 9-inch minimum size limit.

* Largemouth and Smallmouth Bass:
15-inch minimum size limit.

SHANTY HOLLOW LAKE
Warren County
Possession or use of live shad for

bait is prohibited.

SHILLALAH CREEK
Bell County

Outside the Cumberland Gap Na-
tional Park as posted, only artificial baits
with single hook shall be used. Brook

trout must be immediately released.

SPORTSMAN’S LAKES
Franklin County
Fishing during daylight hours only.

SPURLINGTON LAKE
Taylor County
Possession or use of live shad for

bait is prohibited.

SWIFT CAMP CREEK
Clifty Wilderness, Wolfe County

All trout caught from October 1
through March 31 must be released im-
mediately and only artificial baits shall
be used during this period.

SYMPSON LAKE

Nelson County

* Largemouth Bass: 15-inch minimum
size limit.

TAYLORSVILLE LAKE
Lake upper boundary is Dry Dock

Road on Salt River.

* Crappie: 10-inch minimum size limit,
15-fish daily limit.

* Largemouth and Smallmouth Bass:
15-inch minimum size limit.

* Blue and Channel Catfish: 15-fish
aggregate daily limit, only 1 fish may
be longer than 25 inches.

TENNESSEE RIVER from Ken-
tucky Lake Dam downstream to
confluence with Ohio River

Gigging and snagging regulations
along with special regulations for the
Tennessee River below Kentucky Lake
can be found on page 14.

TRAMMEL CREEK
Allen County
All trout caught from October 1
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through March 31 must be immediately
released and only artificial baits shall be
used during this period.

* Rainbow Trout: 5-fish daily limit.

WILLISBURG PARK POND

Washington County

* Channel Catfish: 4-fish daily limit.

* Largemouth Bass: 15-inch minimum
size limit.

* Sunfish: 15-fish daily limit, no mini-

mum size limit.

WO00D CREEK LAKE

Laurel County

e Largemouth Bass: 12- to 15-inch pro-
tective slot limit. All largemouth bass
caught between 12 and 15 inches in

length must be immediately released.
* Walleye: 2-fish daily limit; 18- to 26-

inch protective slot limit. All wall-
eye caught from 18 to 26 inches long
must be immediately released.

YATESVILLE LAKE

* Largemouth and Smallmouth Bass:
15-inch minimum size limit.

* Blue and Channel Catfish: 15-fish
daily limit in aggregate, only one fish
may be longer than 25 inches.

OTHER SPECIES

BULLFROGS (301 KAR 1:082)

The taking season for bullfrogs
opens at noon on the third Friday in
May (May 16, 2025) and runs through
Oct. 31. If a gun or bow and arrow are
used, a hunting license is required. If
frogs are taken by pole and line, a fish-
ing license is required. If frogs are taken
by gig or by hand, then either a hunt-
ing or fishing license is valid. The daily
noon-to-noon limit for bullfrogs is 15.
'The possession limit is 30.

TURTLES (301 KAR 1:058)

Anglers may take snapping turtles
(except alligator snapping turtles) and
softshell turtles year round by the same
methods legal for taking rough fish spe-
cies or with a turtle trap. Commercial
fishing gear may not be used to take
turtles. A hunting license is required
when taking turtles by gun or by bow
and arrow. Otherwise a fishing license is
required. Turtles cannot be sold.

Turtle traps may be one of two
kinds: either a barrel or drum with a tilt-
ing trigger board or a floating log raft
with an enclosed twine or wire mesh
bag. Turtle traps must be inspected daily.
All turtles must be removed daily except
one decoy turtle may remain. Any other
species (except soft shelled and snapping
turtles) caught in a turtle trap must be
released unharmed.

GRASS CARP HARVEST
PROHIBITED (301 KAR 1:201)
Harvesting grass carp is prohib-
ited in any lake owned or managed by
the Kentucky Department of Fish and
Wildlife Resources. Anglers who catch
a grass carp from one of these lakes must
immediately return the fish to the water

where it was caught. Grass carp are used
to control aquatic vegetation.

LIVE BAIT FOR PERSONAL USE
(301 KAR 1:130, 1:122)

No live fish, live bait fish or live
bait organisms that are not native or
established in Kentucky waters shall be
bought, sold, possessed, imported, or in
any way used or released into waters of
this Commonwealth. Blueback herring
are not native to Kentucky and may not
be imported or possessed in this state.

Holders of sport fishing licenses
may take live bait from public waters
and may possess up to 500 live bait fish-
es which include shad (except on lakes
where possession or use of live shad is
prohibited) and herring, 500 crayfish, 25
spring lizards or dusky salamanders, 5
frogs (other than bullfrogs), 5 tadpoles,
100 native lampreys, 500 other aquatic
invertebrate organisms other than mus-
sels, and any number of unshelled Asi-
atic clams. Live wild caught invasive
carp, herring and shad, as well as the
species mooneye and goldeye, may
only be used in the waters from which
they were collected and cannot be
transported by roadway. A commercial
license is required to take live bait from
public waters open to commercial fish-
ing for the purpose of selling.

Regardless of size or how obtained,
it is illegal to use sport fish for bait, ex-
cept for redear sunfish less than 6 inches
long. Native rough fish including min-
nows, suckers, skipjack herring, catfish,
and bluegills may be used for live bait. It
is unlawful to use for live bait any feder-
ally threatened or endangered species or
species with special state protection, in-
cluding palezone shiner, blackside dace,

Cumberland darter, Kentucky arrow
darter, relict darter and tuxedo darter.
Search “wildlife diversity” at fw.£y.gov
and click on “threatened and endan-
gered species” for a list with pictures of
these protected fish species.
Live bait may be taken with the fol-
lowing gear:
* Dip Nets: Maximum size of 3 feet in
diameter is legal statewide.

* Minnow Traps: Maximum legal size
statewide: 3 feet long, 18 inches in di-
ameter, 1-inch openings for catching.
Seines: Maximum legal size state-
wide: 10 feet long, 4 feet deep, %-inch
bar mesh. Maximum legal size in the
Ohio and Mississippi rivers and Ken-
tucky and Barkley lakes: 30 feet long, 6
feet deep and Y-inch bar mesh.
Sport Cast Nets: Maximum sport cast
net size is 20 feet in diameter with
maximum 1-inch bar mesh statewide
except in the following waters. Sport
cast nets are prohibited in: 1) lakes
having fewer than 500 surface acres,
2) within 200 yards below a dam, 3)
Hatchery Creek in Russell County.

All sport fish incidentally taken
while capturing live bait with seines, dip
nets, cast nets or minnow traps must be
released immediately unharmed into the
water. Special regulations may apply to
some waters.



NON-TRADITIONAL FISHING METHODS

The following species regulations
apply statewide for non-traditional fish-
ing methods unless different limits are
referenced in the gear-specific sections
below:

* There shall be no harvest of sport
fish, lake sturgeon, pallid sturgeon, or
alligator gar.

Only 1 trophy catfish of each species
is allowed per day.

At Barren River Lake, Carr Creek
Lake, Dewey Lake, Fishtrap Lake,
Taylorsville Lake and Yatesville Lake,
there is a 15-fish daily aggregate limit
on channel and blue catfish and only
one fish over 25 inches is allowed per
day.

Only 2 paddlefish and shovelnose
sturgeon (each) are allowed per day,
except there shall be no harvest of
shovelnose sturgeon from the Missis-
sippi River.

Unless specified below, there is no size
or daily limits on other rough fish.

SPORT FISHING TROTLINES, JUG
LINES and SET LINES (LIMB
LINES) (301 KAR 1:410; KRS 150.010)

A sport fishing trotline is a line
with no more than 50 single or multi-
barbed baited hooks that must be at least
18 inches apart. A sport fishing trotline
must be set at least three feet below the
water’s surface. Jugging is fishing with a
single baited line attached to any float-
ing object. A jug line may have no more
than one single or multi-barbed hook. A
set line is a line with one single or multi
barbed hook. It may be attached to a tree
limb, tree trunk, bank pole or other sta-
tionary object on the bank of a stream or
impoundment.

One person may use no more than
two sport fishing trotlines or 50 jug lines
or 25 set lines at any one time. Each boat
may not use more than 50 jug lines, but
each occupant may use two sportfish-
ing trotlines or 25 set lines. Each sport
fishing trotline, jug line or set line must
be: 1) permanently labeled with the cus-
tomer identification number provided
on fishing licenses; 2) baited, checked
and all fish removed at least once every
24 hours; 3) removed from water, bank
or tree when fishing ceases. Sport fish-
ing trotlines must be permanently la-

beled on both ends of the line.

Sport fish harvest is allowed with
sport fishing trotlines, jug lines, and
set lines, but anglers must follow all
traditional fishing methods size and
daily limits (301 KAR 1:201).

Prohibited Areas: Sport fish-
ing trotlines, jug lines or set lines may
not be used within 200 yards below any
dam. Sport fishing trotlines, jug lines or
set lines are not allowed in Department
owned/managed lakes having less than
500 surface acres, except those located on
Ballard, Peal, and Swan Lake WMAs.
No sport fishing trotlines are allowed
within 700 yards below Kentucky Dam,
the area between Barkley Dam and U.S.
62 bridge, or below the following Ohio
River dams from the face of the dam to
the end of the outer lock wall: Smith-
land, Newburgh, Cannelton, Mark-
land, Meldahl and Greenup; McAlpine
downstream to the K&l railroad bridge;
J.'T. Meyers (Uniontown) to the end of
the outer lock wall and that portion of
the split channel around the southern
part of Wabash Island from the fixed
weir dam to the first dike.

TICKLING and NOODLING

(hand grabhing)

(301 KAR 1:410; KRS 150.010)
Tickling and noodling means tak-

ing fish directly by hand, or with the

aid of a handled hook. The statewide

tickling and noodling season for rough

fish is June 1 through August 31, dur-

ing daylight hours only. Tickling and

noodling is not allowed in Department

Q: What is legal equipment for
sport fish?

fish by hook and line in hand, rod
in hand, jugging, set line or sport
fishing trotline. There is no limit on

V4
I
1
1
1
1
1
: 7&: Anglers may legally take sport
:
1
1
1
: number of rods/poles per angler.

\

Vo firearms for fishing
Fish may not be taken with use of a
firearm.

owned/managed lakes having less than
500 surface acres, except those locat-
ed on Ballard, Peal, and Swan Lake
WDMAEs. The rough fish daily limit is 15
fish of which only 5 may be catfish. The
5-fish daily catfish limit also applies to
Barren River Lake, Carr Creek Lake,
Dewey Lake, Fishtrap Lake, Taylors-
ville Lake and Yatesville Lake.

BOW FISHING (301 KAR 1:410)

Rough fish (except alligator gar,
lake sturgeon and pallid sturgeon)
may be taken year-round by long bow,
crossbow, compound bow, recurve bow
or pneumatic air arrow launching de-
vice. There is a daily aggregate limit of
5 catfish. The 5-fish daily catfish limit
also applies to Barren River Lake, Carr
Creek Lake, Dewey Lake, Fishtrap
Lake, Taylorsville Lake and Yatesville
Lake.

Arrows must have a barbed or re-
tractable style point that has a line at-
tached for retrieval. Bow fisherman may
fish within 200 yards of a dam, except
they cannot fish by boat in boat re-
stricted areas. Bow fishing is prohibited
on the Cumberland River below Wolf
Creek Dam downstream to the Tennes-
see line, including Hatchery Creek and
all tributaries for % mile upstream of
their confluence with the Cumberland
River. Bow fishing is also prohibited in
Lake Carnico (Nicholas County), Car-
penter Lake (Daviess County), Clear
Creck Lake (Bath County), Greenbo
Lake (Greenup County), and Lake Reba
(Madison County).

