Upcoming Commission Nomination Meetings for Fish & Wildlife Commission Members

Meetings to nominate candidates for the district representatives on the Kentucky Fish and Wildlife Commission (volunteer board) are scheduled as follows below. The meetings will start promptly at 7:30 p.m. (local time) and the meeting format will be drive-in to comply with current public health guidelines. This is an opportunity for the public to have a say about their representatives on the nine-member volunteer board. These districts includes counties in central, northern and western Kentucky.

6th Commission District: July 6, 2020 at 7:30pm (eastern)

View Announcement

Jessamine County UK Cooperative Extension Office at 95 Park Dr., Nicholasville, KY

Counties: Anderson, Boyle, Casey, Clark, Estill, Fayette, Franklin, Garrard, Jessamine, Lee, Lincoln, Madison, Mercer, Powell, Rockcastle, Scott and Woodford

5th Commission District: July 7, 2020 at 7:30pm (eastern)

View Announcement

Boone County UK Cooperative Extension Office at 6028 Camp Ernst Rd, Burlington, KY

Counties: Boone, Bracken, Campbell, Carroll, Gallatin, Grant, Harrison, Henry, Kenton, Owen, Pendleton, Robertson and Trimble

1st Commission District: July 9, 2020 at 7:30pm (central)

View Announcement

McCracken County UK Cooperative Extension Office at 2025 New Holt Road, Paducah, KY

Counties: Ballard, Caldwell, Calloway, Carlisle, Christian, Crittenden, Fulton, Graves, Hickman, Livingston, Lyon, Marshall, McCracken and Trigg

Meeting Details:

A drive-in meeting format will be used because of current public health guidelines for large gatherings related to COVID-19. Public health officials encourage attendees to travel only with members of the same household.

Safeguards will be in place at the location to follow current social distancing and other public health guidelines. Attendees will remain in their vehicles, but will be provided with printed materials and may listen to an on-site audio broadcast of the rules and instructions for participating in the meeting.

Attendees should plan to arrive by 7:15 p.m. local time. There will be no access to facilities or buildings on site, so attendees should plan accordingly.

Once the meeting is underway, qualifying attendees may nominate and vote on prospective Commission members.

What is the Commission?

The Commission is a nine-member volunteer board whose members serve four-year terms. It meets at least quarterly in Frankfort, and otherwise as needed. Commission members promote fish and wildlife conservation while representing the interests of sportspersons. The Commission hires and advises the Commissioner (agency head) of the Kentucky Department of Fish and Wildlife Resources, oversees its budget and research programs, and recommends all hunting, fishing and boating regulations for approval by the General Assembly. Legislators must approve all recommendations before they become law.

Hunters and anglers nominate candidates at public meetings every four years. The names of up to five nominees (chosen by voting if necessary) at the meeting will be submitted to Gov. Andy Beshear. The governor will appoint one nominee to each district for a term ending in August 2024, subject to Kentucky Senate confirmation.

Who can nominate candidates and vote?

Residents of the Commission District who, for the past two consecutive years, have either: purchased a Kentucky hunting or fishing license; or hunted or fished in Kentucky, but were not required to purchase a license, may participate in the nominating meeting and may be nominated.