Kentucky Fish and Wildlife Commission


The Kentucky Fish and Wildlife Commission is a nine-member board, comprised of volunteers who serve four-year terms after being nominated by licensed hunters and anglers, appointed by the Governor, and confirmed by the Kentucky Senate.

Per statute, the Commission “shall at all times keep a watchful eye upon the Department of Fish and Wildlife Resources, and advise the Commissioner to take such action as may be beneficial to the department and in the interest of wildlife and conservation of natural resources.”

Commission members are governed by Kentucky statutes and regulations pertaining to boards and commissions, and are accountable to the hunters and anglers in their districts. Commission members seek to be responsive to their constituents and represent the interests of all the sportspersons in their districts. They communicate with stakeholders, relay vetted requests for changes to regulations or statutes to the Commission body, and make recommendations to the Commissioner.

The members of the Commission are required by law to meet in Frankfort, quarterly, or as often as may be necessary for the transaction of business. These meetings are announced on the department’s website under the Quick Links on the left-hand side of the page. At its January 2020 meeting, the Commission announced a new meeting format that will make meetings more efficient, reduce costs and increase opportunities for public input.

Appointment of Commission Members

No later than 30 days before the expiration of a Commission member’s term, the Commissioner shall select the time and place for a public meeting in that Commission district to select up to five (5) nominees to submit to the Governor. The location of this meeting is within the district of the member whose term will be expiring.

The hunters and anglers of that Commission district who attend the meeting shall select up to five (5) nominees who are well informed on the subject of wildlife conservation and restoration. Those eligible to participate are resident hunters or anglers who have been licensed in Kentucky for each of the past two (2) consecutive years, or are license-exempt but have hunted or fished each of the past two (2) consecutive years.

The names of the nominees are submitted to the Governor, along with a current resume’ for each nominee, and the Governor shall appoint one from the names submitted.

The Commission member shall be appointed for a term of four (4) years subject to confirmation by the Senate, and may be reappointed only once.

For complete details of the statutes and regulations pertaining to the office of Commission member, please refer to KRS 150.022; KRS 150:023; and 301 KAR 4:001.