Persons using a bow and arrow for
fishing must have the appropriate fish-
ing license and may take rough fish from
bank or boat. Bow anglers cannot sell
paddlefish and shovelnose sturgeon or
their roe taken by bow and arrow. Pad-
dlefish, shovelnose sturgeon and catfish
taken by bow and arrow must be taken
into immediate possession and cannot
be culled. Fish taken by bow must not
be discarded on the bank. Bank disposal

is littering and subject to a fine.

SPEAR FISHING (301 KAR 1:410)
Underwater spearing of rough fish

with hand-held or mechanically pro-

pelled spear is permitted year-round, but
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only in lakes having 1,000 surface acres
or more. All participants in this sport
must be completely submerged while
spear fishing and the appropriate fishing
license is required. The rough fish daily
limit is 15 fish of which only 5 may be
catfish. The 5-fish daily catfish limit
also applies to Barren River Lake, Carr
Creek Lake, Dewey Lake, Fishtrap
Lake, Taylorsville Lake and Yatesville
Lake.

GIGGING and SNAGGING FISH
STATEWIDE (301 KAR 1:410)

Gigging means spearing or impal-
ing fish on any pronged or barbed in-
strument attached to the end of any rig-
id object. Snagging means taking fish or
other aquatic animals by a rapid drawing
motion (rather than enticement by bait)
using a hand-held rod and attached line
with one single or treble hook. A rod le-
gal for snagging must be equipped with
line, guides and a reel.

The statewide season for gigging
and/or snagging rough fish is from Feb-
ruary 1 through May 10. It is illegal to
possess a gig on a stream or lake or in
a boat from November 1 through Janu-
ary 31. A person may gig or snag fish
from the bank of a stream during the
day or night. Gigging and snagging is
not legal from a platform or boat, ex-
cept that gigging is legal from a boat on
lakes 500 surface acres or larger and only
during daylight hours. Persons may gig
rough fish through the ice any time the
surface is frozen thick enough to stand
upon. The gigger must gig while sup-
ported by the ice. Disposal of gigged or
snagged fish on the bank is considered
littering and subject to a fine. All gigged
or snagged paddlefish and shovelnose
sturgeon (except shovelnose sturgeon
in the Mississippi River) must be taken
into possession and cannot be culled or
released. Anglers must cease gigging
or snagging once they attain either a
paddlefish or shovelnose sturgeon daily

Q: May you clean your fish
while on the water?

part of the head or tail of any fish
for which there is a size or daily
limit until finished fishing and off

I
1
1
1
1
1
: 7&: Anglers shall not remove any
i
|
1
1
| the water.

limit. It is illegal to sell paddlefish and
shovelnose sturgeon or their roe taken
by gigging or sportfish snagging. Also,
when snagging, anglers may only har-
vest 1 trophy catfish per day and must
cease snagging once a trophy catfish (of
any species) is taken. When gigging, an
angler may take 1 trophy catfish of each
species per day. Regardless of condition,
all sport fish as well as alligator gar and
lake or pallid sturgeon taken by gigging
and snagging must be immediately re-
turned to the water.

SPECIAL REGULATIONS FOR

GREEN RIVER, ROLLING FORK

RIVER AND THEIR TRIBUTARIES

* Up to five single or five treble hooks
may be used for snagging.

SPECIAL REGULATIONS FOR
TENNESSEE RIVER (below
Kentucky Lake)

* Gigging is prohibited in the Tennes-
see River downstream of Kentucky
Dam year-round.

* 'The area from Kentucky Dam to the

new U.S. 62 bridge is open to snag-

ging 24 hours per day from January 1

through May 31 and from sunset to

sunrise from June 1 through Decem-

ber 31.

'The area from the I-24 bridge down-

stream to the Ohio River is open to

snagging year-round.

The area from the new U.S. 62 bridge

to the I-24 bridge is closed to snag-

ging year-round.

Snagging is prohibited under the U.S.

62 bridge, under the P&L railroad

bridge, and from any fishing pier or

jetty.

Daily snagging limit of 8 fish in ag-

gregate excluding invasive carp.

Sport fish harvest is allowed but an-

glers must cease snagging if the daily

limit of any sportfish with a daily
limit less than 8 fish is reached.

No size limit for snagged sport fish.

Snagged shad, herring or invasive carp

may be released, but all other species,

including paddlefish and sport fish
must be taken into possession and not
be culled, regardless of size.

SPECIAL REGULATIONS FOR

CUMBERLAND RIVER (helow Lake

Barkley)

* Gigging and snagging only permitted
downstream of U.S. 62 bridge.

* Harvest of sportfish prohibited
(snagged sportfish must be released).

* Non-traditional fishing methods
statewide size and daily limits apply
for all species.

* Snagged shad, herring or invasive carp
can be released, but all other species,
including paddlefish must be taken
into possession and not be culled.

GIGGING AND SNAGGING ARE
PROHIBITED IN THE FOLLOWING
WATERS OR AREAS:

* Cave Run Lake including all tribu-
taries up to the first riffle or upper
boundary as listed below. Lake upper
boundaries: Scott’s Creek to the KY
801 culvert; Beaver Creek to the
KY 1274 culvert; North Fork Creek
to the confluence of Craney Creek;
Ramey Creek to include pool of water
north of KY 801; Licking River to
KY 722 bridge.

* Cumberland River, below Wolf Creek
Dam downstream to the Tennes-
see line including all of Hatchery
Creek and all tributaries for % mile
upstream of their confluence with the
Cumberland River.

* Within 200 yards of a dam, except
below Kentucky Dam.

* Cumberland River, below Barkley
Dam downstream to the U.S. 62
bridge.

* Tennessee River, below Kentucky
Dam from the new U.S. 62 bridge to
1-24 bridge.

* Middle Fork of Kentucky River from
Buckhorn Lake downstream to the
Breathitt County line.

* Rough River, below Rough River
Dam to KY 54 bridge.

* In the Tennessee River below
Kentucky Dam, gigging prohibited
year-round.

BORDERING WATERS

Reciprocal fishing agreements
between Kentucky and its bordering
states have expired. Until further no-
tice, anglers fishing bordering waters
must hold a valid fishing license and
follow the regulations of the state in
which they are fishing. Efforts to re-
new these agreements will take time,
as they require KDFWR Commis-
sion approval and legislative review.
Visit the Kentucky Fish and Wildlife
website at fw.ky.gov for the latest in-
formation.



Angling means taking or attempting to
take fish by hook and line in hand, rod
in hand, jugging, set line or sport fishing
trotline.

Artificial baits are lures or flies made of
wood, metal, plastic, hair, feathers, pre-
served pork rind or similar inert materi-
als. In artificial bait-only waters, anglers
may not use organic baits including
dough bait, putty or pastes designed to
attract fish by taste or smell.
Authorization number is the number
assigned to a person in lieu of fishing or
hunting license when the license is pur-
chased over the phone or Internet.
Black bass includes largemouth, small-
mouth, Kentucky (spotted) and Coosa
bass.

Cathish: A catfish means a blue, chan-
nel or flathead catfish. Bullheads are not
included in this definition.

Culling: Replacing a live fish in the
daily limit with another fish of the same
species.

Daylight hours begin one-half hour be-
fore sunrise and end one-half hour after
sunset.

Daily limit means the maximum num-

DEFINITIONS

ber of a particular species or group of
species a person may legally take in one
(1) calendar day while fishing.

Fishing is taking or attempting to take
fish in any manner, whether or not fish
are in possession.

Lake means impounded waters, from
the dam upstream to the first riffle on the
main stem river and tributary streams or
as specified in regulation.

Length means the distance from the
front tip of a fish’s lower jaw with mouth
closed to the tip of its tail with the fish
laid flat on a rule with its tail lobes
squeezed together.

Organic baits are insects, minnows, fish
eggs, worms, corn, cheese, cut bait or
similar substances used as a lure.
Possession limit means the maximum
number of unprocessed fish a person
may hold after two (2) or more days of
fishing.

Regulation is an official rule of Ken-
tucky law applying to particular activi-
ties or circumstances.

Release means return of the fish, in the
best possible condition, immediately af-
ter removing the hook, to the water from

which it was taken in a place where the
fish’s immediate escape shall not be pre-
vented.

Resident is anyone who has established
permanent and legal residence in Ken-
tucky and residing here at least 30 days.
Rough fish are those fish species not
listed as sport fish in the regulation 301
KAR 1:060.

Size limit is the legal length a fish must
be if it is in possession. (Fish length
is measured from the tip of the closed
lower jaw to the tip of the tail with fish
laid flat on rule and tail lobes squeezed
together.)

Slot limit means fish within a speci-
fied minimum and maximum size range
must be released.

Single hook is a hook with only one
point.

Tenant is any resident sharecropper or
lessee who lives and works on farmland
owned by his/her landlord.

Trophy catfish is a blue or flathead cat-
fish 35 inches or longer or a channel cat-

fish 28 inches or longer.

Can grow up to 24” long
Completely aquatic
Not aggressive or poisonous

Long lived (up to 30 yrs.)

Kentucky Fish and Wildlife is very
interested in all location records for the
eastern hellbender. If you see this giant
salamander, please e-mail John MacGregor
(john.macgregor@ky.gov) or Michaela Rogers

(michaela.rogers@ky.gov) with location
information and a photograph, if possible.
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GENERAL INFORMATION

Kentucky is blessed with a myriad
of productive fishing waters with 17
major reservoirs, dozens of smaller,
state owned lakes, large rivers as well as
smaller streams perfect for floating. The
waters of Kentucky contain warm water
species such as largemouth bass, catfish
and crappie as well as cool water species
such as muskellunge, trout and walleye.
An angler can run the gamut of fishing
possibilities from catching slab crappie
from Kentucky Lake and Lake Barkley
in far western Kentucky to landing large
rainbow trout in the Cumberland River
below Lake Cumberland in southeast-
ern Kentucky.

Buy your Kentucky fishing license
and get in on the great fishing in our
state.

Use our Fisheries Biologists as your
guide to your next fishing spot. The
forecast provides anticipated fishing
success based on current fish surveys
and other historical data. Visit
fw.ky.gov to download your copy.

FISHING
TOURNAMENTS

Fishing event organizers are
strongly urged to use the Tournament
website at _fw.ky.gov to register and re-
port on their events. Tournament plan-
ners can avoid space conflicts with other
previously registered events by adjusting
the date, time, specific launch areas or
weigh-in site for their activities.

Other recreational anglers and
boaters can check the website to see
when and where fishing events are
scheduled. This will assist them in plan-
ning their activities and also help avoid
potential space conflicts. Additional per-
mits may be required by the U.S. Army
Corps of Engineers, the U.S. Forest Ser-
vice or Kentucky State Parks.

%. f f
Fishing tournaments involving more
than 100 boats must register with
the Division of Law Enforcement,
1-800-858-1549.

If the launch site for your tourna-
ment involves using a marina ramp,
please contact the marina operator be-
fore scheduling your tournament.

Check the Kentucky Fish and
Wildlife website at fw.&y.gov for more
information on tournaments and keep-
ing your bass alive.

HABITAT

The Kentucky Department of Fish
and Wildlife regularly creates and main-
tains fish attractors and habitat struc-
tures in lakes across Kentucky. The fish
habitat/attractors are made in a variety
of shapes and sizes and include mate-
rial from trees, rocks, logs, wooden pal-
lets, and even commercially made plastic
structures. These structures are typically
dense in nature with tree limbs and
shade producing cover. Rock piles and
gravel beds create spawning grounds for
many species and brush piles provide
much needed shelter for young fishes.
All of these structures also provide stable
substrates for the attachment of aquatic
plants that provide the basis of the food
chain in lakes. In general, more habitat
just means more fish.

Kentucky Fish and Wildlife also
collects trees for habitat with our an-
nual Christmas tree drive. Every year
after the holiday season, we collect and
recycle thousands of discarded natural
trees into brush piles for habitat.

All of the habitat sites created are
published and made available to the
public via Google Maps. They can be ac-
cessed by using the Find a Place to Fish
feature or on the Lakes with Fish At-
tractors page at fw.£y.gov.

The Lakes with Fish Attractors

NEED A PLACE TO FISH?

