An Official Website of the Commonwealth of Kentucky
Administration; Commission; Fishing; Law Enforcement; Lands Management; Wildlife
FRANKFORT, Ky. (Aug. 19, 2022) — The Kentucky Department of Fish and Wildlife Resources will be hiring soon to fill conservation officer positions in multiple counties.
The application period opens Sept. 1 and will continue through Sept. 30. Applicants must be 21 years old and possess a valid driver's license. To apply, visit personnel.ky.gov during the application period. The online application must be completed to be considered.
Selected applicants not already Peace Officer Professional Standards (POPS) certified will undergo 20 weeks of basic training at the Department of Criminal Justice Training in Richmond. In addition to basic training, all selected applicants undergo another 12 weeks of training in the Kentucky Fish and Wildlife Academy before being placed with a field-training officer for a final 12 weeks of on-the-job training.
Applicants who meet initial screening criteria must next pass a written test, physical fitness test, swimming test, oral interview, psychological and drug screen, polygraph, background review and medical evaluation to be considered for selection.
Applicants will be notified via email regarding the written test scheduling. Applicants should frequently check their email, including junk mail folders, after the job posting closes. An initial email to applicants will include important, time-sensitive information, and recipients will be required to respond by a specific date.
Kentucky's conservation officers are sworn law enforcement officers with statewide jurisdiction, and have a primary mission focus on hunting, fishing and boating laws.
Conservation officers work to ensure compliance with hunting and fishing laws and ensure that the state's waterways are a safe place for all to enjoy by utilizing a two-pronged approach consisting of education and enforcement. Fish, wildlife or boating violations can be reported to Kentucky Fish and Wildlife by calling 1-800-25-ALERT. In an emergency, or when there is an urgent need for law enforcement, calling 9-1-1 remains the best course of action.
Anonymous tips also can be made by texting “KFWLAW" along with a message to 847411 (tip411), or through the KFWLaw app. The free app can be downloaded from the iTunes App Store and Google Play Store.
View All News