​​​​​​Buying a License is Easy!

First, find out what type of license or permit is needed. The hunter’s date of birth and Social Security number must be provided when buying a license or permit.  (Please note that hunters who purchase licenses or permits online​ will not be mailed a paper license or permit but will receive a printable version accessible to their MyProfile account.) If you ​have licensing questions, call Kentucky Fish and Wildlife at 1-800-858-1549 on weekdays from 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. (Eastern time).​​

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​Important Notes:

  • Kentucky license year begins March 1 and continues through the last day of February.
  • New licenses are required annually.
  • Resident and nonresident youth younger than age 12 are not required to purchase licenses or permits to hunt (except the elk lottery application).
  • Resident and nonresident youth ages 15 and younger are not required to purchase licenses or permits to fish.
​ ​

If you take or attempt to take game or fish, you are subject to licensing requirements unless specifically exempt​​​​ted by law. Unless you are license-exempt, you must obtain and carry while in the field proof that you’ve met the license requirements for the kind of hunting or fishing you’re doing. This proof can be either a paper license/permit or a license authorization number (when purchasing licenses/permits online). If you can’t show you’re licensed properly while you’re hunting or fishing, you risk being issued a citation.

Each hunter must have his or her own license or permit.

There are several ways to purchase licenses and permits. Our online license sales site is the most efficient and convenient way to purchase licenses and permits. When purchasing online, you will receive an authorization number that may be printed and kept with you when hunting or fishing.​ We accept Visa, Mastercard, American Express, Discover, and Fish and Wildlife gift certificates as forms of payment. Licenses and permits can also be purchased at various locations throughout the state. View a list of license agents.

Some licenses are only available on our online license sales site. They are the Shooting Preserve License and the Temporary Hunter Education Exemption Permit. We offer a discounted Senior License (65 years of age and older) and a Disabled License that is good for the license year. We also offer a Senior Lifetime Sportsman’s License for qualified residents. Once a person who qualifies for these licenses reaches age 65, he or she is considered a senior for licensing purposes and no longer needs to follow the process of obtaining a disability authorization card.

All licenses and permits are valid for the license year except for the 1-Day Small Game Hunting License, the 7-Day Small Game Hunting, the 1-Day Fishing License, and the 7-Day​ Fishing License.

Purchase a Fish and Wildlife​ Gift Certificate Online!​  
​​​​​​Online Gift Certificates may be purchased in any amount and are good for up to 5 years from the date of purchase and can ONLY be redeemed on our website. They can be redeemed for licenses and permits, Kentucky Afield magazine subscriptions, Otter Creek Outdoor Recreation Area passes and Summer Camp registration fees.​

​Purchase the Senior Lifetime Sportsman's License  
Senior Lifetime Sportsman’s License (residents 65 years ​of age or older) allows qualified residents to perform any act authorized by either a hunting or a fishing license and to take trout, deer, turkey, waterfowl and other migratory game birds. License holder would be required to complete the HIP Surveyeach year and either reprint their license or write the HIP certification number on it if they intend to hunt migratory birds or waterfowl, and to purchase the Federal Duck Stamp to hunt waterfowl.​​ Additional Deer Permits are not included in senior or disabled sportsman's licenses. 


One of the best deals we offer is the Sportsman’s License. It includes all the necessary state license and permits for deer and turkey hunting (PLUS other types of hunting and fishing) for Kentucky residents at a substantial discount. 

A Youth Sportsman’s License is also offered and is a tremendous value for any youth ages 12-15.