The Fish Boat KY app will help
inform anglers and boaters from
any place in Kentucky. A few
clicks on a cell phone will bring
users valuable information on
waterbodies, current fishing
reports, ramps and access sites,
fishing and boating regulations
as well as access to the Kentucky
Fish and Wildlife website. Use
the QR code above to access the
Fish Boat KY app webpage.

¢
A

page also has downloadable GPX files
for importing in to the depth finder of
your boat. Most brands of depth find-
ers will allow for upload of GPX files,
but you may have to consult your owners
manual. YouTube is also a good source
for instructional videos on how to im-
port and convert these files.

Once you know where the sites are,
fishing them can be rewarding. Lake
habitat sites will vary in depth and may
include areas in the backs of creeks, large
flats, small pockets, and even main lake
points. Many of these sites are located
away from the bank in deeper water, so
depth finders will help in identifying

these offshore locations.

Q: Can you sell fish caught
while possessing only a valid
Kentucky sport fishing license?

1
]
]
1
1
1
1
7&: No. It is illegal to sell any :
fish (except invasive carp) caught :
without the proper commercial 1
fishing license and gear. :


https://app.fw.ky.gov/TournamentManager/tournamentschedule.aspx
https://fw.ky.gov/Fish/Pages/fish_attractor_lakes.aspx
https://fw.ky.gov/Fish/Pages/Fish-Boat-KY-App.aspx
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FISH CONSUMPTION ADVISORIES

The Kentucky Departments for
Environmental Protection, Health Ser-
vices and Fish and Wildlife Resources
jointly issue a fish consumption advisory
to the public when fish are found con-
taminated. Trace contaminants such as
polychlorinated biphenyl (PCB), mer-
cury and chlordane are found in some
fish in Kentucky. An advisory cautions
people about potential health problems
that may result from eating fish caught
from a particular area. An advisory does
not ban eating fish; it is a guide to reduce
your risk. This guide provides informa-
tion on how often fish may be safely eat-
en. Most fish are healthy to eat and are
an excellent source of low-fat protein.

CONSUMPTION GUIDELINES

Consumption rates for specific fish
have been developed based on a meal of
Y5 pound of fish (before cooking) eaten
by a 150-pound individual. Following
these guidelines and spacing your meals
of those fish species will limit your
health risks by reducing your total expo-
sure. See table on the next page.

Fish consumption advisories now
delineate between predatory fish, bot-
tom feeder fish, panfish and other fish

species including invasive carp, trout,

Jf 4 i
Women of childbearing age, children
6 years of age or younger, pregnant
and nursing women and women who
plan to become pregnant should fol-
low the advisories in the “Sensitive
Population” category.

¢ S

REDUCE YOUR RISK

Risks from eating contaminated

fish can be reduced by the

following:

e fillet the fish, remove the skin
and trim all fat

* do not eat fish eggs

* broil, grill or bake the fillets in-
stead of frying or microwaving

¢ do not eat or reuse juices or fats
that cook out of the fish.

\ ’

¢

Kentucky anglers will oc-
casionally clean a fish and find a
white or yellowish color worm in
the fish’s flesh that is about the
size of a grain of rice. Or, when
stream fishing, an angler will
encounter a smallmouth bass or
sunfish with small black specks on
its belly or across its body.

This is a parasitic fluke that
requires different host animals to
complete its life cycle: a fish eating
bird, a snail and a fish. The grub
matures and produces eggs inside
a host fish-eating bird such as a
Great Blue Heron. The eggs enter
the water from the bird’s droppings

N\

PARASITES and GRUBS IN FISH

S

or from its mouth. The eggs hatch
and tiny larvae of the parasite
burrow into a snail. After a time
in the snail, the parasite changes
form and swims to its next host, a
fish. Inside the fish, the parasite
changes to a grub form and waits
for the fish to be eaten. Then, the
cycle repeats.

The angler’s first instinct is
to discard any fish with either
the grubs in the flesh or black
specks on the body. Grub-infested
fish are safe to eat. Grubs do not
infect people. Remove any grubs
found and prepare the fish as you
normally would.

4

minnows, etc. Predatory fish include
black bass (smallmouth, largemouth and
spotted), white bass, striped bass, hybrid
striped bass, sauger, saugeye, walleye,
muskellunge, flathead and blue catfish,
yellow bass, chain pickerel and all gars.
Panfish include bluegill, crap-
pie, rock bass as well as green, longear
and redear sunfish. Bottom feeder fish
include the bullheads, buffalo species,
channel catfish, common carp, redhorse
species, shovelnose sturgeon, drum,
creek chub as well as carpsuckers and
white, spotted and northern hog suckers.

STATEWIDE

All waters are under advisory for
mercury. Women of childbearing age
and children 6 years of age or younger
should eat no more than six meals per
year of predatory fish. They should eat
no more than one meal per month of
panfish, bottom feeder fish and no more
than one meal per week of fish in the
“other fish” category. The general popu-
lation should eat no more than one meal
per month of predatory fish and no more
than one meal per week of panfish and
bottom feeder fish. There is no advisory
for the general population for fish in the
“other fish” category. However, brown
trout over 17 inches are more predatory
and have the potential to build up higher

contaminant levels when compared to

smaller brown trout.

Organic mercury occurs naturally
in the environment and does not affect
swimmers, skiers or boaters. Fish accu-
mulate low levels of mercury by eating
plankton and other small aquatic crea-
tures.

In 2021, state officials began testing
fish from Kentucky waters to determine
the prevalence of PFAS or polyfluoro-
alkyl substances. These substances are
found in non-stick cookware, firefight-
ing foam, stain resistant carpets and
some food packaging and break down
slowly in the environment. PFAS chem-
icals can be found in water, air, soil, fish,
and wildlife and can build up in organ-
isms such as fish over time.

From 2021 to 2022, fish from seven
streams and a separate lake study were
tested for PFAS and all samples had
detectable levels of PFAS. Health offi-
cials are still evaluating the risks posed
by these chemicals. However, to lower
potential health risks from PFAS, of-
ficials recommend following the same
consumption guidelines for mercury
while consuming fish from Kentucky
waters. The Department for Environ-
mental Protection continues to monitor
and evaluate the occurrence of PFAS in

Kentucky.



FISH CONSUMPTION ADVISORIES

General Sensitive
NUMBER OF MEALS PER SPECIES Population  Population
Predatory fish (mercury and
PFAS) 1/month 6/year
STATEWIDE Bottom feeders and panfish 1week Vmonth
(mercury and PFAS)
Other fish (mercury and PFAS) No advisory 1/week
DRAKES CREEK (from dam on W. Fork at Franklin, ; )
KY downstream to confluence with Barren River) All species (PCE) No consumption
FISH LAKE, Ballard Co.
(from lake headwaters to outflow of Shawnee Creek) Bottom feeders (mercury) 1/month blyear
FISHTRAP LAKE, Pike Co. (from VA/KY state line to | Bottom feeders and hybrid 1/month bfyear
Fishtrap Lake dam) striped bass (PCB) y
GREEN RIVER LAKE (from lake headwaters to dam) ?ngttﬁ:r;)feeders PEE e 1/month 6/year
Flathead catfish (PCB and )
No consumption
mercury)
KNOX CREEK, Pike Co. No
(from VA/KY state line to Tug Fork River) Bottom feeders (PCB) blyear consumption
Predatory fish (PCB) and panfish
(PCB and mercury) 1/month blyear
LITTLE BAYOU CREEK, McCracken Co. All species (PCB) No consumption
METROPOLIS LAKE, McCracken Co. All species (PCB and mercury) No consumption
MUD RIVER, Logan Co. Bottom feeders (PCB) No consumption
(from headwaters to Wolf Lick Creek) Predatory fish and panfish (PCB) 1/month 6/year
MUD RIVER, Butler and Muhlenberg cos. Bottom feeders (PCB) 1/month 6/year
(from Wolf Lick Creek to Green River) Panfish (PCB) 1/week 1/month
TOWN BRANCH, Logan Co. All species (PCB) No consumption
The Ohio River has different advisories than other Kentucky waters.
Any fish species not listed in the table below falls under a 1 meal per week advisory for mercury.
Common carp (PCB) 1/month 1/month
Channel catfish under 18 inches long (PCB) 1/month 1/month
Channel catfish 18 inches and longer (PCB) 6/year 6/year
OHdI(IJVI?;\[:EE’I:’EP:CE: Flathead catfish (PCB) 1/month 1/month
an . - -
(Mouth of the Big Sandy Strllped and hybrid striped bass (PCB) 6/year 6/year
River to J.T. Meyers L&D) White bass (PCB) 1/month 1/month
All suckers (PCB) 1/month 1/month
Freshwater drum (PCB) 1/month 1/month
Black bass (largemouth, smallmouth and spotted) (mercury) 1/month 1/month
Common carp 22 inches and longer (PCB) 1/month 1/month
Blue catfish 20 inches and longer (PCB) 1/month 1/month
Channel catfish 18 inches and longer (PCB) 1/month 1/month
E:\IA(I)E%I\I;EITCH Flathead catfish (PCB and mercury) 1/month 1/month
(J.T. Meyers L&D to mouth Strl-ped and hybrid striped bass (PCB and mercury) 1/month 1/month
of Ohio River) White bass (mercury) 1/month 1/month
Freshwater drum 14 inches and longer (mercury) 1/month 1/month
Black bass (largemouth, smallmouth and spotted) (mercury) 1/month 1/month
Sauger (mercury) 1/month 1/month
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ANGLER’S FISH IDENTIFICATION GUIDE

BLUEGILL ROCK BASS
1. Gill flap black, 2. Vertical bars on side, 3. Dark 1. Eye rimmed in red, 2. Most scales have a dark spot,
blotch at rear of soft dorsal fin 3. Anal fin has five or six spines

REDEAR SUNFISH ' SMALLMOUTH BASS

1. Gill flap black with orange or red margin, 1. Upper jaw does not extend beyond back of eye, 2. Shallow
2. No dark blotch at rear of soft dorsal fin notch between dorsal fins, 3. Bronze colored with vertical bars
on side

: - LARGEMOUTH BASS
WHITE CRAPPIE 1. Upper jaw extends beyond back of eye, 2. Dorsal
1. Dorsal fin has five or six spines, 2. Vertical bars on side fins separated by deep notch

SPOTTED BASS
1. Upper jaw does not extend beyond back of eye,
BLACK CRAPPIE 2. Shallow notch between dorsal fins, 3. Rows of dark
1. Dorsal fin has seven or eight spines, 2. Irregular spots below lateral line, 4. Single tooth patch on tongue
black blotches on side

Rick Hill illustrations



FLATHEAD CATFISH

1. Lower jaw projects far beyond upper jaw, 2. Tail fin not
deeply forked, 3. Head is compressed on flathead catfish

CHANNEL CATFISH

1. Outer margin of anal fin rounded, with 24 to 29 rays,
2. Dark spots usually on body, 3. Tail fin deeply forked

HYBRID STRIPED BASS
1. Tooth patch on tongue consists of two rows of teeth,
often partially joined, 2. Back moderately arched,
3. Most stripes are broken, many more than once

STRIPED BASS

1. Tooth patch on tongue consists of two distinctly
split, parallel rows of teeth, 2. Back slightly
arched, more streamlined, 3. Stripes very distinct
and most extend fully onto tail

N

BLUE CATFISH

1. Outer margin of anal fin straight, with 30 to 35 rays,
2. Body without dark spots, 3. Tail fin deeply forked

LAKE STURGEON

1. Short cone-shaped snout, 2. Short caudal peduncle, WHITE BASS
3. Rows of bony plates (scutes) 1. Single tooth patch on tongue, 2. Back arched,

3. Stripes often faint and irregular

ALLIGATOR GAR

1. Short, broad snout when compared to other gar species,
2. Numerous large teeth, 3. Heavy body and large size
(adults can reach 9 feet and 300 pounds)

Lake sturgeon and alligator gar may not be harvested statewide.

