Bear Hunters:  The 2014 archery/crossbow season for bears opens Saturday, Nov. 22, 2014.  All hunters must check the KDFWR homepage or call the Info Center at 1-800-858-1549 AFTER 9:00 PM each day of the season to learn if the black bear quota was met. Go here for info about checking bears

 Find a Biologist

If you have a question, please call our Information Center at 800-858-1549 or e-mail the Information Center.

Administration

All administration personnel are located in Frankfort. This includes the Director and three Assistant Directors. Personnel are:

Ron Brooks, Director

Gerard Buynak, Assistant Director

Jeff Ross, Assistant Director

Mike Hardin, Assistant Director

Districts

The Fisheries Management Section has seven district offices throughout Kentucky. Each office is staffed with two fisheries biologists and two fisheries technicians. The Fisheries Management Section is involved with the management of the fisheries in their district including recommendations such as size limits, creel limits, and fish stocking changes which involves conducting fish population surveys, construction of fish attractors in public lakes, conducting creel surveys and other duties. They also provide assistance regarding pond management and other fisheries information requests. District staff also serves as a response team to fish kills and pollution incidents. The Fish Hatchery and Fish Transportation sections support the Fisheries Management Section by raising and stocking fish. The Fisheries Research Section assists the Management Section with additional statewide information and assistance. The districts including personnel are:

Western Fishery District
Paul Rister
Paul.Rister@ky.gov

Northwestern Fishery District
Rob Rold
Rob.Rold@ky.gov

Southwestern Fishery District
Eric Cummins
Eric.Cummins@ky.gov

Central Fishery District
Jeff Crosby
Jeff.Crosby@ky.gov

Northeastern Fishery District
Fred Howes
Fred.Howes@ky.gov

Southeastern Fishery District
John Williams
JD.Williams@ky.gov

Eastern Fishery District
Kevin Frey
Kevin.Frey@ky.gov

Fisheries District Biologist Map

Fish Hatcheries

There are two hatcheries located in Kentucky that are owned and operated by the KDFWR and one hatchery that is owned and operated by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service (USFWS). The hatcheries produce the fish that are stocked within the state and a few that are provided for other states. Minor Clark and Peter W. Pfeiffer hatcheries (KDFWR) produce the cool and warm water fishes such as largemouth bass, muskellunge, walleyes, striped bass, hybrid striped bass, bluegill, redear sunfish, blue catfish and channel catfish and the Wolf Creek National Fish Hatchery produces the cold water fishes such as the brown and rainbow trout. All the hatcheries are involved in additional projects such as mussel production and protection. The hatcheries including personnel are:

Minor Clark Fish Hatchery
Rod Middleton
Rod.Middleton@ky.gov

Peter W. Pfeiffer Fish Hatchery
Steve Marple
Steve.Marple@ky.gov

Wolf Creek National Fish Hatchery
James Gray
James.Gray@FWS.gov

The Forks of Elkhorn is the delivery personnel for the hatcheries and other areas. They assist with the sorting and bagging if necessary of the produced fish and stock the fish in the lakes of the Commonwealth. They also deliver the farm pond fish. The Forks of Elkhorn is supervised by Mark Roberts at Mark.Roberts@ky.gov.

Research

The Fisheries Research Section of the Fisheries Division has four primary sections including three field research subsections and one computer support section. All subsections of the research section are based in Frankfort. The three field sections are each staffed by one fisheries biologist and one fisheries technician while the computer section is staffed by one fisheries biologist. The field research subsections are involved with intensively studying management activities such as size limits, creel limits, fish stockings, and other management activities that might have statewide implications. The computer section is responsible for providing technical assistance to all fisheries division staff and is responsible for analyzing creel survey data and updating and maintaining all Division databases. The Fish Management, Fish Hatchery, and Fish Transportation sections support the Fisheries Research Section with additional manpower and raising and stocking fish. These projects including personnel are:

Federal Aid Coordinator
Ryan Oster
Ryan.Oster@ky.gov

Lake Fisheries Investigations
David Dreves
Dave.Dreves@ky.gov

Black Bass Investigations
Chris Hickey
Chris.Hickey@ky.gov

Stream Fisheries Investigations
Jason Herrala
Jason.Herrala@ky.gov

Bio-statistics
Don Bunnell
Don.Bunnell@ky.gov

Aquatic Education
Marc Johnson
Marca.Johnson@ky.gov

Urban Fisheries
Dane Balsman
Dane.Balsman@ky.gov

Non-Game Fishes
Matt Thomas
Matt.Thomas@ky.gov

Aquatic Nuisance Species
Paul Wilkes
Paul.Wilkes@ky.gov

 

The Environmental Section began in 1975 with one Fishery Biologist but increased three years later with the addition of an additional Fishery Biologist and a Wildlife Biologist. The major duties of this section include fish kills, pollution investigation, disease investigation, environmental reviews and rare and endangered species requests. Environmental reviews include Environmental Impact Statements, Environmental Assessments, U.S. C.O.E. Section 404 Permits, Department of Transportation Projects, Pollution Discharge Elimination System Permits, hydroelectric permits, and coal mining permits. Over 500 request per year are made to satisfy rare and endangered species information needs.

Doug Dawson, Chief

Joseph Zimmerman, Environmental Biologist Consultant

Dan Stoelb, Wildlife Biologist

Fisheries District Biologists

Central Fishery Biologist
Jeff Crosby
Frankfort
(502) 564-5448

Western Fishery Biologist
Paul Rister
Murray
(270) 753-3886

Northwestern Fishery Biologist
Rob Rold

Rumsey
(270) 273-3117

Southwestern Fishery Biologist
Eric Cummins
Bowling Green
(270) 746-7127

Southeastern Fishery Biologist
John Williams
Somerset
(606) 677-4096

Northeastern Fishery Biologist
Fred Howes
Morehead
(606) 783-8650

Eastern Fishery Biologist
Kevin Frey
Prestonsburg
(606) 889-1705

Minor Clark Fish Hatchery
Rod Middleton
Morehead
(606) 783-8650

Peter W. Pfeiffer Hatchery
Steve Marple
Frankfort
(502) 564-4957

Forks of Elkhorn
Mark Roberts
Frankfort
(502) 573-6991