

KENTUCKY DEPARTMENT OF FISH & WILDLIFE RESOURCES

Rich Storm Commissioner #1 Sportsman's Lane Frankfort, Kentucky 40601 Phone (502) 564-3400 Fax (502) 564-0506 **Gabe Jenkins** Deputy Commissioner

AUTHORIZATION REGARDING HUNTING AND FEEDING OF DEER PURSUANT TO KRS 150.025 AND 301 KAR 3:040

June 11, 2025

Whereas Chronic Wasting Disease has been detected in free-ranging deer less than 8 miles from the Kentucky border in Henry County, TN, in a free-ranging deer in Ballard County, KY, in a captive deer in Breckinridge County, KY, and less than 2 miles from the Kentucky border in Posey County, IN, thus activating the department's CWD Response Plan;

I do hereby authorize the following be implemented in the Kentucky Counties of Ballard, Breckinridge, Calloway, Carlisle, Fulton, Graves, Hardin, Henderson, Hickman, Marshall, McCracken, Meade, Union, and Webster Counties:

- 1. An antlerless only (including button bucks) modern firearms deer season beginning the fourth Saturday of September for two consecutive days;
- 2. Restrict harvest for all deer hunters during the new 2-day September season, regardless of hunting method, to antlerless only deer (including button bucks);
- 3. During the 2-day antlerless only modern firearms season in September, all hunters who harvest a deer in these counties shall submit the head for CWD testing in a KDFWR CWD Sample Drop-Off Site; and
- 4. All provisions with regards to hunter orange requirements, carcass movement restrictions, hunter restrictions and harvest recording and checking as prescribed in 301 KAR 2:172 shall apply.

I do hereby authorize the following restrictions be lifted from 301 KAR 2:172 and 301 KAR 2:015 pertaining to CWD Surveillance Zone Requirements, in the Kentucky Counties of Ballard, Breckinridge, Calloway, Carlisle, Fulton, Graves, Hardin, Hickman, Marshall, McCracken, and Meade Counties:

1. Prohibition on baiting and feeding of all wildlife by means of any grain, salt, mineral, or other attractants intended to be ingested.

I do hereby authorize the following restrictions be implemented in the CWD Surveillance Zones Requirements for the Kentucky Counties of Ballard, Breckinridge, Calloway, Carlisle, Fulton, Graves, Hardin, Henderson, Hickman, Marshall, McCracken, Meade, Union, and Webster Counties:

1. Baiting will now be allowed under the authority established in this authorization, except contact style feeders (e.g., troughs, funnels, gravity feeders without spreading capabilities, etc.) are prohibited.

This authorization is effective immediately until the end of the 2025 – 2026 deer season.

Rich Storm

Red Storn

Commissioner