Alligator gar are part of a restoration effort in western Kentucky. YELLOW BASS
Lake sturgeon are part of a restoration effort in the upper reaches 1. No tooth patch on tongue, 2. Second and

of Lake Cumberland. If you see or catch these fish, please report third anal spines nearly same length, 3. Stripes
the catch or sighting to Matt Thomas at (502) 892-4463. distinct and broken above anal fin
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SAUGER

1. Rows of dark spots on spiny dorsal fin, 2. No dark
blotch at rear of spiny dorsal fin, 3. Dark saddle-like
blotches which extend onto the sides of the body

WALLEYE

1. Dark streaks or blotches on spiny dorsal fin, but not
distinct spots, 2. Dark blotch at rear of spiny, dorsal fin,

3. White spot on lower lobe of tail fin

SAUGEYE

1. Intermediate in appearance between walleye and sauger,
2. May have dark streaks or blotches on spiny dorsal fin,
3. Dark blotches on side, but smaller than those on sauger

MUSKELLUNGE

1. Duck-like bill with sharp teeth, 2. No scales on
lower half of cheek and gill flap

AQUATIC NUISANCE SPECIES

INVASIVE CARP

Four species of invasive carps (big-
head, silver, black and grass) are repro-
ducing and threaten Kentucky’s aquatic
ecology. These fish may outcompete na-

tive fishes for forage and their popula-
tions in some areas are expanding at an
alarming rate. KDFWR supports com-
mercial fishing of invasive carps (301
KAR 1:152 Harvest and sale of invasive

carp). There are restrictions on the use of
live-caught shad and herring to prevent
the movement of invasive carp. Do Not
Move Carp - Learn more about invasive

carp at fw.ky.gov.

e

SILVER CARP
1. Eye located below midline of head, 2. Keel
extending from the anus to the origin of the pectoral
fins, 3. Silvery in color, very small scales.

BIGHEAD CARP
1. Eye located below midline of head, 2. Keel
extending from the anus to the middle of the pelvic
fins, 3. Dark gray body with blotches, very small scales.

BLACK CARP
1. Body shape similar to grass carp, 2. Pharyngeal
teeth (teeth in the throat) look like human molars,
3. Large scales and dark in color

GRASS CARP

1. Large, dark-edged scales, 2. Mouth terminally
located and lacks barbels, 3. Color is dark olive above,
with greenish-yellow sides, and white belly


https://fw.ky.gov/Fish/Pages/Invasive-Carp-Information.aspx

It the law

No live fish, live minnow, or live
bait organisms not native or estab-
lished in Kentucky (except aquarium
species) shall be bought, sold, pos-
sessed, imported, or in any way used
or released into Kentucky waters.

ECONOMIC IMPACTS

Economic impacts can include
increased costs to businesses and indi-
viduals due to interference with normal
operations or infrastructure. In addition,
tourism dollars are lost when recreation-
al experiences such as hunting, hiking,
fishing, swimming, and boating are no
longer possible or pleasant. For example,
invasive zebra mussels (Dreissena poly-
morpha) and quagga mussels (Dreissena
bugensis) clog pipes, cover shoreline ac-
cess, and encrust boat hulls and motors.
Their impacts alone have cost the U.S.
billions of dollars in damage control.

ECOLOGICAL IMPACTS
Aquatic nuisance species ecologi-
cal impacts include the degradation of

ruubance bpeciel

If you have questions or think you
have observed an aquatic nuisance
species, contact Jeff Herod at (270)
978-5377 or jeffrey.herod@ky.gov.
Information provided in your report
should include a location, contact
phone and email, and a photograph.

native habitats and ecosystem function,
reduced abundance of native species,
and the loss of biodiversity (the com-
munity of unique organisms within
specific habitats). Consider the invasive
aquatic weed hydrilla (Hydrilla verticil-
lata). Hydrilla is a submerged plant that
spreads rapidly while choking out native
vegetation and altering the physical and
chemical composition of the lakes and
ponds where it is introduced.
This can lead to reduced forag-
ing habitat, alter the flow and
mixing of the water column,
and disrupt access for boating,
fishing, swimming, and even
block the withdrawal of wa-
ter for agricultural irrigation
or power generation in many
water bodies.

WHAT YOU CAN DO
Anglers and Water
Recreationists

* Clean your boat, trailer, anchor, and
other items that may have been sub-
merged in water.

* Do not move fish you caught to new
lakes, streams, or ponds.

* Empty the water from the vessel, live
well and buckets before leaving the
boat ramp.

* Do not dump leftover bait! Dispose
of unwanted bait, including min-
nows, leeches, crayfish and worms, in
the trash. Dumping of bait is a major
pathway that allows nuisance species
to spread between waterways.

Aquarium and Water Garden
Owners
Do not release or dump pet fish,

plants, or live bait. Your action could be

harmful to native fish and wildlife. Some

alternatives to release include:

* Give/trade with another aquarist or
water gardener.

* Donate to a local aquarium society,
school, or aquatic business.

* Contact a veterinarian or pet retailer
for guidance on humane disposal of
animals.

DIDYMO

Didymo (Didymosphenia germinate)
has been documented in the Cumber-
land River. This invasive species is a white,
gray, light brown, or beige mass that
forms thick mats covering the rocks and
stream bottom. This crowds native insects
that trout feed on. Clean Drain Dry for
gear. Remove algae and plant material
from your gear. Clean with water or a 2%
bleach solution and dry for 2 days.

STOP AQUATIC
N HITCHHIKERS!

Be A Good Steward. Clean. Drain. Dry.
StopAquaticHitchhikers.org

¢ N
: DON'T MOVE FISH! ALABAMA BASS: ATHREAT TO BASS POPULATIONS :
: The Alabama bass is native to bass rarely get larger than 1-2 pounds Research in other states sug- :
1 the Mobile River Basin in Alabama, outside of their native range. gests that even introducing small 1
I Georgia, and Mississippi. They look Alabama bass will readily hybrid-  numbers of Alabama bass can lead !
I nearly identical to native "Kentucky" ize with smallmouth bass and spotted to a collapse in the native bass 1
: spotted bass but pose a major threat bass and have nearly eliminated those numbers in less than 10 years. Once :
;1o the bass fisheries in Kentucky. Ala-  species through genetic mixing in established, no state has success- 1
1 bama bass have rapidly displaced and invaded lakes. For example, an Ala- fully been able to reduce Alabama 1
1 outcompeted the native largemouth bama bass introduction would mean a bass numbers or their negative ef- 1
I' bass in areas of North Carolina, total loss of Kentucky’s official state fects on native bass populations. To !
: Georgia, Tennessee, Virginia, and fish, the “Kentucky”” spotted bass or prevent the introduction of Alabama :
I South Carolina where they have been  potentially the loss of the premier bass into Kentucky, do not move any I
1 illegally introduced by anglers hoping  smallmouth bass fishery at Dale Hol- bass species between waterbodies. It
1 for trophy fish. Instead, Alabama low Lake. is illegal! 1
N ’
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TROUT WATERS

BROWN TROUT

1. Dark spots and orange or red spots with blue halos,

2. Few spots on tail fin

RAINBOW TROUT

1. Pink to red stripe on side, 2. Back and sides heavily
speckled, 3. Spots on tail fin

TAILWATERS

The following tailwaters receive
rainbow and brown trout. Stocking
begins in spring and continues into
the late fall; monthly totals will vary.
Monthly schedules are available through
Kentucky Fish and Wildlife by call-
ing 1-800-858-1549 or logging on to
Jw.ky.gov.

Leave a note

When planning a boating trip, leave
a note, or float plan, with someone
to let them know where you are.
Include your departure and expected
return times, the waters where you
will be boating, a description and/
or license number of the vessel and
where you can be reached in case of
emergency.

BROOK TROUT

1. Worm-like markings (vermiculations) on upper body,

2. Pale spots on dark background

(s -
e :
\%:_]

CUTTHROAT TROUT

1. Orange/red “slash” on lower jaw, 2. May have pink hue
along centerline, but typically pale, 3. Spots may be more
concentrated towards rear of fish

TROUT STOCKING

L

A,
B

i

Total Rainbows | Total Browns Months
Buckhorn 5,000 0 4,5,6,10,11
Carr Creek 4,000 0 4,5,10,11
Cave Run 6,000 0 4,5,6,10,11
Cumberland* 192,400 42,000 3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10,11,12
Dewey 4,000 0 4,5,10,11
Fishtrap 10,000 0 4,5,6,10,11
Grayson 5,000 0 4,5,6,10,11
Herrington 4,500 300 3,5,6,7,8,11
Laurel River 500 250 3,4,5,6,10
Martins Fork 3,750 0 4,5,6,10,11
Nolin River 8,000 250 3,4,5,6,7,9,10,11
Paintsville 14,000 4,5,6,7,9,10,11
Taylorsville 3,000 4,5,6,11
Yatesville 3,000 4,5,10,11

*Stocking dates for Cumberland River (Lake Cumberland tailwater) will not be
announced. Also, brook trout are stocked in March and cutthroat trout in early fall.




The streams listed on the following
pages are stocked with rainbow trout by
the Kentucky Department of Fish and
Wildlife Resources (KDFWR) and the
U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service during
the months indicated. Brown trout are
stocked once each year in some streams

STREAMS

for a put-grow-take fishery. All trout are
produced at Wolf Creek National Fish
Hatchery. Visit fw.ky.gov for a list of
monthly trout stockings.

CATCH and RELEASE STREAMS

Some streams indicated in the ta-

ble have a catch and release season (no
harvest) from Oct. 1 through March 31.
During the catch and release season,
only artificial baits shall be used and all
trout caught must be immediately re-
leased.

courty | g, | Months [ o | Eten ang e
Bark Camp Creek* Whitley 3,750 3,4,5,6,10 500 Oct. 1 - March 31; 3.9 miles
Oct. 1 - March 31; Hwy 90 bridge
Beaver Creek Wayne 1,500 4,5,10 upstream to Hwy 200 bridge —
2.8 miles
Big Bone Creek Boone 1,600 3,4,10,12 gcc)i;elL-ic'\lilaSrtj]L: ;a 'rzs'_d;tlh;ﬁg
Big Caney Creek Elliott 2,500 4,5,10 250
Black Lick Creek Logan 1,250 3,5,6,7,10
Cane Creek* Laurel 3,750 3,4,5,6,10 Oct. 1 - March 31; 6.6 miles
Casey Creek Trigg 8,000 2,4,5,6,7,8,9,10 Oct. 1 - March 31; 3.6 miles
Chimney Top Creek* Wolfe 450 9
Clear Creek Bell 1,200 4,10 Oct. 1 - March 31; Hwy 190 bridge
down stream to mouth — 4.5 miles
Craney Creek* Rowan 1,000 9
East Fork, Indian Creek* Menifee 4,000 3,4,5,9 400 Oct. 1 - March 31; 5.3 miles
East Fork, Little Sandy River Boyd 2,400 3,4,10
Elk Spring Creek Wayne 1,600 4,5,6,10 Oct. 1 - March 31; 2.8 miles
Oct. 1 - March 31; US 60
Floyds Fork Jefferson 12,000 2,3,4,10,11,12 downstream to US 15(’) 20 miles
Fort Campbhell Christian 2,400 2,4 3,250
Greasy Creek Leslie 900 4,11
Gunpowder Creek Boone 1,600 3,4,10,12 Oct. 1 - March 31; 1.5 miles
Hatchery Creek (upper) Russell 32,100 monthly
Jennings Creek Warren 7,000 3,5,6,7,8,9,10 500
Laurel Creek Elliott 2,750 4,5,10 250
Looney Creek Harlan 1,500 4,5,10 700
Lynn Camp Creek Hart 2,500 4,5,6,7,10
Middle Fork, Red River* Powell/Wolfe 2,700 3,4,5,9
North Fork, Triplett Creek* Rowan 1,050 3,4,5
R L3 R S L Meade 6,500 34,5,9,10,11 (E;:f))l?t Mﬁfﬁaiy_lxsg:\?afii; Ztr.10||<8(t)t);r
Otter Creek ORA 6,250 1,3,4,5,10,11 only) Croek ORA — 9.7 miles
Right Fork, Beaver Creek Floyd 2,000 4,5,10,11
Right Fork, Buffalo Creek Owsley 500 4,5
3456910 Oct. 1 - March 31; Tennessee
Rock Creek* McCreary 15,125 e border downstream to Bell Farm
11,12 bridge — 9.8 miles
Round Stone Creek Hart 2,800 3,5,6,7,8,9,10 200
Russell Fork Pike 2,250 4,5,10
Sinking Creek Breckinridge 1,200 4,511
Station Camp Creek Estill 750 4

SYILVM 1N0AL
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*Daniel Boone National Forest stream; stockings are not announced.

