Kentucky Department of Fish & Wildlife Resources



Special Called Commission Meeting

Minutes

October 22, 2024 | 12:30 PM (ET) In-person: #1 Sportsman's Lane, Frankfort, KY 40601

Livestream: Live Video Teleconference¹

Call to Order and Welcome (Video 3:49)

Invocation (Video 4:01) - Chairman Lillard

Pledge of Allegiance (Video 4:30) – Chairman Lillard

Chair's Remarks (Video 4:58)

Commission Members in attendance (Video 5:34) Greg Cecil, Dr. Robin Floyd, Josh Lillard, Chuck Meade, Jeff Raymer, Matt Rhodes, and Walter Robertson

Action Items

- Minutes from the August 30, 2024 quarterly meeting (Video 6:42)
 - Chuck Meade made a motion to accept the August 30, 2024, Quarterly Meeting Minutes, seconded by Walter Robertson. The votes were as follows: Yes: Dr. Robin Floyd, Jeff Raymer, Matt Rhodes, Greg Cecil, Chuck Meade, and Walter Robertson. The motion carried unanimously.

Closed Session (Video 7:44)

 Chuck Meade made a motion to enter executive session, seconded by Walter Robertson. The votes were as follows: Yes: Dr. Robin Floyd, Jeff Raymer, Matt Rhodes, Greg Cecil, Chuck Meade, and Walter Robertson. The motion carried unanimously.

Steven Fields, Staff Attorney, read the following statement for public notice about the Commission entering into closed session:

"During the previous Commission meeting, the Commission entered into closed session to discuss the negotiations the Commission Chair conducted with Commissioner Storm

regarding his potential reappointment and possible renewal of his contract. Upon exiting closed session, a motion was approved unanimously. A contract was drafted but not executed. Commissioner Storm requested one final adjustment regarding insurance that has yet to be discussed by the Commission. A copy of the proposed employment contract to reappoint Commissioner Storm is attached to the full meeting agenda.

All meetings of a quorum of the members of any public agency at which any public business is discussed or at which any action is taken by the agency, shall be public meetings, open to the public at all times except for specific exceptions listed in KRS 61.810 or otherwise provided for by law.

The Commission's discussions, which may lead to the reappointment of Rich Storm as an employee of the Department, will require entering into a closed session. KRS 61.815 requires notice of the general nature of the business to be discussed in the closed session, the reason for the closed session, and the provision of KRS 61.810 that authorizes it be publicly announced prior to entering closed session for most open meetings exceptions.

In the proposed closed session, pursuant to KRS 61.810(1)(f), the Commission shall discuss the terms of proposed personnel service contract to reappoint Commissioner Storm. KRS 61.810(1)(f) authorizes closes sessions for discussions which might lead to the appointment, discipline, or dismissal of an individual employee. The potential reappointment of Commissioner Storm is authorized by KRS 150.061(1)(c).

Upon an approved motion, the Commission will enter into closed session. The Commission shall not discuss any other matters and no action shall be taken occur during the closed session.

During the closed session, counsel and necessary members of staff will be present to advise the Commission."

Action Items (Video 28:25)

 Chuck Meade made a motion to approve the proposed reappointment of Commissioner Rich Storm and to accept the proposed contract as attached in today's agenda, seconded by Walter Robertson. The votes were as follows: Yes: Dr. Robin Floyd, Jeff Raymer, Matt Rhodes, Greg Cecil, Chuck Meade, and Walter Robertson. The motion carried unanimously.

Information Items

- Review of Kentucky's CWD Response Plan and implementation (Video 29:35)
 - Ben Robinson, Director of Wildlife, and Gabe Jenkins, Deputy Commissioner, provided a review of Kentucky's CWD Response Plan and its implementation. There was a recent detection of Chronic Wasting Disease (CWD) in Breckenridge County. This positive case was found in an adult female white-tailed deer harvested from inside a captive cervid (high

- fence) facility. KDFWR received confirmation from the National Veterinary Service Laboratories of a positive CDW sample.
- The Kentucky Department of Agriculture collected the sample as part of its testing protocol. The captive cervid industry is regulated by both KDFWR and KDA. KDFWR oversees fencing, facility requirements, tagging, and identification requirements. KDA oversees transportation, disease monitoring, testing, tagging, and identification requirements.
- The initial CWD response plan has been in place for many years to manage CWD in our state. This plan includes notifying stakeholders, assessing local deer densities, collecting samples, and conducting an investigation into the movement of the captive deer.

Action Item

- Approval of the creation of a CWD Surveillance Zone in Meade, Breckinridge, and Hardin Counties (Video 35:12)
 - O Ben Robinson, Director of Wildlife, and Gabe Jenkins, Deputy Commissioner, proposed establishing a CWD surveillance zone in Breckenridge, Meade, and Hardin Counties, based on a 5-mile and 15-mile radius around the detection site, to monitor and manage the spread of CWD. This includes no baiting or feeding within the zone, no carcass or high-risk part movement out of the zone, and no fawn rehabilitation within the zone. These restrictions are already in regulation for CWD surveillance zones; therefore, this will go into effect immediately upon approval by the commission.
 - Hunters are encouraged to help by submitting samples for testing, though no mandatory check stations or hunting restrictions are currently planned.
 A public meeting is scheduled for November 7th to further discuss these measures.
 - Matt Rhodes requested that we ask the Department of Agriculture to present a report to the commission on the current case. The goal is to provide transparency regarding the facility and the steps being taken to address the situation. Commissioner Storm agreed to make the request.
 - Chuck Meade made a motion to approve the creation of a CWD Surveillance Zone in Meade, Breckinridge, and Hardin Counties, seconded by Jeff Raymer. Votes were as follows: Yes - Dr. Robin Floyd, Jeff Raymer, Chuck Meade, and Walter Robertson; Abstained - Matt Rhodes; No - Greg Cecil. The motion carried by majority.

Adjourn (Video1:28:46)

 Greg Cecil made a motion to adjourn, seconded by Walter Robertson. The motion carried unanimously.