Kentucky's license year begins March 1 and continues through the last day of February. New licenses are required annually. Resident and nonresident youth under the age of 12 are not required to purchase licenses or permits to hunt (except the elk lottery application). Resident and nonresident youth ages 15 and younger are not required to purchase licenses or permits to fish.
If you take or attempt to take game or fish, you are subject to licensing requirements unless specifically exempted by law. Unless you are license-exempt, you must obtain and carry while in the field proof that you’ve met the license requirements for the kind of hunting or fishing you’re doing. This proof can be either a paper license/permit or a license authorization number (when purchasing license/permits online). If you can’t show you’re licensed properly while you’re hunting or fishing, you risk being issued a citation.
Each hunter must have his or her own license or permit. Paper licenses and permits must be signed and the hunter information portion (signature, address, eye and hair color, sex, height and weight) completed before going afield.
There are several ways to purchase licenses and permits. Our online license sales site is the most efficient and convenient way to purchase licenses and permits. When purchasing online, you will receive an authorization number that may be printed and kept with you when hunting or fishing. We accept Visa, Mastercard, American Express and Discover as forms of payment. You may also purchase through any of our License Agents throughout the state or by phone at 877-598-2401. Some licenses are only available on our online license sales site. They are Shooting Preserve License, Elk Lottery Application, Junior WMA Elk Lottery, Elk Quota Hunt Permit, and the Temporary Hunter Education Exemption Permit. We offer a discounted Senior License (65 years of age and over) that is only $5.00 and a Disability License for $5.00 that is good for the license year. Holders of Disabled Combination Licenses must carry both the license and authorization card while hunting. Once a person who qualifies for this license reaches age 65, he or she is considered a senior for licensing purposes, and no longer needs to follow the process of obtaining a disability license authorization card.
All licenses and permits are good for the license year except for the 1-Day Small Game Hunting License, the 7-Day Small Game Hunting, the 1-Day Fishing License, the 7-Day Fishing License and the 15-Day Fishing License.
One of the best deals we offer is the Sportsman’s License. It includes all the necessary state license and permits for deer and turkey hunting (PLUS other types of hunting and fishing) for Kentucky residents at a substantial discount. A Junior Sportsman’s License is also offered and is a tremendous value for any youth ages 12-15.
We also offer an Online Gift Certificate that may be purchased in any amount. Online Gift Certificates are good for up to 5 years from the date of purchase and can ONLY be redeemed on our website. They can be redeemed for licenses and permits, Kentucky Afield magazine subscriptions, Otter Creek Outdoor Recreation Area passes and Summer Camp registration fees.