LAKES

The lakes below are stocked with rainbow trout in the months indicated. January-
March stockings are scheduled based on weather and road conditions. See FINs
lakes trout stocking table on page 6.

‘n STATEWIDE STREAMS Total Total Catch and Release
(continued) O Rainbows Lololi Browns (No Harvest) Season
z Sturgeon Creek Lee 400 4
m Sulphur Spring Creek Simpson 3,000 3,5,6,7,8,9,10 200
. Oct. 1 - March 31; within Clifty
* 7
h Swift Camp Creek Wolfe 1,000 3.9 Wilderness Area — 8.0 miles
< Trammel Creek Allen 7,000 3,5,6,7,8,9,10 600 Oct. 1 - March 31 — 4.4 miles
Triplett Creek Rowan 1,200 3,4,5
; War Fork* Jackson 2,500 3,4,5,6,10
West Hickman Creek
(Veteran’s Park) Fayette 1,000 2,10
I Wolf Creek Martin 2,000 4,11

OTHER AREAS

FORT CAMPBELL and
FORT KNOX

Little West Fork and Fletch-
ers Fork on Fort Campbell (Ten-

nessee portion) and Otter Creek on
Fort Knox (Bullitt, Meade and Har-

din counties) military reservations

are stocked with rainbow or brown

trout. Special fishing regulations apply

and a post fishing permit is required

in addition to a valid Kentucky fish-

ing license and trout permit. Con-
tact Community Recreation Divi-

sion, Hunting and Fishing Unit, Fort
Campbell, KY 42223-5000; phone:

(270) 798-9824. For Fort Knox, log on

to _ftknox.isportsman.net.

CATCH and RELEASE
BROOK TROUT

* Shillalah Creek — Bell County, out-

side the Cumberland Gap National

Historic Park is catch and release

only year-round, and only artificial

flies and lures with a single hook

may be used.

s | 324 |
Bert Combs Lake 36 4,000 1,4,5,10
Beulah Lake 87 4,000 1,4,5,10
Boulder Pond, Parklands 1 800 3,10
Cannon Creek Lake 243 9,000* 2,3,10
Cranks Creek Lake 219 5,000 1,4,5,10
Eagle Lake 19 2,000 2,3,10,11
Fagan Branch Lake 126 2,500% 3,11
Fishpond Lake 32 4,000 1,4,5,10
Grant’s Branch Lake 22 4,500 1,3,11
Greenbo Lake 181 13,000* 2,10
Highsplint Lake 6 2,250 1,10
Ky. River WMA Boone Tract, Six Acre Lake 6 2,000 2,10
Laurel River Lake 5,600 | 6,000%* 3
Martin Co. (Milo) Lake 5 2,750 2,11
Metcalfe Co. Lake 22 500 3
Mill Creek Lake 41 6,000 1,3,5,10
Morton’s Lake, Higginson/Henry WMA 1 500 2
Paintsville Lake 1,139 | 14,000* 2,3
Panbowl Lake 75 6,000 3,10
Peabody WMA, Access Pond 1 2,250 1,11
Peabody WMA, Flycatcher Pond 1 1,500 1,11
Peabody WMA, Rob’s Pond 11 1,500 1,11
Pikeville City Lake 24 2,500 3,11
Sandy Watkins Park Lake 3 1,000 2,10
Wood Creek Lake 672 8,000 2,10
Vastwood Park Lake 20 3,000 1,10,11

* Total trout includes brown trout

getpm&%m Many of the streams listed in this guide are located on, or adjacent to, privately owned lands.
Anyone entering upon or crossing private property must have the permission of the land owner.
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Anglers who catch, by pole and line,
any fish species meeting the minimum
length requirements shown on this page
may qualify for the Trophy Fish/Master
Angler Awards Program. When an an-
gler submits their first qualifying trophy
fish, they will receive an initial Trophy
Fish Award patch and sticker as well as
a Fish Species patch and sticker depict-
ing the species caught. The self-printable
Trophy Fish certificate will be available
on the angler’s My Profile account. For
each additional submission of qualify-
ing trophy fish of a different species, an
angler will receive a Fish Species patch
and sticker for those fish. Additional
fish of the same species will not receive
additional patches and stickers, but the
angler may still print out a Trophy Fish
certificate for each qualifying fish.

After an angler submits their third
different species of qualifying fish and
it is approved, they are eligible to apply
for the coveted Master Angler Award.
Anglers will receive the Master An-
gler Award patch and sticker as well as
the ability to print the Master Angler
Award certificate. There is no time limit
in which the three different species must
be caught, but each catch must be docu-

Rachel Cummings photo

TROPHY FISH/MASTER ANGLER AWARD PROGRAM

Minimum
ELIGIBLE SPECIES length
Blue Catfish 35"
Bluegill 10"
Bowfin 25"
Brook Trout 15"
Brown Trout 20"
Bullhead Catfish 14"
Common Carp 35"
Chain Pickerel 24"
Channel Catfish 28"
Crappie 15"
Flathead Catfish 35"
Freshwater Drum 25"
Gar 40"

mented and registered as a trophy fish
with Kentucky Fish and Wildlife since
the program began in 1987.

Anglers will apply for Trophy Fish
and Master Angler awards through their
My Profile account on fw.ky.gov. Each
submission must include a clear, identi-
fiable photograph of the fish (side view)
and fish submissions must be received
within 60 days of the catch to qualify
for the respective award(s). The depart-
ment may use submitted photos for pro-

Hybrid Striped Bass 23"
Kentucky (Spotted) .
Bass 16

Largemouth Bass 22"
Muskellunge 40"
Rainbow Trout 20"
Redear Sunfish 10"
Redbreast Sunfish 10"
Rock Bass 10"
Sauger 18"
Saugeye 23"
Smallmouth Bass 20"
Striped Bass 36"
Walleye 25"
White Bass 16"
Yellow Perch 10”

motional purposes. Fish from pay lakes,
hatcheries, or taken from commercial
propagation facilities are not eligible.

Submissions are reviewed through-
out the month, and you will receive an
email notification once it’s reviewed.
Patches and stickers will be mailed out
after approval.

Complete details are available by
calling 1-800-858-1549 or online at

Jw.ky.gov.
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STATE RECORD FISH PROGRAM

To qualify for the state record fish
program, fish must be caught in Ken-
tucky waters by a rod and reel or pole
and line only and weigh a minimum of
0.10 pounds. Fish taken on commercial
gear, by trotlines, limb lines, jugging,
gigging, snagging, by hand or bow fish-

ing are not eligible.

Fish need to be weighed on a scale
certified for legal trade and witnessed by
three people who must sign the record
application. The intact fish (not filleted,
gutted or cut up) must be identified in
person by a KDFWR fishery biologist

or the manager of Wolf Creek National
Fish Hatchery.

Applications for the state record
fish program are available by calling
1-800-858-1549 or online at fw.£y.gov
or from your District Fisheries Office
listed below.

WESTERN FISHERY DISTRICT
Adam Martin or Nick Simpson
Murray, (270) 753-3886

NORTHWESTERN FISHERY DISTRICT
Jeremy Shiflet or Maddy Ruble
Calhoun, (270) 273-3117

SOUTHWESTERN FISHERY DISTRICT
Eric Cummins or Kayla Boles
Bowling Green, (270) 746-7127

CENTRAL FISHERY DISTRICT
Jett Crosby or David Baker
Frankfort, (502) 892-4464

NORTHEASTERN FISHERY
DISTRICT

Tom Timmermann or Nathan Hayes

Morehead, (606) 783-8650

EASTERN FISHERY DISTRICT
Jason Russell or Emily Watling
Prestonsburg, (606) 889-1705

SOUTHEASTERN FISHERY
DISTRICT

Marcy Anderson or Bradley Hartman
Somerset, (606) 677-4096

MINOR CLARK FISH HATCHERY
Rod Middleton, Pete Besant or
Scott Barrett

Morehead, (606) 783-8650

PFEIFFER FISH HATCHERY
Noah Nelson, Graham Howell or
Andy Redden

Frankfort, (502) 564-4957

WOLF CREEK NATIONAL FISH
HATCHERY
James Gray, (270) 343-3797

m Weight Caught By Location Date
ANCIENT FISH
Bowfin 15.08 Ibs. Norman Moran, Lexington, KY Green River 05/31/99
Longnose Gar 40 lbs. Kelsie Travis, Jr., Paducah, KY Ohio River 08/08/56
Paddlefish (Spoonhill) 106 lbs. William Chumbler, Calvert City, KY Ohio River 03/23/04
Lake Sturgeon (current
regulations do not allow 36.5 lbs. Barney Frazier, Corbin, KY Lake Cumberland 10/03/54
harvest of Lake Sturgeon)
BLACK BASS
Kentucky (Spotted) Bass 7.63 Ibs. A.E. Sellers, Louisville, KY Private lake, Nelson Co. 06/13/70
Largemouth Bass 14.59 Ibs. Mark Ward, Evarts, KY Highsplint Lake 04/19/19
Smallmouth Bass* 11.94 lIbs. David L. Hayes, Leitchfield, KY Dale Hollow Lake 07/09/55
Coosa Bass 1.21 lbs. Seth Goodin, Smith, KY Martins Fork River 05/25/13
TEMPERATE BASS
Striped Bass (Rockfish) 58.25 lbs. Roger Foster, Somerset, KY Lake Cumberland 12/11/85
Hybrid Striped Bass 20.5 lbs. Mark Wilson, Louisville, KY Barren River 04/27/91
White Bass 5 lbs. (TIE) Lorne Eli, D.awson Springs, KY Ken*.tucky Lake 07/11/43
B.B. Hardin, Mt. Eden, KY Herrington Lake 06/03/57
Yellow Bass 1.4 Ibs. William Hinton, Central City, KY Cumberland River, 03/19/09
Lake Barkley tailwaters
CARP/SUCKER
Bighead Carp 65.06 Ibs. Eddie Young, Versailles, KY Kentucky River 07/18/20
Blue Sucker 8.34 lbs. Stacy L. Boik, Evansville, IN Ohio River 11/22/09
Buffalo (Smallmouth) 55 lbs. Clinton Roby, Waddy, KY Kentucky Lake 03/23/00
Common Carp 54.88 Ibs. Ricky Vance, Paris, KY South Fork, Licking River 03/13/71
Creek Chub 0.59 lbs Joshua Scott, Louisville, KY Otter Creek, Hardin Co. 03/26/06




