Trophy Fish Program - Master Angler Award


Any angler who catches, by pole or line, any of the eligible fish species that meets the length requirements may qualify for the Kentucky Trophy Fish Program. All applications must be received by February 1 of the following year. Species must be caught in Kentucky waters but can not be taken from pay lakes, hatcheries or commercial propagation facilities. 

There is also a Master Angler category for anglers who catch three different qualifying Kentucky Trophy Fish species. 


Entering the Kentucky Trophy Fish Program

An angler who wishes to submit their catch​ will need to register online here. A picture of your catch must be submitted with the application. For those anglers without internet access, options are still available. Ask a friend, relative or neighbor with internet access for help in registering your catch. You can also visit a public library that offers internet access for public use. Questions about the procedure can be addressed by calling 502-892-4527.

The KDFWR reserves the privilege of adding/deleting species or changing minimum size requirements at any time to improve the quality or equitability of the program.

Eligibility Requirements:

  1. Applications must be submitted within 60 days after each catch.  Applications can be submitted by logging into your profile.
  2. A clear, identifiable photograph of the fish (side view) ​is required with each application.​
  3. ​The KDFWR retains the right to make final decisions regarding authenticity, qualifications and acceptance of an application for award.
  4. Angler must possess a valid resident or non-resident Kentucky fishing license. Persons exempt from license must give SSN.
  5. Fish must be taken by sportfishing methods using handheld pole and hook & line only. Catches using trot lines, set lines, and jug lines are not eligible.
  6. Fish from pay lakes, hatcheries or taken from commercial propagation facilities are not eligible.
  7. Species of fish and their respective minimum lengths are listed in the eligible species list.


A Trophy Fish Award will be granted to each angler meeting the above requirements. There is no limit on the number of Trophy Fish Awards an angler may receive.


Master Angler Award processing is temporarily suspended while we update our database and order new pins. Thank you for your patience!

  1. Any three (3) different species of trophy status caught by the same angler makes the angler eligible for the Master Angler Award.
  2. Upon verification of the third trophy species, the angler will receive a Master Angler Award. Species submitted for any Master Angler Award may not be duplicated.
  3. There is no time limit in which the three different species must be caught, provided each catch has been documented/registered as a trophy fish with the KDFWR.

​Trophy Fish/Master Angler Award Program

Anglers who catch exceptional fish by pole and line methods may qualify for the Trophy Fish/Master Angler Awards Program.

Eligible Species and Minimum Lengths in Inches:

  • Blue Catfish: 35
  • Bluegill: 10
  • Bowfin: 25
  • Brook Trout: 15
  • Brown Trout: 20
  • Bullhead Catfish: 14
  • Common Carp: 35
  • Chain Pickerel: 24
  • Channel Catfish: 28
  • Crappie: 15
  • Flathead Catfish: 35
  • Freshwater Drum: 25
  • Gar: 40
  • Hybrid Striped Bass: 23
  • Kentucky Bass: 16
  • Largemouth Bass: 23
  • Muskellunge: 40
  • Rainbow Trout: 20
  • Redbreast Sunfish: 10
  • Redear Sunfish: 10
  • Rock Bass: 10
  • Sauger: 18
  • Saugeye: 23
  • Smallmouth Bass: 20
  • Striped Bass: 36
  • Walleye: 25
  • White Bass: 16
  • Yellow Perch: 10​​

The young angler pictured caught this 12-inch “trophy” sunfish at Meadowview Lake in Spencer County. 
The young angler pictured caught this 12-inch “trophy” sunfish at Meadowview Lake in Spencer County.