Fishing and Hunting Still Open:
Fishing and hunting for 2020 are still open per statewide seasons/regulations.  Licenses and permits to fish and hunt are required as usual.  Boat registrations may be renewed at county clerks offices by mail or drop-box.  Open-air sites such as public lakes/streams and wildlife management areas remain open.

State Offices Closed to In-Person Contact but Still Available to Help:
State offices and facilities are closed to in-person contact with the public to minimize health risks. Until further notice, please use this website, call us at 800-858-1549, or email Info.Center@ky.gov for assistance. 

Additional Information
For the latest information on the novel coronavirus in Kentucky, please visit kycovid19.ky.gov. Coronavirus and Kentucky Fish and Wildlife: answers to Frequently Asked Questions.

Kentucky Afield Television

Kentucky Afield Television is the longest continuously-running outdoors television show in the nation. First airing in 1953, it is one of the very oldest television shows still airing on any subject. Our research tells us it ranks 4th. Holding the record for longevity is Meet the Press (November 6, 1946), followed by the Today Show (January 14, 1952). That’s good company!

Explore Kentucky from the comfort of your easy chair with Kentucky Afield. The show about wildlife, hunting, fishing, and fun in Kentucky’s outdoors.

Each week, we get mud on our boots in a different part of the state. It could be hunting deer, wild turkey at Peabody WMA or stalking elk in coal country. You may spot us in your sights hunting geese in the back water sloughs of Henderson or Ballard County or boating to the bass on Lake Cumberland. No matter where the woods and waters take us, you’ll always find us on KET. We are on Saturdays at 8:30 p.m. EST/7:30 p.m. CST and repeats Sundays at 4:30 p.m. EST/3:30 p.m. CST on KET 1. WKYT (CBS) airs Kentucky Afield on Sunday's at 6:30 a.m. EST/5:30 a.m. CST. The CW Lexington airs Kentucky Afield on Sunday's at 11:30 p.m. EST/10:30 p.m. CST.


 
 
Kentucky Afield TV host Chad Miles
  

Watch the latest episode of Kentucky Afield:

On this week's show, we sit down with Zak Danks, turkey program coordinator with the Kentucky Department of Fish and Wildlife Resources, and take questions about our upcoming spring turkey season.

 
​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​


 


For your viewing pleasure:

Fast Facts

Kentucky Afield Logo
  • Born from the Kentucky Afield Radio show which premiered in 1952.
  • Wildlife and TV? This odd couple proved the perfect pair. This was a bold step for a state government agency. “We’re not in the TV business, we’re in the wildlife business and this is the best way to deliver the message of conservation to the people”, noted original host Ron Rhody. “Not only did the program have its finger on the pulse of those who loved to hunt and fish, it was fun to watch…and still is.”

Kentucky Afield TV Timeline:

  • 1953 Kentucky Afield debuts on WAVE TV 3, Louisville
    Ron Rhody, Host. Harry Towles, (KDFWR Director of Public Relations) delivered the weekly fishing report Broadcast live - in studio - on Saturday mornings.
  • 1957 Hope Carleton named host. Hope hosted Kentucky Afield for 23 years.
  • 1980 Jeremy Dreier named host as Hope Carleton retires
  • 1985 Dreier strikes a deal with Kentucky Educational Television to air the show statewide
  • 1988 Tim Michaels named host.
  • 1989 Dave Shuffett becomes the show's fifth host.
    Accompanied by trusty companion Sam, a golden retriever. Magazine format adopted
  • 1995 Tim Farmer named host
  • 2016 Chad Miles becomes show's seventh host

Long Live Outdoor TV

Kentucky Afield is the longest continuously-running outdoors television show in the nation. First airing in 1953, it is one of the very oldest television shows still airing on any subject. Our research tells us it ranks 4th. Holding the record for longevity is Meet the Press (November 6, 1946), followed by the Today Show (January 14, 1952). That’s good company!

For local audiences in 1953, Kentucky Afield was popular right along side “I Married Joan,” Milton Berle, Groucho Marx, Fireside Theatre, and the Jack Benny Show. While television has changed, the simple message of Kentucky Afield has not. The sportsman’s dollar provides a benefit to the entire state in protecting our wildlife and providing nature-related recreation for us all.


 

We'd Love to Hear From You!

​​​​