Weight Caught By Location Date
Golden Redhorse 4.31 lbs. Leif Meadows, Stanton, KY Red River 04/22/98
Grass Carp 58.5 Ibs. Robert Marsh, Erlanger, KY Cemetary Lake, Kenton Co. 06/17/09
Northern Hog Sucker 1.75 Ibs. Larry Salchli, Stanton, KY Slate Creek, Bath Co. 04/07/05
River Redhorse 9.06 Ibs. Denny Hatfield, London, KY Rockcastle River 09/20/03
Silver Carp 17.34 Ibs. Brian Montgomery, Louisville, KY Ohio River 02/27/23
Silver Redhorse 5.38 lbs. Justin Collins, London, KY Rockcastle River 04/17/10
White Sucker 1.63 Ibs. Larry Salchli, Stanton, KY Slate Creek, Montgomery Co. | 03/19/98
CATFISH
Blue Catfish 106.9 Ibs. Glynn Grogan, Arlington, KY Ohio River 10/20/18
Bullhead Catfish 5.5 Ibs. Randy Kirk, Maysville, KY Private Pond, Mason County | 07/06/13
Channel Catfish 32 Ibs. Kyle Estep, South Point, OH Ohio River 05/26/04
Flathead Catfish 97 Ibs. Esker Carroll Green River 06/06/56
White Catfish 5.27 lbs. Ethen Vest, Frankfort, KY Guist Creek Lake 10/11/16
DRUM
Freshwater Drum 42.81 lbs. | Alan Cooper, Morgantown, KY | Dale Hollow Lake | 04/26/21
HERRING
Skipjack Herring 3.10 lbs. | Joey Dixon, Elizabethtown, KY | Ohio River | 04/14/06
MOONEYE
Goldeye 2.64 |bs. Mark Smith, Lexington, KY Kentucky River 04/21/01
Mooneye 0.63 lbs. Samir Bajric, Bowling Green, KY Barren River 08/23/19
PERCH
Sauger 7.44 lbs. Rastie Andrew, Jamestown, KY Cumberland River 04/28/83
Saugeye 9.03 lbs. Wolfgang Kratzenberg, Verona, KY Bullock Pen Lake 03/21/21
Walleye 21.5 lbs. Abe Black, Shaker Heights, OH Lake Cumberland 10/01/58
Yellow Perch 1.44 lbs. Klint Thaxton, Ashland, IL Kentucky Lake 03/12/10
PIKE
Chain Pickerel 5.38 lbs. Tommy Thompson, Bardwell, KY Forked Lake, Carlisle Co. 07/08/83
Grass Pickerel 0.63 Ibs. Gerald Gallagher, Louisville, KY Wilson Creek, Bullitt Co. 07/17/89
Muskellunge 47 Ibs. Sarah Terry, Mt. Sterling, KY Cave Run Lake 11/02/08
Northern Pike 10.53 Ibs. Derek Cowden, Corbin, KY Laurel River Lake 10/29/06
.(rl:;::kh::;j:; Hybrid) 19.56 lbs. Wayne Joslin, Winchester, KY Private lake, Clark Co. 04/25/07
SUNFISH
Bluegill 4.19 lbs. Phil Conyers, Madisonville, KY Strip Mine Lake, Hopkins Co. | 08/05/80
Crappie (White or Black) 4.87 lbs. Penny Hopper, Crofton, KY Watershed Lake, Christian Co. | 05/08/05
Green Sunfish 1.59 Ibs. David Gibson, Hawesville, KY Farm pond, Hancock Co. 05/20/13
Longear Sunfish 0.83 Ibs. Anthony Lynch, Salyersville, KY Strip Mine Pond, Magoffin Co. | 06/23/94
Redbreast Sunfish 0.88 lbs. Tim King, Stearns, KY Marsh Creek, McCreary Co. | 09/01/97
Redear Sunfish 3.06 lbs. Betty Truax, Finchville, KY Farm pond, Shelby Co. 05/24/82
Rock Bass 1.63 lbs. H.S. White, Cadiz, KY Casey Creek, Trigg Co. 05/26/75
Warmouth 1.39 Ibs. Jon Hoover, Louisville, KY Private pond, Jefferson Co. 07/21/03
TROUT
Brook Trout 3.65 lbs. Wyatt Hoefer, Louisville, KY Cumberland River 03/15/15
Brown Trout 21 lbs. Thomas Malone, Crofton, KY Cumberland River 04/30/00
Lake Trout 5.31 lbs. John McDonogh, Jeffersontown, KY Cumberland River 04/04/83
Rainbow Trout 14.38 lbs. Jim Mattingly, Somerset, KY Cumberland River 09/10/72

Note: Line class records are not maintained by the KDFWR.

* All tackle world record
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BOATING

BOATING REGULATIONS

INTRODUCTION

This publication provides basic
information for most boaters and an-
swers the most commonly asked ques-
tions. However, it is not all inclusive.
For further information, please con-
tact the Division of Law Enforcement,
#1 Sportsman’s Lane, Frankfort, KY
40601 or call 1-800-858-1549.

For emergencies, game wardens
may be contacted by dialing 1-800-252-
5378, or local law enforcement agency
or through the nearest Kentucky State
Police post. One may use marine chan-
nel 16 to contact a local marina.

REGISTRATION

(301 KAR 6:001, 6:010)

All mechanically powered vessels
used primarily in this state must have a
Kentucky registration. Boats are regis-
tered at the county clerk’s office. Persons
may register in the county of their resi-
dence or the county of principal use. Boat
registrations expire April 30 each year.

Boats registered in other states may
be used for up to 60 consecutive days in
Kentucky without registering here.

All boats operated in Kentucky
must have the registration certificate
on board. Boats that are rented from a
marina or boat livery must have a lease
agreement on board.

DISPLAY OF NUMBER and DECAL

Once boats are assigned a registra-
tion number and decals, they must be
displayed correctly. The number assigned,
and no other, shall be displayed on the
bow, or forward half, of each side of the
vessel, read from left to right, and in a
position to be distinctly visible. The let-
ters and numbers must be of a plain block
design, at least three (3) inches in height,
and of a color that will provide maximum
contrast to the background (light num-
bers on a dark hull or vice versa).

There must be a letter size space be-

Class A Vessels (less than 16’ in length) $21.00
Class 1 Vessels (16’ to less than 26’ in length) $40.00
Class 2 Vessels (26’ to less than 40 in length) $50.00
Class 3 Vessels (over 40’ in length) $65.00
Inboard hoats (regardless of size) $43.00
Boats propelled by an electric (trolling) motor only $10.00

applicable charges. (301 KAR 6:005)

The above costs do not include property taxes, clerks fees, titling fees or any other

PROPER DISPLAY OF
NUMBERS AND DECALS

Registration decal

—

tween letter and number groups:

Correct: KY 1234 AA
Incorrect: KY1234AA

Registration decals are to be placed
within six inches behind (aft) and in line
with the registration number. Upon renew-
al every year, old registration decals are to
be removed and the current ones applied.

TRANSFER,DESTRUCTION OR
ABANDONMENT

When ownership of a currently
registered boat changes, it is the respon-

sibility of the purchaser to take the en-
dorsed title to the county clerk and have
the boat transferred into the name of the
new owner. This procedure must be done
upon completion of the transaction.

Whenever a vessel is transferred,
the seller shall, within 15 days, give the
county clerk notice of the transfer of his
interest in the vessel.

Whenever a vessel is destroyed or
abandoned, the owner shall, within 15
days, give notice to the county clerk to
terminate the registration. The owner
shall remove the numbers and decals
from the vessel.



BOAT, MOTOR and LAKE USAGE

%ﬁaxtdeﬂmg waters
Kentucky boaters on the Ohio River
may also be subject to the laws of

Ohio, Indiana, Illinois and the U.S.
Coast Guard.

(301 KAR 1:012, 1:015)

Boat motor and lake usage regula-
tions apply on many small public fish-
ing lakes. (For boat size limits see box

on this page.)

MOTOR SIZE RESTRICTIONS:

Operation of electric or internal
combustion motors prohibited: Lake
Chumley, Dennie Gooch Lake and
Kingdom Come Lake.

Operation of internal combus-
tion motors prohibited — electric troll-
ing motor only: Bert T. Combs Lake,
Briggs Lake, Carpenter and Kingfisher
lakes, Carter Caves State Park Lake
(ak.a. Smoky Valley Lake), Lebanon
City Lake (a.k.a. Fagan Branch Lake),
Fishpond Lake, all Kentucky River
WMA Boone Tract lakes (except Benjy
Kinman Lake), Lincoln Homestead
State Park Lake, McNeely Lake, Mar-
ion County Lake, Martin County Lake,
Metcalfe County Lake, Mauzy Lake,

AGE RESTRICTIONS

A person must be 12 years or
older to operate a motorboat
(including personal watercraft)
over 10 horsepower on Kentucky
public waters. A person 12-17
years old shall possess a Kentucky
Safe Boating Certificate Card or
a certificate showing successful
completion of a NASBLA ap-
proved boater education course.
For information about Kentucky’s
Boater Education program, call
1-800-858-1549 or on the inter-
net, log on to fw.£y.gov.

Persons under 12 years of age
must wear a personal floatation
device (lifejacket) while in the
open portion of a boat that is
under way.

Mill Creek Lake, Lake Reba, Spurl-
ington Lake, Washburn Lake, Pikeville
City Lake.

Motors larger than 10 HP must
operate at idle speed at all times on
Beaver Lake, Boltz Lake, Bullock Pen
Lake, Corinth Lake, Cranks Creek
(Herb Smith) Lake, Elmer Davis Lake,
Kincaid Lake, Martins Fork Lake and
Shanty Hollow Lake.

Idle Speed Only: Ballard WMA
lakes, Benjy Kinman Lake, Boatwright
WMA lakes, Beulah Lake, Carnico
Lake, Greenbo Lake, Panbowl Lake,
Wilgreen Lake and all Peabody WMA
lakes including Goose, Island and South
lakes.

WATER-SKIING

Water skiing is the act of riding in
or upon water skis, kneeboards, wake-
boards, tubes or similar devices propelled
by a boat’s wake or while riding on or
in a boat’s wake directly behind a vessel
that is under way. This applies whether
the person is holding a rope attached to
the boat or not. Water-skiing is only al-
lowed between sunrise and sunset. Ad-
ditionally, it is illegal to manipulate skis,
surfboards, etc. while intoxicated or un-
der the influence of any other substance
that impairs one’s operating ability.

Both the operator and skier should
be alert to the areas of a lake or river
marked as “no ski.” Persons shall not ski
within 100 feet of a commercial boat
dock, a moorage harbor or a swimming
area or within 2,000 feet of a lock or
dam.

Skiers who ski too close to other
boats, docks and obstructions are show-
ing poor judgement. Many of the com-
plaints game wardens receive while pa-
trolling the water are those about skiers
skiing too close.

Persons being towed by any device
must wear a Type I, IT or III PFD or its
equivalent buoyancy. Boats (including
personal watercraft) towing skiers must
have, in addition to the operator of the
boat, an observer 12 years of age or older
or a wide angle rearview mirror mount-
ed so that the operator can check on the
skier but still give full attention to traffic
ahead. There must be adequate seating
for all riders.

Boats towing kites and similar air-

borne devices must:

* Have, in addition to the operator, an
observer 12 years or older (mirror will
not suffice),

* Stay 500 feet from commercial docks
and ramps,

ON ALL KENTUCKY FISH
& WILDLIFE-OWNED/
MANAGED LAKES:

* Boaters must use idle speed
(slowest speed possible to main-
tain maneuverability of a boat)
when passing another boat with
an occupant actively engaged in
fishing.

The centerline of boats on the

water cannot exceed 22 feet

as measured on deck or bow

to stern on all lakes owned or

managed by Kentucky Fish and

Wildlife, except on Guist Creek

Lake where monohull boats with

a centerline of 24 feet and 8

person capacity are allowed.

On Cedar Creek Lake, Lake

Beshear and Lake Malone only,

pontoon boats may have deck-

ing and pontoons up to 30 feet;
on Guist Creek Lake pontoon
max length is 24 feet. There is
no size restriction on canoes.

* Houseboats are not permitted.

* Personal watercrafts are pro-
hibited on Cedar Creek Lake.

e Swimming is permitted only in
designated areas when a quali-
fied lifeguard is on duty.

e Skin or scuba diving is not per-
mitted.

