An Official Website of the Commonwealth of Kentucky
*Any legal equipment may be used during the Quota Hunt with Dogs; this entire season is also open for chase-only.
*Chase-only season will not open on WMAs until the third Saturday in August due to leash laws.
Wayne County is now a separate bear hunting zone, the Wayne Zone.
In any bear zone, a dog can be used to chase a bear on public hunting areas, except the chase-only and quota hunt with dogs seasons are closed in McCrea- ry County, the Daniel Boone National Forest, Miller-Welch Central Kentucky WMA, Beaver Creek WMA, Cane Creek WMA, Mill Creek WMA, Pioneer Weapons WMA and Redbird WMA.
Zone 2 West now has a quota of 1 fe- male during quota hunt with dogs season, 1 female during archery season and 2 fe- males during modern gun season.
LEGAL BEAR HUNTING EQUIPMENT
Q: Is it legal to shoot a bear that is feeding at a trash can or dumpster?
A: No. Garbage is considered bait.
Unless license exempt, participants must purchase a bear chase permit or youth bear chase permit and an annual hunting license.
In any bear zone, a dog can be used to chase a bear on public hunting ar- eas or on private land with permission of the landowner, but chase-only and quota hunt with dogs seasons are closed in McCreary County, the Daniel Boone National Forest, Miller-Welch Cen- tral Kentucky WMA, Beaver Creek WMA, Cane Creek WMA, Mill Creek WMA, Pioneer Weapons WMA and Redbird WMA.
The chase-only season will not open on Wildlife Management Areas until the third Saturday in August due to leash law restrictions designed to protect young wildlife during the summer months.
Bears can be chased during legal daylight hours only. Hunters cannot chase bears from a baited area while bait is present or for 30 days after the bait has been removed.
The bear quota hunt with dogs season also is open as a chase-only season for any person with a valid bear chase permit, even if the quota for the bear quota hunt with dogs season has been met.
Unless license exempt, hunters must purchase and possess proof of the appropriate valid bear permit(s) in addition to an annual hunting license
Hunters who harvest a bear during any bear hunting season must telecheck it by 8 p.m. Eastern time, and also call 1-800-858-1549 within 24 hours of harvest to arrange for a physical check of the animal and receive a tag issued by Kentucky Fish and Wildlife. Bears physically checked during any hunting season must include a carcass or an intact hide that contains the skull and proof of sex.
Hunters must call 1-800-858-1549 after 9 p.m. (Eastern) on each day of a bear hunting season to check if the quota for that season has been reached. If the quota has not been reached, the season will continue through the next day.
If a harvest quota limit is reached, the season will close 30 minutes after sunset that day.
Bear hunters and those who accompany them, or any other person hunting on public or private lands in the bear hunting zones during a firearm season for bears, must comply with the hunter orange clothing law. This requirement also applies to any person chasing bears during the bear quota hunt with dogs season.