Water-skiing permitted as des-
ignated by signs on Guist Creek
Lake and Lake Beshear from
10:00 a.m. to sunset beginning
the third Thursday in May (Vay
15, 2025) through September 30.
Similarly, water-skiing is permit-
ted on Lake Malone beginning the
third Thursday in May (May 15,
2025) through October 31. Wa-
ter-skiing and tubing are prohibit-
ed on Cedar Creek Lake.
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* Limit the tow rope to 150 feet or less,
* Have no more than two persons being
towed.

PERSONAL WATERCRAFT

A “personal watercraft” (PWC)
means a vessel which uses an internal
combustion engine to power a jet pump
for its primary source of propulsion and
is designed to be operated by a person
sitting, standing or kneeling on the ves-
sel rather than by a person sitting or
standing inside the vessel. In addition
to being governed by the same laws that
apply to all boats, the following laws ap-
ply to personal watercraft:

* Personal watercraft can only be oper-
ated between sunrise and sunset.

* Personal watercraft without self-cir-
cling capability must have a lanyard-
type engine kill switch attached to the
operator when the craft is underway.

* Operators and passengers must wear a
U.S. Coast Guard-approved personal
flotation device (PFD) for that activity.

Because of their small size and low
profile, operators of PWCs should ex-
ercise defensive driving. These craft are
highly responsive and capable of quick
turns. In fact, this is part of the fun of
their operation. However, this kind of
operation is reckless if done in congested
areas of boat traffic.

SKIN and SCUBA DIVING
(301 KAR 1:410, 6:030)

Skin or SCUBA diving is prohib-
ited in all lakes owned or managed by
the Kentucky Department of Fish and
Wildlife Resources, except during emer-
gencies, on Greenbo Lake and during
salvage operations when the diver has
written permission from the regional di-
rector or local game warden assigned to

DIVERS DOWN FLAGS
Boaters should exercise caution

\

Alpha Flag (left): Blue with a

silver stripe, displayed on vessel
with restricted mobility because

of diving operation. Diver’s Flag
(right): Red flag at least 12" x 12"
with diagonal stripe at least three
inches wide, displayed where diver is
submerged.

the specific body of water in which the
diving is to take place.

Persons diving or submerging with
the aid of a mechanical breathing appa-
ratus in an area where boats might be are
required by law to display the diver’s flag.

'This flag should be put on a buoy,
boat or other floating platform so boat-
ers will readily see it. Approaching
boats must stay outside of a 100-foot
radius of the flag. Divers must surface
within a 50-foot radius unless there is
an emergency.

Divers shall not dive in established
traffic lanes nor interfere with anyone
fishing unless emergency operations are
in progress.

SWIMMING

Swimming in any lake owned or
managed by the KDFWR is prohibited
except in areas specifically set aside for
swimming at which a qualified lifeguard
is on duty. Kentucky law specifically
prohibits swimming at any boat launch-
ing ramp. Swim in marked and super-

vised areas. If you are a nonswimmer or a
poor swimmer, wear a PFD. Remember,
PFDs are not just for boaters.

Refrain from drinking alcoholic
beverages when swimming. Alcohol
greatly reduces a person’s reflexes and
strength when in the water. For persons
who have had alcoholic beverages a PFD
is the difference between life and death.

Persons who wish to swim a long
distance should swim parallel to the
shore instead of across a river or lake.
Boaters don’t normally expect to see
swimmers in the middle of a lake or
river and may run over them.

INFLATABLES

Air mattresses, inner tubes and oth-
er similar devices are generally used as
recreational items by persons swimming
or sunbathing. Use of these items should
be restricted to designated or generally
recognized swimming areas and not be
used in areas of boat traffic. Nonswim-
mers or poor swimmers should not de-
pend on these devices to save their life.
These items can be punctured and lose
their buoyancy — wear a PFD!

LITTERING
(KRS 433.757)

The operator of any motorboat or
vessel is responsible for any litter thrown
into the water. Litter is not only un-
sightly, but can be dangerous to humans
and animals. For example, fishing line
discarded into the water can be hazard-
ous to wildlife and to a boat’s lower unit.
Animals can be ensnared in the line and
die. Fishing line caught on a prop shaft
can cause seal leaks and lower unit fail-
ure. Trotlines and limb lines can snare
animals and other anglers in boats.

BOAT OPERATION

RECKLESS OPERATION

The operator of a watercraft is re-
sponsible for damage caused by negli-
gent operation. The following actions
are considered reckless operation and are
therefore against the law:
* weaving through traffic;
* following watercraft too closely that is

towing an individual on waterskis, a

surtboard or any water sport device;

* jumping the wake of another craft
in a way that endangers human life,
physical safety or property;

* cutting between a boat and the
individual(s) being towed by the boat;

* crossing the path of another boat
when visibility is obstructed;

* steering toward an object or individual

in the water and turning sharply at
close range.

Persons shall not operate a motor-
boat or personal watercraft within 50
feet of a commercial vessel and its tow
that is in operation on a waterway, ex-
cept if the operator of the commercial
vessel has given consent.

When operating in a busy area, re-



duce speed and allow plenty of room for
avoidance maneuvers. Even in areas that
are not marked as idle speed, excessive
wake can still be dangerous. Operators
of larger craft should be aware of the
wake their vessels are throwing.

IDLE SPEED

Kentucky law defines idle speed as
the “slowest speed possible to maintain
maneuverability” of a boat. Generally
speaking for a properly adjusted boat, this
is the speed when a boat is put into gear
without advancing the throttle. Wakes
can capsize small boats or cause damage
to boats moored at marinas and docks. It
is extremely important that boat operators
be aware of their speed and the resulting
wake. Operators are liable for any injuries
or damage caused by their boat’s wake.

Boaters may see buoys or signs that
say “No Wake.” This means that boats
must be at idle speed.

LOCKS AND DAMS

Boaters in Kentucky may encoun-
ter lock and dam systems. Generally,
these will be on the Green, Ohio and
Kentucky Rivers (for the first four locks
upstream to Frankfort, KY), but a few
impoundments have a lock and dam.
Locks are a relatively simple method of
raising or lowering boats from one wa-
ter level to another. If lockage is desired,
boaters should signal the lock operator
by using the pull chain on each end of
the lock or call on marine channel 13.
If the lock is not immediately available,
boaters should position their vessels a
safe distance from the approach chan-

SMALL CRAFT
PRECAUTIONS

1

1

1
Statistics show that approxi- .
mately half the boat-related fa- :
talities involve boats that are less I
than 16’ in length. These boats
are usually unstable and can tip
over, throwing the occupants 1
overboard. Also, these boats can |
be easily swamped, especially if !
used on a large body of water 1
where the wind can cause high 1
waves. When using such craft, be :
aware of the hazards. Wearing a I
personal floatation device (PFD)
is strongly recommended. 1

LOW HEAD DAMS ARE
DANGEROUS

Low head dams are usually
marked with “keep out” buoys or
“danger’ signs above and below.
Low head dams pose an even
greater danger due to the fact
that they are not as recognizable,
especially when water is flow-
ing over them. It is this flow of
water over the dam that creates
a “‘boil”” on the lower side. Boat-
ers risk almost certain death if
caught in this turbulence.

nel to avoid personal injury or dam-
age to their boat from wakes caused by
commercial tows entering or leaving the
locks. Never moor a vessel in the lock
approach channels.

Dams associated with the locks
can be very dangerous. Below all locks
and dams, boat occupants must wear a
personal floatation device (lifejacket)
upstream of danger signs and open-di-
amond buoys or within 150 feet of the
downstream lock and dam wall. Anglers

should never fish from or stand on lock
and dam structures.

Boaters should be alert for these
structures. Dams are either conventional
or “low head” type. Conventional dams
are easily recognizable with their spill-
ways and power installations.

RESTRICTED ZONES
(KAR 6:030)

Kentucky law prohibits boats from
operating within restricted areas as
posted above or below navigation, power
generating or flood control dams.

No fish is worth risking your life.
Be aware of trespassing and danger
zones. Wear a PFD when entering any
area above or below a dam.

OPERATING UNDER THE
INFLUENCE
(KRS 235.240)

It is against the law to operate a
boat or vessel including personal water-
craft, manipulate water skis, surfboard
or other similar device while intoxicated
or under the influence of any other sub-
stance that impairs one’s driving ability.
Any person who operates a vessel on
Kentucky waters is considered to have
given consent to a test or tests to deter-
mine his alcohol concentration or the
presence of other drugs. The tests shall
be administered at the direction of a
game warden who has probable cause to
believe that the operator is intoxicated.
An operator refusing the test shall be in
violation of the law and subject to the
same penalties.

Anyone who operates a boat, PWC,

BLOOD ALCOHOL CONTENT CHART

Body Weight
(in pounds)

100
120
140
160
180
200
220
240 1 2 3

L

Number of Drinks in a Two Hour Period
12 0z. heer = 5 0z. wine = 1 0z. 80 proof liquor

BAC to .05% - Be careful. Loss of judgement and coordination.
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skis, surfboard or similar device while
intoxicated with a blood alcohol level of
0.08 or higher or while under the influ-
ence of any substance that impairs the
operator’s driving ability may be subject
to fines and possible jail time if convicted.

DRINKING IN PUBLIC and
PUBLIC INTOXICATION
(KRS 222.202)

Kentucky law specifically prohibits
the drinking of alcoholic beverages in
public places (this excludes establish-
ments licensed to sell such beverages)
and the waterways of this state are con-
sidered public places.

Further, in a public place, persons
who are manifestly under the influence

of alcoholic beverages to the extent that
they may unreasonably annoy or endan-
ger themselves or others shall be subject
to arrest.

PROHIBITED RIDING

Approximately half of boat related
fatalities result from falls overboard.
When operating a motorboat above idle
speed the operator or passengers shall
not ride on an enclosed bow, outside
protective railing of a pontoon or house-
boat, on a seat which extends six inches
above the plane of the gunwales, nor
shall they ride on the sides, back, engine
cover, back of seat, or any other obvious-
ly dangerous position which could lead
to falling overboard.

RULES OF THE ROAD

On the water there are no painted
lines to mark where boats must go. In or-
der to provide an orderly flow of traffic,
there are “rules of the road” that boaters
should learn and practice.

Boaters on the water encounter
three situations: meeting, crossing and
overtaking. ‘The following diagrams
should give a clear explanation of who
has the right of way (stand-on vessel)
and who must give way (give-way ves-
sel). However, in an emergency, all ves-

M EETING SITUATION

@-@'

OVERTAKING SITUATION
"I' - '9

E~ TFTB>-->

SN > Stand-on vessel

being overtaken

Give-way vessel
overtaking

CROSSING v
SITUATION \\

Danger zone

Stand-on vessel
holds course
s and speed

sels must give way to avoid a collision. At
night, a boat’s navigation lights give an
indication of right of way (see page 36).
The above rules cover most traffic
situations, but a few other situations ex-
ist. Sailboats under sail have the right of
way except when they are the overtaking
vessel. Rowboats and paddle powered
boats have the right of way over motor-
boats. All recreational craft should yield
the right of way to large commercial
craft (towboats, barges). Such vessels
have large blind spots and will be unable
to see smaller crafts in front of them.
On small or narrow bodies
of water, all traffic should stay to
the right of mid-channel and not
“cut corners”.

BUOYS
Buoys are the most common
types of navigational aid, and
they serve the same pur-
pose as traffic signs on
the highway. Failure to
obey buoys can result
in enforcement action, or
worse, a loss of property or
lives. When boating in un-
familiar waters, slow down
and look for any regulatory
or channel-marking buoys.

112° Remember that it is possible
LT for these buoys to drift out

of position. Kentucky law

prohibits from tying up to

Give-way any buoy except designated

vessel

mooring buoys.

UNIFORM STATE
WATERWAY MARKING
SYSTEM

Boats Keep Out!
Nature of danger
may be placed
outside crossed
diamond, e.g.,
waterfalls, swim
areas or rapids.

Danger!

Nature of danger
may be indicated
inside the diamond
shape, e.g., rocks,
reefs, dams, construction or snags.

Caution!

Controlled Areas as

indicated in circle,

e.g., speed limit, no

fishing, no anchor-

ing, ski-only, slow-

no wake, no ski or no prop boats.

Information

Tells directions,
distances, places
such as food, repait,
supplies and other
non-regulatory
messages.

Obstruction
Marker

Do not pass between
shore and buoy.

Mooring Buoy
White with reflec-
tive blue band. May
have white light or
reflector.

Channel Marker
Keep buoy on right
facing upstream.

Channel Marker
Keep buoy on left
facing upstream.
Marker may be
green or black.




REQUIRED
EQUIPMENT

(301 KAR 6:020 Sect. 4); KRS 235.203

For each person onboard a vessel,
federal as well as state law requires a
Type L, 11, or III personal flotation de-
vice (PFD) or its equivalent buoyancy on
all boats. Boats 16 feet and over, except
canoes and kayaks, must also carry one
Type IV throwable PFD. Operators and
passengers of personal watercraft must
wear a PFD. Persons under 12 years of
age must wear a PFD while in the open
part of a boat that is under way.

PERSONAL FLOTATION DEVICES
Kentucky Fish and Wildlife
strongly recommends wearing PFDs
while boating, especially by children and
nonswimmers. In order for PFDs to be
legal, the following requirements must
be met:
* Coast Guard approved: A label with
an approval number will be on the
PFD. Check the label on inflatable
types of PFDs. Some older models
meet Coast Guard approval only
when worn.
Serviceability: All straps, buckles,
zippers, stitching, must be intact and
the fabric should not be rotted. Some
PFDs contain airtight bags filled with
a fibrous material. Squeeze the bags.
If air escapes, destroy the PFD and
replace it with a new one.
* Size: PFDs must fit properly. Read
the label to determine size and weight
restrictions.
Accessibility: PFDs must be read-
ily available for immediate use by all
occupants of a vessel. It is advisable
for each person to try on their PFD
before departing so that they are fa-
miliar with the fastening devices and
to assure it is adjusted to the person.
PFDs shouldn’t be stored in the plas-
tic bags in which they were sold. This
limits access and can promote rotting.

FIRE EXTINGUISHERS

Kentucky law requires that all
boats equipped with a petroleum prod-
uct (gasoline, kerosene, propane, etc.)
consuming device (engines, lanterns,
stoves, etc.) shall have a hand por-
table fire extinguisher in serviceable

TYPES OF PFDs

label on the inside. Going forward, these d

V used previously. It will take many years

will continue to be legal for use.

TYPE I (above) and TYPE II (right)
These devices are designed, when

worn properly, to turn a person who is
unconscious and face down in the water
to a vertical or slightly backward face
up position.

TYPE III

These are special purpose devices that
include ski vests, fishing vests and float
coats. They are not designed to turn a
person’s face out of the water, but they
do have the same buoyancy as the type I
and II PFDs and are more comfortable
to wear.

Personal Floatation Devices (PFDs) will now have a new style of

to as either “throwable’” or “wearable’” and have a performance
category indicated by an icon instead of the Type I, II, III, IV and

labels to be completely phased out and both styles will be in stores, on boats and
in use for many years to come. Any PFD will the old label that is still serviceable

=

evices will be referred 150

5

for the older style of

TYPEIV

These PFDs are
designed to be
thrown to persons
in the water who
can hold on to
them until help
arrives. They are not

designed to be worn, and could cause
drowning if worn on the back.

TYPEV
These special use devices are to be
worn for specific activities that will
be described on the PFD’s label. To
be effective, Type V
PFDs must be used
according to these
specifications, and
many must be worn at
all times in order to
qualify as a PFD.

condition and located for immediate
use. Disposable (non-rechargeable) dry
chemical fire extinguishers
must be removed 12 years after
the date of manufacture. These
fire extinguishers generally

maintained equipment and proper

safety habits.

MINIMUM NUMBER OF

B-1 FIRE EXTINGUISHERS

have their year of manufacture Vessel/ 11D I:-Ixed. e FI).(Ed I:-Ire

X Extinguisher Extinguisher
stamped on the bottom or next size System System Installed
to its UL label. A rechargeable
extinguisher does not need Class A 1 0
removal from service after 12 Class 1 1 0
years, but must be maintained Class 2 5 1
annually by a technician. The
best fire protection is well Class 3 3 2

MARINE FIRE EXTINGUISHER CLASSIFICATION

Cogﬁs(:::rd UL Listing Foam (gals.) C02 (lbs.) L ((iII;:.Tical
B-I 5B 1.25 4 2
B-1I 6B* 2.5 15 10
— 10B none 10 2.5
— 20B 2.5 50 45-6

* UL rating 6B is no longer used.
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Above: foam, CO2 and dry chemical fire
extinguishers

BACKFIRE FLAME ARRESTERS

Internal combustion engines may
backfire. To safeguard against fire, all
motorboats with enclosed engines and
engines originally equipped with a
flame arrester, (except outboards and
diesels) must have an approved carbu-
retor backfire flame arrester system on
each carburetor.

VENTILATION

Most fires on a boat are due to igni-
tion of fuel vapors. Gasoline is heavier
than air. It can collect in the bilge or
engine compartment and any spark can
ignite it. Therefore, Kentucky law re-
quires boats to have adequate ventilation
of areas where flammable vapors can ac-
cumulate.

Most boats are equipped with ad-
equate ventilation systems when they
come from the factory. Usually, this is
a combination of active and passive
systems. Active systems use electrical
blowers to exhaust flammable vapors
from the bilge and other areas. Passive
systems are ducts and cowls that venti-
late areas when the boat is moving. Al-
most all inboards will have an electrical
blower installed in the engine compart-
ment. Operators should run the blower
for several minutes before starting the
engine. If the blower is inoperable it
should be repaired or replaced immedi-
ately. Many boat fires take place after re-
fueling, so care should be taken to avoid
spilling fuel in the vessel.

NAVIGATION LIGHTS

All vessels when underway between
sunset and sunrise must display proper
navigation lights. Navigation lights on
boats are restricted to the colors of red,
green and white.

From sunset to sunrise in an area
where other boats navigate, or in poor
visibility conditions, all vessels at anchor
shall display a steady white light visible

DISPLAY OF NAVIGATION LIGHTS

Class A and Class 1
motorboats

white

Class 2 and 3
motorboats

Class 2 and 3
sailboats

white

red

Class A and
Class 1 sailboats

red

360 degrees at all times. Manually pro-
pelled vessels shall carry a white light to
display in sufficient time to avoid a col-
lision.

The purpose of the red and green

navigation lights at night is to show if
your boat is in a meeting, crossing or
overtaking situation. The red and green
lights must be displayed from sunset to
sunrise whenever a boat is underway.
They will give some indication of the
size and speed of vessels. The red and
green bow lights are especially helpful
in determining right of way in crossing
situations. In the diagram below, boat
B sees the green bow light of boat A,
and has the right of way to continue on
course. Boat A sees the red bow light of
boat B and must stop or pass astern of
boat B. In special circumstances, such
as towing, refer to 33 CFR 83 (Inland

R

\\ Boat B
Boat A “a ®

. -
- - o
)

Navigation Rules).

SIGNALING DEVICES

Kentucky law states that all boats

16 feet in length or longer must have a
hand-, mouth- or power-operated sig-
naling device capable of producing a
blast for two seconds or more and au-
dible for one-half mile for class 1 vessels,

one mile for class two vessels and one

and one-half miles for class three ves-

sels. This does not exempt vessels from

any other signaling device as may be re-

quired by federal law when operating on

navigable waters of this state.

Navigation law also requires the

following maneuvering and warning

signals:

* One long blast: Warning signal (com-
ing out of slip)

* One short blast: Pass on my port side
(left)

* Two short blasts: Pass on my starboard
(right)

* Three short blasts: Engines in reverse

* Five or more blasts: Danger signal

MUFFLING DEVICES

Kentucky law requires all boats to be
equipped with effective exhaust muffling
devices. Usually, boats and motors that
come direct from the manufacturer are
adequately muffled. However, there may
be instances of high performance boats
that have been modified by the owners
that are not in compliance with the law.
Additionally, there may be federal and/or
local regulations restricting boats with an
over-the-transom exhaust system.
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MARINE SANITATION DEVICES
(KRS 235:420)

Motorboats with marine toilets are
not allowed on public waters unless the
toilet is equipped with a Type I, IT or I11
marine sanitation device (MSD.) Type I

(301 KAR 6:030, KRS 235.250)

REPORTING REQUIREMENTS

If any of the following conditions
occur as the result of a boating accident,
collision, etc., a Boating Accident Re-
port must be made:

* death or disappearance of a person;

* injury to a person which requires
medical attention or incapacitates
that person for 24 hours or more;

* loss or damage to property (including
the vessel) in an amount of $500 or
more.

'The operator of a vessel is required
to complete the report. If the operator is
not capable of filing the report and is not
the owner of the vessel, then the owner
shall be required to fill out a boating ac-
cident report.

Note 1: Even if a game warden fills
out a boating accident report, this does
not exempt the operator from filing a
report.

Note 2: The reports filed by op-
erators of vessels are confidential and
are not available as public record (KRS
235.250). However, reports made by
game wardens are available for review.

Accidents involving death or seri-
ous injury must be submitted to the Di-
vision of Law Enforce-
ment within 48 hours.
All others must be sub-
mitted within five days.

Boating accident re-
port forms are available
from game wardens or
by writing to Kentucky
Department of Fish and
Wildlife Resources, Di-
vision of Law Enforce-
ment, #1 Sportsman’s
Lane, Frankfort,
40601, calling 1-800-
858-1549, or online at

fw.ky.gov.
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and II MSDs chemically treat sewage.
Type III MSDs are holding tanks for
raw sewage.

Raw sewage shall not be discharged
in any public waters. Treated sewage
may be discharged from a marine toi-

ACCIDENTS

RENDERING AID

An operator of a vessel involved
in a boating accident shall render aid
to other persons and vessels as long as
it doesn’t endanger his crew, passengers
or vessel. Also, the operator of any ves-
sel involved in an accident shall give his
name, address, and identification of his
vessel, in writing, to any person that is
injured or to the owner of any property
that is damaged.

FIRST AID

This section includes suggestions
that may save a life. First, boats should
be equipped with a first aid kit. This kit
should be able to provide treatment for
burns, insect bites, cuts and abrasions.

Second, boaters should take a first aid
course so they know how to treat victims
with sprains, broken bones and shock.

Third, boaters should know how to
perform Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation
(CPR) in case they encounter victims of
near drowning, heart attack or trauma
from boating accidents. In many cases,
emergency medical help is further away
on the water than on land. Interested per-
sons should contact their local chapter of
the American Red Cross for information
on first aid and CPR training.
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let into legal “discharge” waters. Those
waters are Barkley and Kentucky lakes,
Lake Cumberland and any of the major
river systems. Type I and II MSDs must
be sealed or locked while the vessel is on
“no discharge” waters.

HYPOTHERMIA

Four elements cause hypothermia
— cold, moisture, wind and exhaustion.
Symptoms of hypothermia are uncontrol-
lable shivering, slurred speech, stumbling,
blue skin, decreased heart and breathing
rate, weak pulse and unconsciousness.

All hypothermia symptoms de-
mand immediate attention. As soon as
possible, a victim of hypothermia should
be brought out of the weather. Wet
clothing should be replaced with dry
clothing. If the victim shows mild symp-
toms, get them near a fire or other heat
source or put them in a warm sleeping
bag. For victims with advanced symp-
toms of hypothermia, seek immediate
medical attention. Never give alcohol to
the victim.

The best cure for hypothermia is
prevention. Monitor weather reports
when you plan to be in the outdoors.
Dress in layers and always have foul-
weather gear handy.

FATIGUE

Boaters should be aware of the fac-
tors that induce fatigue while on the
water. The wind, sun, engine noise and
constant motion of the boat can greatly
reduce a person’s reaction time.
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https://fw.ky.gov/Boat/Documents/boatingaccidentreport2012.pdf
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